DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in the current application.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment of 8/25/26 does not render the application allowable.
Status of the Rejections
The rejections under 35 USC 112 are withdrawn.
The rejection of claims 1-8 under 35 USC 103 are withdrawn.
The rejection of claim 19 under 35 USC 103 is withdrawn in view of the instant amendment to the claim.
All other rejections from the previous office action are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao in view of Wuwen (US 20070196563) and Yi (US 20090078570).
As to claim 9, Yao discloses a sputtering target assembly comprising:
A powder metallurgy Co-Ta alloy (English translation abstract: co-ta alloy target from powder).
Yao, while disclosing a Co-Ta target, is silent as to its density and a backing plate and interlayer structure.
Wuwen discloses a sputtering target from hot pressing powders, the target including tantalum and cobalt (abstract). Wuwen discloses knowledge in the art of obtaining high relative densities, including values over 98%, because high densities allows for targets with improved sputtering characteristics during use (paragraph 36).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a target with a high density, as disclosed by Wuwen, in the structure of Yao, because this allows for a target with improved sputtering characteristics.
Yi discloses a target and backing plate structure in which a metal alloy target, including alloys of tantalum and cobalt (paragraph 21) is bonded to a copper alloy backing plate (paragraph 25: copper alloy including CuCrNiSi for backing plate) with copper layers provided on the target and backing plates bonding surfaces (claim 16: target and backing plate with first and second bonding surfaces, and cu plated onto each bonding surface; figure 1: target 14, backing 12, and interlayer [cu] 16) and the target and backing plate are diffusion bonded (paragraph 53: plating interlayer and subsequent diffusion bonding of target and backing plate). Yi discloses the target and backing structure with interlayer and diffusion bonding allowing for a high strength bond (abstract: 20 ksi bond strength or greater), the backing plate allowing for mounting and holding the target in a deposition chamber as desired (paragraph 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an interlayer and diffusion bonded structure, as disclosed by Yi, with the target of Yao, because this allows for formation of a high strength bonded target and backing plate for mounting the target within the chamber.
As to claim 10-11, Yao discloses the target comprising 0.5-24.9 at% tantalum and remainder cobalt, with specific examples including 11% (English translation ‘contents of the invention’ section paragraph 9: Ta content 8-16 at% Ta, remainder cobalt; table 1, third column [10.98%]).
As to claim 12, Wuwen, as discussed above, discloses knowledge in the art of obtaining ‘greater than 98%’ theoretical density and knowledge in the art of improved sputtering characteristics from high density targets. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to obtain 99% or greater theoretical density as Wuwen discloses obtaining greater than 98% theoretical density and provides the motivation for obtaining higher values.
Claim(s) 13-16 and 18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao in view of Wu (US 20240229225).
As to claim 13, Yao discloses a method of forming a sputtering assembly comprising 8-16% Ta and remainder Co and impurities (English translation abstract and ‘contents of the invention’ section paragraph 9: Ta content 8-16 at% Ta, remainder cobalt).
Yao, while disclosing a Co-Ta target, is silent as a backing plate and interlayer structure formation method.
Wu discloses a method of forming a target and backing plate structure with improved physical strength and matched thermal properties (abstract; paragraphs 8-10), the structure formed by diffusion bonding the target to a first copper layer (figure 4: step 54) and then diffusion bonding the target and copper interlayer structure to a copper alloy backing plate (figure 4: step 56), the first and second steps occurring at relative high and low temperatures (paragraph 51: first [54] diffusion bonding step at 700-1000°C; paragraph 30: second pressing step at 300-400°C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the target and backing bonding method of Wu, with the target of Yao, because this allows for formation of an improved high strength target and backing plate structure.
As to claim 14, Yao discloses 8-16% Ta and remainder Co and impurities, as discussed above with specific examples including 11% Ta (table 1, third column [10.98%]).
As to claim 15, Wu discloses a bond strength over 10 ksi (paragraph 57).
As to claim 16, Yao and Wu disclose formation of a sputtering target and sputtering target and backing plate structure. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the target in the desired sputtering process, including a 10kw power.
