DETAILED ACTION
This is a Non-Final rejection on the merits of this application. Claims 1-14 are currently pending, as discussed below.
Examiner Notes that the fundamentals of the rejections are based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language. Applicant is kindly invited to consider the reference as a whole. References are to be interpreted as by one of ordinary skill in the art rather than as by a novice. See MPEP 2141. Therefore, the relevant inquiry when interpreting a reference is not what the reference expressly discloses on its face but what the reference would teach or suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Drawings
The subject matter of this application admits of illustration by a drawing to facilitate understanding of the invention. Claim 1 recites: "the hydrodynamic body comprises at least two wheels, a first wheel in a first side of the hydrodynamic body controlled by a first motor and a second wheel in a second side of the hydrodynamic body controlled by a second motor" which is not depicted in the figures. Further, Claim 2 recites: "each cart having one wheel in a first side controlled by a first motor and a second wheel in a second side controlled by a second motor, enabling the hydrodynamic body to move along the hull of the ship, and wherein the at least two mechanical fingers are located in fine with the length of the hydrodynamic body and/or on a downstream side of each of a wheelhouse of each cart, and/or on a top side of the cart, which is furthest from the ship's hull; and wherein the dynamic wings are located at each side of each cart of the hydrodynamic body" is not depicted in the figures. No wheels, or wheelhouse is depicted in the drawings. Lastly, Claim 12 recites: “wherein the hydrodynamic body comprises a plurality of carts, each cart having one wheel in a first side controlled by a first motor and a second wheel in a second side controlled by a second motor, enabling the hydrodynamic body to move along the hull of the ship, and wherein the at least two mechanical fingers are located in line with the length of the hydrodynamic body and/or on a downstream side of each of a wheelhouse of each cart, and/or on a top side of the cart, which is furthest from the ship's hull, and wherein the dynamic wings are located at each side of each cart of the hydrodynamic body” but no wheels or wheelhouses are depicted in the drawings. Applicant is required to furnish a drawing under 37 CFR 1.81(c). No new matter may be introduced in the required drawing. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 and 12 is indefinite because it is unclear if "at least two mechanical fingers having a wing shape" means that each mechanical finger each has a wing shape, or if the two mechanical fingers create a single wing shape. Further, it is unclear if the two mechanical fingers having a wing shape is the same as the two dynamic wings located at teach side of the hydrodynamic body, or if the two dynamic wings are different from the mechanical fingers having a wing shape.
Claims 2 and 13 are indefinite because it is unclear what the limitation "which is furthest from the ship's hull" is referring to. It is unclear if the two mechanical fingers, the cart, or something else listed in the claim prior is furthest from the ship's hull.
Claim 14 is unclear because "the motor consumption of electrical current is above a predetermined range" is using the same range as "the motor consumption of electrical current is below a predetermined range". It is unclear if the first predetermined range is the same or different than the second predetermined range.
