DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS documents submitted 7/23/2025 and 9/12/2025 are acknowledged and have been considered.
Drawings
The drawings submitted 4/8/2025 are acknowledged and acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Martorana et al. (U.S. Patent 6,392,213).
In regards to claim 1, Martorana et al (henceforth referred to as Martorana) disclose a projectile for firing via a barrel weapon. Martorana teaches a projectile fired via an artillery cannon (col. 4, lines 51-67), the projectile comprising:
a projectile casing with a first casing section. As illustrated, the shroud of the Martorana cartridge constitutes a casing in multiple sections (see figures 1a, 9a and 9b); and
a second casing section that adjoins the first casing section at a separation
point. Note the at least two shroud pieces during separation; and
an ejection charge. Martorana teaches explusion charges embedded in the shroud (col. 9, lines 34-5), a programmable time fuse and loitering munition
arranged in the projectile casing. The device of Martorana includes a “flyer” (item 14) in the shroud along with a timed fuse that ignites the expulsion charges.
In regards to claim 2, Martorana discloses that the second casing section is fastened to the first casing section via a connector or screw connection. The separable portions of the shroud of the Martorana design are fastened via a form of connector prior to flyer expulsion.
In regards to claim 3, Martorana discloses that the loitering munition is arranged in the projectile casing in a rotationally fixed manner relative to the projectile casing. The flyer of the Martorana design is positioned in the shroud in a fixed manner until the shroud is removed.
In regards to claim 4, Martorana discloses that the projectile is a spin-stabilized projectile. Martorana teaches de-spinning the projectile and flyer after firing from the artillery cannon (col. 3, lines 57-63).
In regards to claim 5, Martorana discloses that the projectile is a wing-stabilized projectile. The “flyer” includes wings (“wing assembly”, item 20).
In regards to claim 6, Martorana disclose that the ejection charge is adapted to the projectile casing such that the second casing section is adapted to be separated
from the first casing section by a detonation of the ejection charge. Martorana teaches expulsion charges that function in the claimed manner incorporated into/onto the shroud for separation of the shroud.
In regards to claim 7, Martorana discloses that the first casing section is a projectile front part, and the second casing section is a projectile rear part or projectile base. The casing structure of the Martorana design includes a nose section as well as an aft section (see figures 9a and 9b).
In regards to claim 8, Martorana discloses a weapon system comprising:
a projectile according to claim 1; and
a barrel weapon corresponding to the projectile for firing the projectile. Martorana teaches an artillery cannon launching a projectile.
In regards to claim 9, Martorana discloses a base station to operate the loitering munition, wherein the based station is adapted for data transmission between the base station and the loitering munition. Martorana teaches launching the projectile and flyer from a base station (artillery location, submarine, warship etc.) and allowing the flyer to loiter over a target to transmit data. Note the imager electronics with a transmitter (item 63).
In regards to claim 10, Martorana discloses a weapon system configured to carry out a method for delivering a loitering munition to a target area via a barrel weapon, the method comprising:
firing a projectile via the barrel weapon in a direction of a target area. Martorana teaches using artillery cannon to fire projectile towards a target area (col. 4, lines 51-67), the projectile having a projectile casing in which the loitering munition is arranged;
ejecting the loitering munition from the projectile casing. As illustrated, the shroud of the Martorana cartridge constitutes a casing in multiple sections (see figures 1a, 9a and 9b;
unfolding at least one wing of the loitering munition and/or activating on-
board electronics of the loitering munition (col. 10, lines 12-34); and
performing an independent flight phase of the loitering munition towards the
target area and/or in the target area. Martorana teaches independent flight after ejection from shroud.
In regards to claim 11, Martorana discloses a weapon system configured to carry out a method for delivering loitering munition to a target area via a barrel weapon. Martorana teaches an artillery launched projectile that includes a loitering “flyer” (col. 4, lines 51-67), the method comprising:
firing a projectile via the barrel weapon (col. 4, lines 51-67), the projectile having a projectile casing (see figures 1a, 9a and 9b), the loitering munition being arranged in the projectile casing (see figure 9a);
directing the projectile towards the target area. Martorana teaches launching the projectile and the flyer towards targets (see figure 11);
detonating an ejection charge of the projectile, the projectile casing being
separated into a first casing section and a second casing section. Figure 9a shows detonation of an expulsion charge to separate a first part of the casing;
ejecting the loitering munition from the projectile, wherein after ejection of
the loitering munition, a spin of the loitering munition is reduced. Martorana teaches de-spinning the projectile and flyer after firing from the artillery cannon (col. 3, lines 57-63);
unfolding at least one wing of the loitering munition and/or activating on-board electronics of the loitering munition, wherein after activation of the on-board
electronics, communication takes place with a base station and/or with advanced
observers (col. 10, lines 12-34);
performing an independent flight phase of the loitering munition, wherein the
loitering munition covers a remaining flight distance towards the target area
and/or surveys and/or observes the target area. Martoranna teaches deployment of the flyer to survey a target; and
initiating, via the loitering munition, engagement of the target object after
identification of a target object in the target area. Martoranna teaches that the flyer may utilize munitions to engage a target.
Summary/Conclusion
Claims 1-11 are rejected.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Troy Chambers can be reached on 571-272-6874. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/BENJAMIN P LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641