DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
The present application is being examined under the AIA (America Invents Act) First Inventor to File.
This Office Action is Non-Final.
Claims 1, 18 and 20 are independent claims. Claims 2-17 and 19 are dependent claims.
This action is responsive to the following communication: corresponding claims filed on 04-09-2025.
Foreign Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file. It is also noted, that applicant has filed a certified copy on 06-10-2025 as required by 35 U.S.C. 119(b).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04-09-2025 and 11-17-2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1- 6 and 8-16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)/(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2025/0110867 (hereinafter, “Reimers”).
As per claim 1, Reimers discloses a method of operating a storage system including a plurality of storage devices, the method comprising:
entering, by the plurality of storage devices, a first power state in which respective power consumptions of the plurality of storage devices are less than a reference power consumption; (inter alia: As the power data packet is passed to each individual memory device on the ring, the respective memory device adjusts (e.g., increases, decreases) its own power level based on the system power level. For example, each memory device is configured to increase its power level in accordance with a determination that the system power level is lower than the predefined power budget. By these means, the system power level of the plurality of memory device is kept on or below the predefined power budget, and a power level of each individual memory device is dynamically adjusted in its power range based on whether the system power level reaches the predefined power budget.; ¶ [0004] )
outputting, by the plurality of storage devices, a plurality of operating state signals representing operating states of the plurality of storage devices; (inter alia: a message 706 indicating that the first memory device 312A currently operates at the current power level PC. In some embodiments, the host device 220 stores the power level of each of the plurality of memory devices 312 .; ¶ [0086] )
when a power consumption increasing event occurs on at least one of the plurality of storage devices and when at least one of the plurality of operating state signals is changed, receiving, by at least one of the plurality of storage devices, a power state setting signal; and (claim 2 describes how a power data packet is used to set the power levels for each memory device by having the data packet pass “to each individual memory device on the ring, the respective memory device adjusts (e.g., increases, decreases) its own power level” ¶ [ 004])
based on the power state setting signal, changing the first power state of at least one of the plurality of storage devices such that the respective power consumptions of at least one of the plurality of storage devices is greater than or equal to the reference power consumption. (inter alia: As the power data packet is passed to each individual memory device on the ring, the respective memory device adjusts (e.g., increases, decreases) its own power level based on the system power level. For example, each memory device is configured to increase its power level in accordance with a determination that the system power level is lower than the predefined power budget. By these means, the system power level of the plurality of memory device is kept on or below the predefined power budget, and a power level of each individual memory device is dynamically adjusted in its power range based on whether the system power level reaches the predefined power budget.; ¶ 004])
As per claim 18, Reimers discloses a storage system comprising:
a plurality of storage devices; and (memory devices; Figure 3)
a host device configured to control operations of the plurality of storage devices, (Different SSDs can be configured to implement different memory functions under the control of its host device; ¶ [0003], Fig. 3)
wherein the plurality of storage devices are configured to enter a first power state in which respective power consumptions of the plurality of storage devices are less than a reference power consumption, (inter alia: As the power data packet is passed to each individual memory device on the ring, the respective memory device adjusts (e.g., increases, decreases) its own power level based on the system power level. For example, each memory device is configured to increase its power level in accordance with a determination that the system power level is lower than the predefined power budget. By these means, the system power level of the plurality of memory device is kept on or below the predefined power budget, and a power level of each individual memory device is dynamically adjusted in its power range based on whether the system power level reaches the predefined power budget.; ¶ [0004] )
wherein the plurality of storage devices are configured to output a plurality of operating state signals representing operating states of the plurality of storage devices, (inter alia: a message 706 indicating that the first memory device 312A currently operates at the current power level PC. In some embodiments, the host device 220 stores the power level of each of the plurality of memory devices 312 .; ¶ [0086] )
wherein, when a power consumption increasing event occurs on at least one of the plurality of storage devices and when at least one of the plurality of operating state signals is changed, at least one of the plurality of storage devices is configured to receive a power state setting signal, and (claim 2 describes how a power data packet is used to set the power levels for each memory device by having the data packet pass “to each individual memory device on the ring, the respective memory device adjusts (e.g., increases, decreases) its own power level” ¶ [ 004])
wherein, based on the power state setting signal, the first power state of at least one of the plurality of storage devices is changed such that the respective power consumptions of at least one of the plurality of storage devices is greater than or equal to the reference power consumption. (inter alia: As the power data packet is passed to each individual memory device on the ring, the respective memory device adjusts (e.g., increases, decreases) its own power level based on the system power level. For example, each memory device is configured to increase its power level in accordance with a determination that the system power level is lower than the predefined power budget. By these means, the system power level of the plurality of memory device is kept on or below the predefined power budget, and a power level of each individual memory device is dynamically adjusted in its power range based on whether the system power level reaches the predefined power budget.; ¶ 004])
