DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recited “from an active tracking communication device” is not clear whether the device is whether is it a tag reader, access point, access node, mobile device or the active tracking tag itself. Also, it’s not clear how received signal strength can corresponding to information instead of relate to a signal itself. Claim 1 recite “passive tracking information tag” appears inconsistent with “passive tracking tag”.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the predetermined site survey" in lines 21. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 2-6 are further depend on the claim 1 so they are also rejected for a same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reuber et al. US 20190377913 in view of Dillon US 20240211875.
Regarding claim 7, Reuber et al. teach An asset tracking system for tracking a location of an asset within a facility, the system comprising: an electronic processor configured to receive active tracking information from a first communications device, the active tracking information corresponding to a first communications modality, (Reuber et al. US 20190377913 abstract; paragraphs [0006]-[0011]; [0020]-[0029]; figures 1-4;)
In operation, active identification tag 102 may periodically (e.g., every second, every several seconds, or with any other suitable transmission period) transmit a signal, such as a beacon, that may be received by one or multiple active tag readers 112, which may be equipped with antennas 114. Active tag readers 112 may be suitably positioned throughout an active tracking area 116 (sometimes referred to herein as simply “active area”) being monitored by monitoring system 100. The beacon signal may carry identifying information, such as a unique identifier associated with the active identification tag 102, an identifier associated an employee or other person to which the active identification tag 102 is assigned, an identifier associated with a cart or bag to which the active identification tag 102 is attached, etc. One or more active tag readers 112 that receive the signal may, in turn, relay information carried by the signal and information related to reception of the signal (e.g., received signal strength) to a suitable location tracking device, such as an active tag reader controller (not shown) positioned in active area 116 and/or location monitoring device 140 positioned remotely from active area 116. Location tracking device may utilize such information to determine or approximate location of active identification tag 102, and may thus track a location of active identification tag 102 as it moves around the active area 116 (Reuber et al. par. 24).
According to the cited passages, examiner interpret one of the active tag reader device 112 as the first communication device.
receive passive tracking information from a second communications device, the passive tracking information corresponding to a second communications modality,
The database may include information about the asset that corresponds to the unique identifier, such as part types, usage, serial number, time-in-service, or any other desired details about the asset. In addition, the active monitoring system may include enhanced location capabilities for locating the asset and corresponding passive tag, using known techniques such as triangulation or location fingerprinting based on signal strength (Reuber et al. par. 6). To implement automatic assignment of passive identification tag(s) 104 to active identification tag(s) 102, fusion and tracking application 146 may maintain a list (e.g., a table stored in a database) of one or more predetermined assignment or “Check Out” zones 160 within the active area 116. Fusion and tracking application 146 may additionally store associations between respective unique identifiers of assignment zones 160 and passive tag readers 122 positioned within close proximity to assignment zones 160. In operation, fusion and tracking application 146 may receive a signal from a passive tag reader 122, the signal identifying one or more passive tags 104 detected in an assignment zone 160. In an embodiment, a signal identifying one or more passive tags 104 may carry respective one or more identifiers of the one or more passive tags 104 detected in assignment zone 160. In response to receiving such signal from passive tag reader 122, fusion and tracking application 146 may detect or otherwise determine that an active identification tag 102 is currently also located within the same assignment zone 160. For example, fusion and tracking application 146 may determine that an active identification tag 102 is currently located within the same assignment zone 160 as one or more passive identification tags 104 based on tracked location of active identification tag 102 determined from signals received from active tag readers 112. Fusion and tracking application 146 may then assign the one or more passive identification tags 104 detected in assignment zone 160 to the active identification tag 102 detected to also be located in the same assignment zone 160. In an embodiment, fusion application 146 may assign one or more passive identification tags 104 to an active identification tag 102 by storing, in a memory, an association between identifier associated with active tag 102 (e.g., a unique identifier of active tag 102, or an identifier of an asset or a product, or an identifier of an employee or other person) and respective identifiers associated with the one or more passive identification tags 104 (Reuber et al. par. 27).
According to the cited passages and figures examiner interprets the passive tag reader 122 as the second communication device.
Reuber et al. do not explicitly teach determine, based on either or both of the passive tracking information and the active tracking information, a location of the asset within a predetermined site survey, and generate, on a display, an indication of the determined location of the asset.
