DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agazzi (US 2017/0317759) in view of Surek (US 2011/0076031).
2. As per claim 1, Agazzi teaches a Physical Layer (PHY) device, comprising: an ingress transceiver and an egress transceiver (Agazzi, Fig. 9 items 901 950. Furthermore, it’s well-known in the art to implement ingress and egress transceiver for the benefit of processing flexibility and efficiency see Surek US 2021/0297230 for example Fig. 1), each comprising respective analog signal processing (ASP) circuitry and respective digital signal processing (DSP) circuitry (Agazzi, ¶0023 0029 0038 0049); and a controller, configured to select an operational mode, for one or both of the ingress transceiver and the egress transceiver (Agazzi, ¶0134), between (i) a digital mode in which both the ASP circuitry and the DSP circuitry are active, and (ii) an analog mode in which the ASP circuitry is active and the DSP circuitry is bypassed (Agazzi, ¶0018). Therefore, taking the combined teaching of Agazzi and Surek as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the instant limitation for the benefit of processing flexibility and efficiency.
3. Claims 8 & 16 is similarly analyzed as claim 1 for obviousness reason discussed above.
4. As per claim 2, Agazzi in view of Dror teaches the PHY device according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to select the operational mode independently for the ingress transceiver and for the egress transceiver (Agazzi, ¶0018).
5. Claims 9, 10 & 17 are similarly analyzed as claim 2 for obviousness reason discussed above.
6. As per claim 3, Agazzi in view of Dror teaches the PHY device according to claim 1, wherein the ASP circuitry comprises analog repeater circuitry configured to amplify an analog signal (Agazzi, ¶0141).
7. Claim 11 is similarly analyzed as claim 3 for obviousness reason discussed above.
8. As per claim 4, Agazzi in view of Dror teaches the PHY device according to claim 1, wherein the DSP circuitry comprises digital retiming circuitry configured to digitally adjust a sampling timing of a digital signal (Agazzi, ¶0034).
9. Claim 12 is similarly analyzed as claim 4 for obviousness reason discussed above.
10. As per claim 5, Agazzi in view of Dror teaches the PHY device according to claim 1, wherein the DSP circuitry has a first latency, and wherein the ASP circuitry has a second latency smaller than the first latency (It’s well-known in the art ASP has smaller latency than DSP due to additional digital signal processing in DSP circuits.
11. Claims 13 & 18 are similarly analyzed as claim 5 for obviousness reason discussed above.
12. As per claim 6, Agazzi in view of Dror teaches the PHY device according to claim 1, wherein, when either or both of the ingress transceiver and the egress transceiver operate in the analog mode, the DSP circuitry is bypassed but active and is configured when bypassed to collect telemetry information (Agazzi, ¶0018 0149).
13. Claims 14 & 19 are similarly analyzed as claim 6 for obviousness reason discussed above.
14. As per claim 7, Agazzi in view of Dror teaches the PHY device according to claim 1, wherein: the ingress transceiver and the egress transceiver are configured to, respectively, receive and transmit signals over a communication link (Agazzi, Fig. 9 item 928); and the controller is configured to select the operational mode by comparing channel conditions of the communication link to a defined level (Agazzi, ¶0149).
15. Claims 15 & 20 are similarly analyzed as claim 7 for obviousness reason discussed above.
Conclusion
ZEWDU A. KASSA
Examiner
Art Unit 2637
/ZEWDU A KASSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635