DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 13, 23 and 28 are objected to because of the following informalities: ”a braking” is grammatically incorrect. It is suggested by the Examiner to change the recitation to “braking”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
.
Claim(s) 1-4, 8, 10-16, 20, 22-25, and 28-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US-10987971-B2 to Kemeny et al. (“Kemeny”).
Regarding Claim 1, Kemeny discloses a wheel assembly (30) to be coupled to a hub (21) of a vehicle (20), the wheel assembly comprising: an inner rim (31) to be coupled to (Col 5 line 1) the hub of the vehicle; an outer rim (33) surrounding (Fig 2) the inner rim; a plurality of gas springs (50 “any number of gas springs”, Col 9 lines 14-15) operatively coupled between (Col 5 lines 54) the inner rim and the outer rim to provide a gas suspension (“control the operating response: increase pressure, extend, retract of the 50 gas springs while the vehicle during motion thereof, during braking or acceleration [e.g. while rolling], Col 6 lines 14-16, Col 9 lines 20-30, 37-42, Col 10 lines 4-12) for relative movement between the inner rim and the outer rim, each of the plurality of gas springs having a controllable gas pressure (“controllable gas pressure” controlled via 87 “local controller”, Col 9 lines 22-32); a wheel rotational position sensor (88, 188a, 188b “local sensor”, of various types: force, acceleration, distance, three-axis accelerometers, Col 33-48, Col 10 lines 63-67, Col 11 lines 1-24, Fig 25); a vehicle operator control input interface (“in vehicle cab” receiving notifications from sensors “in vehicle cab” cooperates with 87, 87’’’, “local controller”, Col 9 lines 57-67, Col 10 lines 1-16 ); and a controller (92’’’ “remote controller” receiving notifications from sensors “in vehicle cab” cooperates with 87, 87’’’, “local controller” coupled to 50, Col 9 lines 57-67, Col 10 lines 1-16 cooperate with 87, 87’’’, “local controller”, Figs 20, 21) configured to control the gas pressure in each of the plurality of gas springs in a pattern (“notification from sensors to effect a change in 50 gas springs: adjust pressure i.e. extend, retrack 50 in response to acceleration [i.e. overcoming rolling resistance] or braking”, as communicated by 88 sensors, Col 9 lines 33-65, Col 10 lines 4-16) in response to the wheel rotational position sensor and vehicle operator control input interface (88 local sensor cooperates with 87 local controller and 92’’’ “remote controller” receiving notifications from “in vehicle cab” ” [i.e. user interface] in response to braking/acceleration, allowing further response at brake pedal or acceleration pedal 92’’’ “remote controller” receiving notifications from “in vehicle cab” cooperates with 87, 87’’’, “local controller” coupled to 50, Col 9 lines 44-67) to assist in one of overcoming a rolling resistance [e.g. acceleration] of the wheel and of the wheel or braking (as just described).
Regarding Claim 2, Kemeny discloses the wheel assembly of Claim 1 wherein the vehicle operator control input interface comprises a vehicle brake pedal interface (88 local sensor cooperates with 87 local controller and 92’’’ “remote controller” receiving notifications from “in vehicle cab” ” [i.e. user interface] in response to braking, allowing further response at brake pedal or acceleration pedal 92’’’ “remote controller” receiving notifications from “in vehicle cab” cooperates with 87, 87’’’, “local controller” coupled to 50, Col 9 lines 44-67).
Regarding Claim 3 , Kemeny discloses the wheel assembly of Claim 1 wherein the vehicle operator control input interface comprises a vehicle accelerator pedal interface (88 local sensor cooperates with 87 local controller and 92’’’ “remote controller” receiving notifications from “in vehicle cab” [i.e. user interface] in response to acceleration, allowing further response at brake pedal or acceleration pedal 92’’’ “remote controller” receiving notifications from “in vehicle cab” cooperates with 87, 87’’’, “local controller” coupled to 50, Col 9 lines 44-67).