Dillon teaches determine, based on either or both of the passive tracking information and the active tracking information, a location of the asset within a predetermined site survey, and generate, on a display, an indication of the determined location of the asset. (Dillon US 20240211875 abstract; paragraphs [0019]-[0020]; [0043]-[0052]; [0059]-[0065]; [0070]-[0078]; [0089]-[0094]; figures 1-14)
The RTLS tag, according to various aspects of an embodiment of the invention provides for uniquely identifying an asset or a protection monitoring device. In one embodiment, the RTLS tag may be configured with a unique identifier such as a RTLS Tag ID such as a serial number or electronic product code (EPC). In another embodiment, the RTLS tag may be configured as an RTLS RFID tag such as a RTLS passive RFID tag (RTLS pRFID tag), a RTLS active RFID tag. In one embodiment, the RTLS pRFID tag may comprise a passive RFID tag integrated circuit and a passive RFID tag antenna. In another embodiment, the RTLS pRFID tag may be configured as a passive ultra-high frequency (UHF) RFID tag or a Radio Frequency Identification (RAIN) pRFID UHF tag. In another embodiment, the RTLS active RFID tag may comprise an active RFID tag integrated circuit, an active RFID tag antenna, and an internal power source. In another embodiment, the RTLS tag may be configured as a RTLS tag integrated with the asset, a RTLS tag coupled to the asset such as a RTLS pRFID tag coupled to a box 144 as shown in FIG. 3, a RTLS tag integrated with the protection monitoring device, or a RTLS tag coupled to the protection monitoring device such as a RTLS pRFID tag coupled to a dosimeter 210 as shown in FIG. 2 (Dillon par. 50). In another application, the RTLS system 100 may be configured to provide a 3D perspective view of an embodiment of a dashboard view of an asset's physical location such as a package 146 on a lower shelf, a middle shelf, or an upper shelf as shown in FIGS. 9A, 9B, and 9C. In another application, the RTLS system 100 may be configured to provide RTLS pRFID tag 170 information and location data in response to a user selecting an asset such as a user selecting a box 144 and the system displaying the box 144 is location in a room 110 on an “upper shelf B” visually and textually as show in FIG. 9C. In another application, the system may display a 2D view or a 3D view of a room 110 such as a 2D view as shown in FIG. 8 displayed as at least one 3D view as shown in FIGS. 9A, 9B, and 9C (Dillion par. 71). The RTLS system 100, may however, be configured in any suitable manner to facilitate identify, locate, track, inspect, trend, map, survey, capture, analyze, manage, secure, and improve safety of assets and components of the RTLS system (Dillon par. 90).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the mapping layout with 3D perspective view of asset location illustrate in the figure 9 as the tracking site survey.
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Reuber et al. reference by apply 3D perspective view of an embodiment of a dashboard view of an asset’s physical location as taught by Dillon reference in order to improved visualization of asset locations.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Reuber et al. and Dillon disclose The system of claim 7, wherein the active tracking information is from a real-time location system (RTLS) tag and the passive tracking information is from a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag.
FIG. 1 representatively depicts an embodiment of an asset location software solution displaying the location of multiple assets on a dashboard view on a kiosk from location data received wirelessly from multiple RTLS tags through multiple RTLS antennas where the RTLS tags are optionally configured as RTLS passive radio frequency identification tags (RTLS pRFID tag) and the RTLS antennas are optionally configured as phased array bi-directional steerable antennas (Dillion par. 26).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Reuber et al. and Dillon disclose The system of claim 7, wherein the predetermined site survey corresponds to a physical layout within the facility, the predetermined site survey being defined based on an active tracking site survey and a passive tracking site survey.
