DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the drive arm comprising a spigot and wing tip portion comprising a groove (claim 1), the groove including a lever element (claim 2), and the concavely curved form (claim 12) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 12, “other of the at drive arm” should be --other of the drive arm--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the other the at least one drive arm" in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Similarly for claim 16.
Claim 1 recites “the groove” in lines 12-13, however it is unclear which of the “at least one groove” this refers.
Similarly for claims 2, 5-8, 10-13, and 16, the spigot in claims 2, 5, 10, 11, the drive arm in claims 4, 7, 9, 13, and 14, and the locking position in claim 10.
Claim 2 recites a groove comprising a lever element, however it is unclear how a lever can be part of a groove, which is defined by the absence of structure.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the lever element" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites a drive unit for the wing of claim 1, however recites structure already recited in the wing. It is unclear whether the unit is to duplicate the structure already provided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu (CN 117 401 150; provided English translation used).
Regarding independent claims 1, 14, 15, and 16:
Liu discloses an aircraft wing comprising:
a fixed wing portion (2) including a tip end;
a foldable wing tip device (1) rotatably mounted to the tip end between extended (Fig 2) and folded (Fig 4) positions;
a drive unit to drive the foldable portion, comprising a rotary actuator (14) mounted to the tip end (although the figures generally provide the actuator in the wing tip portion, page 5, para 7 indicates the reverse arrangement, with the driver in the fixed wing, may be used) and a drive arm (3) engaging the foldable portion, and
the foldable portion comprises a groove (7) and the drive arm comprises a spigot (gears, as depicted) confined and engaged to move along the groove (e.g. Figs 2-4).
Regarding claims 2 and 3:
The discussion above regarding claim 1 is relied upon.
Liu disclose the groove comprising a lever element (10) on the foldable portion and spaced from the folding axis.
Regarding claim 4:
The discussion above regarding claim 1 is relied upon.
Liu discloses the rotation axis of the drive arm spaced from the folding axis (e.g. Figs 1 and 6).
Regarding claim 5:
The discussion above regarding claim 1 is relied upon.
Liu discloses the spigot engaging the groove with a predefined play (defined by the gearing arrangement).
Regarding claim 6:
The discussion above regarding claim 1 is relied upon.
Liu discloses the groove formed as a slot extending in the radial direction (Fig 1).
Regarding claim 11:
The discussion above regarding claim 1 is relied upon.
Liu discloses a spigot roller (gear).
Regarding claim 12:
The discussion above regarding claim 1 is relied upon.
Liu disclose a convexly curved form with respect to the foldable portion (Fig 6).
Regarding claim 13:
The discussion above regarding claim 1 is relied upon.
Liu discloses the groove as closed at an outer end of the drive arm (Fig 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does render obvious a groove having multiple curvatures along its length (claims 7 and 10) or a cut-out through which the drive arm passes when rotating, in combination with the other limitations of the claim(s). Thompson et al. (US 2016/0251075) provides for multiple curvatures, and a drive arm passing through a cut-out, however uses a linear actuator rather than a rotary actuator. It would not be obvious to combine the teachings absent hindsight in order modify a system designed for rotary motion with the elements relying on linear motion.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH W SANDERSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619