Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-19 is acknowledged.
Claim 20 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/21/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 17, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sisson (GB 1340065).
Claims 1, 4:
Sisson teaches a method for dip molding articles by:
1) dipping a shaped former into a bath of resin or resin composition (specifically a plastisol, which is a dispersion of polymer particles in plasticizer) (1:30, 51),
2) immersing the coated former in a fluidized bed of a particulate fusible material (specifically polymer particles) (1:35, 80),
3) withdrawing from the fluidized bed (2:95), and
4) heating to fuse the polymer particles thereby forming the plasticized polymer film on the former (1:39-45).
Claim 2:
The dip molding process on a former forms an article in the shape of the former, and the formed molding is allowed to cool to handleable temperature such as 30-40 °C (2:99).
Claim 5:
The coated plastisol is caused to partially gel due to the thermoplastic resin in the plastisol and is in this form at the ambient temperature of the process (2:10-25, 85).
Claims 17, 19:
The polymer particles are PVC in a particle size of 63 microns (2:90).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sisson (GB 1340065).
Sisson does not specify the wt% of the first layer relative to the final article. However, Sisson does teach the former is in contact with the plasticizer and also the particles for sufficient time to coat the former (1:26-46). In this respect, the relative amount of material for each step would have been obvious through routine optimization where the first coating of plasticizer must provide sufficient adhesion for the subsequent particles and the second coating of particles must provide sufficient matt surface effect.
Claim(s) 3, 6, 10-12, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sisson (GB 1340065) in view of Hamann (US2012/0309852 A1).
Claim 3:
Sisson is discussed above, but does not teach the particular article made. However, Hamann teaches that gloves, condoms, catheters and the like are made using the dip forming technique (abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the method of Sisson where the formed article is a glove, etc. because Hamann teaches the dip forming method is suitable for this purpose.
Claims 6, 10-12, 18:
Hamann features an all-in-one approach where all the components are mixed to form a hydrosol (Fig. 2), but establishes the components for dip molding including a cross-linking agent [0024], a hydrolytic stabilizer for PLA (Id.), and amorphous PLA [0005; 0019] as well as prior known elastomers of styrenic block copolymers [0009].
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sisson (GB 1340065) in view of McGary (US 4463156).
Sisson is discussed above, but does not teach additives in the fluidized bed. However, McGary teaches a similar process, again applied to dip forming gloves, where pigments are included in the fluidized bed to be co-deposited with the polymer particles (9:48-54). At least zinc oxide is well known as one of the most common and conventional white pigments. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the method of Sisson and include zinc oxide in the fluidized bed in order to impart a white color to the resulting glove because McGary establishes it is suitable to add white pigment (titania) to the fluidized bed.
Claim(s) 7-9, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sisson (GB 1340065) in view of Hamann (US2012/0309852 A1) in view of Kitora (US 2012/0108720 A1) and Vanheule (US 2016/0312003 A1).
Although the prior art cited above teaches the broad categories of compositions for the various additives, the specific compositions are not recited.
However, Kitora teaches a PLA composition for forming a molded article that includes a carbodiimide as a hydrolytic stabilizer [0052] and dicumyl peroxide as a crosslinker [0037]. The crosslinker is provided in a minor amount that is optimized for sufficient crosslinking and economic efficiency [0038].
Similarly, Vanheule teaches plasticizers for PLA including DBEEA [0007; 0084].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use these recited compounds for their specified purpose in a prior art process calling for these additive components.
Conclusion
/ALEX A ROLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759