2. Claims 1-20 are pending. Bolded claim language below regards newly amended subject matter with a corresponding new rejection citation. Newly amended subject matter that is not bolded does not comprise a new rejection citation (utilizes previous interpretation that is unchanged in view of the new language) or is a newly added claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2-3, 5-6, 11, 12, 14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhai et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0257447), herein after referred to as Zhai, in view of Van Eerd et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2012/0206373), herein after referred to as Van Eerd.
Regarding independent claim 1, Zhai discloses an electronic device (Figures 1 and 2 10) comprising:
a display (12/70) including a touch screen (72) (paragraphs [0019] and [0054]);
memory (48) storing one or more computer programs (22); and
one or more processors (40) including processing circuitry communicatively coupled (50) to the display (12/70) and the memory (48),
wherein the one or more computer programs (22) include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to ([0021]):
control the display (12/70) to display a keyboard (16B) in response to an application being executed ([0025]-[0026] and [0061]),
based on receiving a touch input (30) from the keyboard (16B) ([0038]), collect context data related to the touch input (30) (Paragraphs [0023], [0033], and [0039]-[0040] describes UI 20 of the display 12 receives information about the input including time ordered sequence of touch events. The touch events include data parameters of: location, time of input at location, lift up, push down, and concurrent time component of one or more events (duration). Paragraph [0033] also describes the temporal features of the gesture include an epoch time of the gesture (epoch defined as the time that has elapsed since the start point) (also describing duration). Herein after context data will be interpreted to regard touch down, touch up, and touch duration and will be referred to as touch event information as described in paragraph [0023].) and store the collected context data ([0023]) in the memory (48) (Paragraph [0025] describes UI module 20 (stored in memory 48) acts as an intermediary between the other components of device 10 receiving and processing the touch events information.),
based on the collected context data ([0023]), update statistical data (Please note the amendments do not solve the previously raised examiner note broadness issues since the statistical data is not defined. This is simply interpreted as updating data. Statistical is a label with no patentable weight.) of a plurality of previous touch inputs for a key (Paragraph [0025] describes UI 20 to receive the touch events information, such as a sequence of touch events, and determine a selection of one or more keys. Figure 1 and [0038] describes the sequence of touch events as a gesture 30 that traverses locations 34A-34H which includes a plurality of previous touch inputs of a plurality of keys including multiple previous touch inputs 34A+34C of a key S.), the statistical data being stored in the memory (Figure 4 and paragraphs [0088]-[0089] describes the storage 48 including keyboard module 22 is implemented via memory block 100 that receives the input as a set of input values (possible interpretation of statistical data regarding the collection of a set of data) for spatial features sampled over time and/or in sequence.),
based on the updated statistical data ([0039] gesture 30 being detected by 12 and UI 20 receiving information indicating gesture 30) of the plurality of previous touch inputs for the key calculate an average distance and/or direction of the plurality of previous touch inputs from the key (Figure 1 [0030] describes gesture 30 that begins at 34A and ends at 34H giving the first input 34A on Key S with a calculated direction to be towards key A 34B and the second input on key S with a calculated direction to be towards key R 34D.),
[ ],
based on the adjusted touch move sensitivity value, identify a key corresponding to a touch-down position or a touch-up position of the touch input as an input key (Paragraphs [0033] and [0099] describes the spatial features input to include the key traversed by the gesture or touched by the finger and type of user input including touch down and touch up.), and
process an input of a character corresponding to the input key (Figure 4 output matrix 112 described in paragraph [0093] to output one or more probabilities of one or more characters based on one or more inputs values (which are based on spatial features (paragraph [0088]).).
Zhai does not specifically disclose to adjust a touch move sensitivity value based on a result of the calculation of the average distance and/or direction of the plurality of previous touch inputs from the key.