Claims 2-11 and 13-14 are rejected as being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim(s) depending from claims expressly noted above are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 by/for reason of their dependency from a noted claim that is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, for the reasons given.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-8 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freyer; Rune (US 20220212764 A1) in view of Loefler; Thomas et al. (US 20260175788 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Freyer teaches, a system for controlling forces applied on a hydrodynamic body adhered to and moving along a hull of a sailing ship (a robot for underwater monitoring and maintenance of a ship’s hull when the ship is underway, see at least, ¶14, Freyer), the hydrodynamic body comprises at least two wheels, a first wheel in a first side of the hydrodynamic body controlled by a first motor and a second wheel in a second side of the hydrodynamic body controlled by a second motor (one or more rollers arranged on the foot which is part of the body, see at least, ¶42, Freyer), enabling the hydrodynamic body to move along the hull of the ship (surface of the foot 10 resting against the hull is smooth or may have rollers to reduce the friction even further for moving along the hull, see at least, ¶ 42, Freyer), the system comprising: at least two mechanical fingers having a wing shape with a leading edge and a trailing edge, wherein the mechanical fingers are located such that when deployed the trailing edge rises against the water current to position the fingers at an angle creating a force perpendicular to the ship's hull which attaches the hydrodynamic body to the ship, thereby preventing detachment of the hydrodynamic body from the ship (Fig .2 depicts how the robot is held against the hull by means of the force (which must be perpendicular to the hull) resulting from the speed of water meeting the two wing shaped hydrofoils 6, 7, see at least, ¶ 45, Freyer), and wherein when the mechanical fingers open and close at a fluttering movement at a certain frequency a lift force reducing adhesion of the hydrodynamic body to the ship is created (the foils may be adjusted by adjusting the angle of the foils according to the flow of the water which has waves that must be moving at certain frequency and adjusting the force towards the hull created by the foils, see at least, ¶47, Freyer); at least two dynamic wings located at each side of the hydrodynamic body, wherein each wing is parallel to the hydrodynamic body direction and when deployed each wing opens in a direction parallel to the ship's hull and at an angle such that an adhesion force is applied on the hydrodynamic body, adding stabilization to the hydrodynamic body (Fig .2 depicts that each wing shaped foil is parallel to the body of the robot and the hull at such angle that the robot is held against the hull by means of the force resulting from the speed of water meeting the wing shaped hydrofoils, see at least, ¶42 and 45, Freyer); an array of sensors (sensors, camera, accelerometer and testing devices connected to the robot, see at least, ¶59-60, Freyer) comprising an Inertial Measurement Unit (IMU) and a motor consumption feedback sensor for providing information regarding the hydrodynamic body's adhesion status and the state of the mechanical fingers and dynamic wings; a controller receiving input from the array of sensors controlling and monitoring the state of the mechanical fingers and dynamic wings and the hydrodynamic body's adhesion status, and providing instructions to each mechanical finger and dynamic wing to open to a desired position to increase or reduce adhesion of the hydrodynamic body to the ship, thereby optimizing the adhesion and stability of the hydrodynamic body (the foils may be adjusted by adjusting the angle of the foils relatively to the flowing water to adjust the force with which the robot is forced towards the hull at an optimal angle for optimal adhesion of the robot to the hull, see at least, ¶45-47, Freyer).
Freyer does not explicitly teach and an array of sensors comprising an Inertial Measurement Unit (IMU) and a motor consumption feedback sensor for providing information regarding the hydrodynamic body's adhesion status and the state of the mechanical fingers and dynamic wings; a controller receiving input from the array of sensors controlling and monitoring the state of the mechanical fingers and dynamic wings and the hydrodynamic body's adhesion status.
Loefler, directed to an underwater vehicle for navigating relative to a structure submerged in a body of water teaches, an array of sensors comprising an Inertial Measurement Unit (IMU) and a motor consumption feedback sensor for providing information regarding the hydrodynamic body's adhesion status and the state of the thrusters; a controller receiving input from the array of sensors controlling and monitoring the state of the thrusters and the hydrodynamic body's adhesion status (controller is configured to fuse sensor data associated with thrusters and motors and IMU’s with distance data to improve the accuracy of control of the drive mechanisms, see at least, ¶91 and 96, Loefler).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Freyer’s method of hydrofoil control to incorporate the teachings of Loefler which teaches an array of sensors comprising an Inertial Measurement Unit (IMU) and a motor consumption feedback sensor for providing information regarding the hydrodynamic body's adhesion status and the state of the thrusters; a controller receiving input from the array of sensors controlling and monitoring the state of the thrusters and the hydrodynamic body's adhesion status since they are both related to robotic anti fouling and incorporation of the teachings of Loefler would optimize the control of the robot.
Regarding Claim 4, Freyer in view of Loefler teaches,
The system of claim 1, wherein the hydrodynamic body is a robot (Fig. 1 depicts a robot 2, see at least, ¶36, Freyer).
Regarding Claim 5, Freyer in view of Loefler teaches, the system of claim 4, wherein the robot is a cleaning robot (see at least, ¶48, Freyer).
Regarding Claim 7, Freyer in view of Loefler teaches, the system of claim 1, wherein the dynamic wing is opened by pivoting around the upstream end of the wing (Fig. 6 depicts pivot point is upstream end of the hydrofoil 6,7, see at least, ¶47, Freyer).
