CTNF 19/174,123 CTNF 81495 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-10 and 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Hautala (U.S. Pub. No. 20120198386) . Regarding claim 1, Hautala discloses: A method for image capturing (using integrated camera and gallery application 218 comprises software which controls operation of camera hardware 206 as well as software that causes the processor 200 to control what is output on the display 202, where a non-transitory computer- readable storage medium having stored thereon computer-readable code, which is executed by the apparatus, par. 17, 36), comprising: displaying a capturing interface (screenshot 300, where screenshot 300 shows a live image 302 which is the direct output from camera hardware 206 and screenshot 300 also has a first thumbnail image 304 and a second thumbnail image 306 displayed in the top right corner of the screen, along the top edge of the screen, par. 41 and Fig. 3), the capturing interface comprising a preview component (live image 302 which is the direct output from camera hardware 206, par. 41 and Fig. 3) and a capturing control (user of the terminal 100 may capture the live image 302 being displayed by touching a image capture software key (not shown) on the display 202 itself, par. 43 and Fig. 3); in response to capturing a first image displayed in the preview component using the capturing control, storing the first image, and maintaining the display of a real-time captured image in the preview component (screenshot 400 results after a capturing of the live image 302, where display 202 continues to display a live image 402, which is the direct output from camera hardware 206 and the captured version of the previously live image 302 now appears as the third thumbnail image 408 because it is the most recently saved image, par. 44-45 and Fig. 4); displaying a first element corresponding to the first image in a predetermined area of the capturing interface (first thumbnail image 304 and a second thumbnail image 306 displayed in the top right corner of the screen, along the top edge of the screen, par. 41 and Fig. 3); and in response to capturing a second image displayed in the preview component using the capturing control, storing the second image, and displaying at least a portion of the first element and at least a portion of a second element corresponding to the second image in the predetermined area of the capturing interface (first thumbnail image 304 is the second most recently saved image, where the thumbnail images may be displayed in reverse chronological order, and a captured version of the previously live image appears as a thumbnail image, par. 42-46 and Figs. 3 and 4). Regarding claim 2, Hautala further discloses: capturing interface is provided by a target application (integrated camera and gallery application 218 comprises software which controls operation of camera hardware 206 as well as software that causes the processor 200 to control what is output on the display 202, par. 36), and the method further comprises: displaying a viewing interface based on a predetermined operation received in the capturing interface (screenshot 700 may result when a user provides a touch input at any of the thumbnail images shown in FIG. 3, 4 or 6 and drags downwards or towards the centre of the display 202, par. 70-74); and displaying, in the viewing interface, a plurality of images captured using the capturing interface of the target application, the plurality of images comprising at least the first image and the second image (the first thumbnail image 704 is the most recently saved image (i.e. the last image in the sequence), as determined by the time and date metadata associated with each image, and the thumbnail images are displayed in reverse chronological order from top to bottom in columns, par. 73). Regarding claim 3, Hautala further discloses: First image and the second image are displayed in association in the viewing interface (the first thumbnail image 704 is the most recently saved image (i.e. the last image in the sequence), as determined by the time and date metadata associated with each image, and the thumbnail images are displayed in reverse chronological order from top to bottom in columns, par. 73). Regarding claim 4, Hautala further discloses: receiving a selection of at least one image of the plurality of images (screenshot 700 may result when a user provides a touch input at any of the thumbnail images shown in FIG. 3, 4 or 6 and drags downwards or towards the centre of the display 202, par. 70-74); and publishing a work corresponding to the at least one image (using a software key to send an email or SMS message to a recipient with the attached displayed image, or uploaded the image to a social networking service or photograph sharing service, par. 59-61). Regarding claim 5, Hautala further discloses: predetermined operation comprises: selection of the predetermined area (screenshot 700 may result when a user provides a touch input at any of the thumbnail images shown in FIG. 3, 4 or 6 and drags downwards or towards the centre of the display 202, par. 70-74); or selection of the first element or the second element displayed in the predetermined area (thumbnail images may be enlarged while the viewfinder remains active, where FIG. 5 shows a screenshot 500 which results after the second thumbnail image 406 has been selected by a user of the terminal 100, par. 50 and Fig. 5). Regarding claim 6, Hautala further discloses: capturing interface corresponds to a first capturing mode (mode of camera that is not multi shot mode, par. 41-47), and the viewing interface further displays a set of images captured through a second capturing mode (as each image is captured in a multi shot mode, a thumbnail of that image may appear with the other thumbnail images, par. 47). Regarding claim 7, Hautala further discloses: displaying the first element corresponding to the first image in the predetermined area of the capturing interface comprises: in response to capturing the first image displayed