Van Eerd discloses to adjust a touch move sensitivity value based on a result of the analysis of the calculation of the average distance and/or direction of the plurality of previous touch inputs from the key (Paragraphs [0044]-[0045] to adjust two threshold levels utilized to distinguish between gestures (movement) and taps (which inherently may be performed on the same key).).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Zhai’s analysis of movement of the touch input with the known technique of adjusting a touch move sensitivity value based on a result of the analysis of the calculation of the average distance and/or direction of the plurality of previous touch inputs from the key yielding the predictable results of reducing jitter as disclosed by Van Eerd (paragraph [0044]).
Regarding claim 2, Zhai discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
control the display to display the character corresponding to the input key in a partial area of the keyboard (Figure 1 16a and paragraph [0042].).
Regarding claim 3, Zhai discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
obtain the touch-down position, the touch-up position, and a touch duration of the touch input (Paragraphs [0023], [0033], and [0039]-[0040] describes UI 20 of the display 12 receives information about the input including time ordered sequence of touch events. The touch events include data parameters of: location, time of input at location, lift up, push down, and concurrent time component of one or more events (duration). Paragraph [0033] also describes the temporal features of the gesture include an epoch time of the gesture (epoch defined as the time that has elapsed since the start point) (also describing duration).); and
collect the touch-down position, the touch-up position, and the touch duration of the touch input as the context data (Paragraph [0025] describes UI 20 to receive the touch events information.).
Regarding claim 5, Zhai discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
generate a key set based on the collected context data (Figure 4 output matrix 112 described in paragraph [0093] to output one or more probabilities of one or more characters based on one or more inputs values (the characters corresponding to keys (key set)).);
obtain a touch input collection corresponding to the key set (Paragraphs [0023], [0033], and [0039]-[0040] describes UI 20 of the display 12 receives information about the input including time ordered sequence of touch events. The touch events include data parameters of: location, time of input at location, lift up, push down, concurrent time component of one or more events (duration), and key(s) traversed by the gesture. The data parameters describing a touch input collection of data (processed inputs) corresponding to the key set (outputs based on the inputs.); and
generate the statistical data based on the touch input collection (Figure 4 and paragraphs [0088]-[0089] describes the storage 48 including keyboard module 22 is implemented via memory block 100 that receives the input as a set of input values (possible interpretation of statistical data regarding the collection of a set of data) for spatial features sampled over time and/or in sequence.).
Regarding claim 6, Zhai discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
based on receiving the touch input, identify the touch-down position and the touch-up position of the key being input (Paragraphs [0023], [0033], and [0039]-[0040] describes UI 20 of the display 12 receives information about the input including time ordered sequence of touch events. The touch events include data parameters of: location, time of input at location, lift up, push down, concurrent time component of one or more events (duration), and key(s) traversed by the gesture.), stored in the memory (Figure 4 and paragraphs [0088]-[0089] describes the storage 48 including keyboard module 22 is implemented via memory block 100 that receives the input as a set of input values.);
obtain a vector representing a touch movement direction and a touch movement distance from the touch-down position to the touch-up position (Paragraphs [0040] and [0098]-[0099] describes the input values of the spatial features at a particular point in time may be structure as a vector of an input matrix that includes information such as down press and lift up. Paragraph [0023] describes the input data to include movement of the input. Paragraph [0135] describes the input data to include distance.);
obtain a scalar representing the touch movement distance from the touch-down position to the touch-up position (Figure 4 and paragraph [0095] describes to apply scalar values (such as Ot) determined from the input data 102/110 (which includes the distance from touch down to touch up).); and
update the statistical data stored in memory (Figure 4 and paragraphs [0088]-[0089] describes the storage 48 including keyboard module 22 is implemented via memory block 100 that receives the input as a set of input values (possible interpretation of statistical data regarding the collection of a set of data) for spatial features sampled over time and/or in sequence.) based on at least one of the vector or the scalar for the key being input (Figure 4 depicts generated data 114 from the scalar Ota and vector 110.).
