DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final, first office action on the merits. Claims 2-21 are pending. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over respective corresponding Claims 1-18 of Patent No. 12,367,472 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current application claims as mapped above can be anticipated by the reference application claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. Specifically, claims 2-21 are directed to an abstract idea without additional elements amounting to significantly more than the abstract idea.
With respect to Step 2A Prong One of the framework, claims 2, 13, and 20 recite an abstract idea. Claims 2, 13, and 20 include “forming a group of Self-Service Terminals (SSTs) based on locations associated with the SSTs; obtaining current media levels for each SST within the group of SSTs; predicting future media needs for each SST based on the current media levels and historical transaction data; attempting to balance media distribution across the group of SSTs by directing potential depositors to specific SSTs within the group of SSTs; providing media levels for each SST within the group of SSTs; monitoring media levels at a plurality of Self-Service Terminals (SSTs); generating a predictive model that forecasts future media needs for each SST based on historical transaction data and external factors; creating a customized media management plan for each SST that identifies optimal media levels over a specified time period; implementing the customized media management plan by controlling deposit and withdrawal operations at specific SSTs; providing visualizes current media levels, predicted media needs, and an effectiveness of the customized media management plan; a data store containing historical transaction data for each SST; monitor current media levels at each SST; predict future media requirements for each SST based on the historical transaction data and external factors; generate a media optimization strategy that balances media distribution across the plurality of SSTs; implement the media optimization strategy by controlling deposit and withdrawal operations at specific SSTs; and provide a visualization that displays media levels and predicted media needs for each SST”.
The limitations above recite an abstract idea under Step 2A Prong One. More particularly, the elements above recite mental processes-concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) and certain method of organizing human activities-commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations) because the elements describe a process for providing a visualization that displays media levels. As a result, claims 2, 13, and 20 recite an abstract idea under Step 2A Prong One.
Claims 2-12, 14-19, and 21 further describe the process for providing a visualization that displays media levels. As a result, claims 2-12, 14-19, and 21 recite an abstract idea under Step 2A Prong One for the same reasons as stated above with respect to claims 2, 13, and 20.
With respect to Step 2A Prong Two of the framework, claims 2, 13, and 20 do not include additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Claims 2, 13, and 20 include additional elements that do not recite an abstract idea under Step 2A Prong One. The additional elements of claims 2, 13, and 20 include a server, a processor, a memory, an interactive visualization interface, and a real-time. When considered in view of the claim as a whole, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the additional computing elements are generic computing elements that are merely used as a tool to perform the recited abstract idea. As a result, claims 2, 13, and 20 do not include additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application under Step 2A Prong Two.
Claims 3-6, 8-10, 14-18, and 21 do not include any additional elements beyond those recited with respect to claims 2, 13, and 20. As a result, claims 3-6, 8-10, 14-18, and 21 do not include additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application under Step 2A Prong Two for the same reasons as stated above with respect to claims 2, 13, and 20.
Claims 7, 11-12, and 19 include additional elements that do not recite an abstract idea under Step 2A Prong One. The additional elements of claims 7, 11-12, and 19 include interactive visualization interface, monitoring real-time, and real-time interactive dashboard. When considered in view of the claims as a whole, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the additional computing elements do no more than generally link the use of the recited abstract idea to a particular technological environment. As a result, claims 7, 11-12, and 19 do not include additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application under Step 2A Prong Two.
With respect to Step 2B of the framework, claims 2, 13, and 20 do not include additional elements amounting to significantly more than the abstract idea. As noted above, claims 2, 13, and 20 include additional elements that do not recite an abstract idea under Step 2A Prong One. The additional elements of claims 2, 13, and 20 include a server, a processor, a memory, an interactive visualization interface, and a real-time. The additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional computing elements are generic computing elements that are merely used as a tool to perform the recited abstract idea. Further, looking at the additional elements as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when considering the additional elements individually. As a result, independent claims 2, 13, and 20 do not include additional elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea under Step 2B.
Claims 3-6, 8-10, 14-18, and 21 do not include any additional elements beyond those recited with respect to claims 2, 13, and 20. As a result, claims 3-6, 8-10, 14-18, and 21 do not include additional elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea under Step 2B for the same reasons as stated above with respect to claims 2, 13, and 20.
Claims 7, 11-12, and 19 include additional elements that do not recite an abstract idea under Step 2A Prong One. The additional elements of claims 7, 11-12, and 19 include interactive visualization interface, monitoring real-time, and real-time interactive dashboard. The additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional computing elements do no more than generally link the use of the recited abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Further, looking at the additional elements as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when considering the additional elements individually. As a result, claims 7, 11-12, and 19 do not include additional elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea under Step 2B.
Therefore, the claims are directed to an abstract idea without additional elements amounting to significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5-6, 9-10, 13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hurwitz et al. (US Pub No. 2006/0065717) (hereinafter Hurwitz et al.) in view of McKenna et al. (US Pub No. 2015/0348183) (hereinafter McKenna et al.).
