DETAILED ACTION
I. REJECTIONS BASED ON PRIOR ART
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McLane (US Pub.: 2013/0031392) in view of LOWE et al. (US Pub.: 2018/0155960).
As per claim 1, McLane teaches/suggests a universal serial bus device, comprising: a decision circuit, configured to operate accordingly based on at least one state of the universal serial bus device, wherein the decision circuit operating accordingly based on the at least one state of the universal serial bus device, the decision circuit generates a signal (Fig. 4; [0001]-[0002]; [0004]-[0011]; [0019]; [0023]; and [0026]-[0031]).
McLane does not teach the universal serial bus device, comprising: a resistor, configured to selectively receive a power supply voltage; to determine whether to remove the resistor, wherein if determines to remove the resistor, having a remove signal; and a control circuit, configured to remove the resistor based on the remove signal.
LOWE teaches/suggests a universal serial bus device, comprising: a resistor, configured to selectively receive a power supply voltage (e.g. associated with pull-up resistor would have been connected to corresponding power supply voltage); to determine whether to remove the resistor, wherein if determines to remove the resistor, having a remove signal; and a control circuit, configured to remove the resistor based on the remove signal ([0065]; [0076]-[0077]; and [0092]-[0095]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in this art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include LOWE’s disconnection into McLane’s device for the benefit of dropping power consumption to near zero (LOWE, [0065]) to obtain the invention as specified in claim(s) X.
As per claim 2, McLane and LOWE teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where McLane and LOWE further teach/suggest the universal serial bus device comprising: wherein if the decision circuit determines to remove the resistor based on an off state of the universal serial bus device, the decision circuit generates the remove signal (McLane Fig. 4; [0001]-[0002]; [0004]-[0011]; [0019]; [0023]; [0026]-[0031]; and LOWE, [0065]; [0076]-[0077]; [0092]-[0095]).
As per claim 3, McLane and LOWE teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where McLane and LOWE further teach/suggest the universal serial bus device comprising: wherein the control circuit unloads the resistor or cuts off power to the resistor based on the remove signal (McLane Fig. 4; [0001]-[0002]; [0004]-[0011]; [0019]; [0023]; [0026]-[0031]; and LOWE, [0065]; [0076]-[0077]; [0092]-[0095]).
As per claim 4, McLane and LOWE teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where McLane and LOWE further teach/suggest the universal serial bus device comprising: wherein the decision circuit determines whether to connect the resistor based on the at least one state of the universal serial bus device, wherein if the decision circuit determines to connect the resistor based on the at least one state of the universal serial bus device, the decision circuit generates a connection signal, wherein the control circuit connects the resistor based on the connection signal (McLane Fig. 4; [0001]-[0002]; [0004]-[0011]; [0019]; [0023]; [0026]-[0031]; and LOWE, [0065]; [0076]-[0077]; [0092]-[0095]), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art that the resulting combination of the references would further teaches/suggests the above claimed features when returning to normal mode of operation.
As per claim 5, McLane and LOWE teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 4 above, where McLane and LOWE further teach/suggest the universal serial bus device comprising: wherein if the decision circuit determines to connect the resistor based on a change state of the universal serial bus device, the decision circuit generates the connection signal (McLane Fig. 4; [0001]-[0002]; [0004]-[0011]; [0019]; [0023]; [0026]-[0031]; and LOWE, [0065]; [0076]-[0077]; [0092]-[0095]), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art that the resulting combination of the references would further teaches/suggests the above claimed features when returning to normal mode of operation.
As per claim 6, McLane and LOWE teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where McLane and LOWE further teach/suggest the universal serial bus device comprising: wherein the at least one state of the universal serial bus device comprises one of a system state, a WLAN state, a Bluetooth state, a PCIe state, a universal serial bus state, and a PCIe reset state (McLane Fig. 4; [0001]-[0002]; [0004]-[0011]; [0019]; [0023]; [0026]-[0031]; and LOWE, [0065]; [0076]-[0077]; [0092]-[0095]).
As per claim 7, McLane and LOWE teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where McLane and LOWE further teach/suggest the universal serial bus device further comprising: a remote wake up circuit, configured to transmit a wake up signal to the control circuit, and the control circuit connects the resistor based on the wake up signal (McLane Fig. 4; [0001]-[0002]; [0004]-[0011]; [0019]; [0023]; [0026]-[0031]; and LOWE, [0065]; [0076]-[0077]; [0092]-[0095]).
As per claim 8, McLane and LOWE teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 7 above, where McLane and LOWE further teach/suggest the universal serial bus device comprising: wherein the wake up signal comprises one of a WLAN wake up signal and a Bluetooth wake up signal (McLane Fig. 4; [0001]-[0002]; [0004]-[0011]; [0019]; [0023]; [0026]-[0031]; and LOWE, [0065]; [0076]-[0077]; [0092]-[0095]), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art that the resulting combination of the references would further teaches/suggests the above claimed features.
As per claim 9, McLane and LOWE teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where McLane and LOWE further teach/suggest the universal serial bus device comprising: wherein the decision circuit comprises one of a Medium Access Control (MAC) layer and a firmware (McLane Fig. 4; [0001]-[0002]; [0004]-[0011]; [0019]; [0022]-[0023]; [0026]-[0031]; and LOWE, [0065]; [0076]-[0077]; [0092]-[0095]), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art that the resulting combination of the references would further teaches/suggests the above claimed features.
As per claim 10, McLane and LOWE teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where McLane and LOWE further teach/suggest the universal serial bus device comprising: wherein the universal serial bus device is applied to a modern standby or a wireless network wake up mode (McLane Fig. 4; [0001]-[0002]; [0004]-[0011]; [0019]; [0023]; [0026]-[0031]; and LOWE, [0065]; [0076]-[0077]; [0092]-[0095]), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art that the resulting combination of the references would further teaches/suggests the above claimed features.
As per claims 11-20, claims 11-20 are rejected in accordance to the same rational and reasoning as the above rejection of claims 1-10 as claims 11-20 is the method carried out by the device of claims 1-10.
II. CLOSING COMMENTS
CONCLUSION
STATUS OF CLAIMS IN THE APPLICATION
The following is a summary of the treatment and status of all claims in the application as recommended by M.P.E.P. 707.07(i):
CLAIMS REJECTED IN THE APPLICATION
Per the instant office action, claims 1-20 have received a first action on the merits and are subject of a first action non-final.
DIRECTION OF FUTURE CORRESPONDENCES
IMPORTANT NOTE
/CHUN KUAN LEE/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2181 October 15, 2026