Regarding independent claim 11, Zhai discloses a method of operating an electronic device (Abstract and Figures 1 and 2 10), the method comprising:
displaying a keyboard (16B) on a display (12/70) of the electronic device (10) in response to an application being executed ([0025]-[0026] and [0061]);
based on receiving a touch input (30) from the keyboard (16B) ([0038]), collecting context data related to the touch input (30) (Paragraphs [0023], [0033], and [0039]-[0040] describes UI 20 of the display 12 receives information about the input including time ordered sequence of touch events. The touch events include data parameters of: location, time of input at location, lift up, push down, and concurrent time component of one or more events (duration). Paragraph [0033] also describes the temporal features of the gesture include an epoch time of the gesture (epoch defined as the time that has elapsed since the start point) (also describing duration). Herein after context data will be interpreted to regard touch down, touch up, and touch duration and will be referred to as touch event information as described in paragraph [0023].) and storing the collected context data ([0023]) in the memory (48) of the electronic device (10) (Paragraph [0025] describes UI module 20 (stored in memory 48) acts as an intermediary between the other components of device 10 receiving and processing the touch events information.),
based on the collected context data ([0023]), update statistical data (Please note the amendments do not solve the previously raised examiner note broadness issues since the statistical data is not defined. This is simply interpreted as updating data. Statistical is a label with no patentable weight.) of a plurality of previous touch inputs for a key (Paragraph [0025] describes UI 20 to receive the touch events information, such as a sequence of touch events, and determine a selection of one or more keys. Figure 1 and [0038] describes the sequence of touch events as a gesture 30 that traverses locations 34A-34H which includes a plurality of previous touch inputs of a plurality of keys including multiple previous touch inputs 34A+34C of a key S.), the statistical data being stored in the memory (Figure 4 and paragraphs [0088]-[0089] describes the storage 48 including keyboard module 22 is implemented via memory block 100 that receives the input as a set of input values (possible interpretation of statistical data regarding the collection of a set of data) for spatial features sampled over time and/or in sequence.),
based on the updated statistical data ([0039] gesture 30 being detected by 12 and UI 20 receiving information indicating gesture 30) of the plurality of previous touch inputs for the key calculate an average distance and/or direction of the plurality of previous touch inputs from the key (Figure 1 [0030] describes gesture 30 that begins at 34A and ends at 34H giving the first input 34A on Key S with a calculated direction to be towards key A 34B and the second input on key S with a calculated direction to be towards key R 34D.),
[ ],
based on the adjusted touch move sensitivity value, identify a key corresponding to a touch-down position or a touch-up position of the touch input as an input key (Paragraphs [0033] and [0099] describes the spatial features input to include the key traversed by the gesture or touched by the finger and type of user input including touch down and touch up.), and
processing an input of a character corresponding to the input key (Figure 4 output matrix 112 described in paragraph [0093] to output one or more probabilities of one or more characters based on one or more inputs values (which are based on spatial features (paragraph [0088]).).
Zhai does not specifically disclose to adjust a touch move sensitivity value based on a result of the calculation of the average distance and/or direction of the plurality of previous touch inputs from the key.
Van Eerd discloses to adjust a touch move sensitivity value based on a result of the analysis of the calculation of the average distance and/or direction of the plurality of previous touch inputs from the key (Paragraphs [0044]-[0045] to adjust two threshold levels utilized to distinguish between gestures (movement) and taps (which inherently may be performed on the same key).).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Zhai’s analysis of movement of the touch input with the known technique of adjusting a touch move sensitivity value based on a result of the analysis of the calculation of the average distance and/or direction of the plurality of previous touch inputs from the key yielding the predictable results of reducing jitter as disclosed by Van Eerd (paragraph [0044]).
Regarding claim 12, Zhai discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising: displaying the character corresponding to the input key in a partial area of the keyboard on the display (Figure 1 16a and paragraph [0042].).
