DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 15-18 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 6 and 15, line 2 recite ‘power’ instead of -powder-. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a separator in claim 1, line 6.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 5-14, and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,305,514. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because as follows:
19/173,866 (Claim 1) USP 12,305,514 (Claim 1)
A system for extracting water from ice-regolith powder, comprising
A system for extracting water from lunar regolith, comprising: a regolith intake configured to collect lunar regolith and separate and discharge gravel and pass a mixture of ice-regolith powder
a heater configured to heat the ice-regolith powder and vaporize any layer of ice in at least a continuous, non- filling ice-regolith relationship
a heater configured to heat the ice-regolith powder and vaporize any layer of ice in at least a continuous, non-filling ice-regolith relationship
a separator configured to receive the ice-regolith powder and split the ice-regolith powder into split streams of different sized lithic fragments and ice particles per the ratio of inertial force and aerodynamic drag force of the lithic fragments and ice particles
a separator configured to receive the ice-regolith powder and split the ice-regolith powder into split streams of different sized lithic fragments and ice particles per the ratio of inertial force and aerodynamic drag force of the lithic fragments and ice particles
Claim 2
Claim 2
Claim 3
Claim 3
Claim 4
Claim 5
Claim 5
Claim 6
Claim 6
Claim 7
Claim 7
Claim 8
Claim 8
Claim 9
Claim 9
Claim 10
Claim 10
Claim 11
Claim 11
Claim 12
Claim 12
Claim 19
Claim 13
Claim 13
Claim 14
Claim 14
Claims 15-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11, 15, 16, and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,305,514 in view of Garabedian et al (USP 9,987,664 B1).
Regarding claim 15, ‘514 discloses separation of lithic fragments and ice particles, but ‘514 does not disclose the separator splits the ice-regolith power into split streams of lower, mid and upper diameter sized lithic fragments and ice particles. Garabedian teaches the separator splits the ice-regolith power into split streams of lower, mid and upper diameter sized fragments (col. 3, lines 9-26 progressive separating by size of items) for the purpose of classifying material into appropriate size grades. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify ‘514, as taught by Garabedian, for the purpose of classifying material into appropriate size grades.
Claim 16
Claim 18
Claim 17
Claim 18
Claim 18
Claim 16
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,071,851. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because as follows:
19/173,866 (Claim 1) USP 12,071,851 (Claim 1)
A system for extracting water from lunar regolith, comprising
A system for extracting water from lunar regolith, comprising
a regolith intake configured to collect lunar regolith and separate and discharge gravel and pass a mixture of ice-regolith powder
a heater configured to heat the ice-regolith powder and vaporize any layer of ice in at least a continuous, non- filling ice-regolith relationship
a heater configured to heat the ice-regolith powder and vaporize any layer of ice in at least a continuous, non-filling ice-regolith relationship
a separator configured to receive the ice-regolith powder and split the ice-regolith powder into split streams of different sized lithic fragments and ice particles per the ratio of inertial force and aerodynamic drag force of the lithic fragments and ice particles
a pneumatic separator configured to receive the ice-regolith powder and pneumatically split the ice-regolith powder into split streams of different sized lithic fragments and ice particles per the ratio of inertial force and aerodynamic drag force of the lithic fragments and ice particles
Claim 2
Claim 2
Claim 3
Claim 3
Claim 4
Claim 5
Claim 5
Claim 6
Claim 6
Claim 7
Claim 7
Claim 8
Claim 8
Claim 9
Claim 9
Claim 10
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10-13, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gibson et al (USP 4,948,477).
Regarding claim 1, Gibson discloses a system for extracting water from ice-regolith powder, comprising: a heater configured to heat the ice-regolith powder and vaporize any layer of ice in at least a continuous, non- filling ice-regolith relationship (col. 10, lines 5-12 where the bed is heated); and a separator configured to receive the ice-regolith powder and split the ice-regolith powder into split streams of different sized lithic fragments and ice particles per the ratio of inertial force and aerodynamic drag force of the lithic fragments and ice particles (elements 32, 33, and 34).
Regarding claim 2, Gibson discloses the heater is positioned before or integrated with the separator (see Fig. 4 where the reactor includes separators 32, 33, and 34).
