DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 17/755,698, filed on 05 May 2022.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because in Figure 3, numeral “20” is not described in the originally-filed specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: On page 1, the status of the non-provisional parent application should be updated (the information should include the application number, the filing date and the patent number). Numeral “20” in Figure 3 is not described in the originally-filed specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Blackwell et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2008/0199647 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Blackwell et al (see the entire document, in particular, paragraphs [0014], [0034], [0043], [0044], [0050], [0052] and [0054]; Figure 1) teaches a process (see paragraph [0050] (multilayered polymeric film prepared by extrusion or coextrusion) of Blackwell et al), including (a) providing at least one first extrudable composition including at least one polymer (see Figure 1, paragraph [0034] (core layer B includes at least one polyethylene) of Blackwell et al); (b) providing at least one additional extrudable composition including at least one polymer (see Figure 1, paragraphs [0014] (skin layer A includes at least one polyethylene) and [0044] (skin layer C includes at least one polyethylene) of Blackwell et al); (c) extruding the at least one first extrudable composition to form at least one core layer (see Figure 1, paragraph [0050] (extruding or coextruding polymers to form multilayered polymeric film including layers A, B and C) of Blackwell et al); and (d) extruding the at least one additional extrudable composition to form two exterior layers on opposing sides of the at least one core layer see Figure 1, paragraph [0050] (extruding or coextruding polymers to form multilayered polymeric film including layers A, B and C) of Blackwell et al), wherein (d)(1) at least one of the extrudable compositions includes recycled post-consumer waste polyethylene material, wherein the recycled post-consumer waste polyethylene is present at a content of from 10-90% by weight based on the total weight of the extrudable compositions, and wherein the thickness of the multilayer film is in the range of 5-40 µm (see paragraphs [0043] (core layer B includes recycled polyethylene film; recycled film is 0.5-20% by weight) and [0054] (film thickness of 12.7-254 micrometers) of Blackwell et al).
Regarding claim 2, see paragraph [0043] (core layer B includes recycled polyethylene film (i.e., the recycled polyethylene film is collected and gathered for use in the process of Blackwell et al)) of Blackwell et al.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, see paragraph [0052] (film is stretched from about 2-9 times (100-800%)) of Blackwell et al.
Regarding claim 5, see stretched film can be heat-set or annealed to minimize or prevent shrinkage (i.e., without such treatment, the film will relax or shrink)) of Blackwell et al.
Regarding claims 6 and 12, see paragraph [0043] (core layer B includes recycled polyethylene film) of Blackwell et al.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, see paragraph [0043] (recycled film is 0.5-20% by weight) of Blackwell et al.
Regarding claims 9-11, see paragraph [0054] (film thickness of 12.7-254 micrometers) of Blackwell et al.
Regarding claim 18, see paragraph [0050] (multilayered polymeric film prepared by extrusion or coextrusion) of Blackwell et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blackwell et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2008/0199647 A1) as applied to claims 1-12 and 18 above, and further in view of Chiu (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2008/0286511 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Blackwell et al does not teach (1) virgin LLDPE at a content of 30-80% by weight. Chiu (see the entire document, in particular, paragraphs [0008], [0015] and [0016]; Table 1) teaches a process (see paragraphs [0015] (multilayer films produced by a blown film process) and [0016] (blown films are produced by extrusion) of Chiu), including virgin LLDPE at a content of 30-80% by weight (see Table 1 (multilayer film includes: inner layer, 0-100% LLDPE; core layer, 0-28.5-57% LLDPE, 0-28.5 ultra low density polyethylene; outer layer, 0-95% LLDPE, 0-10% low density polyethylene) of Chiu), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide virgin LLDPE at a content of 30-80% by weight in the process of Blackwell et al in view of Chiu in order to provide multilayer films having improved strength, optimized tear resistance and dart impact (see paragraph [0008] of Chiu).
Regarding claims 14 and 15, see Table 1 (multilayer film includes: inner layer, 0-100% LLDPE; core layer, 0-28.5-57% LLDPE, 0-28.5 ultra low density polyethylene; outer layer, 0-95% LLDPE, 0-10% low density polyethylene) of Chiu.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blackwell et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2008/0199647 A1) as applied to claims 1-12 and 18 above, and further in view of Mattsson (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0001649 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Blackwell et al does not teach (1) a stress of less than 17 MPa to stretch the film by 70% in the longitudinal direction. Mattsson (see the entire document, in particular, paragraphs [0009], [0027] and [0048]) teaches a process (see paragraphs [0009] (provide a stretch film) and [0048] (the film is a multilayer film) of Mattsson), wherein a stress of less than 17 MPa to stretch the film by 70% in the longitudinal direction (see paragraph [0027] (stress required to stretch the film 70% in the longitudinal direction is less than 19 MPa) of Mattsson), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a film requiring a stress of less than 17 MPa to stretch the film by 70% in the longitudinal direction in the process of Blackwell et al in view of Mattsson in order to provide a film with acceptable properties produced at a relatively low cost (see paragraph [0009] of Mattsson).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blackwell et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2008/0199647 A1) as applied to claims 1-12 and 18 above, and further in view of Kneale et al (U.S. Patent No. 5,128,212 A).
Regarding claim 17, Blackwell et al does not teach (1) a content of 10-50% by weight of recycled post-consumer waste polyethylene and a content of 50-90% by weight of virgin polyethylene. Kneale et al (see the entire document, in particular, col. 2, lines 25-35; col. 7, line 46 to col. 8, line 14; Table I) teaches a process (see col. 2, lines 29-35 (process of coextruding multilayer film) of Kneale et al), including a content of 10-50% by weight of recycled post-consumer waste polyethylene and a content of 50-90% by weight of virgin polyethylene (see col. 7, line 46 to col. 8, line 14; Table I (recycle is 35-70% by weight, virgin polymer is 28-70% by weight) of Kneale et al), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a content of 10-50% by weight of recycled post-consumer waste polyethylene and a content of 50-90% by weight of virgin polyethylene in the process of Blackwell et al in view of Kneale et al in order to provide multilayer film containing recycle thermoplastic polymer (see col. 2, lines 25-28 of Kneale et al).
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blackwell et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2008/0199647 A1) as applied to claims 1-12 and 18 above, and further in view of Szala et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0317896 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Blackwell et al does not teach (1) a machine direction elongation at break of up to 500%. Szala et al (see the entire document, in particular, paragraphs [0002], [0005], [0188] and [0205]) teaches a process (see paragraphs [0002] (methods of making articles from polymer compositions) and [0188] (compositions can be used in multilayer films) of Szala et al), including a machine direction elongation at break of up to 500% (see paragraph [0205] (film may have an elongation at break (machine direction) from about 200-2,000%) of Szala et al), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a multilayer film having a machine direction elongation at break of up to 500% in the process of Blackwell et al in view of Szala et al in order to provide articles (e.g., films) having enhanced mechanical properties (see paragraph [0005] of Szala et al).
Regarding claim 20, see paragraph [0205] (film may have an elongation at break (machine direction) from about 200-2,000%) of Szala et al.
Conclusion
LEO B. TENTONI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1742
/LEO B TENTONI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742