DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2015078307(“FEI et al.”),
Regarding Claim 1, FEI et al. discloses a refrigerator comprising:
a cabinet (210, 310) defining a refrigeration compartment with a front opening;
a refrigerator door (220, 320) mountable for swinging movement between opened and closed positions at the front opening of the cabinet (210, 310) by a left-side hinge comprising a mounting bracket and a hinge pin and a right-side hinge comprising a mounting bracket and a hinge pin;
a left-side handle (as seen in Figs. 15-16) associated with the left-side hinge and manipulable to release a left hinge catch (31) to free the hinge pin of the left-side hinge from a captured condition to allow a left- hand swing opening and closing of the refrigerator door (220, 320) about the hinge pin of the right-side hinge while in a captured condition;
a right-side handle (as seen in Figs. 15-16) associated with the right-side hinge and manipulable to release a right hinge catch (31) to free the hinge pin of the right-side hinge from a captured condition to allow a right-hand swing opening and closing of the refrigerator door (220, 320) about the hinge pin of the left-side hinge while in a captured condition; and
a removable hinge block (32) either positioned to place the hinge pin of the right-side hinge in the captured condition to allow the left-hand swing opening and closing of the refrigerator door (220, 320) or positioned to place the hinge pin of the left-side hinge in the captured condition to allow the right-hand swing opening and closing of the refrigerator door (220, 320).
Regarding Claim 9, FEI et al. discloses refrigerator comprising:
a cabinet (210, 310) defining refrigerator compartment with a front opening;
a refrigerator door (220, 320) mountable for swinging movement between opened and closed positions at the front opening of the cabinet (210, 310) by upper and lower left-side hinges each comprising a mounting bracket and a hinge pin and upper and lower right-side hinges each comprising a mounting bracket and a hinge pin;
a left-side handle (as seen in Figs. 15-16) associated with both the upper and lower left-side hinges and manipulable to release a left hinge catch (31) to free the hinge pins (51) of the upper and lower left-side hinges from a captured condition to allow a left-hand swing opening and closing of the refrigerator door (220, 320) about the hinge pins (51) of the upper and lower right-side hinges while in a captured condition;
a right-side handle (as seen in Figs. 15-16) associated with the both the upper and lower right-side hinges and manipulable to release a right hinge catch (31) to free the hinge pins (51) of the upper and lower right-side hinges from a captured condition to allow a right-hand swing opening and closing of the refrigerator door (220, 320) about the hinge pins (51) of the upper and lower left-side hinge while in a captured condition; and
removable hinge blocks (32) either positioned to place the hinge pins (51) of the upper and lower right-side hinges in the captured condition to allow the left-hand swing opening and closing of the refrigerator door (220, 320) or positioned to place the hinge pins (51) of the upper and lower left-side hinges in the captured condition to allow the right-hand swing opening and closing of the refrigerator door (220, 320).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-8 and 10-16 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fei et al. as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, in view of EP 2466234 (“DAGCI et al.”).
Regarding Claims 2 and 10, Fei et al. discloses the claimed invention but does not expressly disclose the handle block to prevent manipulation of the left-side or right-side handle.
DAGCI et al. demonstrates it is well known in the art to provide a refrigerator door handle with a handle block (50) either positioned to prevent manipulation of the right-side handle or the left side door handle.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a handle block (50)either positioned to prevent manipulation of the right-side handle or the left side door handle to prevent the user from accessing the handle as taught by DAGCI et al. so that the door cannot be opened from the right or left handle when the right or left handle is blocked off.
As modified, a handle block either positioned to prevent manipulation of the right-side handle (as seen in Figs. 15-16) when the hinge block (32) is positioned to place the hinge pin of the right-side hinge in the captured condition to allow the left-hand swing opening and closing of the refrigerator door (220, 320) or positioned to prevent manipulation of the left-side handle (as seen in Figs. 15-16) when the hinge block (32) is positioned to place the hinge pin of the left-side hinge in the captured condition to allow the right-hand swing opening and closing of the refrigerator door (220, 320).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination discloses (Fei et al.) including a left guide channel positioned in the refrigerator door (220, 320) and receiving the hinge pin of the left-side hinge and a right guide channel positioned in the refrigerator door (220, 320) and receiving the hinge pin of the right-side hinge.