in the preview component using the capturing control, displaying the first element corresponding to the first image in the preview component (capturing of the live image 302 may be accompanied by a sound and/or an animation, where when an image capture key is pressed, the live image 302 may freeze momentarily such that the captured image fills the whole display screen, par. 45); and moving the first element from the preview component to the predetermined area (the captured image may then gradually reduce in size while moving towards the thumbnail images such that it comes to rest as a thumbnail sized image at the left end of the row of displayed thumbnails, par. 45). Regarding claim 8, Hautala further discloses: displaying at least a portion of the first element and at least a portion of the second element corresponding to the second image in the predetermined area of the capturing interface comprises: in response to capturing the second image displayed in the preview component using the capturing control, displaying the second element corresponding to the second image in the preview component (capturing of the live image 302 may be accompanied by a sound and/or an animation, where when an image capture key is pressed, the live image 302 may freeze momentarily such that the captured image fills the whole display screen, par. 45); and moving the second element from the preview component to the predetermined area (the captured image may then gradually reduce in size while moving towards the thumbnail images such that it comes to rest as a thumbnail sized image at the left end of the row of displayed thumbnails, par. 45). Regarding claim 9, Hautala further discloses: first element and the second element at least partially overlap (camera and gallery application 218 is also configured to display, as an overlay of the live image data, thumbnails of images stored in the image/video storage 220, where the integrated camera and gallery application 218 may control the processor 200 to retrieve image data from the image/video storage 220 and to display reduced size (small) versions of the images at the top edge of display 202, par. 39 and Figs. 3, 4, and 6). Regarding claim 10, Hautala further discloses: the display style of the first element and the second element in the predetermined area is determined based on the number of elements displayed in the predetermined area (in the screenshot 600, seven thumbnail images are visible; however this number may vary depending on the width of the display 202, the size of the thumbnail images and user preference settings, par. 67 and Fig. 6). Regarding claims 12-19, see the rejection of claims 1-9 respectively and note that the limitations of claim 12-18 were shown. Regarding claim 20, see the rejection of claim 1 and note that the limitations of claim 20 were shown . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hautala (U.S. Pub. No. 20120198386) in view of Seol et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20180063434) . Regarding claim 11, Hautala is silent with regards to the capturing interface further comprises an effect control, and the method further comprises: displaying a set of candidate effects in the preview component based on a selection of the effect control; and applying a target effect to the real-time captured image in the preview component based on the selection of the target effect in the set of candidate effects. Hautala discloses capturing interface further comprises an effect control, and the method further comprises: displaying a set of candidate effects in the preview component based on a selection of the effect control; and applying a target effect to the real-time captured image in the preview component based on the selection of the target effect in the set of candidate effects (the preview image may be image information received real time from the camera 121, and in a displayed state of a preview image, the controller 180 may set a filter effect to an image to be captured, where the information 930 indicating a filter effect may include graphic objects 940a, 940b indicating different filter effects and the graphic objects 940a, 940b indicating different filter effects may be preview images to which a filter effect has been applied, and if a touch input is applied to the graphic object the controller 180 may apply the specific filter effect to a preview image, par. 151 and 226-235 and Figs. 9A and 9B). As can be seen in par. 226 this is advantageous in that a function to correct an image for a special effect by changing a chroma, a brightness, a texture, etc. of the image can be achieved. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the capturing interface further comprises an effect control, and the method further comprises: displaying a set of candidate effects in the preview component based on a selection of the effect control; and applying a target effect to the real-time captured image in the preview component based on the selection of the target effect in the set of candidate effects. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NICHOLAS G GILES whose telephone number is (571)272-2824. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 6:45AM-3:15PM EST (HOTELING). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Twyler Haskins can be reached at 571-272-7406. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /NICHOLAS G GILES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639 Application/Control Number: 19/174,123 Page 2 Art Unit: 2639 Application/Control Number: 19/174,123 Page 3 Art Unit: 2639 Application/Control Number: 19/174,123 Page 4 Art Unit: 2639 Application/Control Number: 19/174,123 Page 5 Art Unit: 2639 Application/Control Number: 19/174,123 Page 6 Art Unit: 2639 Application/Control Number: 19/174,123 Page 7 Art Unit: 2639 Application/Control Number: 19/174,123 Page 8 Art Unit: 2639 Application/Control Number: 19/174,123 Page 9 Art Unit: 2639 Application/Control Number: 19/174,123 Page 10 Art Unit: 2639 Application/Control Number: 19/174,123 Page 11 Art Unit: 2639