DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4, 9 – 11, 14, and 19 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (U.S. PG Pub 2013/0331130).
Regarding Claim 1, Lee teaches a method for managing a virtual workspace (Figure 3A, Element 304. Paragraph 35) shared among a plurality of devices (Figure 1, Elements 10. Paragraph 26) comprising a user device (Figure 3A, Element 302. Paragraph 305) and two or more local devices (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29) such that each of the plurality of devices (Figure 1, Elements 10. Paragraph 26) has access to shared workspace information (Figure 3A, Element 310. Paragraph 35) associated with the virtual workspace (Figure 3A, Element 304. Paragraph 35), the method comprising:
determining, for each local device (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29), a direction (Figure 3A, Element not labeled, but is the direction of the additional users (Elements 306, 308, and 312. Paragraphs 35 - 38) of the local device (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29) relative to the user device (Figure 3A, Element 302. Paragraph 305), based on location information based on sensor data (Figure 2, Element 209. Paragraphs 27 and 64) by one or more of the plurality of devices (Figure 1, Elements 10. Paragraph 26); and
displaying, on a display (Figure 2, Element 212. Paragraph 27) of the user device (Figure 3A, Element 302. Paragraph 305), a graphical user interface (GUI) (Figure 3A, Element 304. Paragraph 35) screen including, for each local devices (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29), a linked device GUI element (Figure 3A, Elements 306, 308, and 312. Paragraphs 35 - 38) corresponding to the local devices (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29) and comprising a graphical indicator of the respective direction of the local device (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29); and
receiving a dragging user input (Figures 4A and 4B, Element 406. Paragraphs 55 - 56) representing a dragging gesture (Figures 4A and 4B, Element 406. Paragraphs 55 - 56) performed with respect to a data object icon corresponding to a local data object (Element group communications. Paragraphs 55 - 56) not associated with the virtual workspace (Figure 3A, Element 304. Paragraph 35), the dragging gesture (Figures 4A and 4B, Element 406. Paragraphs 55 - 56) terminates at or near a location of the GUI (Figure 3A, Element 304. Paragraph 35) screen corresponding to a first linked device GUI element (Figure 3A, Elements 306, 308, and 312. Paragraphs 35 - 38) or within a perimeter region (Seen in Figure 3B) of the GUI (Figure 3A, Element 304. Paragraph 35) screen; and
in response to the dragging user input (Figures 4A and 4B, Element 406. Paragraphs 55 - 56), sending the local data object (Element group communications. Paragraphs 55 - 56) to at least one device of the two or more local devices (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29).
Regarding Claim 2, Lee teaches the method of claim 1 (See Above), further comprising obtaining remote device (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices not in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29) information identifying one or more remote devices (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices not in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29), the virtual workspace (Figure 3A, Element 304. Paragraph 35) being further shared among the one or more remote devices (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices not in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29);
wherein the GUI (Figure 3A, Element 304. Paragraph 35) screen further includes, for each remote device (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices not in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29) of the one or more remote devices, a linked device GUI element (Figure 3A, Elements 306, 308, and 312. Paragraphs 35 - 38) corresponding to the remote device (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices not in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29) and comprising a graphical indicator of the remote device (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices not in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29).
Regarding Claim 3, Lee teaches the method of claim 1 (See Above), wherein: each linked device GUI element (Figure 3A, Elements 306, 308, and 312. Paragraphs 35 - 38) comprises an interactive GUI (Figure 3A, Element 304. Paragraph 35) element configured to receive user input (Figure 7, Element 706. Paragraph 66) via a pointing device of the user device (Figure 3A, Element 302. Paragraph 305).
Regarding Claim 4, Lee teaches the method of claim 1 (See Above), wherein: each linked device GUI element (Figure 3A, Elements 306, 308, and 312. Paragraphs 35 - 38) corresponding to a local device (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29) graphically indicates the direction (Figure 3A, Element not labeled, but is the direction of the additional users (Elements 306, 308, and 312. Paragraphs 35 - 38) of the local device (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29) by being displayed within the GUI (Figure 3A, Element 304. Paragraph 35) screen at a respective position along the perimeter region (Seen in Figure 3B) of the GUI (Figure 3A, Element 304. Paragraph 35) screen indicative of the direction (Figure 3A, Element not labeled, but is the direction of the additional users (Elements 306, 308, and 312. Paragraphs 35 - 38) of the respective local device (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29).