The RTLS tag, according to various aspects of an embodiment of the invention provides for uniquely identifying an asset or a protection monitoring device. In one embodiment, the RTLS tag may be configured with a unique identifier such as a RTLS Tag ID such as a serial number or electronic product code (EPC). In another embodiment, the RTLS tag may be configured as an RTLS RFID tag such as a RTLS passive RFID tag (RTLS pRFID tag), a RTLS active RFID tag. In one embodiment, the RTLS pRFID tag may comprise a passive RFID tag integrated circuit and a passive RFID tag antenna. In another embodiment, the RTLS pRFID tag may be configured as a passive ultra-high frequency (UHF) RFID tag or a Radio Frequency Identification (RAIN) pRFID UHF tag. In another embodiment, the RTLS active RFID tag may comprise an active RFID tag integrated circuit, an active RFID tag antenna, and an internal power source. In another embodiment, the RTLS tag may be configured as a RTLS tag integrated with the asset, a RTLS tag coupled to the asset such as a RTLS pRFID tag coupled to a box 144 as shown in FIG. 3, a RTLS tag integrated with the protection monitoring device, or a RTLS tag coupled to the protection monitoring device such as a RTLS pRFID tag coupled to a dosimeter 210 as shown in FIG. 2 (Dillon par. 50). In another application, the RTLS system 100 may be configured to provide a 3D perspective view of an embodiment of a dashboard view of an asset's physical location such as a package 146 on a lower shelf, a middle shelf, or an upper shelf as shown in FIGS. 9A, 9B, and 9C. In another application, the RTLS system 100 may be configured to provide RTLS pRFID tag 170 information and location data in response to a user selecting an asset such as a user selecting a box 144 and the system displaying the box 144 is location in a room 110 on an “upper shelf B” visually and textually as show in FIG. 9C. In another application, the system may display a 2D view or a 3D view of a room 110 such as a 2D view as shown in FIG. 8 displayed as at least one 3D view as shown in FIGS. 9A, 9B, and 9C (Dillion par. 71). The RTLS system 100, may however, be configured in any suitable manner to facilitate identify, locate, track, inspect, trend, map, survey, capture, analyze, manage, secure, and improve safety of assets and components of the RTLS system (Dillon par. 90).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the mapping layout with 3D perspective view of asset location illustrate in the figure 9 as the tracking site survey.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Reuber et al. and Dillon disclose The system of claim 7, wherein determining the location of the asset includes determining a location of a respective receiving tracking communications device.
In operation, active identification tag 102 may periodically (e.g., every second, every several seconds, or with any other suitable transmission period) transmit a signal, such as a beacon, that may be received by one or multiple active tag readers 112, which may be equipped with antennas 114. Active tag readers 112 may be suitably positioned throughout an active tracking area 116 (sometimes referred to herein as simply “active area”) being monitored by monitoring system 100. The beacon signal may carry identifying information, such as a unique identifier associated with the active identification tag 102, an identifier associated an employee or other person to which the active identification tag 102 is assigned, an identifier associated with a cart or bag to which the active identification tag 102 is attached, etc. One or more active tag readers 112 that receive the signal may, in turn, relay information carried by the signal and information related to reception of the signal (e.g., received signal strength) to a suitable location tracking device, such as an active tag reader controller (not shown) positioned in active area 116 and/or location monitoring device 140 positioned remotely from active area 116. Location tracking device may utilize such information to determine or approximate location of active identification tag 102, and may thus track a location of active identification tag 102 as it moves around the active area 116 (Reuber et al. par. 24).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Reuber et al. and Dillon disclose The system of claim 7, wherein the electronic processor is further configured to determine, based on the either or both of the passive tracking information and the active tracking information, a movement of the asset within a predefined site survey.