As per claim 20, Reimers discloses a method of operating a storage system including a host device and a plurality of storage devices, the method comprising:
entering, by the plurality of storage devices, a first power state in which respective power consumptions of the plurality of storage devices is less than a reference power consumption; (inter alia: As the power data packet is passed to each individual memory device on the ring, the respective memory device adjusts (e.g., increases, decreases) its own power level based on the system power level. For example, each memory device is configured to increase its power level in accordance with a determination that the system power level is lower than the predefined power budget. By these means, the system power level of the plurality of memory device is kept on or below the predefined power budget, and a power level of each individual memory device is dynamically adjusted in its power range based on whether the system power level reaches the predefined power budget.; ¶ [0004] )
transmitting, by the plurality of storage devices, a plurality of operating state signals to the host device; monitoring, by the host device, operating states of the plurality of storage devices based on the plurality of operating state signals; (inter alia: a message 706 indicating that the first memory device 312A currently operates at the current power level PC. In some embodiments, the host device 220 stores the power level of each of the plurality of memory devices 312 .; ¶ [0086] )
when a power consumption increasing event occurs on a first storage device among the plurality of storage devices and when a first operating state signal among the plurality of operating state signals is changed, transmitting, by the host device, a first power state setting signal having a first value to the first storage device based on power budget of the storage system; (inter alia: As the power data packet is passed to each individual memory device on the ring, the respective memory device adjusts (e.g., increases, decreases) its own power level based on the system power level. For example, each memory device is configured to increase its power level in accordance with a determination that the system power level is lower than the predefined power budget. By these means, the system power level of the plurality of memory device is kept on or below the predefined power budget, and a power level of each individual memory device is dynamically adjusted in its power range based on whether the system power level reaches the predefined power budget.; ¶ [0004] )
based on the first power state setting signal having the first value, entering, by the first storage device, a second power state in which a first power consumption of the first storage device is greater than or equal to the reference power consumption; (inter alia: As the power data packet is passed to each individual memory device on the ring, the respective memory device adjusts (e.g., increases, decreases) its own power level based on the system power level. For example, each memory device is configured to increase its power level in accordance with a determination that the system power level is lower than the predefined power budget. By these means, the system power level of the plurality of memory device is kept on or below the predefined power budget, and a power level of each individual memory device is dynamically adjusted in its power range based on whether the system power level reaches the predefined power budget.; ¶ [0004] )
when the power consumption increasing event of the first storage device is completed and when the first operating state signal is changed again, transmitting, by the host device, the first power state setting signal having a second value to the first storage device, wherein the second value is different from the first value; and (inter alia: As the power data packet is passed to each individual memory device on the ring, the respective memory device adjusts (e.g., increases, decreases) its own power level based on the system power level. For example, each memory device is configured to increase its power level in accordance with a determination that the system power level is lower than the predefined power budget. By these means, the system power level of the plurality of memory device is kept on or below the predefined power budget, and a power level of each individual memory device is dynamically adjusted in its power range based on whether the system power level reaches the predefined power budget.; ¶ [0004] )
based on the first power state setting signal having the second value, entering, by the first storage device, the first power state again, (inter alia: As the power data packet is passed to each individual memory device on the ring, the respective memory device adjusts (e.g., increases, decreases) its own power level based on the system power level. For example, each memory device is configured to increase its power level in accordance with a determination that the system power level is lower than the predefined power budget. By these means, the system power level of the plurality of memory device is kept on or below the predefined power budget, and a power level of each individual memory device is dynamically adjusted in its power range based on whether the system power level reaches the predefined power budget.; ¶ [0004] )
wherein the power consumption increasing event comprises a plurality of internal events that are internally performed in the plurality of storage devices, and (memory write mode; ¶ [0050], internal request [0045] such as each memory channel 204 corresponds to a respective queue 216 of memory access request ¶ [0045])
a plurality of external events that are performed including an operation of outputting respective signals from the plurality of storage devices to an external device. ( Each memory channel 204 is coupled to a respective channel controller 214 (e.g., controller 214A, 214B, or 214N) configured to control internal and external requests to access memory cells in the respective memory channel 204. ¶ [0045])
As per claim 2, Reimers discloses a method wherein the power consumption increasing event comprises a plurality of internal events that are internally performed in the plurality of storage devices. (each memory channel 204 corresponds to a respective queue 216 of memory access request; ¶ [0045], Fig. 2)
As per claim 3, Reimers discloses a method wherein receiving the power state setting signal comprises: when a first internal event of the plurality of internal events for internal data copying occurs on a first storage device among the plurality of storage devices and (Each memory access request is optionally received internally from the memory system 200 to manage the respective memory channel 204 or externally from the host device 220 to write or read data stored in the respective channel 204. ¶[0045] For example, these memory operation include, “management functions including, but are not limited to, garbage collection, wear levelling, read disturb mitigation, memory snapshot capturing, memory mirroring, caching, and memory sparing.” ¶ [0045])
