DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Korea on October 17, 2022 and November 8, 2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copies of the Korean applications as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first recessed portion and a second recessed portion formed at the edge of the sensor part must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
Additionally, a fourth recessed portion spaced apart from the second recessed portion formed at the edge of the fixing part such that the second portion is disposed between the third recessed portion and the fourth recessed portion must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 25-26 and 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Regarding claims 25 and 33, the first recessed portion and a second recessed portion formed at the edge of the sensor part is not disclosed as originally filed. The recessed portions are disclosed as being on the fixing part. The only recess discussed is in paragraphs 79 and 151 of the specification.
Regarding claims 26 and 34, a fourth recessed portion spaced apart from the second recessed portion formed at the edge of the fixing part such that the second portion is disposed between the third recessed portion and the fourth recessed portion is not disclosed in the originally filed specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-24, 27-32 and 35-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sommer (U.S. Publication No. 20220053136). Sommer teaches an electronic device 100 comprising: a housing 138; and a printed circuit board 200 disposed in the housing, wherein the printed circuit board includes: a sensor part (108/122, fig. 1) including a first portion formed at an edge of the sensor part (204, fig 2A); a fixing part 126/206 coupled to the housing (fig. 2A, outer frame 126/206 is a “static platform” according to ¶¶24 and 26. Additionally, fig. 1 shows the outer frame 126 is attached to the housing 138), the fixing part including a second portion formed at an edge of the fixing part facing with the edge of the sensor part (inner edge of 206) and spaced apart from the first portion; and a flexible part 124/208 disposed between the sensor part and the fixing part such that the at least a portion of the flexible part surrounds at least a portion of the sensor part (figs. 1-2A).
Regarding claim 22, the method of making does not impart specific structure and the structure as claimed is anticipated by Sommer.
Regarding claim 23, a driving part (coils 132) is configured to move in at least one direction, wherein the sensor part is configured to move in the at least one direction according to a movement of the driving part (¶24) based on that the connection part is cut. The cut/gap between 206 and 204 allow movement.
Regarding claim 24, a driving part (coils 132) configured to move in at least one direction, wherein the second portion does not limit a movement of the first portion according to a movement of the driving part. See fig. 1 and ¶24.
Regarding claim 27, fig 2A shows the flexible part includes a first flexible portion disposed between a first portion of the sensor part and a first portion of the fixing part (i.e. top parts respectively), and a second flexible portion disposed between a second portion opposite to the first portion of the sensor part and a second portion opposite to the first portion of the fixing part (i.e. bottom parts respectively).
Regarding claim 28, the printed circuit board includes a connector 212 (see also, connector at bottom of 206 in fig. 2A) connected with at least a portion of the fixing part and configured to be electrically connected between the printed circuit board and an electronic component disposed outside the printed circuit board. See also ¶26.
Regarding claim 29, ¶26 teaches the flexible part includes a conductor configured to allow a current to flow therein. (“one or more electrical traces may be routed at one or both sides of suspension assembly 200, e.g., together with flexure arms 208, from conductor pads 212 (of outer frame 206) to conductor pads 210 (of inner frame 210).”
Regarding claim 30, a bottom cover 114 is disposed under the printed circuit board. See fig. 1.
Regarding claim 31, Sommer teaches a printed circuit board, disposed in a housing 138, including: a sensor part (108/122, fig. 1) including a first portion formed at an edge of the sensor part (204, fig 2A); a fixing part 126/206 coupled to the housing (fig. 2A, outer frame 126/206 is a “static platform” according to ¶¶24 and 26. Additionally, fig. 1 shows the outer frame 126 is attached to the housing 138), the fixing part including a second portion formed at an edge of the fixing part facing with the edge of the sensor part (inner edge of 206) and spaced apart from the first portion; and a flexible part 124/208 disposed between the sensor part and the fixing part such that the at least a portion of the flexible part surrounds at least a portion of the sensor part (figs. 1-2A).
Regarding claim 32, the method of making does not impart specific structure and the structure as claimed is anticipated by Sommer.
Regarding claim 35, fig 2A shows the flexible part includes a first flexible portion disposed between a first portion of the sensor part and a first portion of the fixing part (i.e. top parts respectively), and a second flexible portion disposed between a second portion opposite to the first portion of the sensor part and a second portion opposite to the first portion of the fixing part (i.e. bottom parts respectively).
Regarding claim 36, the printed circuit board includes a connector 212 (see also, connector at bottom of 206 in fig. 2A) connected with at least a portion of the fixing part and configured to be electrically connected between the printed circuit board and an electronic component disposed outside the printed circuit board. See also ¶26.
Regarding claim 37, ¶26 teaches the flexible part includes a conductor configured to allow a current to flow therein. (“one or more electrical traces may be routed at one or both sides of suspension assembly 200, e.g., together with flexure arms 208, from conductor pads 212 (of outer frame 206) to conductor pads 210 (of inner frame 210).”
Claim(s) 21-22 and 31-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johnson (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0314338). Regarding claims 21 and 31, Johnson teaches an electronic device 300 comprising: a housing (312/412/414 see figs. 3-4); and a printed circuit board 102 disposed in the housing, wherein the printed circuit board includes: a sensor part 106 including a first portion formed at an edge of the sensor part; a fixing part 104 coupled to the housing (¶37, “second frame may be coupled to a static platform”), the fixing part including a second portion formed at an edge of the fixing part facing with the edge of the sensor part and spaced apart from the first portion; and a flexible part 108 disposed between the sensor part and the fixing part such that the at least a portion of the flexible part surrounds at least a portion of the sensor part. See fig. 2.
Regarding claims 22 and 32, the method of making does not impart specific structure and the structure as claimed is anticipated by Sommer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25-26 and 33-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Johnson (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0314338).
Regarding claims 25 and 33, Johnson teaches the sensor part including a first recessed portion (see figs. 10A, 10B and 10F). While Johnson does not show a second recessed portion formed at the edge of the sensor part such that the first portion is disposed between the first recessed portion and the second recessed portion, figures 10A, 10B and 10F all only show one quarter section of the circuit. Since each circuit contains at least four flexure arm sets, there would be at least a second recess portion (as well as third and fourth recess portions) with the sensor part between the recess portions. Thus a second recess portion would be formed at least on a side opposite to that shown in fig. 10A). Alternatively, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize four recesses for the purpose of keeping symmetry of the moving platform while increasing the number of conductors. The applicant should note that it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involve only routine skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claims 26 and 34, the same reasoning applies as explain above with respect to claims 25 and 33. Figures 10A, 10B and 10F all only show one quarter section of the circuit. Since each circuit contains at least four flexure arm sets, there would be third and fourth recess portions. Thus third and fourth recess portions would be formed spaced apart from the first recessed portion and a fourth recessed portion spaced apart from the second recessed portion formed at the edge of the fixing part such that the second portion is disposed between the third recessed portion and the fourth recessed portion. These would be formed on left and right sides for example. Alternatively, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize four recesses for the purpose of keeping symmetry of the moving platform while increasing the number of conductors.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hubert (U.S. Publication No. 20190141248) shows at least two recesses on the edge of a sensor part. See fig. 8A.
/CHRISTOPHER E MAHONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852