DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of IDS filed on 04/08/2025 & 01/16/2026.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
This application is a CON of 18/369,032 filed on 09/15/2023 now PAT 12,299,528 which is a CON of 17/534,962 filed on 11/24/2021 now PAT 11,797,798 which has PRO 63/117,522 filed on 11/24/2020.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,797,798 (hereinafter referred as '798). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the claims are expressly found in the claimed application. For instance, claim 1 of the present application recites the following limitations:
A method for determining whether an image contains a barcode, comprising: receiving the image; receiving spatial location information about where the image was captured; identifying, based on the spatial location information, a target barcode from a barcode database; comparing barcode data of the image to the target barcode; and determining whether the image contains the target barcode based on the comparison.
Whereas claim 1 of '798 application, the applicant claims:
A method, comprising: receiving an image that contains visual data; extracting the visual data from the image into a first vector; computing a value measuring similarity between the first vector and a second vector representing target visual data by: calculating an interpolation function from the first vector or the second vector; and determining discrepancy between the first vector and the second vector based on the interpolation function to calculate the value measuring similarity; and determining whether the image contains the target visual data based on the computed value measuring similarity.
Thus, in respect to above discussions, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use in the present invention “ a value measuring similarity between the first vector and a second vector representing target visual data” so as to the validity of the embedded barcode within the image. However, said limitations “a first vector and a second vector…” are enclosed in claims 8-9 of the present invention. The instant claims obviously encompass the claimed invention of '798 patent and differ only by terminology. To the extent that the present claims are broader and therefore generic to the claimed invention of '798 patent, In re Goodman 29 USPQ 2d 2010 CAFC 1993.
The obviousness-type double patenting rejection is a judicially established doctrine based upon public policy and is primarily intended to prevent prolongation of the application term by prohibiting claims in a second application not patentably distinct from claims of a first application. In re Vogel, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970).
Claims 2-10 are also rejected under double patent as being dependent of claim 1. Also see the rejections of claims 2-10 below.
Claim 11 is rejected under double patent in view of claim 11 of '798 patent.
Claims 12-20 are also rejected under double patent as being dependent of claim 11. Also see the rejections of claims 12-20 below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 10-15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Du (CN 108596020 A).
Re Claims 1 and 11: Du teaches a management method and device of a device, which includes an image contains a barcode {herein a two-dimensional code} (see fig. 1), receiving the image (see page 14, last paragraph); receiving spatial location information about where the image was captured {herein a second device, such a camera, an image-capturing function} (see page 2 of the translated document); identifying, based on the spatial location information, a target barcode from a barcode database {herein device management system further stores} (see page 4, 5th-6th paragraph); comparing barcode data of the image to the target barcode (see page 17, 1st to 3rd ¶+); and determining whether the image contains the target barcode based on the comparison (see pages 20-21, last paragraph of page 20).
Re Claims 2 and 12: Du teaches device and method, further comprising: capturing the image {herein via a camera} (see page 2, 5th paragraph); and associating the spatial location information with the image (see page 17, 2nd paragraph).
Re Claim 3: Du teaches device and method, wherein the spatial location information is embedded in the image and received with the image (see fig.# 1).
Re Claims 4 and 14: Du teaches device and method, wherein the spatial location information comprises a location in a warehouse {herein Du teaches a data center, as shown in fig.# 5 & 8}.
Re Claims 5 and 15: Du teaches device and method, wherein the barcode database comprises a data structure comprising a warehouse location field and a one or more barcode fields {herein such as position, level, space and the like} (see page 3, 1st paragraph +).
Re Claims 10 and 20: Du teaches device and method, wherein: the image is captured by an autonomously controlled vehicle {herein the examiner broadly interprets the robot as being a vehicle}; the spatial location information comprises a location of the autonomously controlled vehicle in a warehouse; and the barcode database is maintained by a warehouse management {herein data center management} system (see page 3, 1st paragraph; 16, 2nd paragraph+). Du also teaches a transmitting unit {herein the robot has a communication connection comprising of a wireless way} (see page 16, 2nd-4th ¶+).
Re Claim 13: Du teaches device and method, wherein the autonomously controlled vehicle comprises the communication circuitry and the processing circuitry (see page 16, 2nd-4th ¶).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du (CN 108596020 A) in view of He et al. (US 2020/0065537).
The teachings of Du have been discussed above.
Du fails to specifically teach decoding the barcode data from the image to obtain barcode payload data.
He et al. teaches automatic form data reading, which includes decoding the barcode data from the image to obtain barcode payload data (¶ 13-15+, 22+).
In view of He et al.’s teachings, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ into the teachings of Du means of decoding the barcode data from the image to obtain barcode payload data so as to include an identifier that stores information about the image and to determine its authenticity.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9 and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable upon filing of a proper Terminal Disclaimer.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record fails to specifically teach that the target barcode comprises target payload data, the method further comprising: extracting the barcode data from the image into a first vector; and encoding the target payload data into a second vector, wherein comparing the barcode data of the image to the target barcode is based on the first vector and the second vector. These limitations in conjunction with other limitations in the claimed invention were not shown by the prior art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al. (US 2013/0256416) teaches barcode recognition method product.
/EDWYN LABAZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876