DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adachi (US 2011/0083102 A1) in view of Suga Ya (US 2017/0109123 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Adachi teaches:
An electronic device supporting application (app) mirroring, (Abstract) comprising:
a communication unit configured to connect a communication channel with a source electronic device by at least one direct communication protocol; (FIG. 1 [0034], “The information processing apparatus 100 is connected to a LAN 121, to which a router 120 with a wireless LAN access point is connected. The terminal devices 110 are wirelessly connected to this router 120 with the wireless LAN access point. Therefore, the information processing apparatus 100 and terminal devices 110 can make data communications with each other via the router 120 with the wireless LAN access point and the LAN 121. Note that the network configuration between the information processing apparatus 100 and terminal devices 110 is not limited to such specific configuration, and any other network configurations may be adopted if they can make data communications with each other.”)
a display unit configured to display each of one or more mirroring images, as a mirroring screen, in a mirroring area; (Abstract: “An information processing apparatus displays a window screen based on screen information transmitted from a terminal device.” FIG. 1, 101)
memory storing instructions;([0037], “The RAM 207 is an example of a computer-readable storage medium, and has an area for temporarily storing computer programs and data loaded from an external storage device 209,”) and at least one processor operatively connected to the memory, the communication unit and the display unit,(FIG. 1, 100, FIG. 2) wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to:
control the display unit to display the mirroring screen based on mirroring data received from the source electronic device through the communication unit;([0049], “Referring to FIG. 3A, a screen 400 is an example of a screen displayed on the projection device 101. In this screen 400, a window (screen sharing application window) 401, which is displayed when the screen sharing application runs, is allocated. The screen sharing application window 401 includes regions (sharing window regions) 402 and 407. In the sharing window region 402, a window 403 shared with one terminal device 110 (first terminal device) is displayed (first display).” FIG. 1 shows the communication. )
detect a resize event requesting to change a size of the mirroring screen displayed on the display unit; ([0057], “As a result of analysis, the CPU 306 checks whether or not an event received from the information processing apparatus 100 indicates that a resize operation of a window sharing-designated in step S701 (sharing window) has started on the information processing apparatus 100 side.”)
based on detecting the resize event, obtain resized region size for changing the size of the mirroring screen; ([0063], “In step S703, the CPU 306 calculates a window resizable region. In this case, the CPU 306 acquires a screen size (desktop size) of the display unit 305 as the window resizable region.”)
receive resized mirroring data having resized region size from the source electronic device through the communication unit; ([0063], “In step S703, the CPU 306 calculates a window resizable region. In this case, the CPU 306 acquires a screen size (desktop size) of the display unit 305 as the window resizable region. In step S704, the CPU 306 transmits, as an event, window resize state information including information indicating the calculated window resizable region and information indicating that the resize start event of the sharing window to the information processing apparatus 100. ”) and
control the display unit to display a resized mirroring screen based on the resized mirroring data.([0087], “When the user completes the drag operation using the input device 107, since a final window size is decided in step S904, the CPU 206 transmits the decided window size to the second terminal device. Upon reception of this final window size, the second terminal device magnifies the window 421 according to the received window size, as indicated by the dotted arrow in FIG. 3E.”)
However, Adachi does not, but Suga Va teaches:
obtain resized region size can be obtain at least one of a target resolution or a target dot per inch (DPI) for changing the size of the mirroring screen ([0095], “the request data generation module 153 may generate request data to change the resolution of shared screen data to a lower resolution.” FIG. 4)
Adachi and Suga Va both teaches screen sharing and allowing users to change the size of the shared region size. Adachi generally uses a resize data. Suga Va teaches using resolution data to change shared region.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have combined the teachings of Adachi with the specific teachings of Suga Va to allow users more flexibility in screen sharing process.
