DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figures 6-8 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 12/24/2025 is acknowledged.
This election/restriction is made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10, “100% or more”, unclear how one achieves more?
Claim 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are: unclear how a mechanical packing sealing assembly is formed without any plurality of packing elements that seal the shaft to housing?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Quevedo (US. 4795171).
Quevedo discloses a mechanical packing sealing assembly (e.g. figure 31) suitable for use with a fluid regulating device having a gland element (e.g. intended use see MPEP 2113-2114, the mechanical packing sealing assembly is capable of being used with a gland element G) and a stationary equipment (e.g. again intended use see MPEP 2113-2114, the mechanical packing sealing assembly is capable of being used with stationary equipment SE) having a recess (e.g. intended use see MPEP 2113-2114, the mechanical packing sealing assembly is capable of being used with a recess similar to recesses shown in figures 1-29 and etc) formed along an inner surface (e.g. inner surface shown by way of example in other figures), comprising an axially movable pressure adjustment element (e.g. PAE) having a main body (e.g. main body of PAE) that is sized and configured for seating within the recess (e.g. intended use see MPEP 2113-2114 but recess having S, see figure below) formed in the stationary equipment, wherein the main body has a radially outwardly extending first flange element (e.g. 1st F) formed at a first end of the main body that is sized and configured for engaging with a radial surface of the stationary equipment (e.g. again intended use see MPEP 2113-2114, the mechanical packing sealing assembly is capable of being used with stationary equipment SE) and a radially inwardly extending second flange element (e.g. 2nd F) formed at an opposed second end of the main body and forming a piston area (e.g. PA, see figure below) that is sized and configured for being exposed to a pressure of a process fluid in the stationary equipment (e.g. again intended use see MPEP 2113-2114, the mechanical packing sealing assembly is configured for being exposed to a pressure, see figure below P), wherein the second flange element is configured to selectively apply an axial force to a packing assembly when coupled to the main body (e.g. that is the case since the 2nd F is capable of being by a pressure force of the pressure P), and wherein the pressure adjustment element is movable axially as a function of the pressure of the process fluid applied to the piston area.
Regarding claim 2: Wherein the gland element is configured to apply an axial pressure to the packing assembly in first direction during use, and wherein the second flange element is configured to selectively apply an axial force to the packing assembly in a second direction opposite to the first direction (e.g. this is capable since the gland uses bolts/nuts N to provide force downward and pressure force which is upward, see P).
Regarding claim 3: Wherein the pressure adjustment element is configured to move axially within the recess based on the pressure of the process fluid applied to the piston area to form a pressure self-regulating mechanism that regulates the axial pressure applied to the packing assembly during use (e.g. again intended use or method limitation given no or little patentable weight in an apparatus claim see MPEP 2113-2114 and the pressure adjustment element is capable of this).
Claim(s) 1-3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bassinger (US. 5636688).
Bassinger discloses a mechanical packing sealing assembly (e.g. figure 4 and figure below) suitable for use with a fluid regulating device having a gland element (e.g. intended use see MPEP 2113-2114, the mechanical packing sealing assembly is capable of being used with a gland element G) and a stationary equipment (e.g. again intended use see MPEP 2113-2114, the mechanical packing sealing assembly is capable of being used with stationary equipment SE) having a recess (e.g. intended use see MPEP 2113-2114, the mechanical packing sealing assembly is capable of being used with a recess R) formed along an inner surface (e.g. inner surface shown by way of example in other figures), comprising an axially movable pressure adjustment element (e.g. PAE) having a main body (e.g. main body of PAE) that is sized and configured for seating within the recess (e.g. intended use see MPEP 2113-2114 but recess is in the stationary equipment SE, see figure below) formed in the stationary equipment, wherein the main body has a radially outwardly extending first flange element (e.g. 1st F) formed at a first end of the main body that is sized and configured for engaging with a radial surface of the stationary equipment (e.g. again intended use see MPEP 2113-2114, the mechanical packing sealing assembly is capable of being used with stationary equipment SE) and a radially inwardly extending second flange element (e.g. 2nd F) formed at an opposed second end of the main body and forming a piston area (e.g. PA, see figure below) that is sized and configured for being exposed to a pressure of a process fluid in the stationary equipment (e.g. again intended use see MPEP 2113-2114, the mechanical packing sealing assembly is configured for being exposed to a pressure from space 46 to compression or variable chamber 345), wherein the second flange element is configured to selectively apply an axial force to a packing assembly when coupled to the main body (e.g. that is the case, see description of 345), and wherein the pressure adjustment element is movable axially as a function of the pressure of the process fluid applied to the piston area.
Regarding claim 2: Wherein the gland element is configured to apply an axial pressure to the packing assembly in first direction during use, and wherein the second flange element is configured to selectively apply an axial force to the packing assembly in a second direction opposite to the first direction (e.g. this is the case since downward force is applied by 364 or G and upward force is applied by the chamber 345).
Regarding claim 3: Wherein the pressure adjustment element is configured to move axially within the recess based on the pressure of the process fluid applied to the piston area to form a pressure self-regulating mechanism that regulates the axial pressure applied to the packing assembly during use (e.g. again intended use or method limitation given no or little patentable weight in an apparatus claim see MPEP 2113-2114 and the pressure adjustment element is capable of this, see description of 345).
Regarding claim 4: Wherein the main body of the pressure adjustment element has an inner surface (e.g. inner surface of PAE) and an opposed outer surface (e.g. outer surface of PAE).
Regarding claim 5: Wherein the outer surface of the main body has a second groove (e.g. groove having 347) formed therein at the second end of the main body corresponding to a location of the second flange element that is sized and configured for seating a second sealing element (e.g. groove capable of receiving the second sealing element, such as 347).
Regarding claim 6: Wherein the second groove formed in the second end is formed in an outer surface of the second flange element (e.g. see figure below).
Regarding claim 7: Wherein an outer peripheral surface of the first flange element (e.g. outer peripheral surface 370).
Regarding claim 9: The mechanical packing sealing assembly further comprising a spacer (e.g. spacer, figure below) element sized and configured for seating adjacent to the second flange element.
Regarding claim 10: Wherein the piston area of the second flange element is sized and configured for converting 100% or more of the pressure of the process fluid into the axial force applied to the packing assembly (e.g. see PA).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bassinger in view of Prichard (US. 3328040)
Bassinger discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to disclose the inner surface has a first groove formed therein at the first end of the main body corresponding to a location of the first flange element that is sized and configured for seating a first sealing element. Prichard discloses a translating sleeve (e.g. 32) having a main body with a first flange (e.g. flange having 46) extending outwardly (e.g. flange 44 extending outwardly of 32) and a second flange (e.g. flange contacting 80) opposite the first flange extending radially inward and the first flange having inner surface with a groove (e.g. groove having 46) with a sealing element (e.g. 46) which contacts another member (e.g. 38). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the inner surface of the first flange of Bassinger to have a groove with a sealing member as taught by Prichard with reasonable expectation of success, to provide a sealing between two members (e.g. see description of 46 in Prichard).
Claim(s) 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bassinger and Prichard and further in view of Barnhouse (US 11965497).
Bassinger discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to disclose the outer peripheral surface to have features that are indents. Barnhouse discloses a pressure sleeve (e.g. 200), a flange element having features (e.g. features 602) and the features are indents (e.g. features 602 are intents). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the flange element of Bassinger to have indents on the outer peripheral surface as taught by Barnhouse with reasonable expectation of success to assist in insertion of the axially movable pressure adjustment element (e.g. inherent do to indents can be gripped by a tool and see Barnhouse).
Conclusion
/VISHAL A PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675