DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,3-6,8,10,13,14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by German document (DE 202019105845).
German document ‘845 discloses a ground pile (see Figs. 1-7) comprising:
an elongate hollow tube (1,2,3) extending longitudinally from a first end to a second end; a mount proximate (holes at top of 1, 2 or 3) the first end for attaching components;
one or more threaded longitudinal segments(1,2) of the hollow tube each having exterior helical segments (7,8) extending around the longitudinal segment and forming a screw thread; and one or more drivable longitudinal segments of the hollow tube having cross-sections with an internal surface shaped in a non-circular shape (4,5, Figs. 6,7).
Re claim 3, wherein the internal surface of the cross-sections of the one
or more drivable longitudinal segments is adapted to engage with a drive shaft that, when rotated, engages the internal surface and rotates the ground pile (see machine translation).
Re claim 4, wherein two of the one or more the threaded longitudinal segments are separated longitudinally by one or more of the drivable longitudinal segments (when 1,2,3 are connected via members 4,5).
Re claim 5, wherein the one or more drivable longitudinal segments do not overlap longitudinally with the one or more threaded longitudinal segments (this is the case when only member 1 is present with top of member 4).
Re claim 6, wherein the one or more drivable longitudinal segments overlap longitudinally with the one or more threaded longitudinal segments (this is the case when members 1,2,3 are joined via members 4,5).
Re claim 8, German document ‘845 discloses a ground pile comprising:
an elongate hollow tube (1,2,3) extending longitudinally from a first end to a second end; a mount proximate (holes at top of 1, 2 or 3) the first end for components; and
one or more threaded longitudinal segments (1,2) of the hollow tube each having exterior helical segments (7,8) extending around the longitudinal segment and forming a screw thread, the helical segments of the one or more threaded longitudinal segments being formed by a hydroforming process.
The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)
Re claim 10, wherein the first end is open (3), and the second end is closed (1), and
wherein a longitudinal segment of the hollow tube tapers inward towards the closed second end (see Figs. 1,2).
Re claim 13, wherein the mount includes a series of holes through the
hollow tube (see Figs. 1-7).
Re claim 14, wherein the helical segments of the one or more threaded
longitudinal segments are formed by a hydroforming process of a hollow tube.
The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)
Claim(s) 1-9,13,14,15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by EP document (EP 2003270).
EP document discloses a ground pile (see Figs. 1-12) comprising:
an elongate hollow tube (5,6,7 connected) extending longitudinally from a first end to a second end; a mount (holes near top of member 7) proximate the first end for attaching components;
one or more threaded longitudinal segments (5,6,7) of the hollow tube each having exterior helical segments (2) extending around the longitudinal segment and forming a screw thread; and one or more drivable longitudinal segments of the hollow tube having cross-sections with an internal surface shaped in a non-circular shape (see Figs. 1,2).
Re claim 2, , wherein the internal surface of the cross-sections of the one
or more drivable longitudinal segments is polygonal shaped (see Figs. 1,2).
Re claim 3, wherein the internal surface of the cross-sections of the one
or more drivable longitudinal segments is adapted to engage with a drive shaft that, when rotated, engages the internal surface and rotates the ground pile (see Figs. 8-12).
Re claim 4, wherein two of the one or more the threaded longitudinal segments are separated longitudinally by one or more of the drivable longitudinal segments (members 6,5,7 separated via members 11,12).
Re claim 5, wherein the one or more drivable longitudinal segments do not overlap longitudinally with the one or more threaded longitudinal segments (this is the case when only member 6 is used).
Re claim 6, wherein the one or more drivable longitudinal segments overlap longitudinally with the one or more threaded longitudinal segments (members 6,5,7 separated via members 11,12).
Re claim 7, further comprising one or more pushable longitudinal
segments (11, of Fig. 5) of the hollow tube each tapering inward from a wider cross-section to a narrower cross-section in a direction from the first end towards the second end.
Re claim 8, EP document ‘270 discloses a ground pile comprising:
an elongate hollow tube (6,5,7 connected) extending longitudinally from a first end to a second end; a mount (holes near the top of 7) proximate the first end for attaching components; and one or more threaded longitudinal segments (5,6,7) of the hollow tube each having exterior helical segments (2) extending around the longitudinal segment and forming a screw thread, the helical segments of the one or more threaded longitudinal segments being formed by a hydroforming process.
The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)
Re claim 9, wherein the first end is open, and the second end is open (see Figs. 3,4,11).
Re claim 13, wherein the mount includes a series of holes through the hollow tube (see Figs. 1,2,3,4).
Re claim 14, wherein the helical segments of the one or more threaded
longitudinal segments are formed by a hydroforming process of a hollow tube.
The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)
EP document ‘270 discloses a ground pile, comprising: an elongate hollow tube extending longitudinally from a first end to a second end (6,5,7); a mount (holes near member 7) proximate the first end for attaching components;
one or more threaded longitudinal segments of the hollow tube each having exterior
helical segments (5,6,7) extending around the longitudinal segment and forming a screw thread (2); and one or more pushable longitudinal segments (11, Fig. 5) of the hollow tube each tapering inward from a wider cross-section to a narrower cross-section in a direction from the first end towards the second end.
Re claim 16, wherein the non-circular internal surface (see Figs. 1,2,10) of the cross-sections of the one or more drivable longitudinal segments are formed by a hydroforming process of a hollow tube.
The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)
Re claim 17, wherein the one or more drivable longitudinal segments are
formed via welding to a hollow tube.
The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)
Re claim 18, wherein the tapering inward from a wider cross-section to a
narrower cross-section in a direction from the first end towards the second end of the one or more pushable longitudinal segments (11, Fig. 5) are formed by a hydroforming process of a hollow tube.