Regarding Claim 9, Lee teaches the method of claim 2 (See Above), wherein:
the one or more remote devices (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices not in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29) are configured to communicate with each other via a network communication session (Figure 1, Element 11. Paragraph 26); and
sharing the virtual workspace (Figure 3A, Element 304. Paragraph 35) among the one or more remote devices (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices not in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29) and the plurality of devices (Figure 1, Elements 10. Paragraph 26) further comprises configuring the plurality of devices (Figure 1, Elements 10. Paragraph 26) to communicate with each other and the one or more remote devices (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices not in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29) via the network communication session (Figure 1, Element 11. Paragraph 26).
Regarding Claim 10, Lee teaches the method of claim 1 (See Above), wherein: the GUI (Figure 3A, Element 304. Paragraph 35) screen comprises a virtual workspace GUI (Figure 3A, Element 304. Paragraph 35) screen further including at least a portion of the shared workspace information (Figure 3A, Element 310. Paragraph 35).
Regarding Claim 11, Lee teaches the method of claim 10 (See Above), further comprising: receiving a workspace switching user input (Figure 2, Element 218. Paragraph 27) via an input device of the user device (Figure 3A, Element 302. Paragraph 305); and
displaying, on the display (Figure 2, Element 212. Paragraph 27) of the user device (Figure 3A, Element 302. Paragraph 305), a local workspace GUI (Figure 3A, Element 304. Paragraph 35) screen, also including a linked device GUI element (Figure 3A, Elements 306, 308, and 312. Paragraphs 35 - 38) for each of the two or more local devices (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29) and each of the one or more remote devices (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices not in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29), the local workspace GUI (Figure 3A, Element 304. Paragraph 35) screen including local workspace information not associated with (Figure 2, Element 218. Paragraph 27) the virtual workspace (Figure 3A, Element 304. Paragraph 35).
Regarding Claim 14, Lee teaches the method of claim 1 (See Above), wherein the dragging gesture (Figures 4A and 4B, Element 406. Paragraphs 55 - 56) terminates at within (Seen in Figure 4B) the perimeter region of the GUI (Figure 3A, Element 304. Paragraph 35) screen that is free of (Seen in Figure 4B) any linked device GUI element; and wherein the local data object (Element group communications. Paragraphs 55 - 56) is sent to a plurality of devices of the two or more local devices (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29).
Regarding Claim 19, Lee teaches a user device (Figure 3A, Element 302. Paragraph 305) for managing a virtual workspace (Figure 3A, Element 304. Paragraph 35) shared among a plurality of devices (Figure 1, Elements 10. Paragraph 26) comprising the user device (Figure 3A, Element 302. Paragraph 305), one or more remote devices (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices not in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29), and two or more local devices (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29) such that each of the plurality of devices (Figure 1, Elements 10. Paragraph 26) has access to shared workspace information (Figure 3A, Element 310. Paragraph 35) associated with the virtual workspace (Figure 3A, Element 304. Paragraph 35), the user device (Figure 3A, Element 302. Paragraph 305) comprising:
a processor device (Paragraph 27);
a display (Figure 2, Element 212. Paragraph 27); and
a memory (Paragraph 27) storing machine-executable instructions which, when executed by the processor device (Paragraph 27), cause the user device (Figure 3A, Element 302. Paragraph 305) to:
identifying the one or more local devices (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29) via short-range sensor data (Element direct communication link between devices. Paragraph 29);
obtain remote device (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices not in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29) information identifying the one or more remote devices (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices not in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29), the one or more remote devices (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices not in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29) being undetected (Element broadcast, server, or other known wireless communication. Paragraph 29) via short-range sensor data (Element direct communication link between devices. Paragraph 29);
determine, for each local device (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29), a direction (Figure 3A, Element not labeled, but is the direction of the additional users (Elements 306, 308, and 312. Paragraphs 35 - 38) of the local device (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29) relative to the user device (Figure 3A, Element 302. Paragraph 305) via at least one relative direction sensor (Figure 2, Element 209. Paragraphs 27 and 64) of the user device (Figure 3A, Element 302. Paragraph 305); and
display, on the display (Figure 2, Element 212. Paragraph 27), a graphical user interface (GUI) (Figure 3A, Element 304. Paragraph 35) screen including:
for each remote device (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices not in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29) of the one or more remote devices (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices not in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29), a linked device GUI element (Figure 3A, Elements 306, 308, and 312. Paragraphs 35 - 38) corresponding to the remote device (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices not in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29) and comprising a graphical indicator of the remote device (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices not in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29); and
for each local device (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29), a linked device GUI element (Figure 3A, Elements 306, 308, and 312. Paragraphs 35 - 38) corresponding to the local device (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29) and comprising a graphical indicator of the respective direction (Figure 3A, Element not labeled, but is the direction of the additional users (Elements 306, 308, and 312. Paragraphs 35 - 38) of the local device (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29);