Regarding claim 2, Hurwitz discloses a method comprising:
forming a group of Self-Service Terminals (SSTs) based on locations associated with the SSTs (see Hurwitz, para [0101], wherein large retailers to also have self-service payment facilities….vending machines may also be considered to be self-service payment. In addition to both these the retailer may also allow for payment of other services via automatic teller machines or the like. Such other services may include banking deposits);
obtaining current media levels for each SST within the group of SSTs (see Hurwitz, paras [0233] & [0239], wherein obtain the current inventory of a particular device as well as transaction history including lane and/or cashier, coin dispensed and total dispensed….it can calculate the current inventory levels of such a device by decrementing the known…..dispensing cash media, such terminals of the POS terminal or otherwise situated in a retail establishment);
predicting future media needs for each SST based on the current media levels and historical transaction data (see Hurwitz, para [0411], wherein monitoring the payment media inflow and outflow of a till over a period of time, it is possible to predict the probable start fund. Such forecasting applications have been developed for ATM cash management and cash management in the wider financial markets; and paras [0233] & [0239], wherein obtain the current inventory of a particular device as well as transaction history including lane and/or cashier, coin dispensed and total dispensed….it can calculate the current inventory levels of such a device by decrementing the known);
attempting to balance media distribution across the group of SSTs by directing potential depositors to specific SSTs within the group of SSTs (see Hurwitz, para [0411], wherein monitoring the payment media inflow and outflow of a till over a period of time, it is possible to predict the probable start fund. Such forecasting applications have been developed for ATM cash management and cash management in the wider financial markets; and para [0468], wherein more than one apparatus is present and they are networked either directly or via a host, a more versatile situation can be envisaged….Here if the apparatus at which the request was made is unable to meet the user's needs, it may direct the user to another apparatus); and
providing (a user) interface that displays real-time media levels for each SST within the group of SSTs (see Hurwitz, para [0302], wherein payment media management software generates triggering events through a user interface or
otherwise which will alert store personnel to the need for refilling or replenishing the various media dispensing devices thus avoiding the need to physically check such devices on a periodic basis. With such real time oversight, the replenishment of such devices can be done on a predictable basis to avoid the relatively random approach now followed by retailers which gives rise to interruptions at the various registers to the inconvenience and delay of customers; and paras [0233] & [0239], wherein obtain the current inventory of a particular device as well as transaction history including lane and/or cashier, coin dispensed and total dispensed….it can calculate the current inventory levels of such a device by decrementing the known).
Hurwitz et al. fails to explicitly disclose providing an interactive visualization.
Analogous art McKenna discloses providing an interactive visualization interface (see McKenna, paras [0059]-[0060], wherein at 230, the deposit visualizer provides the graphical format as an interactive interface, where the display is a touchscreen display. This was discussed above with reference to the FIGS. 1A-1C…..In an embodiment of 230 and at 240, the deposit visualizer provides visual zoom features within the interactive interface to zoom in and out of particular ones of the items or categories of the currency for more details; para [0071], wherein obtain real-time assistance with the deposit transaction).
Hurwitz directed to a system for determining an inventory amount of the payment media remaining in the payment media dispensing device based on the determined amount of payment media dispensed from the payment media dispensing device. McKenna directed to interface rendered with the visual customer feedback permits the customer to review, edit, accept, or abort the transaction. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Hurwitz, regarding the System for Managing Payment media, to have included providing an interactive visualization interface that displays real-time media levels for each SST within the group of SSTs because both inventions teach improving customer’s experience. Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 5, Hurwitz discloses the method of claim 2, wherein predicting further includes using business operating hours of businesses proximate to the SSTs to determine peak transaction periods for each SST (see Hurwitz, para [0279], wherein operational and non-operational hours, thereby validating and permitting operation of day-to-day activity of the payment media handling system; and paras [0050]-[0052], wherein reduce Time to Refill or Replenish Payment Media Dispensing Devices….where a high number of transactions are to take place, for example express lanes).
Regarding claim 6, Hurwitz discloses the method of claim 2, wherein attempting to balance media distribution further includes sending incentive offers to specific customers based on their historical deposit patterns (see Hurwitz, para [0186], wherein coupons are generally accounted for at point of sale and no further processing carried out within the retailer. Coupons are collected together and then sent to either a specialist coupon processor or a manufacturer who redeems the value of the coupons. The retailer will take no further action unless significant discrepancies are identified between the expected value of coupon receipts and that received through the redemption process).
Regarding claim 9, Hurwitz discloses the method of claim 2 further comprising:
receiving a scheduled instruction from a business associated with a specific SST to disable deposit operations during non-business hours (see Hurwitz, para [0379], wherein cash registers for one or more retail operations, lists of breakdowns of money denominations and/or bank deposits; starting inventories of tills; lists of POS transactions associated with tills; etc. For example, the payment media handling system may include a calendar of operational and non-operational days, and operational and non-operational hours, thereby validating and permitting operation of day-to-day activity of the payment media handling system).
Regarding claim 10, Hurwitz discloses the method of claim 2 further comprising:
dynamically adjusting predicted optimal media levels for the group of SSTs when one SST within the group of SSTs becomes unavailable for deposits (see Hurwitz, paras [0163] & [0507]-[0508], wherein the current MDCD denomination levels by the denomination splits determined in step 1404 so as to provide updated levels of inventory in a given MDCD device, step 1410. In step 1412 the media tracking software compares the new MDCD level to see if it exceeds the minimum threshold levels as available in stored data 1406. If in fact the updated MDCD level does exceed the minimum threshold, the process continues the decrementing of that level through further application of step 1410 to subsequent transactions. If the comparison step of 1412 indicates that the then MDCD denominational level for any given unit no longer exceeds the minimum threshold level, then a suitable alert is generated in step 1414 accessible through the user interface, to indicate the need to replenish the indicated denomination at the specific MDCD).