Regarding Claim 8, Freyer in view of Loefler teaches, the system of claim l, further comprising: a plurality of additional mechanical fingers located along the hydrodynamic body and facing different directions, such that the moments of force acting on the plurality of carts are controlled by the controller to keep the hydrodynamic body stable (Fig. 2 depicts a rudder 8 and a fixed stabilizing fin 9 are arranged perpendicular to the main body and hydrofoils 6,7 and are controlled to provide stability to the robot, see at least, ¶14, 39, Freyer).
Regarding Claim 11, Freyer in view of Loefler teaches, the system of claim 1, wherein the instructions from the controller to the mechanical fingers and dynamic wings contain more than one step, to stabilize the hydrodynamic body (more than one step is described, see at least, ¶24, Freyer).
Regarding Claim 12, Freyer teaches, a method for controlling forces applied on a hydrodynamic body adhere to and moving along a hull of a ship (a robot for underwater monitoring and maintenance of a ship’s hull when the ship is underway, see at least, ¶14, Freyer), the hydrodynamic body comprises at least two wheels, a first wheel in a first side of the hydrodynamic body controlled by a first motor and a second wheel in a second side of the hydrodynamic body controlled by a second motor (one or more rollers arranged on the foot which is part of the body, see at least, ¶42, Freyer), enabling the hydrodynamic body to move along the hull of the ship (surface of the foot 10 resting against the hull is smooth or may have rollers to reduce the friction even further for moving along the hull, see at least, ¶ 42, Freyer), the method comprising: receiving by a controller, signals from an array of sensors comprising and Inertial Measurement Unit (IMU) and a motor consumption feedback sensor providing information regarding forces applied on the hydrodynamic body; controlling and monitoring by the controller the state of the mechanical fingers and dynamic wings and the hydrodynamic body's adhesion status, and accordingly instructing by the controller: at least two mechanical fingers, controlled individually, having a wing shape with a leading edge and a trailing edge, to deploy such that the trailing edge rises against the water current to position the fingers in an angle creating a force perpendicular to the ship's hull which attaches the hydrodynamic body to the ship thereby preventing detachment of the hydrodynamic body from the ship (Fig .2 depicts how the robot is held against the hull by means of the force (which must be perpendicular to the hull) resulting from the speed of water meeting the two wing shaped hydrofoils 6, 7, see at least, ¶ 45, Freyer), and such that when the mechanical fingers open and close at a fluttering movement at a certain frequency, a lift force reducing adhesion of the hydrodynamic body to the ship is created (the foils may be adjusted by adjusting the angle of the foils according to the flow of the water which has waves that must be moving at certain frequency and adjusting the force towards the hull created by the foils, see at least, ¶47, Freyer); and at least two dynamic wings located at each side of the hydrodynamic body, to open in a direction parallel to the ship's hull and at an angle such that an adhesion force is applied on the hydrodynamic body, adding stabilization to the hydrodynamic body (Fig .2 depicts that each wing shaped foil is parallel to the body of the robot and the hull at such angle that the robot is held against the hull by means of the force resulting from the speed of water meeting the wing shaped hydrofoils, see at least, ¶42 and 45, Freyer).
Freyer does not explicitly teach signals from an array of sensors comprising and Inertial Measurement Unit (IMU) and a motor consumption feedback sensor providing information regarding forces applied on the hydrodynamic body; controlling and monitoring by the controller the state of the mechanical fingers and dynamic wings and the hydrodynamic body's adhesion status.
Loefler, directed to an underwater vehicle for navigating relative to a structure submerged in a body of water teaches, signals from an array of sensors comprising and Inertial Measurement Unit (IMU) and a motor consumption feedback sensor providing information regarding forces applied on the hydrodynamic body; controlling and monitoring by the controller the state of the mechanical fingers and dynamic wings and the hydrodynamic body's adhesion status (controller is configured to fuse sensor data associated with thrusters and motors and IMU’s with distance data to improve the accuracy of control of the drive mechanisms, see at least, ¶91 and 96, Loefler).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Freyer’s method of hydrofoil control to incorporate the teachings of Loefler which teaches signals from an array of sensors comprising and Inertial Measurement Unit (IMU) and a motor consumption feedback sensor providing information regarding forces applied on the hydrodynamic body; controlling and monitoring by the controller the state of the mechanical fingers and dynamic wings and the hydrodynamic body's adhesion status since they are both related to robotic anti fouling and incorporation of the teachings of Loefler would optimize the control of the robot.