receive a dragging user input (Figures 4A and 4B, Element 406. Paragraphs 55 - 56) representing a dragging gesture (Figures 4A and 4B, Element 406. Paragraphs 55 - 56) performed with respect to a data object icon corresponding to a local data object (Element group communications. Paragraphs 55 - 56) not associated with the virtual workspace (Figure 3A, Element 304. Paragraph 35), the dragging gesture (Figures 4A and 4B, Element 406. Paragraphs 55 - 56) terminates at or near a location of the GUI (Figure 3A, Element 304. Paragraph 35) screen corresponding to a first linked device GUI element (Figure 3A, Elements 306, 308, and 312. Paragraphs 35 - 38) or within a perimeter region (Seen in Figure 3B) of the GUI (Figure 3A, Element 304. Paragraph 35) screen; and
in response to the dragging user input (Figures 4A and 4B, Element 406. Paragraphs 55 - 56), sending the local data object (Element group communications. Paragraphs 55 - 56) to at least one device of the two or more local devices (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29).
Regarding Claim 20, Lee teaches a non-transitory processor-readable medium (Paragraph 79) having machine-executable instructions stored thereon which, when executed by a processor of a user device (Figure 3A, Element 302. Paragraph 305), cause the user device (Figure 3A, Element 302. Paragraph 305) to manage a virtual workspace (Figure 3A, Element 304. Paragraph 35) shared among a plurality of devices (Figure 1, Elements 10. Paragraph 26) comprising the user device (Figure 3A, Element 302. Paragraph 305), one or more remote devices (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices not in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29), and two or more local devices (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29) such that each of the plurality of devices (Figure 1, Elements 10. Paragraph 26) has access to shared workspace information (Figure 3A, Element 310. Paragraph 35) associated with the virtual workspace (Figure 3A, Element 304. Paragraph 35), by:
identifying the one or more local devices (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29) via short-range sensor data (Element direct communication link between devices. Paragraph 29);
obtaining remote device (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices not in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29) information identifying the one or more remote devices (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices not in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29);
determine, for each local device (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29), a direction (Figure 3A, Element not labeled, but is the direction of the additional users (Elements 306, 308, and 312. Paragraphs 35 - 38) of the local device (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29) relative to the user device (Figure 3A, Element 302. Paragraph 305) via at least one relative direction sensor (Figure 2, Element 209. Paragraphs 27 and 64) of the user device (Figure 3A, Element 302. Paragraph 305); and
displaying, on a display (Figure 2, Element 212. Paragraph 27) of the user device (Figure 3A, Element 302. Paragraph 305), a graphical user interface (GUI) (Figure 3A, Element 304. Paragraph 35) screen including:
for each remote device (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices not in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29) of the one or more remote devices (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices not in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29), a linked device GUI element (Figure 3A, Elements 306, 308, and 312. Paragraphs 35 - 38) corresponding to the remote device (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices not in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29) and comprising a graphical indicator of the remote device (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices not in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29), the one or more remote devices (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices not in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29) being undetected (Element broadcast, server, or other known wireless communication. Paragraph 29) via short-range sensor data (Element direct communication link between devices. Paragraph 29); and
for each local device (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29), a linked device GUI element (Figure 3A, Elements 306, 308, and 312. Paragraphs 35 - 38) corresponding to the local device (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29) and comprising a graphical indicator of the respective direction (Figure 3A, Element not labeled, but is the direction of the additional users (Elements 306, 308, and 312. Paragraphs 35 - 38) of the local device (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29), the one or more local devices (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29) being detected via a short-range sensor (Element direct communication link between devices. Paragraph 29);
receiving a dragging user input (Figures 4A and 4B, Element 406. Paragraphs 55 - 56) representing a dragging gesture (Figures 4A and 4B, Element 406. Paragraphs 55 - 56) performed with respect to a data object icon corresponding to a local data object (Element group communications. Paragraphs 55 - 56) not associated with the virtual workspace (Figure 3A, Element 304. Paragraph 35), the dragging gesture (Figures 4A and 4B, Element 406. Paragraphs 55 - 56) terminates at or near a location of the GUI (Figure 3A, Element 304. Paragraph 35) screen corresponding to a first linked device GUI element (Figure 3A, Elements 306, 308, and 312. Paragraphs 35 - 38) or within a perimeter region (Seen in Figure 3B) of the GUI (Figure 3A, Element 304. Paragraph 35) screen; and
in response to the dragging user input (Figures 4A and 4B, Element 406. Paragraphs 55 - 56), sending the local data object (Element group communications. Paragraphs 55 - 56) to at least one device of the two or more local devices (Figure 1, Element 10, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the devices in direct communication with the mobile device. Paragraph 29).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 7 – 8, 12 – 13, and 15 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (U.S. PG Pub 2013/0331130) in view of Matsubara et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2011/0294433).