Regarding claim 2, Adachi in view of Suga Va teaches:
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: based on the resize event being detected from an input of a menu button provided on the mirroring screen, (Adachi, [0058], “In this case, the resize start event of the sharing window can be detected by detecting dragging of an end of the sharing window on the information processing apparatus 100 side by, e.g., an operation of a mouse. Of course, various other methods of detecting the resize start event of the sharing window are available, and this embodiment may adopt any of these methods.” Adachi gives an example of dragging the end of the shared window using a mouse, but indicates any other method can be used. It would be a design choice of using a button to change the size of a region. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have combined the teachings of Adachi with this design choice to gives users more options of changing a size of a region.) obtain at least one of the target resolution or the target DPI based on the input of the menu button; (Suga Va [0095], “the request data generation module 153 may generate request data to change the resolution of shared screen data to a lower resolution.” FIG. 4) and determine whether to resize the mirroring screen based on the detecting the resize event, and a result of comparing the target resolution or the target DPI and a current resolution or a current DPI of the mirroring screen.( Suga Va [0102]-[0103], “The operator terminal 100 may change the display range of a response screen in accordance with a displayable screen resolution as needed. If the resolution of screen data is changed to a lower resolution in the received response data, the response data display module 154 of the operator terminal 100 may superimposed-display response data in which the resolution of screen data is changed to a lower resolution, inside or outside a shared area 300 as a response screen 320. ”) The combination rationale of claim 1 is incorporated here.
Regarding claim 3, Adachi in view of Suga Va teaches:
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to, based on the resize event being detected from a changing of the size of the mirroring screen by a user, (Adachi [0063], “In step S703, the CPU 306 calculates a window resizable region. In this case, the CPU 306 acquires a screen size (desktop size) of the display unit 305 as the window resizable region.” [0058])
obtain at least one of the target resolution or the target DPI based on the size of the mirroring screen changed by the user. (Suga Va [0095], “the request data generation module 153 may generate request data to change the resolution of shared screen data to a lower resolution.” FIG. 4) The combination rationale of claim 1 is incorporated here.
Regarding claim 4, Adachi in view of Suga Va teaches:
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
determine whether to resize the mirroring screen based on the detection of the resize event, a change in a display direction of the mirroring screen, a variation in the size of the mirroring screen with a changed display direction, or a ratio of the mirroring screen with the changed display direction to an entire display area; (Adachi [0058], “In this case, the resize start event of the sharing window can be detected by detecting dragging of an end of the sharing window on the information processing apparatus 100 side by, e.g., an operation of a mouse. Of course, various other methods of detecting the resize start event of the sharing window are available, and this embodiment may adopt any of these methods. Examples of these methods are as follows. [0059] The resize event is detected by monitoring the size of the sharing window on the terminal device 110 side. [0060] Generation of the resize event of the sharing window is detected by hooking a mouse event generated on the terminal device 110 side. [0061] The resize event is detected by monitoring the size of the sharing window by image analysis on the terminal device 110 side. [0062] When the information processing apparatus 100 transmits a resize message, generation of the resize event of the sharing window is detected by monitoring transmission of this message on the terminal device 110 side.”) and based on determining not to resize the mirroring screen, control the display unit to display a scaled mirroring screen based on up-scaling or down-scaling a mirroring image displayed on the mirroring screen.( Adachi [0067], “On the other hand, in step S706 the CPU 306 executes processing according to the received event. Note that when the received event indicates a finally decided size of the sharing window, the CPU 306 magnifies the self sharing window according to this decided size. In this case, since the display content of the magnified sharing window is changed, the CPU 306 transmits screen information of the magnified sharing window and an event indicating that the sharing window has been changed or updated to the information processing apparatus 100.”)