The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)
Re claim 19, wherein the one or more drivable longitudinal segments are
formed via welding to a hollow tube.
The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)
Re claim 20, wherein the helical segments of the one or more threaded
longitudinal segments form one of sharp threads, buttress threads, or knuckle threads (2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over German document ‘845 in view of Steininger et al. (US 11453463).
German document ‘845 discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, German document ‘845 is silent about wherein the internal surface of the cross-sections of the one or more drivable longitudinal segments is polygonal shaped. Steininger et al. teaches wherein the internal surface of the cross-sections of the one or more drivable longitudinal segments is polygonal shaped (see Fig.3, col. 4). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify German document to have the internal surface of the cross-sections of the one or more drivable longitudinal segments polygonal in shape as taught by Steininger et al. since such a modification is less complicated to manufactured.
Claim(s) 7,15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over German document ‘845 in view of EP document (EP 2003270)
German document ‘845 discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, German document ‘845 is silent about the one or more pushable longitudinal
segments of the hollow tube each tapering inward from a wider cross-section to a narrower cross-section in a direction from the first end towards the second end.
EP document ‘270 teaches one or more pushable longitudinal
segments of the hollow tube each tapering inward from a wider cross-section to a narrower cross-section in a direction from the first end towards the second end (11, Fig. 5).
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify German document to have the one or more pushable longitudinal segments of the hollow tube each tapering inward from a wider cross-section to a narrower cross-section in a direction from the first end towards the second end as taught by EP document ‘270 since such a modification facilitates the insertion of the segments.
Re claim 15, German document ‘845 as modified by EP document ‘270 (see discussion above with regards to claim 7) discloses a ground pile comprising: an elongate hollow tube extending longitudinally from a first end to a second end (1,2,3); a mount (holes at top of 1,2,3) proximate the first end for attaching components;
one or more threaded longitudinal segments of the hollow tube each having exterior
helical segments extending around the longitudinal segment and forming a screw thread (7,8); and one or more pushable longitudinal segments (11, Fig. 5 of EP document ‘270) of the hollow tube each tapering inward from a wider cross-section to a narrower cross-section in a direction from the first end towards the second end.
Re claim 16, wherein the non-circular internal surface of the cross- sections of the one or more drivable longitudinal segments are formed by a hydroforming process of a hollow tube.
The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)
Re claim 17, wherein the one or more drivable longitudinal segments are
formed via welding to a hollow tube.
The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)
Re claim 18, wherein the tapering inward from a wider cross-section to a
narrower cross-section in a direction from the first end towards (11, see Fig. 5 of EP ‘270) the second end of the one or more pushable longitudinal segments are formed by a hydroforming process of a hollow tube.
The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)
Re claim 19, wherein the one or more drivable longitudinal segments are
formed via welding to a hollow tube.
The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)
Re claim 20, wherein the helical segments of the one or more threaded
longitudinal segments form one of sharp threads, buttress threads, or knuckle threads (7,8 of German document ‘845).
Claim(s) 11,12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over German document ‘845.
Re claim 11, German document ‘845 further discloses an unthreaded longitudinal segment extending from the first end that does not have any of the helical segments of the one or more threaded longitudinal segments (3); however, German document ‘845 is silent the unthreaded longitudinal segment constituting more than one-fourth of the longitudinal length of the hollow tube. It is well know to one of ordinary skill in the art that the threaded region is based on the material type; therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify German document ‘845 to have the unthreaded longitudinal segment constituting more than one-fourth of the longitudinal length of the hollow tube since such a modification would be based on the type of soil being encountered. If the soil does not require threads for insertion then there is no need for them.
Re claim 12, German document ‘845 further discloses wherein the helical segments of the one or more threaded longitudinal segments (1,2,7,8) are located in the longitudinal portion of the hollow tube closer to the second end; however, German document is silent about the threaded segments are located in only two-thirds of the longitudinal portion of the hollow tube closer to the second end.
It is well known to one of ordinary skill in the art that the threaded region is based on the material type; therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify German document to have the threaded segments located in only two-thirds of the longitudinal portion of the hollow tube closer to the second end since such a modification would be based on the type of soil being encountered. If the soil requires threads for insertion then they are provided in the needed sections.
Claim(s) 11,12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP document ‘270
Re claim 11, EP document document ‘270 further discloses an unthreaded longitudinal segment extending from the first end that does not have any of the helical segments of the one or more threaded longitudinal segments (7, see machine translation); however, EP document ‘270 is silent the unthreaded longitudinal segment constituting more than one-fourth of the longitudinal length of the hollow tube. It is well known to one of ordinary skill in the art that the threaded region is based on the material type; therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify EP document ‘270 to have the unthreaded longitudinal segment constituting more than one-fourth of the longitudinal length of the hollow tube since such a modification would be based on the type of soil being encountered. If the soil does not require threads for insertion then there is no need for them.
Re claim 12, EP document ‘270 further discloses wherein the helical segments of the one or more threaded longitudinal segments (2,6,5) are located in the longitudinal portion of the hollow tube closer to the second end; however, EP document ‘270 is silent about the threaded segments are located in only two-thirds of the longitudinal portion of the hollow tube closer to the second end.
It is well known to one of ordinary skill in the art that the threaded region is based on the material type; therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify EP document ‘270 to have the threaded segments located in only two-thirds of the longitudinal portion of the hollow tube closer to the second end since such a modification would be based on the type of soil being encountered. If the soil requires threads for insertion then they are provided in the needed sections.
Conclusion
/SUNIL SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
SS
8/22/2026