Regarding Claim 5, Lee teaches the method of claim 4 (See Above). Lee is silent with regards to further comprising, prior to displaying the GUI screen: receiving, at the user device, a request for a requesting device to join the virtual workspace; obtaining request acceptance information indicating permission for the requesting device to join the virtual workspace; and in response to obtaining the request acceptance information, sharing the virtual workspace with the requesting device such that the requesting device is included among the one or more local devices or the one or more remote devices.
Matsubara et al. teach further comprising, prior to displaying the GUI (Figure 1, Element 302, Sub-Element User Interface. Paragraphs 92 - 93) screen:
receiving, at the user device (Figure 1, Element 300. Paragraph 70), a request (Paragraphs 74 - 75) for a requesting device (Element Initiator. Paragraphs 74 - 75) to join the virtual workspace (Figure 1, Element 302, Sub-Element User Interface. Paragraphs 92 - 93);
obtaining request (Paragraphs 74 - 75) acceptance information indicating permission (Paragraph 75) for the requesting device (Element Initiator. Paragraphs 74 - 75) to join the virtual workspace (Figure 1, Element 302, Sub-Element User Interface. Paragraphs 92 - 93); and
in response to obtaining the request (Paragraphs 74 - 75) acceptance information, sharing the virtual workspace (Figure 1, Element 302, Sub-Element User Interface. Paragraphs 92 - 93) with the requesting device (Element Initiator. Paragraphs 74 - 75) such that the requesting device (Element Initiator. Paragraphs 74 - 75) is included among the one or more local devices (Figure 1, Element 200. Paragraph 71) or the one or more remote devices (Figure 28, Element 200. Paragraph 148).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the visualization of network members of Lee with the data transferring of Matsubara et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Matsubara et al. is to allow the user to intuitively acquire many pieces of information by visually displaying information related to a communication device, as taught by Matsubara et al. (Paragraph 6).
Regarding Claim 7, Lee in view of Matsubara et al. teach the method of claim 5 (See Above). Lee is silent with regards to wherein obtaining the request acceptance information comprises: receiving, from the requesting device, user account information indicating a common user account shared by the requesting device and one or more of the plurality of devices.
Matsubara et al. teach wherein obtaining the request (Paragraphs 74 - 75) acceptance information comprises: receiving, from the requesting device (Element Initiator. Paragraphs 74 - 75), user account (Element Personal Information. Paragraph 98) information indicating a common user account (Element Personal Information. Paragraph 98) shared by the requesting device (Element Initiator. Paragraphs 74 - 75) and one or more of the plurality of devices (Figures 1 and 28, Element 200. Paragraphs 71 and 148).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the visualization of network members of Lee with the data transferring of Matsubara et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Matsubara et al. is to allow the user to intuitively acquire many pieces of information by visually displaying information related to a communication device, as taught by Matsubara et al. (Paragraph 6).
Regarding Claim 8, Lee in view of Matsubara et al. teach the method of claim 5 (See Above). Lee is silent with regards to wherein: the requesting device is a local device of the two or more local devices; and the request is received in response to the requesting device being determined, based on the sensor data, to be within a local environment of the user device.