Regarding Claim 4, the combination discloses (Fei et al.) wherein the hinge block (32) is inserted into the right guide channel abutting the hinge pin of the right-side hinge when the hinge block (32) is positioned to place the hinge pin of the right-side hinge in the captured condition to allow the left-hand swing opening and closing of the refrigerator door (220, 320) or the hinge block (32) is inserted into the left guide channel abutting the hinge pin of the left-side hinge when the hinge block (32) is positioned to place the hinge pin of the left-side hinge in the captured condition to allow the right-hand swing opening and closing of the refrigerator door (220, 320).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination discloses (Fei et al.) wherein the hinge block (32) is removably secured to a frame of the refrigerator door (220, 320).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination discloses (Fei et al.) wherein the hinge block (32) displaces the left hinge catch (31) from within the left guide channel when the hinge block (32) is inserted into the left guide channel and displaces the right hinge catch (31) from within the right guide channel when the hinge block (32) is inserted into the right guide channel.
Regarding Claim 7, the combination discloses (Fei et al.) wherein the hinge block (32) has one end that abuts the hinge pin in the left guide channel when the hinge block (32) is inserted into the left guide channel and abuts the hinge pin the right guide channel when the hinge block (32) is inserted into the right guide channel.
Regarding Claim 8, the combination discloses (Fei et al.) wherein the hinge block (32) has an opposite end that is flanged and secured to the frame of the refrigerator door (220, 320).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination discloses (Fei et al.) including left guide channels (16) positioned in the refrigerator door (220, 320) and receiving the hinge pins (51) of the upper and lower left-side hinges and right guide channels (16) positioned in the refrigerator door (220, 320) and receiving the hinge pins (51) of the upper and lower right-side hinges.
Regarding Claim 12, the combination discloses (Fei et al.) wherein the hinge blocks (32) are inserted into the right guide channels (16) abutting the hinge pins (51) of the upper and lower right-side hinges when the hinge blocks (32) are positioned to place the hinge pins (51) of the upper and lower right-side hinges in the captured condition to allow the left-hand swing opening and closing of the refrigerator door (220, 320) or the hinge blocks (32) are inserted into the left guide channels (16) abutting the hinge pins (51) of the upper and lower left-side hinge when the hinge blocks (32) are positioned to place the hinge pins (51) of the upper and lower left-side hinges in the captured condition to allow the right-hand swing opening and closing of the refrigerator door (220, 320).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination discloses (Fei et al.) wherein each of the hinge blocks (32) is removably secured to a frame of the refrigerator door (220, 320).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination discloses (Fei et al.) wherein hinge blocks (32) each displaces one of the left hinge catches (31) from within the left guide channels (16) when the hinge blocks (32) are inserted into the left guide channels (16) and displaces one of the right hinge catches (31) from within the right guide channels (16) when the hinge blocks (32) are inserted into the right guide channel.
Regarding Claim 15, the combination discloses (Fei et al.) wherein the hinge blocks (32) each have one end that abuts one of the hinge pins (51) in the left guide channels (16) when the hinge blocks (32) are inserted into the left guide channels (16) and abuts the hinge pins (51) the right guide channels (16) when the hinge blocks (32) are inserted into the right guide channels (16).
Regarding Claim 16, the combination discloses (Fei et al.) wherein each of the hinge blocks (32) has an opposite end that is flanged and secured to a frame of the refrigerator door (220, 320).
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2015078307(“FEI et al.”) in view of EP 2466234 (“DAGCI et al.”).
