DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-8, and 10-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 6-10 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12,327,495 to Warne. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because application claims 1-3, 5, 7-8, and 10-11 are anticipated by patent claims 1-3 and 6-10, as shown in the Table below.
U.S. Application Number 19/174,312
U.S. Patent No. 12,327,495
Claim 1: A primary motion generator for use in a motion simulator for moving a primary payload of 80 kg or more above a surface, the primary motion generator being a parallel manipulator comprising:
Claim 1: A primary motion generator (10,82,102) for use in a motion simulator for moving a primary payload (14) of 80 kg or more above a surface (12), the primary motion generator (10,82,102) being a parallel manipulator comprising:
a) a primary frame or platform for supporting the primary payload of 80 kg or more,
a primary frame or platform (11) for supporting the primary payload of 80 kg or more (14),
b) three elongate linear guides arranged transversely to each other below the primary frame or platform in a planar array,
the primary frame or platform (11) including three elongate linear guides (21 ,22,23) arranged transversely to each other at and along an underside or surface of the primary frame or platform (11) in a planar array,
c) at least one actuator arranged per elongate linear guide above the surface, and controllable to move the elongate linear guides whereby the primary frame or platform and the primary payload of 80 kg or more is movable in at least three degrees of freedom.
and at least one actuator (31,32,33) arranged per linear guide (2 1,22,23) above the surface, and controllable to collectively move the primary frame or platform (11) and the linear guides (21,22,23), whereby the primary frame or platform (11) and payload of 80 kg or more is movable in at least three degrees of freedom.
Claim 2: The primary motion generator of claim 1, in which projections of the elongate linear guides converge.
Claim 2: The primary motion generator (10,82,102) according to claim 1, in which projections of the elongate linear guides (21,22,23) converge.
Claim 3: The primary motion generator of claim 2, in which the elongate linear guides form a star- shaped array, extending outwardly from a common central point on the primary frame or platform.
Claim 3: The primary motion generator (10,82,102) according to claim 2, in which the elongate linear guides (21,22,23) form a star-shaped array, extending outwardly from a common central point on the primary frame or platform (11).
Claim 5: The primary motion generator of claim 1, in which the actuators are linear actuators, selected from, for example, linear motors, rack and pinion-based actuators, belt-driven actuators, or cable-driven actuators.
Claim 6: The primary motion generator (10,82,102) according to claim 1, in which the actuators (31,32,33) are linear actuators, selected from linear motors, rack and pinion-based actuators, belt-driven actuators, or cable-driven actuators.
Claim 7: The primary motion generator of claim 1, in which the linear actuators move the primary frame or platform by applying propulsive forces to carriages that connect the actuators to the elongate linear guides and are movable along the elongate linear guides, the propulsive forces thereby being transmitted from the actuators to the primary frame or platform via the carriages and elongate linear guides by applying forces which include a component that is normal/perpendicular to the axis of movement of the elongate linear guide, in such a way that forces applied at one elongate linear guide are transmitted through the primary frame or platform and cause other elongate linear guides to travel along their axis of movement.
Claim 7: The primary motion generator (10,82,102) according to claim 6, in which the linear actuators (31,32,33) move the primary frame or platform (11) by applying propulsive forces to carriages (41,42,43) that connect the linear actuators (31,32,33) to the linear guides (21,22,23) and are movable along the linear guides (21,22,23), the propulsive forces thereby being transmitted from the actuators to the primary frame or platform (11) via the carriages (41,42,43) and linear guides (21,22,23) by applying forces which include a component that is normal/perpendicular to the axis of movement of the linear guide, in such a way that forces applied at one linear guide are transmitted through the primary frame or platform (11) and cause other linear guides to travel along their axis of movement.
Claim 8: The primary motion generator of claim 7, in which a linear actuator is connected to a corresponding linear guide's carriage by a joint, bearing, revolute joint, spherical joint or thrust bearing.
Claim 8: The primary motion generator according to claim 7, in which each linear actuator (31,32,33) is connected to a corresponding linear guide's carriage by a joint, bearing, revolute joint, spherical joint or thrust bearing.
Claim 10: The primary motion generator of claim 1, including at least one safety end stop to limit travel of the frame or platform comprising one of: one or more elongate straps between the platform or frame and the surface which limits movement of the primary frame or platform; three or more straps for limiting movement of the primary frame or platform, wherein at least one of the three elongate straps is rigidly fixed at one end and at the other end connected in series with a shock absorber, spring or damper.
Claim 9: The primary motion generator (10,82,102) according to claim 1, including at least one safety end stop to limit travel of the primary frame or platform (11) comprising one of: one or more elongate straps between the platform or frame (11) and the surface which limits movement of the frame or platform; or three or more straps between the primary frame or platform (11) and the surface which limit movement of the primary frame or platform, wherein at least one of the three or more elongate straps is rigidly fixed at one end and at the other end connected in series with a shock absorber, spring, or damper.
