DETAILED ACTION
The instant detailed action is in response to Applicant's submission filed on 16 June 2025.
ALLOWABLE SUBJECT MATTER
Claim 5-6,8,15-16,18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
REJECTIONS BASED ON PRIOR ART
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2-4,7,10-14,17,20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grimsrud (US PG PUB No. 2016/0162203) in view of Miyata (US PG PUB No. 2007/0198784) and Kim (US PG PUB No. 2022/0253247).
As per claim [2,12,21], an apparatus (see Grimsrud FIG 1: 100), comprising:
a file system of a host system (see Grimsrud FIG 1: 113), the file system configured to:
generate a plurality of commands for a memory system, the plurality of commands having a first sequence (see Grimsrud FIG 1: 115-1, 115-2 and [0017]); and
wherein a first command precedes a second command in accordance with the first sequence (see Grimsrud FIG 1: Seq. Write Stream 115-1 and [0017])
a memory interface of the host system, the memory interface configured to:
transmit the plurality of commands to the memory system based at least in part on the second sequence (see Grimsrud [0019]).
However, Grimsrud does not expressly disclose but in the same field of endeavor Miyata discloses
insert a respective identifier into each command of the plurality of commands, the respective identifiers based at least in part on the first sequence (see Miyata FIG 7B and [0105]); and
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Grimsrud to further insert a respective identifier as taught by Miyata.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been for the benefit of more optimal command handling (see Miyata [0015]).
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Grimsrud to further insert identifiers as taught by Miyata for the benefit of more optimal command handling to arrive at the invention as specified in the claims.
However, Grimsrud does not expressly disclose but in the same field of endeavor discloses
schedule the plurality of commands for transmission to the memory system according to a second sequence that is different than the first sequence such that the first command follows the second command in accordance with the second sequence (see Kim FIG 4: 440 and [0075]); and
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to further reorder the commands according to a second sequence prior to transmitting the commands ot the memory system as taught by Kim.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been for the benefit of supporting PIM commands (see Kim [0039]).
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to further reorder commands prior to transmitting the commands to the memory system as taught by Kim for the benefit of additional command capability to arrive at the invention as specified in the claims.
As per claim [3,13], the apparatus of claim 2, wherein: the memory interface is further configured to:
transmit a command to the memory system for an indication of an identifier for a command of the plurality of commands based at least in part in on transmitting the plurality of commands; and receive the indication of the identifier from the memory system (see Miyata FIG 8: 607 and [0122]); and
the file system is further configured to: identify a subset of the plurality of commands based at least in part on the indication, wherein each command of the subset has been performed by the memory system (see Miyata [0127]).
As per claim [4,14], the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the file system is further
configured to:
generate the respective identifier for each command of the plurality of commands based at least in part on the first sequence (see Miyata [0019]); and
configure a respective field of each command of the plurality of commands to include an indication of the respective identifier (see Miyata FIG 7B) .
As per claim [7,17], the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the file system is further
configured to:
increment a value of a counter based at least in part on generating a command of the plurality of commands, wherein the respective identifier of each command of the plurality of commands is based at least in part on the value of the counter (see Miyata [0087]).
[The mechanism for adding sequence information is taken as a counter as recited in the claims.]
As per claim [10,20], the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the memory interface is further configured to:
insert one or more additional commands into the plurality of commands, wherein each of the one or more additional commands is exclusive of the respective identifiers (see Miyata [0085]).
As per claim 11, the apparatus of claim 2,
wherein the memory interface of the host system comprises an input/output (I/O) scheduler, a universal flash storage host controller driver (UFSHCD), a small computer system interface (SCSI) layer, or a combination thereof (see Grimsrud FIG 1: 117 and also [0018]).
Claim 9,19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grimsrud (US PG PUB No. 2016/0162203) in view of Miyata (US PG PUB No. 2007/0198784) and Kim (US PG PUB No. 2022/0253247) as applied to claim 2 and 12 above and further in view of Kachare (US PG PUB No. 2018/0284990).
As per claim [9,19], the apparatus of claim 2, wherein, to schedule the plurality of
commands, the memory interface is further configured to:
However, Grimsrud in view of Miyata do not expressly disclose but in the same field of endeavor Prins discloses
segment a third command of the plurality of commands into multiple sub-commands (see Kacahare [0015]), wherein each of the multiple sub-commands includes the respective identifier associated with the third command (see Kachare [0082]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to divide the command into sub-commands and further associate the respective identifier.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been for the benefit of tracking the sub-commands (see Kacahare [0082]).
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Grimsrud to further divide the command into sub-commands and further associate the respective identifier for the benefit of tracking sub-commands to arrive at the invention as specified in the claims.
RESPONSE TO ARGUMENTS
1st ARGUMENT:
The Office Action alleges that the merging of write streams, as described by Grimsrud, is relevant to "schedul[ing] the plurality of commands for transmission to the memory system according to a second sequence that is different than the first sequence," as recited in previously presented independent claim 2. However, Grimsrud does not teach or suggest that "a first command precedes a second command in accordance with the first sequence" and "the first command follows the second command in accordance with the second sequence," as recited in amended independent claim 2. For example, Grimsrud merely describes the merging of different sequential write streams. Grimsrud does not describe any sequence of data in each sequential write stream changing, let alone "a first command precedes a second command in accordance with the first sequence" and "the first command follows the second command in accordance with the second sequence." That is, the actual sequential data within the sequential write streams is not shown to be reordered in accordance with a "first sequence" and "second sequence." Thus, Grimsrud does not teach or suggest the aforementioned features of amended independent claim 2.
Examiner notes Kim is relied upon to teach the argued subject matter.
CONCLUSION
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DIRECTION OF FUTURE CORRESPONDENCES
/KALPIT PARIKH/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2137
KALPIT . PARIKH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2137