Regarding claim 5, Adachi in view of Suga Va teaches:
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
determine whether to resize the mirroring screen based on the detection of the resize event, and based on a ratio of the size of the mirroring screen to be changed by the resizing to a size of a display screen exceeding a threshold level; (Adachi [0058], “In this case, the resize start event of the sharing window can be detected by detecting dragging of an end of the sharing window on the information processing apparatus 100 side by, e.g., an operation of a mouse. Of course, various other methods of detecting the resize start event of the sharing window are available, and this embodiment may adopt any of these methods. Examples of these methods are as follows. [0059] The resize event is detected by monitoring the size of the sharing window on the terminal device 110 side.” The display screen is fixed. If the resize size of the mirroring screen is bigger than the display screen itself, the mirroring screen is out of range, which cannot be seen, so the ratio cannot exceed 1, as shown in FIG. 3E.) and based on determining not to resize the mirroring screen, control the display unit to display a scaled mirroring screen based on up-scaling or down-scaling a mirroring image displayed on the mirroring screen. (Adachi [0067], “On the other hand, in step S706 the CPU 306 executes processing according to the received event. Note that when the received event indicates a finally decided size of the sharing window, the CPU 306 magnifies the self sharing window according to this decided size. In this case, since the display content of the magnified sharing window is changed, the CPU 306 transmits screen information of the magnified sharing window and an event indicating that the sharing window has been changed or updated to the information processing apparatus 100.”)
Regarding claim 7, Adachi in view of Suga Va teaches:
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to transmit size adjustment information about at least one of the target resolution or the target DPI to the source electronic device through the communication unit,( Adachi [0087], “When the user completes the drag operation using the input device 107, since a final window size is decided in step S904, the CPU 206 transmits the decided window size to the second terminal device. Upon reception of this final window size, the second terminal device magnifies the window 421 according to the received window size, as indicated by the dotted arrow in FIG. 3E.”See claim 1 for the combination with Suga Va regarding resolution teaching. ) and wherein the size adjustment information includes an app identifier corresponding to the mirroring screen for which the resize event is detected.( Adachi FIG. 3A-C teaches that if size adjustment event is on window 403, the resize information will be sent to terminal 410, if size adjustment event is on window 405, the resize information will be sent to terminal 420.)
Claim 8-12, 14 recites similar limitations of claim 1-5, 7 respectively, thus are rejected accordingly.
Claim 15-19 recites similar limitations of claim 1-5 respectively, thus are rejected accordingly.
Claim(s) 6, 13, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adachi in view of Suga Ya and further in view of Kato (US 2014/0313283 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Adachi in view of Suga Ya teaches:
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to, based on detecting the resize event, (Adachi [0058], “In this case, the resize start event of the sharing window can be detected by detecting dragging of an end of the sharing window on the information processing apparatus 100 side by, e.g., an operation of a mouse.”)
However, Adachi in view of Suga Ya does not, but Kato teaches:
obtain a preset suggested resolution or suggested DPI corresponding to the size of the mirroring screen to be changed by resizing, among preset suggested resolutions or suggested DPIs for each mirroring screen size, as the target resolution or the target DPI.([0306]-[0309], “In FIG. 31, the resolution retrieval unit 14b10 of the image display control unit 14b accesses the basic data fields of the storing unit 1000, and obtains the recommended resolution (step S101). Subsequently, the resolution determination unit 14b11 determines whether the retrieved recommended resolution is predetermined resolution (e.g., 1920.times.1080, 1280.times.720) that is greater than or equal to the priority resolution (e.g. 1280.times.720) in the reference aspect ratio (e.g. 16:9) (step S102). When the resolution determination unit 14b11 determines that the retrieved recommended resolution is the predetermined resolution that is greater than or equal to the priority resolution in the reference aspect ratio (step S102: YES), the resolution selecting unit 14b12 selects the priority resolution (e.g., 1280.times.720), and the resolution changing unit 14b15 changes the resolution of the transmission terminal device 10 to be the resolution which has been selected by the resolution selecting unit 14b12 (step S103).”)
Adachi in view of Suga Ya teaches based on resizing events, obtain resolution data. Kato teaches a specific resolution data acquiring method, which considers several preset resolution info as well as screen size.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have combined the teachings of Adachi in view of Suga Ya with the specific teachings of Kato to select a resolution data that provide a good image display quality.
Claim 13 and 20 recites similar limitations of claim 6, thus are rejected accordingly.
Conclusion
/YANNA WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615