Regarding claim 13, Hurwitz discloses a method, comprising:
monitoring media levels at a plurality of Self-Service Terminals (SSTs) (see Hurwitz, paras [0411] & [0450], wherein By monitoring the bank deposit process, it is possible to minimize the need to empty, deplete or restock the payment media handling apparatus…..monitoring the payment media inflow and outflow of a till over a period of time, it is possible to predict the probable start fund. Such forecasting applications have been developed for ATM cash management and cash management in the wider financial markets; and paras [0233] & [0239], wherein obtain the current inventory of a particular device as well as transaction history including lane and/or cashier, coin dispensed and total dispensed….it can calculate the current inventory levels of such a device by decrementing the known);
generating a predictive model that forecasts future media needs for each SST based on historical transaction data and external factors (see Hurwitz, para [0411], wherein monitoring the payment media inflow and outflow of a till over a period of time, it is possible to predict the probable start fund. Such forecasting applications have been developed for ATM cash management and cash management in the wider financial markets; [0392]-[0395] number of factors, including Size and location of retailer. Time of day, week, year. Type of till; and paras [0233] & [0239], wherein obtain the current inventory of a particular device as well as transaction history including lane and/or cashier, coin dispensed and total dispensed….it can calculate the current inventory levels of such a device by decrementing the known);
creating a customized media management plan for each SST that identifies optimal media levels over a specified time period (see Hurwitz, paras [0449]-[0450], wherein the bank deposit may be intelligently defined by monitoring activity on the shop floor. If the payment media handling apparatus was networked to the tills, it would be possible to analyze data from the shop floor either real time or over a prolonged period. This data could then be used to determine the optimum bank deposit to allow for not only the start fund issuance, but potential payment media advances and change request running through the next day….By monitoring the bank deposit process, it is possible to minimize the need to empty, deplete or restock the payment media handling apparatus);
implementing the customized media management plan by dynamically controlling deposit and withdrawal operations at specific SSTs (see Hurwitz, paras [0411], [0165], [0518], & [0240] wherein by monitoring the payment media inflow and outflow of a till over a period of time, it is possible to predict the probable start fund. Such forecasting applications have been developed for ATM cash management and cash management in the wider financial markets…One or more devices that allow for automated recycling, where the note and coin provided as change are counted and dispensed as change. Such recycling is usually associated with bills and coin and for the purposes of explaining this invention we will focus on these two types of media……Predict its short falls in various media and anticipate its needs in an automatic way so as to minimize the impact of shortages as they might occur at each of such dispensing devices, thereby eliminating or at least minimizing the interruptions in customer service…..dispenser, and fully automated refund and exchange management is delivered. Once again, POS data can be read to determine the notes and coinage dispensed so as to maintain a real time inventory of media and provide a means for directing the levels of each, sufficient to refill a given device); and
providing a real-time (a user) interface current media levels, predicted media needs, and an effectiveness of the customized media management plan (see Hurwitz, para [0302], wherein payment media management software generates triggering events through a user interface or otherwise which will alert store personnel to the need for refilling or replenishing the various media dispensing devices thus avoiding the need to physically check such devices on a periodic basis. With such real time oversight, the replenishment of such devices can be done on a predictable basis to avoid the relatively random approach now followed by retailers which gives rise to interruptions at the various registers to the inconvenience and delay of customers; and paras [0233] & [0239], wherein obtain the current inventory of a particular device as well as transaction history including lane and/or cashier, coin dispensed and total dispensed….it can calculate the current inventory levels of such a device by decrementing the known).
Hurwitz et al. fails to explicitly disclose providing a real-time interactive dashboard that visualizes.
Analogous art McKenna discloses providing a real-time interactive dashboard that visualizes current media levels (see McKenna, paras [0059]-[0060], wherein at 230, the deposit visualizer provides the graphical format as an interactive interface, where the display is a touchscreen display. This was discussed above with reference to the FIGS. 1A-1C…..In an embodiment of 230 and at 240, the deposit visualizer provides visual zoom features within the interactive interface to zoom in and out of particular ones of the items or categories of the currency for more details; para [0071], wherein obtain real-time assistance with the deposit transaction).
