DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the unlabeled rectangular box(es) shown in the drawings should be provided with descriptive text labels. In particular, figures 2,3, have unlabeled rectangular boxes(200,210,220,310……etc). These boxes should be provided with descriptive text labels, corresponding with their description in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1 recites “input means”, “output means”, “control means”.
Claims 2 and 4 recite “control means”.
Claim 8 recites “second input means”.
Claims 11 and 12 recites “output means”
Claim However, this limitations do not meet the three-prong test for the following reasons:
PRONG 1:
Is met, since the claims use the term “means” as a generic placeholder for performing a claimed function.
PRONG 2:
Is met, since the generic placeholder is modified by functional language by using the term “for”, followed by the recited function.
PRONG 3:
Fails, because the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
If application does not desire the claims to be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, the applicant may
(1) amend the claims to include the structure materials, or acts that perform the claimed function; or
(2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) do recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/404,811(‘811) (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following .
-- Claims 1 and 11 recites essentially the same subject matter as that of claim 1 and 12, respectively, of 11,897,456(‘456)
Claim 1 recites essentially the same subject matter as that of claim 1 of (‘811), except for the user behavior signal indicative of repeated user behavior for the location of one or more features; and the control means arranged to control the output means in dependence on the user behavior signal to override the environment signal when the repeated user behavior includes preventing the vehicle wheel from being angularly offset. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate these features into the present invention, because one of ordinary skill would have readily recognized the benefit overriding the environment signal, since this would have ensured safety when parking the vehicle.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
ART REJECTION:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2,9-11, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tajkovic et al(USPat 6,683,539) in view of Hauber(USPGPUB 2011/0199236 A1).
-- In considering claim 1, the claimed subject matter that is met by
1) input means for receiving an ambient condition signal indicative of an ambient condition in a vicinity of a vehicle is met by the sensing system(140), which receives signals from sensors(120), which provide information pertaining to an environment that a vehicle is in(see: Trajkovic, column 3, lines 58 et seq; column 4, lines 1-56);
2) output means for outputting a manoeuvre signal to cause the vehicle to perform a defined manoeuvre is met by the control system(110), to define the finer, real time motions of maneuver instructions received from path planning system(140)(see: Trajkovic, column 5, lines 20-26).
- Trajkovic does not teach:
3) control means arranged to control the output means to cause the vehicle to perform at least a portion of the defined manoeuvre in dependence on the ambient condition signal.
Use of systems which provide control means for causing a vehicle to perform at least a portion of a defined manoeuvre in dependence on ambient condition signals is well known. In related art, Hauber teaches a device for parking a motor vehicle, wherein a steering assistance system(13) is utilized to support a parking assistant and/or lane keeping assistant, and wherein the steering assistance system(13) has direct operation of steering device(11). And wherein the steering assistance system(13) acts in conjunction with surroundings recording device(20), using sensors(16) and surroundings evaluation device(19) to determine a curb(10), such that the steering assistance system will cause the steering angle to reset in such a way to prevent the motor vehicle from rolling away onto a roadway(3), when a curb is detected(see: Hauber, secs[0022-0023]).
Since the use of systems which include control means to cause a vehicle wheel in the completed position to be angularly offset with respect to a feature in the vicinity of the vehicle, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the steering assistance system(13), and surroundings recording device, sensors(16) and surroundings evaluation device(19) of Hauber, into the path planning system(140) so as to control the control system(110) of Trajkovic, since this would have provided a means of protecting a vehicle from potential damage, by incorporating the ability to recognize curbs(10) and cause a steering of the wheels in a manner that would prevent damage of the vehicle, by ensuring that the vehicle would not roll away and into the roadway, when it would have been parked.
-- With regards to claim 2,
1) the control means is arranged to control the output means to cause the vehicle to perform at least a portion of the defined manoeuvre in accordance with a vehicle movement control profile determined in dependence on the ambient condition signal would have been met upon incorporation of the devices of Hauber, into the system of Tajkoic as discussed in claim 1 above, since the system of Hauber included surroundings evaluation device, which determined the presence of curb(10), to thereby allow the steering assistance system to cause the wheel(8) of the motor vehicle to be angled, so as to avoid rolling onto the roadway after being parked(see: Hauber, secs[0023-0024]).
