Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12270271. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of ‘271 contain all the limitations of the pending claims; they are merely more narrow versions of the claimed invention. Therefore, one of ordinary skill of art would find it obvious to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dille et al. (US 20170122060).
CLAIM 1: Dille discloses a fluid conduit assembly for a fluid supply system. The assembly comprises a low-pressure monobore conduit assembly (120) comprising a low-pressure monobore conduit (130), at least one low-pressure inlet (125), and a plurality of low-pressure outlets (to pumps), wherein the at least one low- pressure inlet is configured to direct low-pressure fluid from a fluid source (tanks, not shown) to the low-pressure monobore conduit. The plurality of low-pressure outlets is configured to direct the low-pressure fluid from the low-pressure monobore conduit to a plurality of fluid pumps (paragraph 0021). At least one first low- pressure outlet of the plurality of low-pressure outlets is positioned on a first side of the low- pressure monobore conduit, and at least one second low-pressure outlet of the plurality of low- pressure outlets is positioned on a second side of the low-pressure monobore conduit, opposite the first side of the low-pressure monobore conduit (see Fig. 1). A high-pressure monobore conduit assembly (140) comprising a high-pressure monobore conduit (paragraph 0022), a plurality of high-pressure inlets (155), and at least one high-pressure outlet (145), wherein the plurality of high-pressure inlets is configured to direct high-pressure fluid from the plurality of fluid pumps to the high-pressure monobore conduit (paragraph 0023), the at least one high-pressure outlet is configured to direct the high-pressure fluid toward a well (paragraph 0022, tree not shown). At least one first high-pressure inlet of the plurality of high-pressure inlets is positioned on a first side of the high-pressure monobore conduit, and at least one second high-pressure inlet of the plurality of high-pressure inlets is positioned on a second side of the high-pressure monobore conduit, opposite the first side of the high-pressure monobore conduit (see Fig. 1).
CLAIM 2: A longitudinal axis of the low- pressure monobore conduit is substantially parallel to a longitudinal axis of the high-pressure monobore conduit (see Fig. 1).
CLAIM 3: The longitudinal axis of the low- pressure monobore conduit is substantially aligned with the longitudinal axis of the high-pressure monobore conduit along a lateral axis of the fluid conduit assembly (see Fig. 1).
CLAIM 4: The at least one low-pressure inlet comprises a plurality of low-pressure inlets (see Fig. 1, multiple openings into manifold), and each low-pressure inlet of the plurality of low-pressure inlets comprises a fluid passage configured to independently direct the low-pressure fluid from the fluid source to the low-pressure monobore conduit (see Fig. 1).
CLAIM 5: At least one first low-pressure inlet of the plurality of low-pressure inlets is positioned on the first side of the low-pressure monobore conduit, and at least one second low-pressure inlet of the plurality of low-pressure inlets is positioned on the second side of the low-pressure monobore conduit (see Fig. 1, showing inlets on the left and right).
CLAIM 7: The low-pressure monobore conduit assembly and the high-pressure monobore conduit assembly are supported on a ground by a plurality of stands (see Fig. 1, supported by trailer 100).
CLAIM 8: The at least one first low-pressure outlet comprises a plurality of first low-pressure outlets (to plurality of pumps), the at least one second low-pressure outlet comprises a plurality of second low-pressure outlets (to plurality of pumps), and each first low-pressure outlet of the plurality of first low-pressure outlets is aligned with a respective opposing second low-pressure outlet of the plurality of second low-pressure outlets along a longitudinal axis of the low-pressure monobore conduit (see Fig. 1).
CLAIM 9: Dille discloses a fluid conduit assembly for a fluid supply system. The assembly comprises a low-pressure monobore conduit assembly (120) comprising a low-pressure monobore conduit (130), at least one low-pressure inlet (125), and a plurality of low-pressure outlets (to pumps), wherein the at least one low- pressure inlet is configured to direct low-pressure fluid from a fluid source (tanks, not shown) to the low-pressure monobore conduit. The plurality of low-pressure outlets is configured to direct the low-pressure fluid from the low-pressure monobore conduit to a plurality of fluid pumps (paragraph 0021). A high-pressure monobore conduit assembly (140) comprising a high-pressure monobore conduit (paragraph 0022), a plurality of high-pressure inlets (155), and at least one high-pressure outlet (145), wherein the plurality of high-pressure inlets is configured to direct high-pressure fluid from the plurality of fluid pumps to the high-pressure monobore conduit (paragraph 0023), the at least one high-pressure outlet is configured to direct the high-pressure fluid toward a well (paragraph 0022, tree not shown). A longitudinal axis of the low-pressure monobore conduit is substantially parallel to a longitudinal axis of the high-pressure monobore conduit, and the longitudinal axis of the low- pressure monobore conduit is substantially aligned with the longitudinal axis of the high-pressure monobore conduit along a lateral axis of the fluid conduit assembly (see Fig. 1).
CLAIMS 10-13: See claims 4-7 above.
CLAIM 14: See claim 1 above, discussion of low pressure system covers this claim.
CLAIM 15: Dille discloses a fluid conduit assembly for a fluid supply system. The assembly comprises a low-pressure monobore conduit assembly (120) comprising a low-pressure monobore conduit (130), a plurality of low-pressure inlets (125), and a plurality of low-pressure outlets (to pumps). Each low- pressure inlet of the plurality of low-pressure inlets comprises a fluid passage configured to independently direct low-pressure fluid from a fluid source to the low-pressure monobore conduit (see Fig. 1). The plurality of low-pressure outlets is configured to direct the low-pressure fluid from the low-pressure monobore conduit to a plurality of fluid pumps (paragraph 0021). A high-pressure monobore conduit assembly (140) comprising a high-pressure monobore conduit (paragraph 0022), a plurality of high-pressure inlets (155), and at least one high-pressure outlet (145). The plurality of high-pressure inlets is configured to direct high-pressure fluid from the plurality of fluid pumps to the high-pressure monobore conduit, and the at least one high-pressure outlet is configured to direct the high-pressure fluid toward a well (paragraphs 0022-23).
CLAIM 16: See claim 1 above, discussion of low pressure system covers this claim.
CLAIM 17: See claim 6 above.
CLAIM 18: See claim 7 above.
CLAIM 19: See claim 2 above.
CLAIM 20: See claim 1 above, discussion of low pressure system covers this claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dille.
Dille discloses the elements of claim 5 as discussed above.
Dille further discloses the at least one first low-pressure inlet comprises a plurality of first low-pressure inlets (Fig. 1), the at least one second low-pressure inlet comprises a plurality of second low-pressure inlets (Fig. 1).
Dille fails to disclose each first low-pressure inlet of the plurality of first low-pressure inlets is aligned with a respective opposing second low-pressure inlet of the plurality of second low-pressure inlets along a longitudinal axis of the low-pressure monobore conduit.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Dille to be arranged as claimed as rearrangement of parts in which the inlets and outlets would still perform the same function and the rearrangement would allow the system to fit different systems based on the geometry of the jobsite.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited art shows similar structures for low and high pressure systems.
/PATRICK F LAMBE/Examiner, Art Unit 3679
/TARA SCHIMPF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676