The RTLS tag, according to various aspects of an embodiment of the invention provides for uniquely identifying an asset or a protection monitoring device. In one embodiment, the RTLS tag may be configured with a unique identifier such as a RTLS Tag ID such as a serial number or electronic product code (EPC). In another embodiment, the RTLS tag may be configured as an RTLS RFID tag such as a RTLS passive RFID tag (RTLS pRFID tag), a RTLS active RFID tag. In one embodiment, the RTLS pRFID tag may comprise a passive RFID tag integrated circuit and a passive RFID tag antenna. In another embodiment, the RTLS pRFID tag may be configured as a passive ultra-high frequency (UHF) RFID tag or a Radio Frequency Identification (RAIN) pRFID UHF tag. In another embodiment, the RTLS active RFID tag may comprise an active RFID tag integrated circuit, an active RFID tag antenna, and an internal power source. In another embodiment, the RTLS tag may be configured as a RTLS tag integrated with the asset, a RTLS tag coupled to the asset such as a RTLS pRFID tag coupled to a box 144 as shown in FIG. 3, a RTLS tag integrated with the protection monitoring device, or a RTLS tag coupled to the protection monitoring device such as a RTLS pRFID tag coupled to a dosimeter 210 as shown in FIG. 2 (Dillon par. 50). In another application, the RTLS user interface may be configured as a 360-degree view, a quadrant view, a form view, a camera view, a streaming view, a gauge view, an equipment view, a thermal view, or a movement tracking view. In another embodiment, the RTLS user interface may comprise a dashboard view indicating the location of a pre-determined group of assets relative to a pre-determined area such as a visual representation of the location of a group of tools that belong in a home location and whether or not those tools are in proximity to the home location or are missing. In one application, the RTLS user interface may be configured to be displayed on a computer, a laptop, a mobile device, a kiosk 120, a web browser interface device, a monitor, a virtual reality device, or other applicable device for visualizing, trending, capturing, analyzing, sharing, or comparing data provided by the RTLS system. In one application, the RTLS user interface may be configured to provide additional information, views, history, or other data when the RTLS user selects or highlights an asset, such as a virtual asset, in the RTLS system. In another application, the RTLS user interface may be configured to provide a virtual reality interface for the RTLS user to interact with the RTLS system such as a virtual reality environment of a 3D scanned room that allows the RTLS user to visually inspect and move around the room 110 while querying the RTLS system for data such as sensor data, camera images, protection monitoring device data, asset data, personnel data, and other data related to the RTS system and operating environment. The RTLS user interface, may however, be configured in any suitable manner to facilitate interface between components of the RTLS system and facilitate interface between the RTLS system and the RTLS user (Dillion par. 59). In another application, the RTLS system 100 may be configured to provide a 3D perspective view of an embodiment of a dashboard view of an asset's physical location such as a package 146 on a lower shelf, a middle shelf, or an upper shelf as shown in FIGS. 9A, 9B, and 9C. In another application, the RTLS system 100 may be configured to provide RTLS pRFID tag 170 information and location data in response to a user selecting an asset such as a user selecting a box 144 and the system displaying the box 144 is location in a room 110 on an “upper shelf B” visually and textually as show in FIG. 9C. In another application, the system may display a 2D view or a 3D view of a room 110 such as a 2D view as shown in FIG. 8 displayed as at least one 3D view as shown in FIGS. 9A, 9B, and 9C (Dillion par. 71). The RTLS system 100, may however, be configured in any suitable manner to facilitate identify, locate, track, inspect, trend, map, survey, capture, analyze, manage, secure, and improve safety of assets and components of the RTLS system (Dillon par. 90).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the mapping layout with 3D perspective view of asset location illustrate in the figure 9 as the tracking site survey.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reuber et al. US 20190377913 in view of Dillon US 20240211875 and further in view of Anderson et al. US 20150146239 .
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Reuber et al. and Dillon teach all the limitation in the claim 7.
The combination of Reuber et al. and Dillon do not explicitly teach The system of claim 7, wherein determining the location of the asset includes determining a height of the asset from a ground reference.
Anderson et al. teach The system of claim 7, wherein determining the location of the asset includes determining a height of the asset from a ground reference. (Anderson et al. US 20150146239 abstract; paragraphs [0006]-[0007]; [0015]-[0019]; figures 1-3)
With reference to FIG. 3, the visualization tool is configured to allow users other means of readily discerning compliance between an asset's planned location and its actual location. On the displayed map 208, and depending on `zoom level,` the user/vendor/etc. can view assets 340 on a building view 310, on a view showing a coordinate system 350, or floor plans 360 abstracted as floors 1.sup.st, 2.sup.nd, 3.sup.rd as they would exist in the building. Acceptance zones 225 for the asset 340 can be superimposed on the views to ascertain ready compliance of the asset's planned location versus its actual location. The X-Y plane denotes a coordinate plane such as latitude and longitude, while the Z-direction notes an altitude or height of the asset above the ground level (AGL). The height can be measured in actual distance from a base of the building, say twenty feet, but can also represent a number of floors, say 3.sup.rd floor, of a building. It can also reflect a height relative to another baseline, such as mean sea level (MSL) based on barometric pressure, or can be an estimate of height noted by the technician (Anderson et al. par. 18).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Reuber et al. and Dillon reference by apply the X-Y plane denotes a coordinate plane such as latitude and longitude, while the Z-direction notes an altitude or height of the asset above the ground level (AGL) in order to improve the accuracy of location tracking.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-12 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 1-6 are allowed once the 112 rejection is resolved.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 1, Reuber et al. US 20190377913, Dillon US 20240211875, Swart US 20190141473, Abeygunasekara et al. US 20230188936, Theurer et al. US 20190053007, Kong et al. US 20180352379, Sarma et al. US 20080198001, Francis et al. US 20020070862, Lee et al. US 20120007716, Pandey et al. US 20220398887, Sugla et al. US 20090231136 and Twitchell, Jr. US 20090124304 are the closest art. They are teaching every limitation of claim 1 except for this limitation cited “determine, based on the received active tracking information, an active tracking site survey, the site survey corresponding to a physical layout of a first area of the facility……… determine, based on the passive tracking information, a passive tracking site survey, the passive tracking site survey corresponding to a physical layout of a second area of the facility………. train a location engine using the active tracking site survey and passive tracking site survey, generate, via the location engine, the predetermined site survey based on the active tracking site survey and the passive tracking site survey.”.