As to claim 18, Wu discloses plating a copper layer prior to diffusion bonding the second copper layer to the plated target (figure 4: first step 52 of forming adhesion layer on target; paragraph 46-47: adhesion layer is copper; paragraph 31: forming adhesion layer on target by plating).
As to claim 20, Wu discloses oxygen free layers (paragraph 47-48).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao in view of Wu, as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Yi (US 20080197017).
As to claim 17, Yao in view of Wu discloses a CoTa metal alloy target with a bonding method to bond a target to copper interlayer and backing structure, but is silent as to the target’s average grain size.
Yi discloses a target and backing plate structure in which a metal alloy target, including alloys of tantalum and cobalt (paragraph 21) is bonded to a copper alloy backing plate (paragraph 25: copper alloy including CuCrNiSi for backing plate) with copper layers provided on the target and backing plates bonding surfaces (claim 16: target and backing plate with first and second bonding surfaces, and cu plated onto each bonding surface; figure 1: target 14, backing 12, and interlayer [cu] 16) and the target and backing plate are diffusion bonded (paragraph 53). Yi also discloses knowledge in the art of controlling grain sizes within the target to under 80 micron (abstract) as larger grain sizes within a target to lead to problems during sputter deposition (paragraph 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a low average grain size within a target, as disclosed by Yi, in the method of Yao in view of Wu, because his allows for an improved sputter deposition process when using the target.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 1-8 allowed.
Claim 1 requires a specific composition Co-Ta sputtering target formed by a specific technique, the technique not taught by the prior art as argued in the response to the previous office action.
Claim 19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 19 requires specific phase structure for the Co-Ta target not disclosed by the prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-8 have been generally accepted and the rejection under 35 USC 103 of these claims have been withdrawn.
Applicant argues in the remarks that the rejection of claim 9 (and therefore the claims that depend from claim 9) is improper for similar reasons as to those provided with respect to claim 1. This argument is not found persuasive as claim 9, unlike claim 1, is directed towards a product claim. While it is not improper to provide ‘method’ type steps within a product claim directed towards how the product is created/formed, these method steps do not differentiate the product from prior art when the structure of the product is not different from that of the prior art. Therefore, the arguments as to the specific precursor powders and their compositions is not enough to differentiate the product of claim 9 from the prior art teaching of a product with the same claimed composition and same claimed properties.
Applicant’s arguments attacking the individual references as applied to claim 9 are also not found persuasive. While it is true each individual reference does not teach the entirety of claim 9, it is the combination of references which is relied upon. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant argues in the remarks that Yao is not applicable to the instant claims as it is not directed towards formation of a sputtering target. This is not found persuasive as the English translation abstract explicitly discloses that the powder alloy being formed is for a sputtering target material. Therefore, it is unclear how it would not be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use to powder of Yao to form a sputtering target, as explicitly disclosed within the English translation abstract, especially in combination with the other relied upon references that further provide methods of forming sputtering targets from powder (such as Wuwen).
Applicant argues that there are results of the combined layers of the product of claim 9 that are not taught by the applied references. Merely stating a result not taught by the prior art is not sufficient to show nonobviousness. It is unclear whether Applicant is attempting to claim that there are unexpected results in the structure (an argument that can, in certain situations, be used to overcome obvious type rejections), and no indication of why the combination would not be obvious and has unexpected results is present. Applicant further argues that no reasoning is present for the combination. However, as discussed above, each reference provides explicit reasons for why its target structure is beneficial – specifically improved target structure for improved sputtering and improved bonding structures to prevent breaking and/or cracking.
Applicant argues in the remarks, with respect to claim 13, that Wu is not properly used within the obviousness type rejection as it provides different materials for the target than the references it is combined with (specifically Yao). This argument is not found persuasive as it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to try disclosed beneficial bonding techniques with other similar materials – including other composition metal sputtering targets. Nothing within Wu teaches away from its bonding technique being applicable in other similar circumstances and therefore would lead one of ordinary skill in the art to apply it in other situations. Applicant’s arguments are therefore not found persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON BERMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794