Regarding Claim 4, Kemeny discloses the wheel assembly of Claim 1 further comprising a plurality of pressure actuators (87 “local controller associated with each 50 gas spring, includes associated actuators to control the response of 50: monitor/adjust pressure/volume of 50, or extension/retraction thereof”, each associated with a respective gas spring (Col 9 lines 23-24, 28-43).
Regarding Claim 8, Kemeny discloses the wheel assembly of Claim 1 wherein the controller is configured to control the gas pressure in each of the plurality of gas springs while the wheel assembly is rolling (“as described in paragraph 5 of this document).
Regarding Claim 10, Kemeny discloses the wheel assembly of Claim 1 further comprising an inclinometer (sensors as described in paragraph 8 of this document, capable of measuring distance, acceleration, motion , and thus incline of spokes, [e.g. inclinometer]). coupled to the controller; and wherein the controller is configured to control the gas pressure in each of the plurality of gas springs in the pattern further in response to the inclinometer (sensors as just described above, and described in paragraph 5 of this document).
Regarding Claim 11, Kemeny discloses the wheel assembly of Claim 1 comprising an outer ring coupled to the outer rim and defining a closable gap (41 ”closeable gap”, Col 5 lines 25-27, Fig 2, 6) with adjacent portions of the inner rim.
Regarding Claim 12, Kemeny discloses the wheel assembly of Claim 11 wherein the plurality of gas springs each has an operating stroke (Col 6 lines 14-25) permitting the outer ring to define a mechanical stop (Col 6 lines 14-25).
Regarding Claim 13, Kemeny discloses a wheel assembly (30) to be coupled to a hub (21) of a vehicle (20), the wheel assembly comprising: an inner rim (31) to be coupled to (Col 5 line 1) the hub of the vehicle; an outer rim (33) surrounding (Fig 2) the inner rim; and defining a closable gap (41 ”closeable gap”, Col 5 lines 25-27, Fig 2, 6) with adjacent portions of the inner rim; a plurality of gas springs (50 “any number of gas springs”, Col 9 lines 14-15) operatively coupled between (Col 5 lines 54) the inner rim and the outer rim to provide a gas suspension (“control the operating response: increase pressure, extend, retract of the 50 gas springs while the vehicle during motion thereof, during braking or acceleration [e.g. while rolling], Col 6 lines 14-16, Col 9 lines 20-30, 37-42, Col 10 lines 4-12) for relative movement between the inner rim and the outer rim, each of the plurality of gas springs having a controllable gas pressure (“controllable gas pressure” controlled via 87 “local controller”, Col 9 lines 22-32); a wheel rotational position sensor (88, 188a, 188b “local sensor”, of various types: force, acceleration, distance, three-axis accelerometers, Col 9 33-48, Col 10 lines 63-67, Col 11 lines 1-24, Fig 25); a vehicle operator control input interface (“in vehicle cab” receiving notifications from sensors “in vehicle cab” cooperates with 87, 87’’’, “local controller”, Col 9 lines 57-67, Col 10 lines 1-16 ); and a controller (92’’’ “remote controller” receiving notifications from sensors “in vehicle cab” cooperates with 87, 87’’’, “local controller” coupled to 50, Col 9 lines 57-67, Col 10 lines 1-16 cooperate with 87, 87’’’, “local controller”, Figs 20, 21) configured to control the gas pressure in each of the plurality of gas springs in a pattern (“notification from sensors to effect a change in 50 gas springs: adjust pressure i.e. extend, retrack 50 in response to acceleration [i.e. overcoming rolling resistance] or braking”, as communicated by 88 sensors, Col 9 lines 33-65, Col 10 lines 4-16) in response to the wheel rotational position sensor and vehicle operator control input interface (88 local sensor cooperates with 87 local controller and 92’’’ “remote controller” receiving notifications from “in vehicle cab” ” [i.e. user interface] in response to braking/acceleration, allowing further response at brake pedal or acceleration pedal 92’’’ “remote controller” receiving notifications from “in vehicle cab” cooperates with 87, 87’’’, “local controller” coupled to 50, Col 9 lines 44-67) to assist in one of overcoming a rolling resistance [e.g. acceleration] of the wheel and of the wheel or braking (as just described).
