DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “imaging system” in claims 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2,3-8,10-12,14-18,20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Montero et al (US 20250166311 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Montero discloses a method ([0062] systems and methods for providing a virtual walkthrough interface) comprising:
receiving a plurality of images ([0062] systems and methods can include obtaining images of an environment);
processing the images to generate a radiance field model ([0062] A neural radiance field model can be trained to generate view synthesis renderings of the environment based on the images.);
transforming the radiance field model into an image sequence in a compressed format ([0235] can process the image data to generate an encoded image data output (e.g., an encoded and/or compressed representation of the image data, etc.));
and rendering the compressed image sequence on a display device ([0087] video generation and display system 200 is similar to virtual walkthrough video generation system 10 of FIG. 1 except that video generation and display system 200 further includes rendering stitching and multi-directional rendering.).
Regarding claim 2, Montero discloses wherein the compressed format further comprises a layered depth image with a plurality of layers ([0130] he neural radiance field models disclosed herein can include two types of multilayer perceptrons (MLP).).
Regarding claim 4, Montero discloses wherein the transforming further comprises using an error- correcting code to represent 12 bits of accuracy in one or more inverse depth maps associated with the images ([0298] the number of photons hitting a pixel on the camera sensor can be converted to an electrical charge, which can be recorded as a high bit-depth digital signal (e.g., 10 to 14 bits).)
Regarding claim 5, Montero discloses wherein the transforming further comprises storing two 8-bit values in different regions of a container image or video associated with the images, which can be reassembled into a 12-bit value ([0301] In addition to gamma compression, tone-mapping algorithms can be used to better preserve contrast in high dynamic range scenes (where the bright regions are several orders of magnitude brighter than the darkest) when the image is quantized to 8 bits.)
Regarding claim 6, Montero discloses wherein the images are associated with a three-dimensional (3D) video stream, and wherein the compressed image sequence is a compressed 3D video stream ([0170] the 3D scene of the location obtained from 3D scene imagery may be a 3D scene which corresponds to, or is roughly associated with, the conditions of the request (e.g., a 3D scene of the restaurant at 6 pm on a Friday, a 3D scene of the restaurant at night or under similar lighting conditions which are expected at a similar time of day, etc.).)
Regarding claim 7, Montero discloses herein the transforming further comprises:
for each pixel in each image, determining a corresponding ray direction of a ray associated with the pixel;
ray marching the ray direction by sampling the radiance field model; and
volumetrically blending one or more sampled colors from the sampling to obtain a final representation of the pixel.
Regarding claim 8, Montero discloses wherein the compressed format uses one or more alpha channels associated with the compressed format to represent a pass-through video, and wherein the video is superimposed on top of a rendition of a real world around a user ([0225] a camera of a smartphone may be utilized to capture image data descriptive of the environment, and/or an overlay application of the user computing device 104 can be utilized to track and/or process the data being provided to the user.)
Regarding claim 10, Montero discloses further comprising parallelizing any combination of portions of the processing and the transforming to run on separate computing systems ([00221] one or more machine-learned models 140 can be included in or otherwise stored and implemented by the server computing system 130 that communicates with the user computing system 102 according to a client-server relationship)
Regarding claim 11, Montero discloses an apparatus ([0062] systems and methods for providing a virtual walkthrough interface) comprising:
an imaging system configured to generate a plurality of images ([0062] systems and methods can include obtaining images of an environment);;
a computing system configured to:
process the images to generate a radiance field model ([0062] A neural radiance field model can be trained to generate view synthesis renderings of the environment based on the images.);;
transform the radiance field model into an image sequence in a compressed format to generate a compressed image sequence ([0235] can process the image data to generate an encoded image data output (e.g., an encoded and/or compressed representation of the image data, etc.));; and
preparing the compressed image sequence for rendering ([0235] machine-learned model(s) can process the image data to generate an output); and
a display device configured to:
render the compressed image sequence ([0087] video generation and display system 200 is similar to virtual walkthrough video generation system 10 of FIG. 1 except that video generation and display system 200 further includes rendering stitching and multi-directional rendering.).
Regarding claim 12, Montero discloses wherein the compressed format further comprises a layered depth image with a plurality of layers ([0130] he neural radiance field models disclosed herein can include two types of multilayer perceptrons (MLP).).
Regarding claim 14, Montero discloses wherein the transforming further comprises using an error- correcting code to represent 12 bits of accuracy in one or more inverse depth maps associated with the images ([0298] the number of photons hitting a pixel on the camera sensor can be converted to an electrical charge, which can be recorded as a high bit-depth digital signal (e.g., 10 to 14 bits).)
Regarding claim 15, Montero discloses wherein the transforming further comprises storing two 8-bit values in different regions of a container image or video associated with the images, which can be reassembled into a 12-bit value ([0301] In addition to gamma compression, tone-mapping algorithms can be used to better preserve contrast in high dynamic range scenes (where the bright regions are several orders of magnitude brighter than the darkest) when the image is quantized to 8 bits.)
Regarding claim 16, Montero discloses wherein the images are associated with a three-dimensional (3D) video stream, and wherein the compressed image sequence is a compressed 3D video stream ([0170] the 3D scene of the location obtained from 3D scene imagery may be a 3D scene which corresponds to, or is roughly associated with, the conditions of the request (e.g., a 3D scene of the restaurant at 6 pm on a Friday, a 3D scene of the restaurant at night or under similar lighting conditions which are expected at a similar time of day, etc.).)
