DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to communications filed 06/29/2026. Claims 1, 3-5, 7-10 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that Hamza does not teach encoding timed point cloud data, first file including multiple tracks… encoding non-timed point cloud data, encapsulating …in a second file. The applicant argues that Hamza disclose a single file in paragraph 0075.
In response to the argument the examiner respectfully disagrees. Hamza discloses ISOBMFF may be based on the concept of box-structured files (Page 8, paragraph 0074). Hamza discloses timed meta data track separated from the main V-PCC track (paragraph 0117). Hamza discloses wherein one or more tracks belonging to a playout track group in the multiple tracks include a playout track group box with a track group identifier related to the playout track group (Page 8, paragraph 0070-0073, Page 9, paragraph 0077, 0078, Page 10, paragraph 0081-0086, Page 15, paragraph 0114, 0116, 0117, Page 18, paragraph 0131, Page 20, paragraph 0143-0145), and wherein the one or more tracks belonging to the playout track group are played out together (Page 8-9, paragraph 0074, 0075, 0079, component Group box in a TrackGroupBoxPage 12, paragraph 0105-0106, claim 24, Page 1, paragraph 0003, Page 13, paragraph 0109, Page 7-8, paragraph 0070-0073, Page 9, paragraph 0077, 0078, Page 10, paragraph 0081-0086, Page 15, paragraph 0114, 0116, 0117, Page 20, paragraph 0143, Abstract). Hamza discloses encoding and encapsulating non-timed point cloud data and encapsulating point cloud data (Page 8, paragraph 0074, 0075, timed metadata track, Page 15, paragraph 0114, 0117 – non-timed point cloud data signaled in main V-PCC track, instead of separate timed metadata track), Page 8, paragraph 0070-0073, Page 9, paragraph 0077, 0078, Page 10, paragraph 0081-0086, Page 1, paragraph 0003, Page 20, paragraph 0143).
It is noted that there is a new matter rejection for encoded timed point cloud data and multiple files that are transmitted. The examiner is providing an art rejection based on the description provided in the instant application’s specification of timed metadata tracks. It is also noted that if paragraph 0360 discloses decapsulating files according to ISOBMFF then this type of support is also found in paragraph 0074 of Hamza.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-10 recite encoding timed point cloud data and encapsulating the timed point cloud data in a first file and the first file includes multiple tracks…encoded timed point cloud data….transmitting the first file, encoding non-timed point cloud data…encapsulating the non-timed point cloud data in a second file ….transmitting the second file.
The specification does not explicitly state timed point cloud data. The specification recites that timed metadata tracks and non-timed point cloud data. The specification does not state encoding separate files for timed point cloud data versus non-timed point cloud data (Figures 44 and 45 and corresponding paragraphs). The specification in paragraph 988 recites the file may include timed metadata track and paragraph 0995 recite the file may include non-time volumetric data.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamza et al (US 2022/0329923 and hereafter referred to as “Hamza”) in view of Systems, "Draft Text of ISO/IEC DIS 23090-10 Carriage of Video-based Point Cloud Compression Data,” and hereafter referred to as “Systems”).