Regarding claim 3, Gibson discloses the heater is configured to heat the ice-regolith powder and vaporize ice in an adhering, bridging, an adhering, non-bridging or a continuous filling ice-regolith relationship (col. 10, lines 5-12).
Regarding claim 4, Gibson discloses the separator includes an output having a gas dryer or cold plate configured to remove water vapor (element 41).
Regarding claim 6, Gibson discloses the separator splits the ice-regolith power into split streams of lower, mid and upper diameter sized lithic fragments and ice particles (elements 32, 33, and 34).
Regarding claim 7, Gibson discloses each split stream includes at least one of a magnetic separator and tribocharger/electrostatic separator (elements 15 and 19).
Regarding claim 8, Gibson discloses each split stream includes a magnetic separator and tribocharger/electrostatic separator connected thereto (see Fig. 3; elements 15 and 19).
Regarding claim 10, Gibson discloses a system for extracting water from ice-regolith powder, comprising: a heater configured to receive ice-regolith powder having ice grains that are 10-100 microns (col. 3, lines 50-59) and heat the ice- regolith powder and vaporize any layer of ice in at least a continuous, non-filling ice-regolith relationship (col. 10, lines 5-12 where the bed is heated); and a separator configured to receive the ice-regolith powder and split the ice-regolith powder into split streams of different sized lithic fragments and ice particles per the ratio of inertial force and aerodynamic drag force of the lithic fragments and ice particles (elements 32, 33, and 34).
Regarding claim 11, Gibson discloses the heater is positioned before or integrated with the separator (see Fig. 4 where the reactor includes separators 32, 33, and 34).
Regarding claim 12, Gibson discloses the heater is configured to heat the ice-regolith powder and vaporize ice in an adhering, bridging, an adhering, non-bridging or a continuous filling ice-regolith relationship (col. 10, lines 5-12).
Regarding claim 13, Gibson discloses the separator includes an output having a gas dryer or cold plate configured to remove water vapor (element 41).
Regarding claim 15, Gibson discloses the separator splits the ice-regolith power into split streams of lower, mid and upper diameter sized lithic fragments and ice particles (elements 32, 33, and 34).
Regarding claim 16, Gibson discloses each split stream includes at least one of a magnetic separator and tribocharger/electrostatic separator (elements 15 and 19).
Regarding claim 17, Gibson discloses each split stream includes a magnetic separator and tribocharger/electrostatic separator connected thereto (see Fig. 3; elements 15 and 19).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 9, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gibson in view of Design Choice.
Regarding claim 5, Gibson does not explicitly disclose the split streams of different sized lithic fragments and ice particles are based upon splits of 20-40 microns and 600-800 microns for lithic fragments. However, before the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to separating by size because Applicant has not disclosed that specific sizes provide an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Gibson, and applicant’s invention, to perform equally well with either size split because both separation systems would perform the same function of separating particles for the purpose of obtaining particles of a desired size.
Regarding claim 9, Gibson ‘946 does not explicitly disclose each tribocharger/electrostatic separator is configured to produce 100 to 10,000 times the acceleration of ice particles versus lithic fragments of the same diameter size. However, before the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to separate particles because Applicant has not disclosed that acceleration of particles provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Gibson, and applicant’s invention, to perform equally well with either electrostatic acceleration because both electrostatic separators would perform the same function of particles for the purpose of producing at least two different fractions of particles.
Regarding claim 14, Gibson does not explicitly disclose the split streams of different sized lithic fragments and ice particles are based upon splits of 20-40 microns and 600-800 microns for lithic fragments. However, before the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to separating by size because Applicant has not disclosed that specific sizes provide an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Gibson, and applicant’s invention, to perform equally well with either size split because both separation system would perform the same function of separating particles for the purpose of obtaining particles of a desired size.
Regarding claim 18, Gibson ‘946 does not explicitly disclose each tribocharger/electrostatic separator is configured to produce 100 to 10,000 times the acceleration of ice particles versus lithic fragments of the same diameter size. However, before the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to separate particles because Applicant has not disclosed that acceleration of particles provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Gibson, and applicant’s invention, to perform equally well with either electrostatic acceleration because both electrostatic separators would perform the same function of particles for the purpose of producing at least two different fractions of particles
Conclusion
/K.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3653
/MICHAEL MCCULLOUGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3653