Hurwitz directed to a system for determining an inventory amount of the payment media remaining in the payment media dispensing device based on the determined amount of payment media dispensed from the payment media dispensing device. McKenna directed to interface rendered with the visual customer feedback permits the customer to review, edit, accept, or abort the transaction. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Hurwitz, regarding the System for Managing Payment media, to have included providing a real-time interactive dashboard that visualizes current media levels interface that displays real-time media levels for each SST within the group of SSTs because both inventions teach improving customer’s experience. Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 17, Hurwitz discloses the method of claim 13 further comprising:
analyzing media recycling efficiency at each SST to determine which SSTs most effectively balance deposits and withdrawals without external intervention (see Hurwitz, para [0411], wherein monitoring the payment media inflow and outflow of a till over a period of time, it is possible to predict the probable start fund. Such forecasting applications have been developed for ATM cash management and cash management in the wider financial markets; and para [0207], wherein Such an apparatus allows a float to be held in a recycling device but also allows excess bills or bills for banking to be transferred to deposit containers. Coin can be handled in a similar manner. This device can be configured such that the recycling area only holds the float required for trading, and all excess funds are transferred to the deposit containers substantially immediately after the transaction. For example if any high or unusual denomination notes are accepted they are accepted into the recycling device and then immediately skimmed into a deposit container. Moreover each deposit container is specific to a denomination so the bank deposit is prepared physically. As the physical payment media is been accepted and automatically counted and sorted the till can be reconciled immediately against the EPOS data. Further to this it would also be possible to generate the banking deposit slip in real time for submission with the bank deposit. This could be done on a till by till basis or across several tills. Where several tills are to be deposited under a single banking deposit slip, as it most likely would be for a large retailer, the tills would be networked to a central control PC. The central control PC accepts data generated by all the tills relating to both the EPOS data and the data generated by the counting of the physical media. In the current solution this data will also include details of what volume and value of notes that have been skimmed for bank deposit. For each transaction the central control PC can thus undertake the reconciliation as a first process. If the reconciliation is correct the central control PC can then take the data and update a bank deposit slip to reflect the value and type of media moved into a deposit container….).
Claims 3, 12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hurwitz et al. (US Pub No. 2006/0065717) (hereinafter Hurwitz et al.), in view of McKenna et al. (US Pub No. 2015/0348183) (hereinafter McKenna et al.), and further in view of Licht et al. (US Pub No. 2018/0204424) (hereinafter Licht et al.).
Regarding claim 3, Hurwitz discloses the method of claim 2, wherein forming the group of SSTs, as set forth above with claim 2.
Hurwitz et al. and McKenna et al. combined fail to explicitly disclose includes identifying the SSTs based on a configured proximity threshold between each SST and other SSTs within the group of SSTs.
Analogous art Licht discloses identifying the SSTs based on a configured proximity threshold between each SST and other SSTs within the group of SSTs (see Licht, para [0033], wherein each transmission includes an identifier for the IoT-enabled device that is known to be linked to a specific SST 16 and a specific geographical and physical location of that SST 16; and para [0038], wherein custom groups the SSTs together based on configured parameters, such as physical proximity between the SSTs 14 and/or based on the SSTs 14 being located within a same venue).
Hurwitz directed to a system for determining an inventory amount of the payment media remaining in the payment media dispensing device based on the determined amount of payment media dispensed from the payment media dispensing device. Licht directed to aggregating SST based on the collective real-time metrics for the group. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Hurwitz, regarding the System for Managing Payment Media, to have included identifying the SSTs based on a configured proximity threshold between each SST and other SSTs within the group of SSTs because both inventions teach improving customer’s experience. Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 12, Hurwitz discloses the method of claim 2 further comprising:
monitoring real-time media levels at each SST (see Hurwitz, para [0411], wherein by monitoring the payment media inflow and outflow of a till over a period of time, it is possible to predict the probable start fund. Such forecasting applications have been developed for ATM cash management and cash management in the wider financial markets).
Hurwitz et al. and McKenna et al. combined fail to explicitly disclose automatically redirecting depositors from SSTs with high media levels to SSTs with low media levels through messages displayed on the SSTs.
Analogous art Licht discloses automatically redirecting depositors from SSTs with high media levels to SSTs with low media levels through messages displayed on the SSTs (see Licht, paras [0021] & [0024], wherein the management software automatically configures each SST 14 based upon the operating information received from the SSTs 14 and the physical location of each SST….the management software may further control acceptance and dispensing at individual SSTs 14 by displaying messages on co-located digital signage 18. For example, when cash amounts are running low at one particular SST 14, users may be directed to a different SST 14; and para [0035], wherein the management server 16 also uses the APIs 12 to proactively direct customers to SSTs that have excess cash and proactively steer customers away from SSTs in the group that are running low on cash. This can be achieved by the APIs 12 displaying status information regarding the SSTs 14 on the digital signage 18 physically situated where the group of SSTs 14 are located).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Licht would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system for the same reasons as stated above with respect to claim 3.
Regarding claim 16, Hurwitz discloses the method of claim 13.
Hurwitz et al. and McKenna et al. combined fail to explicitly disclose wherein dynamically controlling deposit and withdrawal operations further includes temporarily redirecting customers to alternative SSTs through mobile application notifications.
Analogous art Licht discloses dynamically controlling deposit and withdrawal operations further includes temporarily redirecting customers to alternative SSTs through mobile application notifications (see Licht, paras [0021] & [0024], wherein the management software automatically configures each SST 14 based upon the operating information received from the SSTs 14 and the physical location of each SST….the management software may further control acceptance and dispensing at individual SSTs 14 by displaying messages on co-located digital signage 18. For example, when cash amounts are running low at one particular SST 14, users may be directed to a different SST 14; and para [0035], wherein the management server 16 also uses the APIs 12 to proactively direct customers to SSTs that have excess cash and proactively steer customers away from SSTs in the group that are running low on cash. This can be achieved by the APIs 12 displaying status information regarding the SSTs 14 on the digital signage 18 physically situated where the group of SSTs 14 are located).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Licht would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system for the same reasons as stated above with respect to claim 3.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hurwitz et al. (US Pub No. 2006/0065717) (hereinafter Hurwitz et al.), in view of McKenna et al. (US Pub No. 2015/0348183) (hereinafter McKenna et al.), and further in view of Calman et al. (US Pub No. 2014/0279490) (hereinafter Calman et al.).