Regarding Claim 1, Hamza discloses method of encoding point cloud data by an encoder, the method comprising:
encoding timed point cloud data (Page 7, paragraph 0069-0070, Page 8-9, paragraph 0074, 0075, Page 10, paragraph 0086, Page 15, paragraph 0117 metadata track on a timeline);
encapsulating the timed point cloud data in a first file (Page 8-9, paragraph 0074, 0075, 0077-0078, Page 15, paragraph 0117, Page 18, paragraph 0131, Page 20, paragraph 0143-0145, Figure 6),
wherein the file includes multiple tracks including component tracks including the encoded timed point cloud data and a track including parameter information for the encoded timed point cloud data (Page 8, paragraph 0070-0073, Page 9, paragraph 0077, 0078, Page 10, paragraph 0081-0086, Page 15, paragraph 0114, 0117, Page 18, paragraph 0131, Page 20, paragraph 0143-0145),
wherein one or more tracks belonging to a playout track group in the multiple tracks include a playout track group box with a track group identifier related to the playout track group (Page 8, paragraph 0070-0073, Page 9, paragraph 0077, 0078, Page 10, paragraph 0081-0086, Page 15, paragraph 0114, 0116, 0117, Page 18, paragraph 0131, Page 20, paragraph 0143-0145), and wherein the one or more tracks belonging to the playout track group are played out together (Page 8-9, paragraph 0074, 0075, 0079, component Group box in a TrackGroupBoxPage 12, paragraph 0105-0106, claim 24, Page 1, paragraph 0003, Page 13, paragraph 0109, Page 7-8, paragraph 0070-0073, Page 9, paragraph 0077, 0078, Page 10, paragraph 0081-0086, Page 15, paragraph 0114, 0116, 0117, Page 20, paragraph 0143, Abstract),
transmitting the first file (Page 7, paragraph 0069, 0070, Page 8, paragraph 0074, timed structure of file with tracks includes sequences of files ); and
encoding non-timed point cloud data (Page 15, paragraph 0114, 0117 – signaled in main V-PCC track, instead of separate timed metadata track), Page 8, paragraph 0070-0073, Page 9, paragraph 0077, 0078, Page 10, paragraph 0081-0086, Page 1, paragraph 0003, Page 20, paragraph 0143);
encapsulating the non-timed point cloud data in a second file (Page 15, paragraph 0114, 0117 – signaled in main V-PCC track, instead of separate timed metadata track, Page 8, paragraph 0070-0073, Page 9, paragraph 0077, 0078, Page 10, paragraph 0081-0086, Page 1, paragraph 0003, Page 20, paragraph 0143);
transmitting the second file (Page 7, paragraph 0069, 0070),
Hamza does not explicitly disclose encapsulating the non-timed point cloud data in a second file including one or more items, wherein the one or more items include a playout entity group box with an entity group type related to a playout entity group.
Systems discloses encapsulating the non-timed point cloud data in a second file including one or more items, wherein the one or more items include a playout entity group box with an entity group type related to a playout entity group (Page 21, § 6.4.5.1, Page 22, §6.4.6.3, §7.1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hamza to include the missing limitation as taught by Systems in order to play out specific tracks or items (Page 22, §6.4.6.3.1) as disclosed by Systems.
Regarding Claim 5, Hamza discloses an apparatus, the apparatus comprising:
a memory (Page 20, paragraph 0146); and
a processor connected to the memory (Page 20, paragraph 0146, Claim 42), wherein the processor is configured to:
encode timed point cloud data (Page 7, paragraph 0069-0070, Page 8-9, paragraph 0074, 0075, Page 10, paragraph 0086, Page 15, paragraph 0117 metadata track on a timeline);
encapsulate the timed point cloud data in a first file (Page 8-9, paragraph 0074, 0075, 0077-0078, Page 15, paragraph 0117, Page 18, paragraph 0131, Page 20, paragraph 0143-0145, Figure 6),
wherein the file includes multiple tracks including component tracks including the encoded timed point cloud data and a track including parameter information for the encoded timed point cloud data (Page 8, paragraph 0070-0073, Page 9, paragraph 0077, 0078, Page 10, paragraph 0081-0086, Page 15, paragraph 0114, 0117, Page 18, paragraph 0131, Page 20, paragraph 0143-0145),
wherein one or more tracks belonging to a playout track group in the multiple tracks include a playout track group box with a track group identifier related to the playout track group (Page 8, paragraph 0070-0073, Page 9, paragraph 0077, 0078, Page 10, paragraph 0081-0086, Page 15, paragraph 0114, 0116, 0117, Page 18, paragraph 0131, Page 20, paragraph 0143-0145), and wherein the one or more tracks belonging to the playout track group are played out together (Page 8-9, paragraph 0074, 0075, 0079, component Group box in a TrackGroupBoxPage 12, paragraph 0105-0106, claim 24, Page 1, paragraph 0003, Page 13, paragraph 0109, Page 7-8, paragraph 0070-0073, Page 9, paragraph 0077, 0078, Page 10, paragraph 0081-0086, Page 15, paragraph 0114, 0116, 0117, Page 20, paragraph 0143, Abstract),
transmit the first file (Page 7, paragraph 0069, 0070, Page 8, paragraph 0074, timed structure of file with tracks includes sequences of files ); and
encode non-timed point cloud data (Page 15, paragraph 0114, 0117 – signaled in main V-PCC track, instead of separate timed metadata track), Page 8, paragraph 0070-0073, Page 9, paragraph 0077, 0078, Page 10, paragraph 0081-0086, Page 1, paragraph 0003, Page 20, paragraph 0143);
encapsulate the non-timed point cloud data in a second file (Page 15, paragraph 0114, 0117 – signaled in main V-PCC track, instead of separate timed metadata track, Page 8, paragraph 0070-0073, Page 9, paragraph 0077, 0078, Page 10, paragraph 0081-0086, Page 1, paragraph 0003, Page 20, paragraph 0143);
transmit the second file (Page 7, paragraph 0069, 0070),
Hamza does not explicitly disclose encapsulating the non-timed point cloud data in a second file including one or more items, wherein the one or more items include a playout entity group box with an entity group type related to a playout entity group.