Regarding claim 17, Montero discloses herein the transforming further comprises:
for each pixel in each image, determining a corresponding ray direction of a ray associated with the pixel;
ray marching the ray direction by sampling the radiance field model; and
volumetrically blending one or more sampled colors from the sampling to obtain a final representation of the pixel.
Regarding claim 18, Montero discloses wherein the compressed format uses one or more alpha channels associated with the compressed format to represent a pass-through video, and wherein the video is superimposed on top of a rendition of a real world around a user ([0225] a camera of a smartphone may be utilized to capture image data descriptive of the environment, and/or an overlay application of the user computing device 104 can be utilized to track and/or process the data being provided to the user.)
Regarding claim 20, Montero discloses further comprising parallelizing any combination of portions of the processing and the transforming to run on separate computing systems ([00221] one or more machine-learned models 140 can be included in or otherwise stored and implemented by the server computing system 130 that communicates with the user computing system 102 according to a client-server relationship)
Regarding claim 21, Montero discloses receiving a radiance field associated with an image sequence, the radiance field further including a plurality of layers ([0062] systems and methods can include obtaining images of an environment);
for each layer, defining an upper bound and a lower bound ([0102] one or more view directions with the one or more neural radiance field models to generate one or more predicted color values and one or more predicted depth values.);
limiting one or more contributions to volumetric rendering to radiance samples from the image sequence that are within a range defined by the upper bound and the lower bound ([0128] the neural radiance field model may generate an integrated positional encoding of the volume covered by each conical frustum);
generating a sequence of modified alpha values associated with the image sequence based on the limiting ([0225] a camera of a smartphone may be utilized to capture image data descriptive of the environment, and/or an overlay application of the user computing device 104 can be utilized to track and/or process the data being provided to the user.); and
constructing a layered depth image (LDI) comprising a color, an alpha channel and an inverse depth, based on the modified alpha values ([0103] system can process the plurality of images with a segmentation model to generate a plurality of segmented images.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 9, 13, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montero et al (US 20250166311 A1) as applied to claim 1 and 11 above, and further in view of McEwen et al (US 20200134779 A1)
Regarding claim 3, Montero is silent to wherein the transforming includes rendering the images in an inflated equiangular projection
McEwen discloses wherein the transforming includes rendering the images in an inflated equiangular projection ([0025] if the asset is stored in the common equirectangular format then a standard equiangular or cylindrical projection may be used)
Montero and McEwen are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify virtual walkthrough interface of Montero to include wherein the transforming includes rendering the images in an inflated equiangular projection as described by McEwen.
The motivation for doing so would have to significantly reduces cyber motion sickness by eliminating visual-vestibular conflict by supporting 6 DOF motion for immersive content viewed through VR headsets (McEwen, [0012]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Montero and McEwen to obtain the invention as specified in claim 3.
Regarding claim 9, Montero is silent to w wherein the rendering is a 6 degree-of-freedom (6DOF) virtual reality (VR) rendering configured to mitigate motion sickness due to motion of a user's head
McEwen discloses wherein the rendering is a 6 degree-of-freedom (6DOF) virtual reality (VR) rendering configured to mitigate motion sickness due to motion of a user's head ([0027] The portion of content is manipulated in accordance with the methods described above to provide 6 DOF in immersive content. [0026] effect of motion provided by synthesization or reprojection of the portion of the scene has the effect of reducing cyber motion sickness and enhancing user experience)
Montero and McEwen are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify virtual walkthrough interface of Montero to include wherein the rendering is a 6 degree-of-freedom (6DOF) virtual reality (VR) rendering configured to mitigate motion sickness due to motion of a user's head as described by McEwen.
The motivation for doing so would have to significantly reduces cyber motion sickness by eliminating visual-vestibular conflict by supporting 6 DOF motion for immersive content viewed through VR headsets (McEwen, [0012]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Montero and McEwen to obtain the invention as specified in claim 9.
Regarding claim 13, Montero is silent to wherein the transforming includes rendering the images in an inflated equiangular projection
McEwen discloses wherein the transforming includes rendering the images in an inflated equiangular projection ([0025] if the asset is stored in the common equirectangular format then a standard equiangular or cylindrical projection may be used)
Montero and McEwen are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify virtual walkthrough interface of Montero to include wherein the transforming includes rendering the images in an inflated equiangular projection as described by McEwen.
The motivation for doing so would have to significantly reduces cyber motion sickness by eliminating visual-vestibular conflict by supporting 6 DOF motion for immersive content viewed through VR headsets (McEwen, [0012]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Montero and McEwen to obtain the invention as specified in claim 13.
Regarding claim 19, Montero is silent to w wherein the rendering is a 6 degree-of-freedom (6DOF) virtual reality (VR) rendering configured to mitigate motion sickness due to motion of a user's head
McEwen discloses wherein the rendering is a 6 degree-of-freedom (6DOF) virtual reality (VR) rendering configured to mitigate motion sickness due to motion of a user's head ([0027] The portion of content is manipulated in accordance with the methods described above to provide 6 DOF in immersive content. [0026] effect of motion provided by synthesization or reprojection of the portion of the scene has the effect of reducing cyber motion sickness and enhancing user experience)
Montero and McEwen are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify virtual walkthrough interface of Montero to include wherein the rendering is a 6 degree-of-freedom (6DOF) virtual reality (VR) rendering configured to mitigate motion sickness due to motion of a user's head as described by McEwen.
The motivation for doing so would have to significantly reduces cyber motion sickness by eliminating visual-vestibular conflict by supporting 6 DOF motion for immersive content viewed through VR headsets (McEwen, [0012]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Montero and McEwen to obtain the invention as specified in claim 19.
Conclusion
/SHIVANG I PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615