when a first operating state signal among the plurality of operating state signals is changed, receiving, by the first storage device, a first power state setting signal. (inter alia: As the power data packet is passed to each individual memory device on the ring, the respective memory device adjusts (e.g., increases, decreases) its own power level based on the system power level. For example, each memory device is configured to increase its power level in accordance with a determination that the system power level is lower than the predefined power budget. By these means, the system power level of the plurality of memory device is kept on or below the predefined power budget, and a power level of each individual memory device is dynamically adjusted in its power range based on whether the system power level reaches the predefined power budget.; ¶ [0004] )
As per claim 4, Reimers discloses a method wherein changing the first power state comprises: based on the first power state setting signal, entering, by the first storage device, a second power state in which a power consumption of the first storage device is greater than or equal to the reference power consumption. (inter alia: As the power data packet is passed to each individual memory device on the ring, the respective memory device adjusts (e.g., increases, decreases) its own power level based on the system power level. For example, each memory device is configured to increase its power level in accordance with a determination that the system power level is lower than the predefined power budget. By these means, the system power level of the plurality of memory device is kept on or below the predefined power budget, and a power level of each individual memory device is dynamically adjusted in its power range based on whether the system power level reaches the predefined power budget.; ¶ 004])
As per claim 5, Reimers discloses a method wherein receiving the power state setting signal further comprises: when a second internal event of the plurality of internal events for internal data copying occurs on a second storage device among the plurality of storage devices different from the first storage device and when a second operating state signal among the plurality of operating state signals is changed, receiving, by the second storage device, a second power state setting signal, wherein the second internal event is different from the first internal event. (Each memory access request is optionally received internally from the memory system 200 to manage the respective memory channel 204 or externally from the host device 220 to write or read data stored in the respective channel 204. ¶[0045] For example, these memory operation include, “management functions including, but are not limited to, garbage collection, wear levelling, read disturb mitigation, memory snapshot capturing, memory mirroring, caching, and memory sparing.” ¶ [0045]) & (inter alia: As the power data packet is passed to each individual memory device on the ring, the respective memory device adjusts (e.g., increases, decreases) its own power level based on the system power level. For example, each memory device is configured to increase its power level in accordance with a determination that the system power level is lower than the predefined power budget. By these means, the system power level of the plurality of memory device is kept on or below the predefined power budget, and a power level of each individual memory device is dynamically adjusted in its power range based on whether the system power level reaches the predefined power budget.; ¶ 004])
As per claim 6, Reimers discloses a method wherein changing the first power state further comprises: based on the second power state setting signal, entering, by the second storage device, a third power state in which a power consumption of the second storage device is greater than or equal to the reference power consumption, wherein the third power state is different from the second internal event. (set a plurality of device power levels of the plurality of memory devices 302 ¶ [0056] For example, not limited to power level ranges that include power of: 0 Watts, 5W, 25W ¶s [004], [0050]-[0056])
As per claim 8, Reimers discloses a method 8. The method of claim 5, further comprising: comparing a power budget of the storage system with a total power consumption of the plurality of storage devices, and wherein, when the total power consumption is expected to exceed the power budget, the second storage device maintains the first power state. (inter alia: As the power data packet is passed to each individual memory device on the ring, the respective memory device adjusts (e.g., increases, decreases) its own power level based on the system power level. For example, each memory device is configured to increase its power level in accordance with a determination that the system power level is lower than the predefined power budget. By these means, the system power level of the plurality of memory device is kept on or below the predefined power budget, and a power level of each individual memory device is dynamically adjusted in its power range based on whether the system power level reaches the predefined power budget.; ¶ [0004] )
As per claim 9, Reimers discloses a method wherein, when the first internal event of the first storage device is completed, the first operating state signal is changed again, the first power state setting signal is received again, and the first storage device enters the first power state again. (each of the plurality of memory devices 302 is initialized with the predefined power budget PB and the respective device power level (e.g., the upper power limit P0 or 0), which are updated upon receiving the power data packet 402.; ¶ [0056] )