Regarding claim 4, Hurwitz discloses the method of claim 2, wherein predicting further includes using determine optimal media levels for each SST during specific time periods (see Hurwitz, paras [0233] & [0239], wherein obtain the current inventory of a particular device as well as transaction history including lane and/or cashier, coin dispensed and total dispensed….it can calculate the current inventory levels of such a device by decrementing the known…..dispensing cash media, such terminals of the POS terminal or otherwise situated in a retail establishment).
Hurwitz et al. and McKenna et al. combined fail to explicitly disclose crime statistics for the locations for each SST during specific time periods.
Analogous art Calman discloses crime statistics for the locations for each SST during specific time periods (see Calman, para [0033], wherein an ATM' s history of crime and/or crime statistics for the area surrounding an ATM may also be taken into account in establishing a predetermined Distance; and para [0041], wherein time of day and/or time period associated with an ATM transaction may be taken into account. In some such example implementations, and in other example implementations, the size and/or value of an ATM transaction may be analyzed with reference to the size and/or value of previous transactions. In some such example implementations and in other example implementations, patterns and/or cycles of previous transactions may be identified and analyzed when comparing a current transaction to information about a user's past transactions).
Hurwitz directed to a system for determining an inventory amount of the payment media remaining in the payment media dispensing device based on the determined amount of payment media dispensed from the payment media dispensing device. Calman directed to determining a geographic location associated with the ATM transaction is geographically proximate to a geographic. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Hurwitz, regarding the System for Managing Payment Media, to have included crime statistics for the locations to determine optimal media levels for each SST during specific time periods because both inventions teach prevent the likelihood of crimes. Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hurwitz et al. (US Pub No. 2006/0065717) (hereinafter Hurwitz et al.), in view of McKenna et al. (US Pub No. 2015/0348183) (hereinafter McKenna et al.), and further in view of W Zeng, CW Fu, SM Arisona, A Erath et al. (Visualizing mobility of public transportation system)- on visualization and …, 2014 - ieeexplore.ieee.org (hereinafter Erath et al.).
Regarding claim 7, Hurwitz discloses the method of claim 2, wherein providing the interactive visualization interface, as set forth above with claim 2.
Hurwitz et al. and McKenna et al. combined fail to explicitly disclose overlaying the interactive visualization interface with public transit schedules to visualize potential customer traffic patterns.
Analogous art Erath discloses overlaying the interactive visualization interface with public transit schedules to visualize potential customer traffic patterns (see Erath, column 2, page 1838, wherein Tasks 4 & 5 focus on supporting visual analysis of mobility-related factors along specific routes from A. Clearly, if we color-code all flow lines in the isotime flow map view and present also their temporal variation, visual clutter would likely happen. Hence, we allow the users to click-and-select destination node(s) in the isotime flow map view, and then perform Tasks 4&5 through the OD-pair journey view, which is an overlay on the isotime flow map view, see Fig. 6 reflects visualization interface; column 2, page 1833-1834, wherein availability of various forms of public transportation data, including the passenger journey data collected via RFID cards, transit schedule data, and transportation network data, we now can study and explore the efficiency of a PTS by modeling and integrating these real-world data rather than relying on simulations…..visual analytics of movement data related to urban traffic. Archambault et al. [7] explored local connection patterns between airports in a worldwide flight dataset by browsing the proximity and paths around particular airports. Wang et al. [37] designed a multiple-view visual analysis system to study traffic congestion in taxi data. Ferreira et al. [13] proposed a novel visual query model, allowing users to interactively explore and compare results obtained from millions of taxi trips. Zeng et al. [41] proposed a novel visualization technique called the interchange circos diagram to reveal interchange patterns in massive public transport trips).
Hurwitz directed to a system for determining an inventory amount of the payment media remaining in the payment media dispensing device based on the determined amount of payment media dispensed from the payment media dispensing device. Erath directed to providing shared/massive transportation services. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Hurwitz, regarding the System for Managing Payment Media, to have included overlaying the interactive visualization interface with public transit schedules to visualize potential customer traffic patterns because both inventions teach improving customer’s experience. Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hurwitz et al. (US Pub No. 2006/0065717) (hereinafter Hurwitz et al.), in view of McKenna et al. (US Pub No. 2015/0348183) (hereinafter McKenna et al.), and further in view of Dent et al. (US Pat No. 8,395,500) (hereinafter Dent et al.).
Regarding claim 8, Hurwitz discloses the method of claim 2 further comprising:
Hurwitz et al. and McKenna et al. combined fail to explicitly disclose temporarily disabling deposit operations at a specific SST when its media level exceeds a threshold defined by a policy.
Analogous art Dent discloses temporarily disabling deposit operations at a specific SST when its media level exceeds a threshold defined by a policy (see Dent, abstract and column 11, lines 1-40 and column 12, lines 65-67, wherein Step 1102 shows using motion sensor technology to determine a threshold level of proximity of a suspicious person. Such threshold levels may be determined based on forensic studies of trespass and/or theft associated with ATM machines. For example, a particular suspicious person may remain at a particular distance from an ATM for a certain number of users' sessions in order to determine the PIN number of a user and/or the amount of money withdrawn by a user. Such behavior may trigger one or more of the
above-described security alert mitigation mechanisms…..Step 1104 shows that a security condition alert may also be generated if a threshold detection of tampering with ATM has been detected……Claim 8. The device of claim 1 wherein, when the information exceeds the threshold, the processor module is further configured to disable selected actions of the self-service device).