Matsubara et al. teach wherein: the requesting device (Element Initiator. Paragraphs 74 - 75) is a local device (Figure 1, Element 200. Paragraph 71) of the two (Figure 25) or more local devices (Figure 1, Element 200. Paragraph 71); and
the request (Paragraphs 74 - 75) is received in response to the requesting device (Element Initiator. Paragraphs 74 - 75) being determined, based on the sensor data (Figure 5, Element 120. Paragraph 101), to be within a local environment of the user device (Figure 1, Element 300. Paragraph 70).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the visualization of network members of Lee with the data transferring of Matsubara et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Matsubara et al. is to allow the user to intuitively acquire many pieces of information by visually displaying information related to a communication device, as taught by Matsubara et al. (Paragraph 6).
Regarding Claim 12, Lee teaches the method of claim 1 (See Above). Lee is silent with regards to wherein the dragging gesture terminates at a location within the GUI screen corresponding to the first linked device GUI element, the first linked device GUI element corresponding to a first device of the two or more local devices; and wherein the local data object is sent to the first device.
Matsubara et al. teach the dragging gesture (Figures 24 - 29, Element gesture. Paragraphs 142 - 149) terminates at a location within the GUI (Figure 1, Element 302, Sub-Element User Interface. Paragraphs 92 - 93) screen corresponding to the first linked device GUI (Figure 1, Element 302, Sub-Element User Interface. Paragraphs 92 - 93) element, the first linked device GUI (Figure 1, Element 302, Sub-Element User Interface. Paragraphs 92 - 93) element corresponding to a first device (Figure 24, Element 300. Paragraphs 142 - 143) of the two (Figure 25) or more local devices (Figure 1, Element 200. Paragraph 71); and
wherein the local data object is sent to the first device (Figure 24, Element 300. Paragraphs 142 - 143).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the visualization of network members of Lee with the data transferring of Matsubara et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Matsubara et al. is to allow the user to intuitively acquire many pieces of information by visually displaying information related to a communication device, as taught by Matsubara et al. (Paragraph 6).
Regarding Claim 13, Lee teaches the method of claim 12 (See Above). Lee is silent with regards to further comprising: receiving, at the first device, the local data object of the user device; displaying, on a display of the first device, a first device GUI screen including a received data object icon; receiving, via of the first device, a first device dragging user input indicating a dragging gesture performed with respect to the received data object icon; in response to receiving the first device dragging user input, displaying, on the display of the first device, a first device local workspace GUI screen including first device local workspace information not associated with the virtual workspace; and saving the received local data object to a memory of the first device in association with the first device local workspace information.
Matsubara et al. teach further comprising:
receiving, at the first device (Figure 24, Element 300. Paragraphs 142 - 143), the local data object of the user device (Figure 1, Element 300. Paragraph 70);
displaying, on a display of the first device (Figure 24, Element 300. Paragraphs 142 - 143), a first device (Figure 24, Element 300. Paragraphs 142 - 143) GUI (Figure 1, Element 302, Sub-Element User Interface. Paragraphs 92 - 93) screen including a received data object icon (Seen in Figure 24. Paragraphs 142 – 143);
receiving, via the first device (Figure 24, Element 300. Paragraphs 142 - 143), a first device (Figure 24, Element 300. Paragraphs 142 - 143) dragging user input (Figure 25. Paragraph 144) indicating a dragging gesture (Figures 24 - 29, Element gesture. Paragraphs 142 - 149) performed with respect to the received data object icon (Seen in Figure 24. Paragraphs 142 – 143);
in response to receiving the first device (Figure 24, Element 300. Paragraphs 142 - 143) dragging user input (Figure 25. Paragraph 144), displaying, on the display of the first device (Figure 24, Element 300. Paragraphs 142 - 143), a first device (Figure 24, Element 300. Paragraphs 142 - 143) local workspace GUI (Figure 1, Element 202, Sub-Element User Interface. Paragraphs 92 - 93) screen including first device (Figure 24, Element 300. Paragraphs 142 - 143) local workspace information not associated with the virtual workspace (Figure 1, Element 302, Sub-Element User Interface. Paragraphs 92 - 93); and
saving (Paragraphs 142 – 145) the received local data object to a memory (Paragraph 91) of the first device (Figure 24, Element 300. Paragraphs 142 - 143) in association with the first device (Figure 24, Element 300. Paragraphs 142 - 143) local workspace information.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the visualization of network members of Lee with the data transferring of Matsubara et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Matsubara et al. is to allow the user to intuitively acquire many pieces of information by visually displaying information related to a communication device, as taught by Matsubara et al. (Paragraph 6).
