DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giannone [U.S. 6,004,002] in view of Huang et al. [U.S. 2007/0159836 A1], Pederson et al. [U.S. 2005/0057941 A1] and Vitantonio et al. [U.S. 7,182,472 B2].
Regarding claim 1, Giannone discloses an outdoor light display device [a real estate sign 20, figure 1] comprising: a display device [sign, figure 1]; a yard stake [a post 21]; a solar panel [a solar panel 32]; and a projector [a light projector, an illumination unit 12, figure 1]; wherein said display device integrated to a top end of said yard stake [figure 1]; wherein said yard stake affixable to the ground [figure 1]; wherein said solar panel absorbs solar energy and converts the solar energy into electrical power [figure 1]; wherein said electrical power provides electricity to said projector [an electronics module 34, and a cable means 18, figure 1]; and said display device displaying a first display message [sign, figure 1].
However, Giannone does not clearly discloses said solar panel slidably attached to said yard stake; said electrical power provides electricity to said display device; and wherein further wherein said projector displaying a second display message onto a surface.
Huang et al. discloses a solar photo-voltaic panel battery [20] adjustably connected to the pole (figures 1, 2 and 4, paragraphs [0024-0025]).
Pederson et al. discloses an electrical power provides electricity to said display device (figure 1, paragraphs [0169-0172]).
Vitantonio et al. discloses an image projection apparatus displaying a second display message onto a surface (abstract, figures 1 and 25, column 1 lines 15-28).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine the light display device of Giannone with the slidably attached solar panel as taught by Huang et al.; with the electrical power provided electricity to said display device as taught by Pederson et al.; and with the image projector displaying a second display message onto a surface as taught by Vitantonio et al. for purpose of providing an advantageous way of adjusting the solar panel to the pole so that not only is the position of the solar battery adjustable, but also the angle of the solar photo-voltaic panel battery relative to the ground is adjustable so as to allow the solar photo-voltaic panel battery to receive maximum available solar energy at any time; a principal advantage of the present invention of Pederson et al. is to provide a warning signal light capable of simulating revolving or oscillating light signals without the use of mechanical components; and using to project thematic images singly onto a viewing surface or to project multiple views of an image simultaneously onto a plurality of viewing surfaces.
Regarding claims 2-3, Pederson et al. discloses a light emitting diode (LED) 360 degree pod warning signal light (abstract, figure 3, paragraphs [0044-0046], [0063] and [0198]).
Regarding claims 4-5, Vitantonio et al. discloses an image projection apparatus, and the surface being side of a home (column 1 lines 26-28, abstract, figures 1 and 25).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: claim 6 recites further details of the outdoor light display device, which are not disclosed or suggested by the prior art of record. Claim 7 depends on claim 6.
Claims 8-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 8 recites an outdoor light display device including, in combination, an internal memory with a plurality of messages; and wherein said display device displaying a first display message from said plurality of messages; and further wherein said projector displaying a second display message from said plurality of messages onto a surface. These features are not disclosed or suggested by the prior art of record. Claims 9-14 depend on claim 8. While Giannone, Huang et al., Pederson et al., and Vitantonio et al., in combination, only disclose an outdoor light display device comprising: a display device; a yard stake; a solar panel; a projector; and said display device integrated to a top end of said yard stake; wherein said yard stake affixable to the ground; wherein said solar panel slidably attached to said yard stake; wherein said solar panel absorbs solar energy and converts the solar energy into electrical power; wherein said electrical power provides electricity to said display device and said projector.
Claim 15 recites an outdoor light display device including, in combination, a mobile application; a communication channel; wherein said mobile application sending at least a first display message to said display device through said communication channel; wherein said display device displaying said at least a first display message; and wherein said mobile application sending at least a second display message to said projector through said communication channel; and further wherein said projector displaying said at least a second display message. These features are not disclosed or suggested by the prior art of record. Claims 16-20 depend on claim 15. While Giannone, Huang et al., Pederson et al., and Vitantonio et al., in combination, only disclose an outdoor light display device comprising: a display device; a yard stake; a solar panel; a projector; wherein said display device integrated to a top end of said yard stake; wherein said yard stake affixable to the ground; wherein said solar panel attached to said yard stake; wherein said solar panel absorbs solar energy and converts the solar energy into electrical power; wherein said electrical power provides electricity to said display device and said projector.
Conclusion
BAO Q. TRUONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/BAO Q TRUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875