Hurwitz directed to a system for determining an inventory amount of the payment media remaining in the payment media dispensing device based on the determined amount of payment media dispensed from the payment media dispensing device. Dent directed to determining whether the information exceeds a security alert condition threshold. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Hurwitz, regarding the System for Managing Payment Media, to have included temporarily disabling deposit operations at a specific SST when its media level exceeds a threshold defined by a policy because both inventions teach improving customer’s experience. Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 18, Hurwitz discloses the method of claim 13 further comprising:
Hurwitz et al. and McKenna et al. combined fail to explicitly disclose establishing media level thresholds for each SST based on its physical security features and historical risk assessment.
Analogous art Dent discloses establishing media level thresholds for each SST based on its physical security features and historical risk assessment (see Dent, abstract and column 11, lines 1-40 and column 12, lines 65-67, wherein Step 1102 shows using motion sensor technology to determine a threshold level of proximity of a suspicious person. Such threshold levels may be determined based on forensic studies of trespass and/or theft associated with ATM machines. For example, a particular suspicious person may remain at a particular distance from an ATM for a certain number of users' sessions in order to determine the PIN number of a user and/or the amount of money withdrawn by a user. Such behavior may trigger one or more of the
above-described security alert mitigation mechanisms…..Step 1104 shows that a security condition alert may also be generated if a threshold detection of tampering with ATM has been detected……the credit card account may allow the user to perform certain high risk activities even though the user is not in his home region……Claim 8. The device of claim 1 wherein, when the information exceeds the threshold, the processor module is further configured to disable selected actions of the self-service device).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Licht would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system for the same reasons as stated above with respect to claim 3.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hurwitz et al. (US Pub No. 2006/0065717) (hereinafter Hurwitz et al.), in view of McKenna et al. (US Pub No. 2015/0348183) (hereinafter McKenna et al.), and further in view of Goulart et al. (US Pub No. 2016/0253740) (hereinafter Goulart et al.).
Regarding claim 11, Hurwitz discloses the method of claim 2, wherein providing the interactive visualization interface, as set forth above with claim 2.
Hurwitz et al. and McKenna et al. combined fail to explicitly disclose displaying historical transaction patterns as a heat map overlaid on a geographic map of the locations associated with the SSTs.
Analogous art Goulart discloses displaying historical transaction patterns as a heat map overlaid on a geographic map of the locations associated with the SSTs (see Goulart, abstract and para [0033], wherein a heat map can be offered for sale. The usefulness of the heat map can be enhanced by correlating, with the processing device 110, descriptive metadata with the heat map. The descriptive metadata can include a time of day when the heat map was generated. Crowd patterns can vary based on the time of day. The descriptive metadata can include a day of the week when the heat map was generated and/or the month when the heat map was generated. Advertisements can be offered for sale that are limited to a particular day of the week or to a particular month or time, to capitalize on expected overcrowding. The descriptive metadata can include a geographical location of the retail location at which the heat map was generated. The floor plan of two geographically-spaced retail locations may be the same or can be different……The heat map generation module renders the heat map overlaid with icons and the shopping route. The map analysis module presents the heat map on the user interface; and para [0041], wherein devices that monitor different regions of the retail location 30 to determine crowd sizes (or approximate crowd sizes) in each of the regions).
Hurwitz directed to a system for determining an inventory amount of the payment media remaining in the payment media dispensing device based on the determined amount of payment media dispensed from the payment media dispensing device. Goulart directed to generating a heat map for a retail location. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Hurwitz, regarding the System for Managing Payment Media, to have included displaying historical transaction patterns as a heat map overlaid on a geographic map of the locations associated with the SSTs because both inventions teach reducing overcrowding. Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hurwitz et al. (US Pub No. 2006/0065717) (hereinafter Hurwitz et al.), in view of McKenna et al. (US Pub No. 2015/0348183) (hereinafter McKenna et al.), and further in view of Gromley et al. (US Pub No. 2014/0121830) (hereinafter Gromley et al.).
Regarding claim 14, Hurwitz discloses the method of claim 13, wherein generating the predictive model, as set forth above with claim 13.
Hurwitz et al. and McKenna et al. combined fail to explicitly disclose incorporating sporting event schedules for venues proximate to the SSTs to anticipate increased withdrawal demands.
Analogous art Gromley discloses incorporating sporting event schedules for venues proximate to the SSTs to anticipate increased withdrawal demands (see Gromley, para [0279], wherein machine operation and event tracking can also be carried out in real time, allowing comparison of one machine's operational data to the average operational data for a group of machines; para [0280], wherein Machine statistical data that can be tracked include the relationships involving a machine's identification, location, type, operational status, etc. For example, machine location data can indicate an address of an automated banking machine, whether the machine is located inside or outside a bank branch building, population density of the area where the machine is located, population demographics of the area, per capita income of the area, etc.; and para [0289], wherein the artificial intelligence also allows the system to predict whether a machine that has excess cash is expected ( e.g., based on time of day) to soon conduct several cash withdrawal transactions. If such cash withdrawals are expected, then the system may delay or postpone committing a cash collection person to the machine until further information if collected).