Regarding claim 14, Zhai discloses the method of claim 11, wherein generating the statistical data of the key being input and storing the statistical data in the memory includes:
based on receiving the touch input, identify the touch-down position and the touch-up position of the key being input (Paragraphs [0023], [0033], and [0039]-[0040] describes UI 20 of the display 12 receives information about the input including time ordered sequence of touch events. The touch events include data parameters of: location, time of input at location, lift up, push down, concurrent time component of one or more events (duration), and key(s) traversed by the gesture.), stored in the memory (Figure 4 and paragraphs [0088]-[0089] describes the storage 48 including keyboard module 22 is implemented via memory block 100 that receives the input as a set of input values.);
obtaining a vector representing a touch movement direction and a touch movement distance from the touch-down position to the touch-up position (Paragraphs [0040] and [0098]-[0099] describes the input values of the spatial features at a particular point in time may be structure as a vector of an input matrix that includes information such as down press and lift up. Paragraph [0023] describes the input data to include movement of the input. Paragraph [0135] describes the input data to include distance.);
obtaining a scalar representing the touch movement distance from the touch-down position to the touch-up position (Figure 4 and paragraph [0095] describes to apply scalar values (such as Ot) determined from the input data 102/110 (which includes the distance from touch down to touch up).); and
updating the statistical data stored in the memory (Figure 4 and paragraphs [0088]-[0089] describes the storage 48 including keyboard module 22 is implemented via memory block 100 that receives the input as a set of input values (possible interpretation of statistical data regarding the collection of a set of data) for spatial features sampled over time and/or in sequence.) based on at least one of the vector or the scalar for the key being input (Figure 4 depicts generated data 114 from the scalar Ota and vector 110.).
Regarding independent claim 20, Zhai discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media (Figure 2 48) storing one or more computer programs (24) including computer-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors (40) of an electronic device (10) individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to perform operations (Paragraph [0021]), the operations comprising:
displaying a keyboard (16B) on a display (12/70) of the electronic device (10) in response to an application being executed ([0025]-[0026] and [0061]);
based on receiving a touch input (30) from the keyboard (16B) ([0038]), collecting context data related to the touch input (30) (Paragraphs [0023], [0033], and [0039]-[0040] describes UI 20 of the display 12 receives information about the input including time ordered sequence of touch events. The touch events include data parameters of: location, time of input at location, lift up, push down, and concurrent time component of one or more events (duration). Paragraph [0033] also describes the temporal features of the gesture include an epoch time of the gesture (epoch defined as the time that has elapsed since the start point) (also describing duration). Herein after context data will be interpreted to regard touch down, touch up, and touch duration and will be referred to as touch event information as described in paragraph [0023].) and storing the collected context data ([0023]) in the memory (48) of the electronic device (10) (Paragraph [0025] describes UI module 20 (stored in memory 48) acts as an intermediary between the other components of device 10 receiving and processing the touch events information.),
based on the collected context data ([0023]), update statistical data (Please note the amendments do not solve the previously raised examiner note broadness issues since the statistical data is not defined. This is simply interpreted as updating data. Statistical is a label with no patentable weight.) of a plurality of previous touch inputs for a key (Paragraph [0025] describes UI 20 to receive the touch events information, such as a sequence of touch events, and determine a selection of one or more keys. Figure 1 and [0038] describes the sequence of touch events as a gesture 30 that traverses locations 34A-34H which includes a plurality of previous touch inputs of a plurality of keys including multiple previous touch inputs 34A+34C of a key S.), the statistical data being stored in the memory (Figure 4 and paragraphs [0088]-[0089] describes the storage 48 including keyboard module 22 is implemented via memory block 100 that receives the input as a set of input values (possible interpretation of statistical data regarding the collection of a set of data) for spatial features sampled over time and/or in sequence.),
based on the updated statistical data ([0039] gesture 30 being detected by 12 and UI 20 receiving information indicating gesture 30) of the plurality of previous touch inputs for the key calculate an average distance and/or direction of the plurality of previous touch inputs from the key (Figure 1 [0030] describes gesture 30 that begins at 34A and ends at 34H giving the first input 34A on Key S with a calculated direction to be towards key A 34B and the second input on key S with a calculated direction to be towards key R 34D.),
[ ],
based on the adjusted touch move sensitivity value, identify a key corresponding to a touch-down position or a touch-up position of the touch input as an input key (Paragraphs [0033] and [0099] describes the spatial features input to include the key traversed by the gesture or touched by the finger and type of user input including touch down and touch up.), and
processing an input of a character corresponding to the input key (Figure 4 output matrix 112 described in paragraph [0093] to output one or more probabilities of one or more characters based on one or more inputs values (which are based on spatial features (paragraph [0088]).).