Claims 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freyer; Rune (US 20220212764 A1) in view of Loefler; Thomas et al. (US 20260175788 A1) as applied to claims 1, 4-5, 7-8 and 11-12 and further in view of Rodocker; Donald et al. (US 20070276552 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Freyer in view of Loefler teaches, the system of claim 1, wherein the hydrodynamic body comprises a plurality of carts, each cart having one wheel in a first side controlled by a first motor and a second wheel in a second side controlled by a second motor, enabling the hydrodynamic body to move along the hull of the ship (surface of the foot 10 resting against the hull is smooth or may have rollers to reduce the friction even further for moving along the hull, see at least, ¶ 42, Freyer), and wherein the at least two mechanical fingers are located in line with the length of the hydrodynamic body (Fig. 2 depicts that each wing shaped foil is parallel to the body of the robot and the hull, see at least, ¶42 and 45, Freyer) and/or on a downstream side of each of a wheelhouse of each cart, and/or on a top side of the cart, which is furthest from the ship's hull; and wherein the dynamic wings are located at each side of each cart of the hydrodynamic body (Fig. 2 depicts a front hydrofoil arranged at the front part and rear hydrofoil arranged at the rear of the main body, see at least, ¶16, Freyer).
Freyer in view of Loefler does not explicitly teach a plurality of carts, each cart having one wheel in a first side controlled by a first motor and a second wheel in a second side controlled by a second motor and wherein the dynamic wings are located at each side of each cart of the hydrodynamic body.
Rodocker, directed to apparatus and methods for searching or inspecting the hull of a ship teaches, a plurality of carts, each cart having one wheel in a first side controlled by a first motor and a second wheel in a second side controlled by a second motor (Fig. 2 depicts 4 wheels 17 independently coupled to the electric motors 13, see at least, ¶54, Rodocker) and wherein the dynamic wings are located at each side of each cart of the hydrodynamic body (Fig .3B depicts thrusters 15 located on each side of the vehicle, see at least, ¶55, Rodocker).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the rollers of Freyer in view of Loefler to incorporate the teachings of Rodocker which teaches a plurality of carts, each cart having one wheel in a first side controlled by a first motor and a second wheel in a second side controlled by a second motor and wherein the dynamic wings are located at each side of each cart of the hydrodynamic body since they are both related to apparatus for inspecting a hull of a ship and incorporation of the teachings of Rodocker improve the methods of examining the hull of a ship without requiring the services of a diver.
Regarding Claim 13, Freyer in view of Loefler teaches, the method of claim 12, wherein the hydrodynamic body comprises a plurality of carts, each cart having one wheel in a first side controlled by a first motor and a second wheel in a second side controlled by a second motor, enabling the hydrodynamic body to move along the hull of the ship (surface of the foot 10 resting against the hull is smooth or may have rollers to reduce the friction even further for moving along the hull, see at least, ¶ 42, Freyer), and wherein the at least two mechanical fingers are located in line with the length of the hydrodynamic body (Fig. 2 depicts that each wing shaped foil is parallel to the body of the robot and the hull, see at least, ¶42 and 45, Freyer) and/or on a downstream side of each of a wheelhouse of each cart, and/or on a top side of the cart, which is furthest from the ship's hull, and wherein the dynamic wings are located at each side of each cart of the hydrodynamic body. R1Claim (see at least, ¶X, Ref1).
Freyer in view of Loefler does not explicitly teach wherein the hydrodynamic body comprises a plurality of carts, each cart having one wheel in a first side controlled by a first motor and a second wheel in a second side controlled by a second motor and wherein the dynamic wings are located at each side of each cart of the hydrodynamic body.