Regarding Claim 14, Kemeny discloses the wheel assembly of Claim 13 wherein the vehicle operator control input interface comprises a vehicle brake pedal interface (88 local sensor cooperates with 87 local controller and 92’’’ “remote controller” receiving notifications from “in vehicle cab” ” [i.e. user interface] in response to braking, allowing further response at brake pedal or acceleration pedal 92’’’ “remote controller” receiving notifications from “in vehicle cab” cooperates with 87, 87’’’, “local controller” coupled to 50, Col 9 lines 44-67).
Regarding Claim 15, Kemeny discloses the wheel assembly of Claim 13 wherein the vehicle operator control input interface comprises a vehicle accelerator pedal interface (88 local sensor cooperates with 87 local controller and 92’’’ “remote controller” receiving notifications from “in vehicle cab” [i.e. user interface] in response to acceleration, allowing further response at brake pedal or acceleration pedal 92’’’ “remote controller” receiving notifications from “in vehicle cab” cooperates with 87, 87’’’, “local controller” coupled to 50, Col 9 lines 44-67).
Regarding Claim 16, Kemeny discloses the wheel assembly of Claim 13 further comprising a plurality of pressure actuators (87 “local controller associated with each 50 gas spring, includes associated actuators to control the response of 50: monitor/adjust pressure/volume of 50, or extension/retraction thereof”, each associated with a respective gas spring (Col 9 lines 23-24, 28-43), each associated with a respective gas spring (just described).
Regarding Claim 20, Kemeny discloses the wheel assembly of Claim 13 wherein the controller is configured to control the gas pressure (as described in paragraph 13 of this document).
Regarding Claim 22, Kemeny discloses the wheel assembly of Claim 13 further comprising an inclinometer (sensors as described in paragraph 8 of this document, capable of measuring distance, acceleration, motion , and thus incline of spokes, [e.g. inclinometer]). coupled to the controller; and wherein the controller is configured to control the gas pressure in each of the plurality of gas springs in the pattern further (described in paragraph 13 of this document) in response to the inclinometer (inclinometer as described above).
Regarding Claim 23, Kemeny discloses a method of making a wheel assembly to be coupled to a hub of vehicle, the method comprising: operatively coupling Col 13, lines 6-7) a plurality of gas springs between an inner rim to be coupled to the hub of the vehicle and an outer rim to provide a gas suspension for relative movement between the inner rim and the outer rim (Col 13, lines 5-42), each of the plurality of gas springs having a controllable gas pressure; and mounting a controller configured to control the gas pressure in each of the plurality of gas springs in a pattern in response to a wheel rotational position sensor and a vehicle operator control input interface to assist in one of overcoming a rolling resistance of the wheel and (Col 13 lines 5-9, 48-52, Col 9 lines 34-42).
Regarding Claim 24, Kemeny discloses the method of Claim 23 wherein the vehicle operator control input interface comprises at least one of a vehicle brake pedal interface and a vehicle accelerator pedal interface. Specifically both (88 local sensor cooperates with 87 local controller and 92’’’ “remote controller” receiving notifications from “in vehicle cab” [i.e. user interface] in response to acceleration and or braking allowing further response at brake pedal or acceleration pedal 92’’’ “remote controller” receiving notifications from “in vehicle cab” cooperates with 87, 87’’’, “local controller” coupled to 50, Col 9 lines 44-67).,
Regarding Claim 25, Kemeny discloses the method of Claim 23 further comprising positioning a plurality of pressure actuators each associated with a respective gas spring (as described in paragraph 19 of this document).