Systems discloses encapsulating the non-timed point cloud data in a second file including one or more items, wherein the one or more items include a playout entity group box with an entity group type related to a playout entity group (Page 21, § 6.4.5.1, Page 22, §6.4.6.3, §7.1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hamza to include the missing limitation as taught by Systems in order to play out specific tracks or items (Page 22, §6.4.6.3.1) as disclosed by Systems.
Regarding Claim 2, Hamza discloses all the limitations of Claim 1. Hamza discloses wherein the file includes a box for representing at least one item to be played together (Page 8-9, paragraph 0074, 0075, Page 12, paragraph 0105-0106, Page 1, paragraph 0003, Page 13, paragraph 0109, Page 7-8, paragraph 0070-0073, Page 9, paragraph 0077, 0078, Page 10, paragraph 0081-0086, Page 15, paragraph 0114, 0116, 0117, Page 20, paragraph 0143, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 3 and 7, Hamza and Systems disclose all the limitations of Claim 1 and 5 respectively. Hamza discloses wherein the playout track group box includes playout control structure information applied to at least one track in the playout group, wherein the playout control structure information includes at least one of playout priority information, playout interaction information, playout position information, or playout orientation information (Figure 3, paragraph 0117, Page 15, paragraph 0114, 0117, Page 8, paragraph 0070-0073, Page 9, paragraph 0077, 0078, Page 10, paragraph 0081-0086, Page 1, paragraph 0003, Page 20, paragraph 0143 – playout position information).
Regarding Claim 9, Hamza discloses a method of decoding point cloud data by a decoder, the method comprising:
receiving a first file including multiple tracks including component tracks including timed point cloud data (Page 8, paragraph 0070-0073, 0074, metadata track on a timeline Page 9, paragraph 0077, 0078, Page 10, paragraph 0081-0086, Page 15, paragraph 0114, 0117, Page 18, paragraph 0131, Page 20, paragraph 0143-0145),
wherein one or more tracks belonging to a playout track group in the multiple tracks include a playout track group box with a track group identifier related to the playout track group, and wherein the one or more tracks belonging to the playout track group are played out together (Page 8, paragraph 0070-0073, Page 9, paragraph 0077, 0078, Page 10, paragraph 0081-0086, component Group box in a TrackGroupBoxPage, Page 15, paragraph 0114, 0116, 0117, Page 18, paragraph 0131, Page 20, paragraph 0143-0145, claim 24, Page 1, paragraph 0003, Page 13, paragraph 0109, Page 8, paragraph 0070-0073); and
decapsulating the first file (Page 12, paragraph 0100-0105, 0106, Page 13, paragraph 0110); and
decoding timed point cloud data (Page 7, paragraph 0069-0070, Page 16-17, paragraph 0123);
receiving a second file (Page 8, paragraph 0070-0073, Page 9, paragraph 0077, 0078, Page 10, paragraph 0081-0086, Page 15, paragraph 0114, 0117, P– signaled in main V-PCC track, instead of separate timed metadata track, Page 18, paragraph 0131, Page 20, paragraph 0143-0145);
decapsulating the second file (Page 12, paragraph 0100-0105, 0106, Page 13, paragraph 0110, Page 15, paragraph 0114, 0117 – signaled in main V-PCC track, instead of separate timed metadata track,); and
decoding the non-timed point cloud data based on the second file (Page 7, paragraph 0069-0070, Page 16-17, paragraph 0123).
Hamza does not explicitly disclose the non-timed point cloud data in a second file including one or more items, wherein the one or more items include a playout entity group box with an entity group type related to a playout entity group.
Systems discloses the non-timed point cloud data in a second file including one or more items, wherein the one or more items include a playout entity group box with an entity group type related to a playout entity group (Page 21, § 6.4.5.1, Page 22, §6.4.6.3, §7.1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hamza to include the missing limitation as taught by Systems in order to play out specific tracks or items (Page 22, §6.4.6.3.1) as disclosed by Systems.