Rodocker, directed to an apparatus and method for searching or inspecting the hull of a ship teaches, wherein the hydrodynamic body comprises a plurality of carts, each cart having one wheel in a first side controlled by a first motor and a second wheel in a second side controlled by a second motor (Fig. 2 depicts 4 wheels 17 independently coupled to the electric motors 13, see at least, ¶54, Rodocker) and wherein the dynamic wings are located at each side of each cart of the hydrodynamic body (Fig .3B depicts thrusters 15 located on each side of the vehicle, see at least, ¶55, Rodocker).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the rollers of Freyer in view of Loefler to incorporate the teachings of Rodocker which teaches a plurality of carts, each cart having one wheel in a first side controlled by a first motor and a second wheel in a second side controlled by a second motor and wherein the dynamic wings are located at each side of each cart of the hydrodynamic body since they are both related to apparatus for inspecting a hull of a ship and incorporation of the teachings of Rodocker improve the methods of examining the hull of a ship without requiring the services of a diver.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freyer; Rune (US 20220212764 A1) in view of Loefler; Thomas et al. (US 20260175788 A1) as applied to claims 1, 4-5, 7-8 and 11-12 and further in view of Smith; Fraser M. (US 9038557 B2)
Regarding Claim 3, Freyer in view of Loefler teaches, the system of claim 1.
Freyer in view of Loefler does not explicitly teach wherein the hydrodynamic body is adhered to the ship with magnets and with forces generated by a passive hydrodynamic design of the hydrodynamic body.
Smith, directed to a hull robot teaches, wherein the hydrodynamic body is adhered to the ship with magnets and with forces generated by a passive hydrodynamic design of the hydrodynamic body (Fig .5 depicts an endless belt 34 over rollers 50a and 50b which includes magnetic material that passively secures the robot to the hull of the vessel, see at least, Col 5 Line 45-51, Smith).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Freyer in view of Loefler to incorporate the teachings of Smith which teaches wherein the hydrodynamic body is adhered to the ship with magnets and with forces generated by a passive hydrodynamic design of the hydrodynamic body since they are both related to hull cleaning robots and incorporation of the teachings of Smith would increase the energy efficiency of the vessel.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freyer; Rune (US 20220212764 A1) in view of Loefler; Thomas et al. (US 20260175788 A1) as applied to claims 1, 4-5, 7-8 and 11-12 and further in view of Conboy; Michael R. (US 4676183 A).
Regarding Claim 6, Freyer in view of Loefler teaches, the system of claim 1.
Freyer in view of Loefler does not explicitly teach wherein when the mechanical fingers are deployed, the trailing edge rises against the water current to position the mechanical fingers at an angle between 0 and 90 degrees.
Conboy, directed to an apparatus for positioning a submersible relative to a towing vehicle teaches, wherein when the mechanical fingers are deployed, the trailing edge rises against the water current to position the mechanical fingers at an angle between 0 and 90 degrees (the angle of attack of a wing or foil may be equal to -25 degrees which depending on the reference is equal to +25 degrees which is between 0 and 90 degrees, see at least, ¶Col 3 line 51 – Col 4 line 2, Conboy).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Freyer in view of Loefler to incorporate the teachings of Conboy which teaches the trailing edge rises against the water current to position the mechanical fingers at an angle between 0 and 90 degrees since they are both related to hydrodynamic submersibles and incorporation of the teachings of Conboy would increase stability of towed submersible.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freyer; Rune (US 20220212764 A1) in view of Loefler; Thomas et al. (US 20260175788 A1) as applied to claims 1, 4-5, 7-8 and 11-12 and further in view of RaceGrade Inertial Measurement Unit – IMU (datasheet attached).
Regarding Claim 9, Freyer in view of Loefler teaches, the system of claim 1.
Freyer in view of Loefler does not explicitly teach wherein the IMU sensor provides differences in the direction of the hydrodynamic body at a resolution of 0.001 deg.
