DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 12 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by CN114576385 (“Xu”).
Regarding claim 1, Xu discloses an indexable valve comprising:
a valve assembly including a valve housing (mainly defined by “1”) having a first alignment protrusion (one of annular protrusion(s) received by one of alignment collar(s) “32”; see cross-section of fig. 2) formed on an outer surface of the valve housing; and
an alignment collar (“32”) including:
a first receiving feature (annular groove of alignment collar “32” receiving upstream or downstream end of valve housing “1”) adapted to matingly receive the first alignment protrusion; and
a flange (flange disposed on upstream or downstream end of alignment collar “32”; see annotated fig. 1, below) including outwardly protruding bosses (six bosses “35” defined around a circumference of flange; see annotated fig. 1, below), wherein the outwardly protruding bosses protrude axially from the flange in a direction (bosses “35” extend in a direction parallel to the longitudinal axis of alignment collar “32” ) away from the valve assembly (“1”) when the first receiving feature is received by the first alignment protrusion (see cross-section of fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Xu discloses the valve housing (“1”) further includes a fluid channel (fluid channel controlled by ball valve “2”) formed therein, the fluid channel having opposing first and second openings (upstream and downstream openings communicating with alignment collar(s) “32”).
Regarding claim 8, Xu discloses a valve control (“2”) disposed in the fluid channel (channel extending through valve housing “1”; see fig. 2); and an actuation device (“13”) adapted to actuate the valve control.
Regarding claim 9, Xu discloses the valve control (“2”) is a ball valve (see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 14, Xu discloses the first receiving portion (annular groove receiving upstream or downstream end of valve housing “1”) further comprises a plurality of receiving edges (internal edges defined by receiving portion of alignment collar “32” receiving upstream or downstream end of valve housing “1”; see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 15, Xu discloses the first alignment protrusion (one of annular protrusion(s) received by one of alignment collar(s) “32”) further comprises a plurality of alignment surfaces (see surfaces of right end of valve housing “1”, which engages alignment collar “32” in fig. 2), and wherein the plurality of receiving edges (internal edges defined by receiving portion of alignment collar “32” receiving upstream or downstream end of valve housing “1”; see fig. 2) are adapted to receive the plurality of alignment surfaces.
Regarding claim 16, Xu discloses the valve body (“1”) and the alignment collar (“32”) are adapted to rotate together along a central axis (valve body “1” and alignment collar “32” are slidingly connected; see English translation) when the first alignment protrusion (one of annular protrusion(s) received by one of alignment collar(s) “32”) is received by the first receiving portion (annular groove of alignment collar “32” receiving upstream or downstream end of valve housing “1”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7, 10, 11 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 17-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 3-6, the closest prior art does not disclose or render obvious the indexable valve, wherein the first opening of the valve housing includes a set of internal threads, in combination with the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claim(s).
Regarding claim 7, the closest prior art does not disclose or render obvious the indexable valve, further comprising: a set of external threads projecting outwardly from the first end of the valve housing; and a coupling nut including a set of internal threads adapted to threadably engage the set of external threads, in combination with the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claim(s).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, the closest prior art does not disclose or render obvious the indexable valve, further comprising a gasket including through holes, in combination with the limitations of the base claim.
Regarding claim 13, the closest prior art does not disclose or render obvious the indexable valve, wherein a first portion of the outwardly protruding bosses have a first height and a second portion of the outwardly protruding bosses have a second height which is shorter than the first height, in combination with the limitations of the base claim.
Regarding claims 17-20, the closest prior art does not disclose or render obvious then indexable valve, wherein the first opening including a set of internal threads; a first portion of the outwardly protruding bosses have a first height and a second portion of the outwardly protruding bosses have a second height which is shorter than the first height; the gasket including through holes; and the set of external threads of the fitting is adapted to threadably engage the internal threads of the valve housing, in combination with the remainder limitations of the base claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 6, 2026, have been fully considered.
With regards to the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, interpretation of the limitation “actuation device” in claim 8, Applicant’s arguments are persuasive, and the limitation “actuation device” is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, interpretation.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments concerning the prior art rejection of claim 1 over Xu, and relative dependents thereof, under a different adaptation of Xu, Xu discloses a flange (flange disposed on upstream or downstream end of alignment collar “32”; see annotated fig. 1, below) including outwardly protruding bosses (six bosses “35” defined around a circumference of flange; see annotated fig. 1, below), wherein the outwardly protruding bosses protrude axially from the flange in a direction (bosses “35” extend in a direction parallel to the longitudinal axis of alignment collar “32” ) away from the valve assembly (“1”).
Since the only arguments concerning the rejection(s) of claims 2, 8, 9, 12 and 14-16 over Xu pertain only to the independent claim, they are addressed in the response above.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments concerning the prior art rejection of claims 1-2, 8, 9, 12, 14 and 15 over Prato, Applicant’s amendments have overcome this rejection and is now withdrawn.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. KR950010518 discloses an insulating ring having a flange with a plurality of bosses extending therefrom.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAILEY K. DO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753