Regarding Claim 10, Hamza discloses an apparatus, the apparatus comprising:
a memory (Page 3, paragraph 0030, Page 20, paragraph 0146); and
a processor connected to the memory (Page 3, paragraph 0030, Page 20, paragraph 0146), wherein the processor is configured to:
receive a first file including multiple tracks including component tracks including timed point cloud data (Page 8, paragraph 0070-0073, 0074, metadata track on a timeline Page 9, paragraph 0077, 0078, Page 10, paragraph 0081-0086, Page 15, paragraph 0114, 0117, Page 18, paragraph 0131, Page 20, paragraph 0143-0145),
wherein one or more tracks belonging to a playout track group in the multiple tracks include a playout track group box with a track group identifier related to the playout track group, and wherein the one or more tracks belonging to the playout track group are played out together (Page 8, paragraph 0070-0073, Page 9, paragraph 0077, 0078, Page 10, paragraph 0081-0086, component Group box in a TrackGroupBoxPage, Page 15, paragraph 0114, 0116, 0117, Page 18, paragraph 0131, Page 20, paragraph 0143-0145, claim 24, Page 1, paragraph 0003, Page 13, paragraph 0109, Page 8, paragraph 0070-0073); and
decapsulate the first file (Page 12, paragraph 0100-0105, 0106, Page 13, paragraph 0110); and
decode timed point cloud data (Page 7, paragraph 0069-0070, Page 16-17, paragraph 0123);
receive a second file (Page 8, paragraph 0070-0073, Page 9, paragraph 0077, 0078, Page 10, paragraph 0081-0086, Page 15, paragraph 0114, 0117, P– signaled in main V-PCC track, instead of separate timed metadata track, Page 18, paragraph 0131, Page 20, paragraph 0143-0145);
decapsulate the second file (Page 12, paragraph 0100-0105, 0106, Page 13, paragraph 0110, Page 15, paragraph 0114, 0117 – signaled in main V-PCC track, instead of separate timed metadata track,); and
decode the non-timed point cloud data based on the second file (Page 7, paragraph 0069-0070, Page 16-17, paragraph 0123).
Hamza does not explicitly disclose the non-timed point cloud data in a second file including one or more items, wherein the one or more items include a playout entity group box with an entity group type related to a playout entity group.
Systems discloses the non-timed point cloud data in a second file including one or more items, wherein the one or more items include a playout entity group box with an entity group type related to a playout entity group (Page 21, § 6.4.5.1, Page 22, §6.4.6.3, §7.1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hamza to include the missing limitation as taught by Systems in order to play out specific tracks or items (Page 22, §6.4.6.3.1) as disclosed by Systems.
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamza in view of Systems as applied to claim 3 and 7 above, further in view of Kammachi-Sreedhar et al (US 2021/0201855 and hereafter referred to as “Kammachi”).
Regarding Claim 4 and 8, Hamza and Systems disclose all the limitations of Claim 3 and 7 respectively. Hamza discloses wherein the playout position information includes coordinate information representing a position where the content is played (Page 15, paragraph 0114, 0117, Page 8, paragraph 0070-0073, Page 9, paragraph 0077, 0078, Page 10, paragraph 0081-0086, Page 1, paragraph 0003, Page 20, paragraph 0143). Hamza does not explicitly disclose the remaining limitations. Kammachi discloses wherein the playout priority information includes information representing a decoding priority of content of the timed point cloud data associated with the playout control structure information (Page 14, paragraph 0189, Page 3-4, paragraph 0041), wherein the playout interaction information includes: information representing whether a user is allowed to change a position of the content (Page 10, paragraph 0120); information representing whether the user is allowed to switch on/off the play of the content (Page 10, paragraph 0120); information representing whether the user is allowed to change an opacity of the content (Page 10, paragraph 0120; information representing whether the user is allowed to resize the content (Page 10, paragraph 0120); and information representing whether the user is allowed to rotate the content (Page 10, paragraph 0120), wherein the playout position information includes coordinate information representing a position where the content is played (Page 10, paragraph 0120), wherein the playout orientation information includes information representing a type of orientation in which the content is played (Page 7, paragraph 0079-0081). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the invention to modify the combination to include the missing limitations as taught by Kammachi in order to support overlays and user interaction with overlays (Page 1, paragraph 0005) as disclosed by Kammachi.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FARZANA HOSSAIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482
July 16, 2026