Race Grade, directed to Inertial Measurement Units teaches, wherein the IMU sensor provides differences in the direction of the hydrodynamic body at a resolution of 0.001 deg (IMU datasheet of resolution of 0.001 degrees, see at least, Page 1, RaceGrade).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Freyer in view of Loefler to incorporate the teachings of RaceGrade which teaches wherein the IMU sensor provides differences in the direction of the hydrodynamic body at a resolution of 0.001 deg since Loefler utilizes IMUs and and incorporation of the teachings of RaceGrade would increase the resolution accuracy of the IMU sensor readings.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freyer; Rune (US 20220212764 A1) in view of Loefler; Thomas et al. (US 20260175788 A1) as applied to claims 1, 4-5, 7-8 and 11-12 and further in view of Opperman; Anthony et al. (US 11585660 B1).
Regarding Claim 10, Freyer in view of Loefler teaches, the system of claim 1.
Freyer in view of Loefler does not explicitly teach wherein the IMU sensor's sample rate is 400 samples/second.
Opperman, directed to inertial measurement units teaches, wherein the IMU sensor's sample rate is 400 samples/second (preferably, the IMU measures at frequencies up to 400 samples per second, see at least, ¶Col 21 line 12 – Col 21, line 14, Opperman).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Freyer in view of Loefler IMU to incorporate the teachings of Opperman which teaches wherein the IMU sensor's sample rate is 400 samples/second since Loefler teaches the use of an IMU and incorporation of the teachings of Opperman would improve sensor survivability and performance, Opperman, Col 2, line 62-65.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freyer; Rune (US 20220212764 A1) in view of Loefler; Thomas et al. (US 20260175788 A1) as applied to claims 1, 4-5, 7-8 and 11-12 and further in view of Mubaslat; Saed et al. (US 20250183830 A1).
Regarding Claim 14, Freyer in view of Loefler teaches, the method of claim 12, wherein when the controller receives from the motor consumption sensor a signal that the motor consumption of electrical current is above a predetermined range, the controller instructs each mechanical finger to open and close at a fluttering movement at a certain frequency which creates a lift force such that the adhesion force is reduced and the friction on the relative wheel is reduced; and wherein when the controller receives from the motor consumption sensor a signal that the motor consumption of electrical current is below a predetermined range, the controller instructs each mechanical finger and/or dynamic wing to open in an angle creating a down force such that the adhesion force is increased and the friction on the relative wheel is increased to eliminate sliding and disconnection of the hydrodynamic body from the ship.R1Claim (if the force generated by the foils is too low, the efficiency of cleaning is reduced or the robot may deviate from adherence to the hull, if the force is too high, the friction between the robot and the hull may be too high and movement may be reduced or stopped. The foils may be adjusted by a remotely controllable actuator, see at least, ¶45-47, Freyer).
Freyer in view of Loefler does not explicitly teach controller receives from the motor consumption sensor a signal that the motor consumption of electrical current is above a predetermined range and wherein when the controller receives from the motor consumption sensor a signal that the motor consumption of electrical current is below a predetermined range .
Mubaslat, directed to motor control systems teaches, controller receives from the motor consumption sensor a signal that the motor consumption of electrical current is above a predetermined range and wherein when the controller receives from the motor consumption sensor a signal that the motor consumption of electrical current is below a predetermined range (the current state of the motor is measured and compared to the targeted state of the motor, so that when the measure speed of the motor is less than the commanded speed for the motor, the control module increases the regulated output voltage to increase the current supplied to the motor and vice versa, see at least, ¶41, Mubaslat).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Fryer in view of Loefler to incorporate the teachings of Mubaslat which teaches controller receives from the motor consumption sensor a signal that the motor consumption of electrical current is above a predetermined range and wherein when the controller receives from the motor consumption sensor a signal that the motor consumption of electrical current is below a predetermined range since they are both related to controlling vehicles and incorporation of the teachings of Mubaslat would improve efficiency by reducing or minimizing switching losses relative to varying the duty cycles or otherwise adjusting operation of the transistors of the phase legs (Mubaslat, paragraph 41).
Conclusion
/IRENE C KHUU/
Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/RACHID BENDIDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664