Regarding Claim 17, Fei et al. discloses a refrigerator comprising:
a cabinet (210, 310) defining refrigerator compartment with a front opening;
a refrigerator door (220, 320) mountable for swinging movement between opened and closed positions at the front opening of the cabinet (210, 310) by upper and lower left-side hinges each comprising a mounting bracket and a hinge pin and upper and lower right-side hinges each comprising a mounting bracket and a hinge pin;
a left-side handle (as seen in Figs. 15-16) associated with both the upper and lower left-side hinges and manipulable to release left hinge catches (31) to free the hinge pins (51) of the upper and lower left-side hinges from a captured condition to allow a left-hand swing opening and closing of the refrigerator door (220, 320) about the hinge pins (51) of the upper and lower right-side hinges while in a captured condition;
a right-side handle (as seen in Figs. 15-16) associated with the both the upper and lower right-side hinges and manipulable to release right hinge catches (31) to free the hinge pins (51) of the upper and lower right-side hinges from a captured condition to allow a right-hand swing opening and closing of the refrigerator door (220, 320) about the hinge pins (51) of the upper and lower left-side hinge while in a captured condition;
left guide channels (16) positioned in the refrigerator door (220, 320) and receiving the hinge pins (51) of the upper and lower left-side hinges;
right guide channels (16) positioned in the refrigerator door (220, 320) and receiving the hinge pins (51) of the upper and lower right-side hinges;
removable hinge blocks (32) either positioned to place the hinge pins (51) of the upper and lower right-side hinges in the captured condition to allow the left-hand swing opening and closing of the refrigerator door (220, 320) or positioned to place the hinge pins (51) of the upper and lower left-side hinges in the captured condition to allow the right-hand swing opening and closing of the refrigerator door (220, 320); and
wherein the hinge blocks (32) are inserted into the right guide channels (16) abutting the hinge pins (51) of the upper and lower right-side hinges when the hinge blocks (32) are positioned to place the hinge pins (51) of the upper and lower right-side hinges in the captured condition to allow the left-hand swing opening and closing of the refrigerator door (220, 320) or the hinge blocks (32) are inserted into the left guide channels (16) abutting the hinge pins (51) of the upper and lower left-side hinge when the hinge blocks (32) are positioned to place the hinge pins (51) of the upper and lower left-side hinges in the captured condition to allow the right-hand swing opening and closing of the refrigerator door (220, 320),
wherein the hinge blocks (32) each have one end that abuts one of the hinge pins (51) in the left guide channels (16) when the hinge blocks (32) are inserted into the left guide channels (16) and abuts the hinge pins (51) the right guide channels (16) when the hinge blocks (32) are inserted into the right guide channels (16).
Fei et al. discloses the claimed invention but does not disclose the handle block to prevent manipulation of the left-side or right-side handle.
DAGCI et al. demonstrates it is well known in the art to provide a refrigerator door handle with a handle block (50) either positioned to prevent manipulation of the right-side handle or the left side door handle.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a handle block (50)either positioned to prevent manipulation of the right-side handle or the left side door handle to prevent the user from accessing the handle as taught by DAGCI et al. so that the door cannot be opened from the right or left handle when the right or left handle is blocked off.
As modified, a handle block either positioned to prevent manipulation of the right-side handle (as seen in Figs. 15-16) when the hinge blocks (32) are positioned to place the hinge pins (51) of the upper and lower right-side hinges in the captured condition to allow the left-hand swing opening and closing of the refrigerator door (220, 320) or positioned to prevent manipulation of the left-side handle (as seen in Figs. 15-16) when the hinge blocks (32) are positioned to place the hinge pins (51) of the upper and lower left-side hinges in the captured condition to allow the right-hand swing opening and closing of the refrigerator door (220, 320).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination discloses (Fei et al.) wherein each hinge block (32) is removably secured to a frame of the refrigerator door (220, 320).
Regarding Claim 19, the combination discloses (Fei et al.) wherein hinge blocks (32) each displaces one of the left hinge catches (31) from within the left guide channels (16) when the hinge blocks (32) are inserted into the left guide channels (16) and displaces one of the right hinge catches (31) from within the right guide channels (16) when the hinge blocks (32) are inserted into the right guide channel.
Regarding Claim 20, the combination discloses (Fei et al.) wherein each hinge block (32) has an opposite end that is flanged and secured to a frame of the refrigerator door (220, 320).
Conclusion
/KIMBERLEY S WRIGHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637