DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species B, claims 10-13 in the reply filed on 10/2/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 contains a circular reference to “the hydrogenated amorphous silicon oxide”. The hydrogenated amorphous silicon oxide comprises a substrate and dielectric layer and the dielectric layer is formed of the hydrogenated amorphous silicon. For the purposes of applying art the examiner interpreted the claim to be referring to a laminate comprising a hydrogenated amorphous silicon oxide, wherein the hydrogenated amorphous silicon oxide is part of the dielectric layer on the substrate.
Claims 11 and 12 refer to “the low-loss hydrogenated amorphous silicon oxide” which lacks antecedent basis. The examiner notes that the low-loss hydrogenated amorphous silicon oxide in the specification appears to be referring to the material in combination with the metasurface structure. In this context the refractive index is likely referring to the effective refractive index (and the same for extinction coefficient).
Claim 11 also has a typo “transparent to visible light is transmitted with light with wavelength”.
Claim 13 also has a typo “a-SiOx” instead of --a-SiOx:H--
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WITJAKSONO et al. (WO 2015/088320).
Regarding claim 10
WITJAKSONO teaches a silicon substrate for solar cells that is surface textured to reduce reflection (increase transparency) abstract. The nanostructures (textured) are formed and can be passivated with a-SiOx:H (hydrogenated amorphous silicon oxide) [024]. Fig. 1 further shows texturing the surface before the a-SiOx:H is formed. However, Fig. 3 shows that each subsequent layer provides the same texturing. Therefore, the a-SiOx:H is also nanostructured. The increased transparency to electromagnetic radiation includes transparency to visible light.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WITJAKSONO et al. (WO 2015/088320) in view of SEIF et al. “Amorphous silicon oxide window layers for high-efficiency heterojunction solar cells” (2014).
Regarding claims 11 and 12,
WITJAKSONO teaches a nanostructured surface that includes amorphous hydrogenated silicon oxide but does not expressly teach the refractive index or extinction coefficient of the material. However, refractive index and extinction coefficient are intrinsic properties of a material, and SEIF teaches that the refractive index and extinction coefficients are result effective variables of the composition of a-SiOx:H in Fig. 4(a). The refractive index and extinction coefficients depend on the ratio of CO2 (oxygen source) and SiH4 gas used in the PECVD Experiments and optical properties of I a-SiOx:H. At the time of filing the invention it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to manipulate the composition of the a-SiOx:H to obtain the desired refractive index and extinction coefficient as the optimization of a result effective variable, MPEP 2144.05.II.
The examiner notes that the claimed extinct coefficients are very low, but the trend line for the extinct coefficient trends to low values. As noted in the 112 rejection above, the claim may be referring to the material in combination with the meta surface (i.e. effective refractive index and extinction coefficient) to obtain lower values than would otherwise be obtainable by changing composition of the bulk material.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WITJAKSONO et al. (WO 2015/088320) in view of SEIF et al. “Amorphous silicon oxide window layers for high-efficiency heterojunction solar cells” (2014) further in view of CHEN et al. (US 2014/0353700).
Regarding claim 13,
SEIF teaches changing the concentration of gases during PECVD deposition changes the composition of the deposited layer which can control refractive index and extinct coefficient. The reference further teaches the gases used in PECVD are silane, hydrogen and carbon dioxide as the oxygen source Experiment. The reference does not teach using oxygen (O2) as the oxygen source. However, CHEN teaches that when making an a-SiOx:H layer the oxygen source material can be O2 or CO2 [0035]. At the time of filing the invention it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use O2 instead of CO2 as the oxygen source of SEIF as a substitution of known art equivalent oxygen sources for a-SiOx:H deposited by PECVD.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
PARK et al. “Structural color filters enabled by a dielectric metasurface incorporating hydrogenated amorphous silicon nanodisks” (2017)
PARK teaches a dielectric metasurface comprised of an array of nanodisks (nanostructure) of hydrogenated amorphous silicon (a-Si:H) abstract. The nanodisks are on a glass substrate Fig. 1 and results. The diameter (D) and period (P) of the nanostructure are tailored to color subtractive page 3. By tailoring a specific color, the other visible wavelengths are made transparent. PARK teaches the a-Si:H is deposited by PECVD page 3.
/AUSTIN MURATA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712