-- With regards to claim 9,
1) the defined manoeuvre is a parking manoeuvre is met by the wherein a steering assistance system(13) is utilized to support a parking assistant and/or lane keeping assistant by Hauber, as discussed in claim 1 above.
-- With regards to claim 10,
1) A vehicle comprising the controller according to claim 1 is met by the vehicle of Trajkovic(see: Trajkovic, column 3, lines 58 et seq; column 4, lines 1-56).
-- Claim 11 recites a method that substantially corresponds to the subject matter of claim 1, and therefore is met for the reasons as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above.
-- With regards to claim 14,
1) selecting the vehicle movement control profile in dependence on a presence of a user in the vehicle would have been required by the system of Hauber to initiate parking maneuver(see: Hauber, secs[0022-0023]).
-- With regards to claim 15,
1) A vehicle configured to perform the method according to claim 11 is met by the vehicle as discussed in Trajkovic(see: Trajkovic, column 3, lines 58 et seq; column 4, lines 1-56).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trajkovic et al(Trajkovic) in view of Klein et al(USPat 7,676,310 B2).
-- Claim 3 recites subject matter that is met as discussed in claim 1 above, except for:
1) the vehicle movement control profile comprises a speed parameter.
Although a control profile comprising a speed parameter is not specifically taught by Trajkovic, Trajkovic does teach that speed is taken into consideration for the parking assistance of the car, since the speed should be under 10 mph(see: Trajkovic, column 7, lines 19-21. Use of systems which include movement control profiles which comprise a speed parameter is well known. In related art, Klein et al(Klein) teaches a system for controlling steering of a vehicle, wherein a parking assist operational mode of a vehicle steering system receives vehicle speed signals to a controller, so as to provide operational assist mode based on speed(see: Klein, column 2, lines 1-11).
Claim(s) 7 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trajkovic et al(Trajkovic) in view of Hauber as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hwang et al(USPGPUB 2019/0095227).
-- With regards to claim 7, Trajkovic and Hauber do not teach:
1) wherein the movement control profile is dependent upon a terrain in a vicinity of the vehicle.
Although not specifically taught by Trajkovic and Hauber, use of systems which include vehicle control devices that are dependent upon a terrain in the vicinity of a vehicle is well known. In related art, Hwang teaches a vehicle control device, wherein specific parking modes are selected based on surrounding information, including a type of a road surface on which a vehicle is running, and a terrain feature(see: Hwang, secs[0257-0259]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the terrain feature of Hwang, into the system of Trajkovic and Hauber, since this would have enhanced the ability of the system to perform more efficient parking and driving maneuvers, by taking into consideration road conditions and terrain, thereby adjusting the vehicle operating systems to accommodate for these type of factors.
-- With regards to claim 12,
1) upon incorporation of Hwang into Tajkovic and Hauber, the output means is controlled in dependence on the ambient condition signal such that at least a portion of the defined manoeuvre is performed in accordance with a vehicle movement control profile dependent on the ambient condition in the vicinity of the vehicle would have been met by the driving or parking mode being selected based on surrounding information, that would have been required for autonomous driving and parking modes(see: Hwang, sec[0259]).
-- With regards to claim 13,
1) selecting the vehicle movement control profile in dependence on a drive mode of the vehicle is met by the surrounding information being required for autonomous driving and parking modes to be selected(see: Hwang, sec[0259]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trajkovic et al(Tajkovic) in view of Hauber as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gougeon et al(USPGPUB 2018/0345954 A1).
-- With regards to claim 8, Trajkovic and Hauber does not teach:
1) the controller comprises a second input means for receiving a request signal indicative of a received signal indicative of a user request.
Although not specifically taught by Trajkovic and Hauber, use of systems which teach user input means for receiving a request signal is well known. In related art, Gougeon teaches a method for autonomously parking a motor vehicle with driver assistance, wherein an autonomous parking procedure can be initiated by operating input of the driver, wherein a smart phone or the like can provide operating input to initiate the parking procedure(see: Gougeon, sec[0031]).
Since the use of second means for receiving a user request signal is well known, as taught by Gougeon, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the operating device(13) of the driver(3) of Gougeon, into the system of Trajkovic and Hauber, since this would have provided versatility to the system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DARYL C POPE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686