Regarding Claim 28, Kemeny discloses a method of operating a wheel assembly comprising an inner rim to be coupled to the hub of the vehicle, an outer rim surrounding the inner rim, a plurality of gas springs operatively coupled between the inner rim and the outer rim to provide a gas suspension for relative movement between the inner rim and the outer rim, each of the plurality of gas springs having a controllable gas pressure, a wheel rotational position sensor, and a vehicle operator control input interface, the method comprising: operating a controller to control the gas pressure in each of the plurality of gas springs in a pattern (“notification from sensors to effect a change in 50 gas springs: adjust pressure i.e. extend, retrack 50 in response to acceleration [i.e. overcoming rolling resistance] or braking”, as communicated by sensors: 88, 188a, 188b “local sensor”, of various types: force, acceleration, distance, three-axis accelerometers, Col 10 lines 63-67, Col 11 lines 1-24, Fig 25), Col 9 lines 33-65, Col 10 lines 4-16,) in response to the wheel rotational position sensor and vehicle operator control input interface to assist in one of overcoming a rolling resistance of the wheel and (as described in Col 13 lines 53-.67, Col 14 lines 1-9, “control gas pressure” Col 9 lines 34-42, “during motion thereof” [e.g. during rolling] Col 10 lines 4-16)
Regarding Claim 29, Kemeny discloses the method of Claim 28 wherein the operator control input interface comprises at least one of a vehicle brake pedal interface and a vehicle accelerator pedal interface. Specifically both, (88 local sensor cooperates with 87 local controller and 92’’’ “remote controller” receiving notifications from “in vehicle cab” [i.e. user interface] in response to acceleration and or braking allowing further response at brake pedal or acceleration pedal 92’’’ “remote controller” receiving notifications from “in vehicle cab” cooperates with 87, 87’’’, “local controller” coupled to 50, Col 9 lines 44-67).
Regarding Claim 30, Kemeny discloses the method of Claim 28 wherein operating the controller comprises operating the controller to control the gas pressure in each of the plurality of gas springs while the wheel assembly is rolling (as described in paragraph 22 of this document).
Regarding Claim 31, Kemeny discloses the method of Claim 28 wherein operating the controller comprises operating the controller to control the gas pressure in each of the plurality of gas springs in a pattern (as described in paragraph 22 of this document) response to an inclinometer (sensors as described in paragraph 22 of this document, are capable of measuring distance, acceleration, motion , and thus incline of spokes, [e.g. inclinometer]) coupled to the controller.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7, 17-19 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kemeny as applied to claims 4, 16 or 25 above, and further in view of CN-109586497-B to Jia (“Jia”).
Regarding Claim 5, Kemeny discloses the wheel assembly of Claim 4, including a plurality of pressure actuators, but does not disclose further comprising a power source (224 “battery” to power 228 “pump” and 230 “pressurized air/gas tank” , Col 8 lines 36-47, Figs 2a-2c) coupled to the plurality of pressure actuators.
Jia discloses an 8 ”electric engine control unit” that converts sliding motion of piston spokes as the wheel rolls for connection to a wheel of a vehicle having a power source that generates electricity via a plurality of spokes [i.e. actuators] each including 11 “permanent magnet pistons” and 4 “cylinder body coils on 10 “cylinder body”(10), the power charges a power source/battery (9, Page 3, “charged by mechanical power” Page 4), thus coupled to each actuator (English Translation “ET” page 3, Para 4 beginning “The invention is a …”, lines 1-12, Fig 1).