Zhai does not specifically disclose to adjust a touch move sensitivity value based on a result of the calculation of the average distance and/or direction of the plurality of previous touch inputs from the key.
Van Eerd discloses to adjust a touch move sensitivity value based on a result of the analysis of the calculation of the average distance and/or direction of the plurality of previous touch inputs from the key (Paragraphs [0044]-[0045] to adjust two threshold levels utilized to distinguish between gestures (movement) and taps (which inherently may be performed on the same key).).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Zhai’s analysis of movement of the touch input with the known technique of adjusting a touch move sensitivity value based on a result of the analysis of the calculation of the average distance and/or direction of the plurality of previous touch inputs from the key yielding the predictable results of reducing jitter as disclosed by Van Eerd (paragraph [0044]).
4. Claim(s) 4 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhai-Van Eerd in view of Lee et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2013/0265221), herein after referred to as Lee.
Regarding claim 4, Zhai discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to perform operations ([0021]).
Zhai does not specifically disclose those operations to be: based on a size change of the display in response to shape deformation of a housing of the electronic device, control the display to reconfigure and display a layout of the keyboard; identify a type of the keyboard displayed on the display; identify a user's gripping style using at least one sensor of the electronic device; and collect status information based on the shape deformation of the housing, the type of the keyboard, and the gripping style as the context data.
Lee discloses an electronic device (Figure 18 100) that: based on a size change of the display in response to shape deformation of a housing of the electronic device, control the display to reconfigure and display a layout of the keyboard (Figure 25 and paragraphs [00369]-[0370] describes a display depicting a keyboard UI and based on a change of the shape of the device 111 and size of the display, the keyboard UI is changed such as to show only a portion of the entire keyboard (figure 25(b)) or a keyboard including only basic keys or smaller in size (figure 2(c)). Figure 18 also shows changing to different UI interfaces 111-113 based on the shape.);
identify a type of the keyboard displayed on the display (Paragraph [0210] describes to determine the particular UI to be displayed based on content type received.);
identify a user's gripping style using at least one sensor of the electronic device (Figure 28 and paragraph [0380]-[0381] describes to change the displayed UI based on the user’s grip. Paragraphs [0289] and [0324] describes a grip sensor to sense a user’s grip.); and
collect status information based on the shape deformation of the housing, the type of the keyboard, and the gripping style as the [ ] data (Paragraph [0144] describes to detect the deformation and store the values. Paragraph [0282] describes to store the data associated with operation of the flexible display.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Zhai keyboard user interface with context data with the known technique of based on a size change of the display in response to shape deformation of a housing of the electronic device, control the display to reconfigure and display a layout of the keyboard; identify a type of the keyboard displayed on the display; identify a user's gripping style using at least one sensor of the electronic device; and collect status information based on the shape deformation of the housing, the type of the keyboard, and the gripping style as the context data yielding the predictable results of maximizing the user interface in view of a foldable display device and grip as disclosed by Lee (paragraphs [0369] and [0381]).
Regarding claim 13, Zhai discloses the method of claim 11, wherein collecting the context data related to the touch input and storing the collected context data in the memory includes:
obtaining the touch-down position, the touch-up position, and a touch duration of the touch input (Paragraphs [0023], [0033], and [0039]-[0040] describes UI 20 of the display 12 receives information about the input including time ordered sequence of touch events. The touch events include data parameters of: location, time of input at location, lift up, push down, and concurrent time component of one or more events (duration). Paragraph [0033] also describes the temporal features of the gesture include an epoch time of the gesture (epoch defined as the time that has elapsed since the start point) (also describing duration).);
[ ]; and
collecting and storing the touch-down position, the touch-up position, and the touch duration of the touch input [ ] as the context data (Paragraph [0025] describes UI 20 to receive the touch events information.).