As per claim 10, Reimers discloses a method wherein receiving the power state setting signal comprises: when a plurality of first and second internal events of the plurality of internal events for internal data copying occur on first and second storage devices among the plurality of storage devices and when first and second operating state signals among the plurality of operating state signals are changed, selectively receiving, by the first and second storage devices, first and second power state setting signals based on priorities of the plurality of first and second internal events and power budget of the storage system. (Each memory access request is optionally received internally from the memory system 200 to manage the respective memory channel 204 or externally from the host device 220 to write or read data stored in the respective channel 204. ¶[0045] For example, these memory operation include, “management functions including, but are not limited to, garbage collection, wear levelling, read disturb mitigation, memory snapshot capturing, memory mirroring, caching, and memory sparing.” ¶ [0045]) & ( inter alia: As the power data packet is passed to each individual memory device on the ring, the respective memory device adjusts (e.g., increases, decreases) its own power level based on the system power level. For example, each memory device is configured to increase its power level in accordance with a determination that the system power level is lower than the predefined power budget. By these means, the system power level of the plurality of memory device is kept on or below the predefined power budget, and a power level of each individual memory device is dynamically adjusted in its power range based on whether the system power level reaches the predefined power budget.; ¶ [0004] )
As per claim 11, Reimers discloses a method wherein the power consumption increasing event comprises a plurality of external events that are performed including an operation of outputting respective signals from the plurality of storage devices to an external device. (Each memory access request is optionally received internally from the memory system 200 to manage the respective memory channel 204 or externally from the host device 220 to write or read data stored in the respective channel 204. ¶[0045] For example, these memory operation include, “management functions including, but are not limited to, garbage collection, wear levelling, read disturb mitigation, memory snapshot capturing, memory mirroring, caching, and memory sparing.” ¶ [0045]))
As per claim 12, Reimers discloses a method wherein receiving the power state setting signal comprises: when a first external event requiring a replacement of a first storage device among the plurality of storage devices occurs and when a first operating state signal among the plurality of operating state signals is changed, receiving, by the first storage device and a second storage device among the plurality of storage devices, a first power state setting signal and a second power state setting signal, respectively. (inter alia: As the power data packet is passed to each individual memory device on the ring, the respective memory device adjusts (e.g., increases, decreases) its own power level based on the system power level. For example, each memory device is configured to increase its power level in accordance with a determination that the system power level is lower than the predefined power budget. By these means, the system power level of the plurality of memory device is kept on or below the predefined power budget, and a power level of each individual memory device is dynamically adjusted in its power range based on whether the system power level reaches the predefined power budget.; ¶ [0004] )
As per claim 13, Reimers discloses a method wherein changing the first power state comprises: based on the first and second power state setting signal, entering, by the first and second storage devices, a second power state in which power consumptions of the first and second storage devices are greater than or equal to the reference power consumption. . (inter alia: As the power data packet is passed to each individual memory device on the ring, the respective memory device adjusts (e.g., increases, decreases) its own power level based on the system power level. For example, each memory device is configured to increase its power level in accordance with a determination that the system power level is lower than the predefined power budget. By these means, the system power level of the plurality of memory device is kept on or below the predefined power budget, and a power level of each individual memory device is dynamically adjusted in its power range based on whether the system power level reaches the predefined power budget.; ¶ 004])
As per claim 14, Reimers discloses a method wherein first data stored in the first storage device are copied to the second storage device, the first storage device is replaced with a third storage device, and the first data stored in the second storage device are copied to the third storage device. (Each memory access request is optionally received internally from the memory system 200 to manage the respective memory channel 204 or externally from the host device 220 to write or read data stored in the respective channel 204. ¶[0045] For example, these memory operation include, “management functions including, but are not limited to, garbage collection, wear levelling, read disturb mitigation, memory snapshot capturing, memory mirroring, caching, and memory sparing.” ¶ [0045])
As per claim 15, Reimers discloses a method wherein changing the first power state comprises: when a second external event occurs in which the storage system is powered off, entering, by all of the plurality of storage devices, a second power state in which power consumptions of the plurality of storage devices are respectively greater than or equal to the reference power consumption. ((Each memory access request is optionally received internally from the memory system 200 to manage the respective memory channel 204 or externally from the host device 220 to write or read data stored in the respective channel 204. ¶[0045] For example, these memory operation include, “management functions including, but are not limited to, garbage collection, wear levelling, read disturb mitigation, memory snapshot capturing, memory mirroring, caching, and memory sparing.” ¶ [0045]) & (each of the plurality of memory devices 302 is initialized with the predefined power budget PB and the respective device power level (e.g., the upper power limit P0 or 0), which are updated upon receiving the power data packet 402.) & (inter alia: As the power data packet is passed to each individual memory device on the ring, the respective memory device adjusts (e.g., increases, decreases) its own power level based on the system power level. For example, each memory device is configured to increase its power level in accordance with a determination that the system power level is lower than the predefined power budget. By these means, the system power level of the plurality of memory device is kept on or below the predefined power budget, and a power level of each individual memory device is dynamically adjusted in its power range based on whether the system power level reaches the predefined power budget.; ¶ [0004] )
As per claim 16, Reimers discloses a method wherein all of the plurality of storage devices enter the second power state without receiving the power state setting signal. ( each of the plurality of memory devices 302 is initialized with the predefined power budget PB and the respective device power level (e.g., the upper power limit P0 or 0), which are updated upon receiving the power data packet 402.)