Hurwitz directed to a system for determining an inventory amount of the payment media remaining in the payment media dispensing device based on the determined amount of payment media dispensed from the payment media dispensing device. Gromley directed to utilizing metrics in acquiring and processing event data related to financial transaction activity at a plurality of automated banking machines. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Hurwitz, regarding the System for Managing Payment Media, to have included incorporating sporting event schedules for venues proximate to the SSTs to anticipate increased withdrawal demands because both inventions teach improving customer’s experience. Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hurwitz et al. (US Pub No. 2006/0065717) (hereinafter Hurwitz et al.), in view of McKenna et al. (US Pub No. 2015/0348183) (hereinafter McKenna et al.), and further in view of Guo et al. (US Pat No. 2019/0362273) (hereinafter Guo et al.).
Regarding claim 15, Hurwitz discloses the method of claim 13, wherein implementing the customized media management plan, as set forth above with claim 13.
Hurwitz et al. and McKenna et al. combined fail to explicitly disclose further includes coordinating with cash transit services to optimize replenishment schedules based on predicted media needs.
Analogous art Guo discloses coordinating with cash transit services to optimize replenishment schedules based on predicted media needs (see Guo, para [0036], wherein the route can be updated or corrected if a unit dispensing device depletes faster than was expected based on a predicted unit depletion rate for the unit dispensing device. For example, the unit dispensing devices can be communicatively or operatively coupled to the system 100. Further, one or more unit dispensing devices can relay information related to the units available at the unit dispensing device. In an example of automated teller machines, the information communicated can include the amount of cash remaining at the unit dispensing device as well as denominations of the cash (which can be expressed in dollars or another form of currency); and para [0036], wherein the route planning engine 102 can determine a replenishment schedule in order for vehicles to be routed such that units can be replenished without delay or with minimal delay. The replenishment schedule can be created based on determining a distance between a source of units (e.g., origination location of a vehicle) or a current location of the vehicle and to a first unit dispensing device having a shortest time to unit depletion).
Hurwitz directed to a system for determining an inventory amount of the payment media remaining in the payment media dispensing device based on the determined amount of payment media dispensed from the payment media dispensing device. Guo directed to providing shared/massive transportation services. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Hurwitz, regarding the System for Managing Payment Media, to have included coordinating with cash transit services to optimize replenishment schedules based on predicted media needs because both inventions teach improving customer’s experience. Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hurwitz et al. (US Pub No. 2006/0065717) (hereinafter Hurwitz et al.), in view of McKenna et al. (US Pub No. 2015/0348183) (hereinafter McKenna et al.), and further in view of Taylor et al. (US Pat No. 2015/0235303) (hereinafter Taylor et al.).
Regarding claim 19, Hurwitz discloses the method of claim 13, wherein providing the real-time interactive dashboard, as set forth above with 13.
Hurwitz et al. and McKenna et al. combined fail to explicitly disclose enabling authorized users to manually override automated media management decisions for specific SSTs.
Analogous art Taylor discloses providing the real-time interactive dashboard further includes enabling authorized users to manually override automated media management decisions for specific SSTs (see Taylor, para [0023], wherein the display manager 120 alters information presented on the interactive second display 140 based on instructions sent from the server 150. Moreover, the server 150 can override actions of the display manager 120. The server 150 may also report events to the display manager 120 that alter evaluation of the policy conditions. Still further, the server 150 may dynamically deploy the policy conditions and the preference display information to the SST 110 for access and evaluation by the display manager 120.…..dynamically acquires the preference display information in real time from the server 150. The server 150 may also stream in real time the preference display information to the display manager 120).
Hurwitz directed to a system for determining an inventory amount of the payment media remaining in the payment media dispensing device based on the determined amount of payment media dispensed from the payment media dispensing device. Taylor directed to providing status information for an operational state of the SST. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Hurwitz, regarding the System for Managing Payment Media, to have included providing the real-time interactive dashboard further includes enabling authorized users to manually override automated media management decisions for specific SSTs because both inventions teach improving customer’s experience. Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claims 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hurwitz et al. (US Pub No. 2006/0065717) (hereinafter Hurwitz et al.), in view of Gibson et al. (US Pat No. 10,395,199) (hereinafter Gibson et al.), and further in view of McKenna et al. (US Pub No. 2015/0348183) (hereinafter McKenna et al.).