Zhai does not specifically disclose those operations to be: identify a type of the keyboard displayed on the display; identify a user's gripping style using at least one sensor of the electronic device; and collect status information based on the shape deformation of the housing, the type of the keyboard, and the gripping style as the context data.
Lee discloses an electronic device (Figure 18 100) that:
identify a type of the keyboard displayed on the display (Paragraph [0210] describes to determine the particular UI to be displayed based on content type received.);
identify a user's gripping style using at least one sensor of the electronic device (Figure 28 and paragraph [0380]-[0381] describes to change the displayed UI based on the user’s grip. Paragraphs [0289] and [0324] describes a grip sensor to sense a user’s grip.); and
collect status information based on the shape deformation of the housing, the type of the keyboard, and the gripping style as the [ ] data (Paragraph [0144] describes to detect the deformation and store the values. Paragraph [0282] describes to store the data associated with operation of the flexible display.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Zhai keyboard user interface with context data with the known technique of identify a user's gripping style using at least one sensor of the electronic device; and collect status information based on the shape deformation of the housing, the type of the keyboard, and the gripping style as the context data yielding the predictable results of maximizing the user interface in view of a foldable display device and grip as disclosed by Lee (paragraphs [0369] and [0381]).
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 7-10 and 15-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Zhai discloses the electronic device of claim 1 and method of claim 11, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
compare at least one of the touch-down position or the touch-up position of the key being input with a center of a key press model (Paragraph [0135] describes a spatial mode used to compare the location of one or more touch events (described in Paragraphs [0023], [0033], and [0039]-[0040] to include touch down and touch up) with the centroid/center of a key.).
However, Zhai does not specifically disclose based on identifying that the touch-down position is closer to the center of the key press model, identify that accuracy of the touch-down position is greater than accuracy of the touch-up position; and based on identifying that the touch-up position is closer to the center of the key press model, identify that the accuracy of the touch-up position is greater than the accuracy of the touch-down position.
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Zhai discloses the electronic device of claim 1 and method of claim 11, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
obtain the statistical data for the key being input from the memory (Figure 4 memory 100 with input 102 utilized to create a frame 110 of input values (Paragraphs [0033] and [0099] describes the spatial features input to include the key traversed by the gesture or touched by the finger and type of user input including touch down and touch up described above to be interpreted as the statistical data.).);
However, Zhai does not specifically disclose based on the statistical data, obtain collected vector values for the key being input and obtain an average vector value of the collected vector values; based on the statistical data, obtain collected scalar values for the key being input and obtain an average scalar value of the collected scalar values; and based on the average vector value or the average scalar value, adjust the touch move sensitivity value.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant's arguments filed 7/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments relate towards newly amended subject matter. While Zhai discloses improving the swipe/gesture (30 in figure 1), said gesture includes a history of each key. This is exampled via key “S” which receives an initial touch 34A and thereafter receives another input at 34C. This discloses the sequence of inputs ([0025]) to include previous inputs of a single key as claimed.
Thereafter, secondary art Van Eerd specifically discloses ([0044]-[0045]) utilizing multiple thresholds in order to better filter inputs between movement/gesture inputs (like Zhai 30) and tap inputs (implied not to be gestures/movement inputs). These thresholds are selected based on the movement and distance of the inputs. Applicant argues that the secondary art does not disclose a configuration that utilizes statical data (which as described above is simply data) for each individual key to correct input typos (such is not claimed) or verifying (also not claimed). Changing threshold to filter data is a description of changing sensitivity. If applicant performs a different means of adjusting sensitivity such should be claimed.
Lastly, applicant argues the usage characteristics of each user may be different and the invention can adjust the touch sensitivity according to the user’s (argument implies each user) usage characteristics. Again, no claim limitation exists regarding multiple users.
In view of the current state of the claims this action is final necessitated by amendment.
Conclusion
7. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER E LEIBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621