After update search, there are none of the prior arts of record singularly or combination, teaches or fairly suggest the features present in the claim 1 “determine, based on the received active tracking information, an active tracking site survey, the site survey corresponding to a physical layout of a first area of the facility……… determine, based on the passive tracking information, a passive tracking site survey, the passive tracking site survey corresponding to a physical layout of a second area of the facility………. train a location engine using the active tracking site survey and passive tracking site survey, generate, via the location engine, the predetermined site survey based on the active tracking site survey and the passive tracking site survey.”.
Prior arts of record fail to disclose “determine, based on the received active tracking information, an active tracking site survey, the site survey corresponding to a physical layout of a first area of the facility……… determine, based on the passive tracking information, a passive tracking site survey, the passive tracking site survey corresponding to a physical layout of a second area of the facility………. train a location engine using the active tracking site survey and passive tracking site survey, generate, via the location engine, the predetermined site survey based on the active tracking site survey and the passive tracking site survey.”. However, upon consideration of the claim invention, there is no reasoning to combine the applied references to arrive in the context of the claim invention.
Claims 2-6 depend on and further limit of independent claim 1, therefore claims 2-6 are considered allowable for the same reason.
Regarding claim 10, Reuber et al. US 20190377913, Dillon US 20240211875, Swart US 20190141473, Abeygunasekara et al. US 20230188936, Theurer et al. US 20190053007, Kong et al. US 20180352379, Sarma et al. US 20080198001, Francis et al. US 20020070862, Lee et al. US 20120007716, Pandey et al. US 20220398887, Sugla et al. US 20090231136 and Twitchell, Jr. US 20090124304 are the closest art. They are teaching every limitation of claim 10 except for this limitation cited “determine, based on the received first active tracking information, the active tracking site survey, the active site survey corresponding to a physical layout of a first area of the facility……… determine, based on the received first passive tracking information, the passive tracking site survey, the passive tracking site survey corresponding to a physical layout of a second area of the facility, train a location engine using the active tracking site survey and the passive tracking site survey, generate, via the location engine, the predetermined site survey based on the active tracking site survey and the passive tracking site survey.”.
After update search, there are none of the prior arts of record singularly or combination, teaches or fairly suggest the features present in the claim 10 “determine, based on the received first active tracking information, the active tracking site survey, the active site survey corresponding to a physical layout of a first area of the facility……… determine, based on the received first passive tracking information, the passive tracking site survey, the passive tracking site survey corresponding to a physical layout of a second area of the facility, train a location engine using the active tracking site survey and the passive tracking site survey, generate, via the location engine, the predetermined site survey based on the active tracking site survey and the passive tracking site survey.”.
Prior arts of record fail to disclose “determine, based on the received first active tracking information, the active tracking site survey, the active site survey corresponding to a physical layout of a first area of the facility……… determine, based on the received first passive tracking information, the passive tracking site survey, the passive tracking site survey corresponding to a physical layout of a second area of the facility, train a location engine using the active tracking site survey and the passive tracking site survey, generate, via the location engine, the predetermined site survey based on the active tracking site survey and the passive tracking site survey.”. However, upon consideration of the claim invention, there is no reasoning to combine the applied references to arrive in the context of the claim invention.
Claims 11-12 depend on and further limit of independent claim 10, therefore claims 11-12 are considered allowable for the same reason.
Conclusion
/THANG D TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2686
/BRIAN A ZIMMERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2686