Claim 11: A combination comprising the primary motion generator of claim 1, and a secondary motion generator connected to the primary motion generator as the primary motion generator's payload, in which, in use, the secondary motion generator is controllable to move a secondary payload of at least 80kg in one or more degrees of freedom relative to the primary frame or platform and therefore the surface.
Claim 10: A combination comprising: the primary motion generator (10,82,102) according to claim 1 as the primary motion generator (10,82,102) in the combination, and a secondary motion generator (48, 84, 104) connected to the primary motion generator (10,82,102) as the primary motion generator's (10,82,102) payload, wherein, in use, the secondary motion generator (48, 84, 104) is controllable to move a secondary payload (84,88) of at least 80 kg in one or more degrees of freedom relative to the primary frame or platform (11) and therefore the surface.
As shown and emphasized in the Table above, application claim 1 recites in part “three elongate linear guides arranged transversely to each other below the primary frame or platform in a planar array”, while patent claim 1 recites in relevant part “the primary frame or platform (11) including three elongate linear guides (21 ,22,23) arranged transversely to each other at and along an underside or surface of the primary frame or platform (11) in a planar array”. Therefore, application claim 1 is broader than patent claim 1. Claims which are generic to (broader than) claims in the conflicting patent are anticipated by the claims. Therefore, application claims 1-3, 5, 7-8, and 10-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 6-10 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12,327,495 to Warne.
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,327,495 to Warne. The limitation of application claim 4 reciting “the three elongate linear guides abut each other” differs from the corresponding limitation of claim 4 of the ‘495 patent which recites “in which either at least two of the elongate linear guides are joined with each other or three of the elongate linear guides are joined with each other.” Thus, claim 4 of the application denotes the three elongate linear guides are next to each other, while claim 4 of the ‘495 patent denotes a connection between the elongate linear guides. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the elongate linear guides must be next to (abut) each other in order to join the elongate linear guides with each other.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: The Specification does not disclose where linear actuators and or linear guides of the secondary motion generator are mounted on the primary frame or platform of the primary motion generator, as required by claim 14 (see, e.g., Specification, Fig. 15 & [0090], noting that the series of pairs of linear actuators of the secondary motion generator are disposed within the perimeter of the frame 49 of the secondary motion generator, and further, where no disclosure of linear guides is provided with respect to the secondary motion generator).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: “from about 5 Hz about 20 Hz” recited in Specification, [0027], should likely read “from about 5 Hz to 20 Hz”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5, 10, 14, and 16-18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“planar array, c) at least one actuator” recited in claim 1, ln. 6-7 should likely read “planar array, and c) at least one actuator”;
“linear actuators, selected from” recited in claim 5, ln. 1-2 should likely read “linear actuators[[,]] selected from”;
“platform; three” recited in claim 10, ln. 4-5 should likely read “platform; and three”;
“and or” recited in claim 14, ln. 3 should likely read “and/or”;
“at least one of display” recited in claim 16, ln. 5 should likely read “at least one of a display”;
“the surface; the secondary” recited in claim 17, ln. 4-5 should likely read “the surface; and the secondary”; and
“all actuators; the position” recited in claim 18, ln. 3-4 should likely read “all actuators; and the position”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: control means in claim 16.
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the Specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claims limitation are: “means for simulating an environment” and “software means” in claim 16.
Because these claim limitations are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are not being interpreted to cover only the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the Specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
If applicant intends to have these limitations interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitations to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitations do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the Specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 16 recites a control means, which the Specification states may be “i.e., a control system” ([0029]). However, the Specification does not disclose what the control means or control system comprises (see Specification, [0122], “Motion generators, and motion systems, in accordance with the invention may be assembled from a combination of custom and standard components by conventional methods to produce the novel motion generators, and motion systems of the invention. Control means suitable for controlling operation of motion generators, and motion systems, in accordance with the invention may similarly be produced by conventional methods.”). Accordingly, the Specification fails to provide support for the full scope of the claim limitation, such as framework to perform the claimed function. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Claims 17-20 are rejected by virtue of their dependencies on claim 16.
Claims 5-6, 7-10, 13, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites in part “in which the actuators are linear actuators, selected from, for example, linear motors, rack and pinion-based actuators, belt-driven actuators, or cable-driven actuators”. The limitation “selected from, for example” renders the scope of the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the recited types of linear actuators constitute the complete set of alternatives for the linear actuators claimed, or rather, are merely exemplary alternatives such that other, unlisted types of linear actuators are also encompassed by the claim. Accordingly, the metes and bounds of the claimed subject matter is unclear.
Claim 6 is rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 5.