As per claim 19, Reimers discloses a method further comprising: an auxiliary power supply device configured to provide auxiliary power to the plurality of storage devices, and wherein, when an external event occurs in which the storage system is powered off, all of the plurality of storage devices are configured to enter a second power state in which power consumptions of the plurality of storage devices are respectively greater than or equal to the reference power consumption, based on the auxiliary power. (each of the plurality of memory devices 302 is initialized with the predefined power budget PB and the respective device power level (e.g., the upper power limit P0 or 0), which are updated upon receiving the power data packet 402.; ¶ [0056] ) (the power level of each memory device 302 can swing between a first power of the idle mode (e.g., 5 W) and a second power of the write mode (e.g., 25 W); ¶ [0064])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2025/0110867 (hereinafter, “Reimers”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2023/0236652 (hereinafter, “Moshe”)
As per claim 7, Reimers does not distinctly disclose a method wherein, when the first internal event has a priority higher than that of the second internal event, the power consumption of the first storage device having the second power state is greater than the power consumption of the second storage device having the third power state.
However, Moshe explicitly discloses wherein, when the first internal event has a priority higher than that of the second internal event, the power consumption of the first storage device having the second power state is greater than the power consumption of the second storage device having the third power state. ( peer storage devices at once, such as a message containing power state information or requesting priority for using available power in a power pool; ¶ [0046])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Reimers and Moshe because both references are in the same field of endeavor. Moshe’s teaching of using priory to access limited power availibity would enhance Reimers 's system by allowing critical operation to be performed, thus enhancing power management in a computer system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2025/0110867 (hereinafter, “Reimers”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2024/0272689 (hereinafter, “JI”)
As per claim 17, Reimers discloses a method wherein the storage system further comprises an auxiliary power supply device external to the plurality of storage devices, wherein the plurality of storage devices do not include the auxiliary power supply device, and (The power supply connector 116 is electrically coupled to receive an external power supply; ¶ [0039] )
Reimers does not distinctly disclose wherein all of the plurality of storage devices enter the second power state based on auxiliary power provided from the auxiliary power supply device.
However, JI discloses the following:
wherein the storage system further comprises an auxiliary power supply device external to the plurality of storage devices, wherein the plurality of storage devices do not include the auxiliary power supply device, and (Fig 1 discloses power supply 120 supplying power to storage device)
wherein all of the plurality of storage devices enter the second power state based on auxiliary power provided from the auxiliary power supply device. (auxiliary power supplying power to storage devices; Fig 1)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Reimers and JI because both references are in the same field of endeavor. JI’s teaching of providing auxiliary power to storage devices would enhance Reimers 's system by allowing secondary power during power failures, thus enhancing power management for computer system.
Conclusion
With respect to any newly added or amended claims, applicant should show support in the original disclosure for the new or amended claims. See MPEP §714.02 and § 2163.06. For example, when responding to this office action, applicants are advised to provide the examiner with the line numbers and page numbers in the application and/or references cited to assist the examiner in locating appropriate paragraphs.
/AUREL PRIFTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175
Aurel Prifti
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2175
Tel. (571) 270-1743
Fax (571) 270-2743
aurel.prifti@uspto.gov