Regarding claim 20, Hurwitz discloses a system, comprising:
a server comprising a processor and memory (see Hurwitz, Fig. 18 and para [0532], wherein payment media handling system reports can be copied to a central server);
a plurality of Self-Service Terminals (SSTs) each comprising a media handling mechanism (see Hurwitz, Fig. 18 and para [0101], wherein vending machines may also be considered to be self-service payment);
a data store containing historical transaction data for each SST (see Hurwitz, para [0556], wherein historical data captured from actual use of payment media handling devices); and
the processor configured to execute instructions from the memory (see Hurwitz, Fig. 18) that causes the processor to:
monitor current media levels at each SST (see Hurwitz, para [0233], wherein the tracking software monitors the POS change back transactions from the tlog or coin files trickled out from transaction log, as they occur);
predict future media requirements for each SST based on the historical transaction data and external factors (see Hurwitz, para [0411], wherein monitoring the payment media inflow and outflow of a till over a period of time, it is possible to predict the probable start fund. Such forecasting applications have been developed for ATM cash management and cash management in the wider financial markets; [0392]-[0395] number of factors, including Size and location of retailer. Time of day, week, year. Type of till; and paras [0233] & [0239], wherein obtain the current inventory of a particular device as well as transaction history including lane and/or cashier, coin dispensed and total dispensed….it can calculate the current inventory levels of such a device by decrementing the known);
implement the media optimization strategy by controlling deposit and withdrawal operations at specific SSTs (see Hurwitz, paras [0411], [0165], [0518], & [0240] wherein by monitoring the payment media inflow and outflow of a till over a period of time, it is possible to predict the probable start fund. Such forecasting applications have been developed for ATM cash management and cash management in the wider financial markets…One or more devices that allow for automated recycling, where the note and coin provided as change are counted and dispensed as change. Such recycling is usually associated with bills and coin and for the purposes of explaining this invention we will focus on these two types of media……Predict its short falls in various media and anticipate its needs in an automatic way so as to minimize the impact of shortages as they might occur at each of such dispensing devices, thereby eliminating or at least minimizing the interruptions in customer service…..dispenser, and fully automated refund and exchange management is delivered. Once again, POS data can be read to determine the notes and coinage dispensed so as to maintain a real time inventory of media and provide a means for directing the levels of each, sufficient to refill a given device); and
providing (a user) interface that displays real-time media levels and predicted media needs for each SST (see Hurwitz, para [0302], wherein payment media management software generates triggering events through a user interface or otherwise which will alert store personnel to the need for refilling or replenishing the various media dispensing devices thus avoiding the need to physically check such devices on a periodic basis. With such real time oversight, the replenishment of such devices can be done on a predictable basis to avoid the relatively random approach now followed by retailers which gives rise to interruptions at the various registers to the inconvenience and delay of customers; and paras [0233] & [0239], wherein obtain the current inventory of a particular device as well as transaction history including lane and/or cashier, coin dispensed and total dispensed….it can calculate the current inventory levels of such a device by decrementing the known).
Hurwitz et al. fails to explicitly disclose generate a media optimization strategy that balances media distribution across the plurality of SSTs.
Analogous art Taylor discloses generate a media optimization strategy that balances media distribution across the plurality of SSTs (see Taylor, column 5, lines 1-67, wherein a bank may request an optimization schedule for one or more ATMs….Generates a forecast for withdrawal and deposits for an ATM. The forecasting may also be for a particular ATM, group of ATMs (e.g., ATMs located in a geographic area, block radius, street, etc.), similar ATMs (e.g., applying the forecast of a particular ATM to another similar ATM, etc.) or an ATM with a particular characteristic (e.g., an ATM in a city, an ATM is a suburb, etc.). The forecasting feature may be applied to withdrawals, as well as deposits. The forecasting feature may be based on historic ATM volume, as well as ATM activity in a similar area or another area with similar characteristics).
Hurwitz directed to a system for determining an inventory amount of the payment media remaining in the payment media dispensing device based on the determined amount of payment media dispensed from the payment media dispensing device. Gibson directed to determining an optimal schedule for one ATM device based on the one or more fault risks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Hurwitz, regarding the System for Managing Payment Media, to have included generate a media optimization strategy that balances media distribution across the plurality of SSTs because both inventions teach improving customer’s experience. Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Hurwitz et al. fails to explicitly disclose provide a visualization interface.
Analogous art McKenna discloses provide a visualization interface (see McKenna, paras [0059]-[0060], wherein at 230, the deposit visualizer provides the graphical format as an interactive interface, where the display is a touchscreen display. This was discussed above with reference to the FIGS. 1A-1C…..In an embodiment of 230 and at 240, the deposit visualizer provides visual zoom features within the interactive interface to zoom in and out of particular ones of the items or categories of the currency for more details; para [0071], wherein obtain real-time assistance with the deposit transaction).
Hurwitz directed to a system for determining an inventory amount of the payment media remaining in the payment media dispensing device based on the determined amount of payment media dispensed from the payment media dispensing device. McKenna directed to interface rendered with the visual customer feedback permits the customer to review, edit, accept, or abort the transaction. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Hurwitz, regarding the System for Managing Payment media, to have included provide a visualization interface because both inventions teach improving customer’s experience. Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 21, Hurwitz discloses the system of claim 20, wherein the processor is further configured to
integrate with loyalty systems to provide incentives to customers who assist in balancing media levels by making deposits at specific SSTs identified as having low media levels (see Hurwitz, para [0186], wherein coupons are generally accounted for at point of sale and no further processing carried out within the retailer. Coupons are collected together and then sent to either a specialist coupon processor or a manufacturer who redeems the value of the coupons. The retailer will take no further action unless significant discrepancies are identified between the expected value of coupon receipts and that received through the redemption process; and para [0468], wherein more than one apparatus is present and they are networked either directly or via a host, a more versatile situation can be envisaged….Here if the apparatus at which the request was made is unable to meet the user's needs, it may direct the user to another apparatus).
Conclusion
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (US Pub No. 2019/0213873; US Pat No. 8,015,455; US Pub No. 2001/0051922; US Pat No. 11,640,609); and DK Shetty, KV Manjunath, K Shetty, V Chauhan, PS Joshi (A Pilot Study of Human Computer Interaction issues related to Automated Teller Machine (ATM)-A Case Study of Indian Banks), Information Systems and Engineering, 23-24 April 2014.
/HAFIZ A KASSIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3623 07/16/2026