Regarding Claim 15, Lee teaches the method of claim 1 (See Above), further comprising: activating a shared screen mode of the user device such that a local workspace GUI screen of the user device, including local workspace information of the user device not associated with the virtual workspace, is accessible by the two or more local devices as part of the shared workspace information; receiving, via the user device, a screen share transfer user input indicating a selection of one of the linked device GUI elements associated with a first device of the two or more local devices; and in response to receiving the screen share transfer user input, displaying, on the display of the user device, a first device workspace GUI screen including local workspace information of the first device.
Matsubara et al. teach further comprising:
activating a shared screen mode (Figure 27. Paragraph 147) of the user device (Figure 1, Element 300. Paragraph 70) such that a local workspace GUI (Figure 1, Element 202, Sub-Element User Interface. Paragraphs 92 - 93) screen of the user device (Figure 1, Element 300. Paragraph 70), including local workspace information (Paragraph 149) of the user device (Figure 1, Element 300. Paragraph 70) not associated with the virtual workspace (Figure 1, Element 302, Sub-Element User Interface. Paragraphs 92 - 93), is accessible by the two or more local devices (Figure 1, Element 200. Paragraph 71) as part of the shared workspace information (Figure 1, Element 302, Sub-Element User Interface. Paragraphs 92 - 93);
receiving, via the user device (Figure 1, Element 300. Paragraph 70), a screen share transfer user input (Figure 25. Paragraph 144) indicating a selection of one of the linked device GUI (Figure 1, Element 302, Sub-Element User Interface. Paragraphs 92 - 93) elements associated with a first device (Figure 24, Element 300. Paragraphs 142 - 143) of the two or more local devices (Figure 1, Element 200. Paragraph 71); and
in response to receiving the screen share transfer user input (Figure 25. Paragraph 144), displaying, on the display of the user device (Figure 1, Element 300. Paragraph 70), a first device (Figure 24, Element 300. Paragraphs 142 - 143) workspace GUI (Figure 1, Element 302, Sub-Element User Interface. Paragraphs 92 - 93) screen including local workspace information of the first device (Figure 24, Element 300. Paragraphs 142 - 143).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the visualization of network members of Lee with the data transferring of Matsubara et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Matsubara et al. is to allow the user to intuitively acquire many pieces of information by visually displaying information related to a communication device, as taught by Matsubara et al. (Paragraph 6).
Regarding Claim 16, Lee teaches the method of claim 15, wherein: the GUI screen comprises a virtual workspace GUI screen further including at least a portion of the shared workspace information; and the screen share transfer user input comprises a second dragging gesture performed with respect to: the first linked device GUI element or a second linked device GUI element, wherein the second dragging gesture terminates within a portion of the GUI screen displaying the shared workspace information.
Matsubara et al. teach wherein: the GUI (Figure 1, Element 302, Sub-Element User Interface. Paragraphs 92 - 93) screen comprises a virtual workspace (Figure 1, Element 302, Sub-Element User Interface. Paragraphs 92 - 93) GUI (Figure 1, Element 302, Sub-Element User Interface. Paragraphs 92 - 93) screen further including at least a portion of the shared workspace information (Figure 1, Element 302, Sub-Element User Interface. Paragraphs 92 - 93); and
the screen share transfer user input (Figure 25. Paragraph 144) comprises a second dragging gesture (Figure 26, Element gesture. Paragraph 146) performed with respect to the first linked device GUI element or a second linked device GUI element (Seen in Figure 26. Paragraph 146), wherein the second dragging gesture (Figure 26, Element gesture. Paragraph 146) terminates within a portion of the GUI (Figure 1, Element 302, Sub-Element User Interface. Paragraphs 92 - 93) screen displaying the shared workspace information (Figure 1, Element 302, Sub-Element User Interface. Paragraphs 92 - 93)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the visualization of network members of Lee with the data transferring of Matsubara et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Matsubara et al. is to allow the user to intuitively acquire many pieces of information by visually displaying information related to a communication device, as taught by Matsubara et al. (Paragraph 6).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (U.S. PG Pub 2013/0331130) in view of Matsubara et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2011/0294433) in view of Hinckley et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2006/0294247).