The difference between the disclosure in the claimed invention and the prior art, is that the prior art does not disclose the wheel assembly and the wheel having a power source coupled to coils on cylinders and permanent magnets pistons, in a single combined apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the wheel assembly of Kemeny and teaching of the wheel assembly and the wheel having a power source/battery coupled to coils on cylinders and permanent magnets pistons of Jia, to modify the wheel assembly of Kemeny such that it includes a battery (like Jia) with the motivation to have a power source/battery for use by sensors, and to further modify gas springs of the wheel assembly of Kemeny, such that the cylinders have coils with coils and the pistons have magnets, to generate power to charge a battery (like Jia) with the motivation to recycle the mechanical energy of the cylinders and pistons and store it in a battery (Jia English Translation ET Page 1, last 2 lines).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Kemeny and Jia, discloses the wheel assembly of Claim 5 wherein each of the plurality of gas springs comprises a cylinder body and an associated piston movable within the cylinder body; and wherein the power source comprises a plurality of electric coils carried by respective ones of the cylinder bodies and associated permanent magnets carried by respective ones of the pistons (as described in paragraph 29 of this document).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Kemeny and Jia, discloses the wheel assembly of Claim 5 wherein the power source comprises a battery (as described in paragraph 29 of this document).
Regarding Claim 17, Kemeny discloses the wheel assembly of Claim 16, including the plurality of pressure actuators, but does not disclose the wheel assembly further comprising a power source coupled to the plurality of pressure actuators.
Jia discloses an 8 ”electric engine control unit” that converts sliding motion of piston spokes as the wheel rolls for connection to a wheel of a vehicle having a power source that generates electricity via a plurality of spokes [i.e. actuators] including at least one 11 “permanent magnet pistons” and a 4 “cylinder body coil on 10 “cylinder body”(10), the power charges a battery (9, Page 3, “charged by mechanical power” Page 4), thus coupled to each actuator (English Translation “ET” page 3, Para 4 beginning “The invention is a …”, lines 1-12, Fig 1).
The difference between the disclosure in the claimed invention and the prior art, is that the prior art does not disclose the wheel assembly and the wheel having a power source coupled to coils on cylinders and permanent magnets pistons, in a single combined apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the wheel assembly of Kemeny and teaching of the wheel assembly and the wheel having a power source coupled to coils on cylinders and permanent magnets pistons of Jia, to modify the wheel assembly of Kemeny such that it includes a power source/ battery (like Jia) with the motivation to have a power source for use by sensors, and to further modify gas springs of the wheel assembly of Kemeny, such that the cylinders have coils with coils and the pistons have magnets, to generate power to charge a battery (like Jia) with the motivation to recycle the mechanical energy of the cylinders and pistons and store it in a battery (Jia English Translation ET Page 1, last 2 lines).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Kemeny and Jia discloses the wheel assembly of Claim 17 wherein each of the plurality of gas springs comprises a cylinder body and an associated piston movable within the cylinder body; and the power source comprises a plurality of electric coils carried by respective ones of the cylinder bodies and associated permanent magnets carried by respective ones of the pistons (as described in paragraph 32 of this document).
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Kemeny and Jia discloses the wheel assembly of Claim 17 wherein the power source comprises a battery (as described in paragraph 32 of this document).
Regarding Claim 26, Kemeny, discloses the method of making the wheel assembly of Claim 25, but does not disclose the method further comprising coupling a power source to the plurality of pressure actuators.
Jia discloses an 8 ” electric engine control unit” that converts sliding motion of piston spokes as the wheel rolls for connection to a wheel of a vehicle having a power source that generates electricity via a plurality of spokes [i.e. actuators] including at least one 11 “permanent magnet pistons” and a 4 “cylinder body coil on 10 “cylinder body”(10), the power charges a battery (9, Page 3, “charged by mechanical power” Page 4), thus coupled to each actuator (English Translation “ET” page 3, Para 4 beginning “The invention is a …”, lines 1-12, Fig 1).
The difference between the disclosure in the claimed invention and the prior art, is that the prior art does not disclose the wheel assembly and the wheel having a power source coupled to coils on cylinders and permanent magnets pistons, in a single combined apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the wheel assembly of Kemeny and teaching of the wheel assembly and the wheel having a power source coupled to coils on cylinders and permanent magnets pistons of Jia, to modify the wheel assembly of Kemeny such that it includes a power source/ battery (like Jia) with the motivation to have a power source for use by sensors, and to further modify gas springs of the wheel assembly of Kemeny, such that the cylinders have coils with coils and the pistons have magnets, to generate power to charge a battery (like Jia) with the motivation to recycle the mechanical energy of the cylinders and pistons and store it in a battery (Jia English Translation ET Page 1, last 2 lines).
Claim(s) 9, 21 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kemeny as applied to claims 1, 13 or 23 above, and further in view of US-1014427-B2 to Joso et al. (“Joso”).
Regarding Claim 9, Kemeny discloses the wheel assembly of Claim 1 but does not disclose further comprising a pneumatic pump coupled to each of the plurality of gas springs and the controller.
Joso discloses a wheel assembly (Col 8 lines 22-53, Figs 1-2a, 2c), having a controller (218) and sensors powered by a battery, set to each of a plurality of spokes (108) comprised of gas cylinders coupled to a pump (228) from which pressurized gas/air is delivered.
The difference between the disclosure in the claimed invention and the prior art, is that the prior art does not disclose the wheel assembly and the wheel assembly having pump coupled to each of the gas springs of the spokes, in a single combined apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the wheel assembly of Kemeny and the teaching of the wheel assembly having pump coupled to each of the gas springs of the spokes of Joso, to modify the wheel of Kemeny, such that it includes a pump coupled to each of the gas springs of the spokes, with the motivation to pressurize the air in the accumulator (of Kemeny) having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 21, Kemeny discloses the wheel assembly of Claim 13 but does not disclose further comprising a pneumatic pump coupled to each of the plurality of gas springs and the controller.
Joso discloses a wheel assembly (Col 8 lines 22-53,Figs 1-2a, 2c), having a controller (218) and sensors powered by a battery, set to each of a plurality of spokes (108) comprised of gas cylinders coupled to a pump (228) from which pressurized gas/air is delivered.
The difference between the disclosure in the claimed invention and the prior art, is that the prior art does not disclose the wheel assembly and the wheel assembly having pump coupled to each of the gas springs of the spokes, in a single combined apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the wheel assembly of Kemeny and the teaching of the wheel assembly having pump coupled to each of the gas springs of the spokes of Joso, to modify the wheel of Kemeny, such that it includes a pump coupled to each of the gas springs of the spokes as controlled by controller, with the motivation to pressurize the air in the accumulator (of Kemeny) having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 27, Kemeny discloses the method of Claim 23 but does not disclose further comprising coupling a pneumatic pump coupled to each of the plurality of gas springs and the controller.
Joso discloses a wheel assembly (Col lines 57-67, Col 8 lines 22-53,Figs 1-2a, 2c), having a controller (218) and sensors powered by a battery, set to [coupled to] each of a plurality of spokes (108) comprised of gas cylinders coupled to a pump (228) from which pressurized gas/air is delivered, and discloses a method of making the wheel assembly just described including coupling a pump connected to the controller, and connected to the spokes via air tubes.
The difference between the disclosure in the claimed invention and the prior art, is that the prior art does not disclose the wheel assembly and the wheel assembly having pump coupled to each of the gas springs of the spokes, and method of assembly thereof, including coupling the pump to controller and gas springs, in a single combined apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the wheel assembly of Kemeny and the teaching of the wheel assembly having pump coupled to each of the gas springs of the spokes of Joso, to modify the wheel of Kemeny, such that it includes a pump coupled to each of the gas springs of the spokes as controlled by controller, and a method of assembly for same, with the motivation to pressurize the air in the accumulator (of Kemeny) having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon, listed on PTO-892 is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, discloses one or more of: a wheel, inner ring, outer ring, spokes therein between comprising hydraulic pistons and cylinders, a controller, sensor, user interface, battery, pump, power source, magnets, coils.
Conclusion
/EVA L COMINO/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615