Regarding Claim 6, Lee in view of Matsubara et al. teach the method of claim 5 (See Above). Lee is silent with regards to wherein obtaining the request acceptance information comprises: displaying, on the display of the user device, a request GUI element representative of the request; receiving, via an input device of the user device, a request acceptance user input indicating acceptance of the request; and processing the request acceptance user input to generate the request acceptance information.
Matsubara et al. teach wherein obtaining the request (Paragraphs 74 - 75) acceptance information comprises:
receiving, via an input device (Figure 5, Element 170. Paragraph 90) of the user device (Figure 1, Element 300. Paragraph 70), a request (Paragraphs 74 - 75) acceptance user input (Figure 25. Paragraph 144) indicating acceptance of the request (Paragraphs 74 - 75); and
processing the request (Paragraphs 74 - 75) acceptance user input (Figure 25. Paragraph 144) to generate the request (Paragraphs 74 - 75) acceptance information.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the visualization of network members of Lee with the data transferring of Matsubara et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Matsubara et al. is to allow the user to intuitively acquire many pieces of information by visually displaying information related to a communication device, as taught by Matsubara et al. (Paragraph 6).
Hinckley et al. teach displaying, on the display of the user device, a request GUI element representative of the request (Figure 9. Paragraphs 49 – 51).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the visualization of network members of Lee and the data transferring of Matsubara et al. with the connection icon of Hinckley et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Lee and Matsubara et al. with the teachings of Hinckley et al. is to provide feedback to the user of an ongoing connection, as taught by Hinckley et al. (Paragraph 51).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17 – 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record fails to disclose at least “the portal screen includes, in addition to the linked device GUI elements displayed at respective positions along the perimeter of the portal screen, a workspace panel having a first display size; and the display of the user device displays a radar screen when the user device is operating in a radar mode, the radar screen including: a radar screen workspace panel having a second size smaller than the first display size, such that a border is displayed by the display outside of the radar screen workspace display panel; and for each linked device GUI element of the portal screen, a corresponding radar screen linked device GUI element displayed at a respective position along the perimeter of the display within the border; the method further comprising: receiving, via an input device of the user device, a display mode switching user input; and in response to receiving the display mode switching user input, switching the user device between the portal mode and the radar mode” in combination with the other limitations of Claims 1 – 4. Claim 18 inherits this objection.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the first argument, in which the applicant asserts that Lee fails to teach at least “a dragging user input representing a dragging gesture performed with respect to a data object icon corresponding to a local data object” of at least Claim 1. The applicant argues that there is no data icon corresponding to the local data object being shown in Figures 4A and 4B. The applicant further argues that Element 406 of Lee is not equivalent to a dragging gesture. The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s assertion. Lee discloses “The mobile device may be configured to enable users to select groups of users with which they desire to perform group communications by, for example, drawing a circle 406 around two or more icons 306, 308. FIG. 4B illustrates an interactive graphical user interface 304 configured to receive user input for creating communication groups in accordance with various embodiments. As mentioned above, the mobile device may be configured to enable users to create and select groups of users with which to initiate a group communication session. A user may create groups of users by, for example, drawing circles 406 around multiple icons/avatars or by specifying a radius or diameter within which devices are to be selected. FIG. 4B illustrates that the circles 406 may be expanded or collapsed to include all mobile devices within a geographic area (Paragraphs 55 – 56. Emphasis Added).” The examiner firstly notes that the circle (Element 406) itself is the data icon corresponding to the group communications. Furthermore, it is clear that Figure 4B illustrates the circle being expanded, as is shown by the arrows and the expanded circle. Therefore all the elements of the claim language have been met. The Office is unmoved by the applicant’s assertion and the rejection is maintained.
All other arguments are found moot in light of the above rejection and/or the response to the first argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Oba (U.S. PG Pub 2004/0248617) disclose a shared screen environment similar to the instant invention.
Lyle (U.S. PG Pub 2009/0106667) discloses a multi-user environment that discloses private user areas for each user area.
Lemmens (U.S. PG Pub 2022/0391158) discloses a multiple display interface that allows users to move data from on device to another, similar to the instant invention.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.B.S/Examiner, Art Unit 2625 /WILLIAM BODDIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2625