Claim 7 recites in part “the linear actuators move the primary frame or platform by applying propulsive forces to carriages that connect the actuators to the elongate linear guides and are movable along the elongate linear guides, the propulsive forces thereby being transmitted from the actuators to the primary frame or platform via the carriages and elongate linear guides by applying forces which include a component that is normal/perpendicular to the axis of movement of the elongate linear guide, in such a way that forces applied at one elongate linear guide are transmitted through the primary frame or platform and cause other elongate linear guides to travel along their axis of movement.” First, the limitation “the linear actuators” in ln. 1 has insufficient antecedent basis in the claim. Second, the claim recites in part “cause other elongate linear guides to travel along their axis of movement”, while previously reciting that it is the carriages that are movable along the elongate linear guides. It is unclear as to how elongate linear guides travel along their axis of movement, as claimed, or alternatively, whether the recited limitation is intended to read that the other carriages are caused to travel along their axis of movement. Third, the limitation “by applying forces which include a component that is normal/perpendicular to the axis of movement of the elongate linear guide” is ambiguous, as two alternatives are claimed (“normal/perpendicular”).
Claim 8 is rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 7.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the linear actuators" in ln. 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the three elongate straps” in ln 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites in part “the primary motion generator is to be operated at from about 5Hz about 20Hz, and the secondary motion generator is to be operated at from about 30Hz to 100Hz or greater. First, it is indefinite as to what the primary motion generator is to be operated at. For examination purposes, the claim is interpreted to read “the primary motion generator is to be operated at from about 5Hz to 20Hz”. Second, the term “about” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the Specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 16 is indefinite because the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts of the “control means”. The Specification merely discloses the control means as “i.e., a control system”, where the “[c]ontrol means suitable for operation of motion generators, and motion systems, in accordance with the invention may similarly be produced by conventional methods” (Specification, [0029]; [0122]). Accordingly, claim 16 is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claims 17-20 are rejected by virtue of their dependencies on claim 16.
Claim 16 further recites in part “optionally in which the movements of the or each motion generator are controlled to simulate or reproduce the movements of a vehicle being simulated in a virtual environment or computer simulation”. First, it is indefinite as to whether this recited limitation is required by the claim, or rather, merely a statement of an optional embodiment. Therefore, the scope of the claim is indefinite. Second, the limitation “movements of the or each motion generator” is unclear. That is, claim 16 is dependent upon claim 1 which is directed to a primary motion generator. Accordingly, it is indefinite as to what motion generator besides the primary motion generator “each motion generator” is referring to.
Claims 17-20 are further rejected by virtue of their dependencies on claim 16.
Claim 17 recites in part “the secondary motion generator payload”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites “A method of vehicle or vehicle component design, the method including the use of the motion system or vehicle simulator of claim 16.” The method of claim 20 is indefinite, as the claim does not comprise any method steps for performing the method of vehicle or vehicle component design, and thus the scope of the claim is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilkens (DE19951919C2) in view of “2019 Formula One Technical Regulations”, 111 pages, Mar. 12, 2019 (hereinafter “F1 Regulations”).
Regarding claim 1, Wilkens discloses a primary motion generator for use in a motion simulator for moving a primary payload, the primary motion generator being a parallel manipulator (Fig. 1; [0001]; [0021], a moving system for moving a platform, in particular to a device for simulating vehicle movements) comprising:
a) a primary frame or platform for supporting the primary payload (Fig. 1; [0021], platform 10),
b) three elongate linear guides arranged transversely to each other below the primary frame or platform in a planar array (Fig. 1, elongate linear guide rails 111, 112, 113),
c) at least one actuator arranged per elongate linear guide above the surface, and controllable to move the elongate linear guides (Fig. 4; [0024], toothed pinion 22 and rack 23 driven by motor 21) whereby the primary frame or platform and the primary payload is movable in at least three degrees of freedom ([0007], where the movement system allows movement of the platform in three degrees of freedom).
Wilkens discloses where the platform may support, in a vehicle simulator, a driver’s cab ([0007]). Wilkens does not explicitly disclose where the primary payload is 80 kg or more. However, F1 Regulations teaches where the weight of a driver must not be less than 80kg (p. 37, #4.6.2). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle simulator of Wilkens to accommodate a primary payload of 80 kg or more in view of F1 Regulations, such that the vehicle simulator may be implemented, for example, for the particular purpose of a Formula One vehicle simulator.
Regarding claim 2, Wilkens further discloses wherein the projections of the elongate linear guides converge (Fig. 1; [0021]).
Regarding claim 3, Wilkens further discloses wherein the elongate linear guides form a star-shaped array, extending outwardly from a common central point on the primary frame or platform (Fig. 1; [0021], the rails 111 to 113 arranged in a star shape with respect to one another).
Regarding claim 4, Wilkens further discloses wherein the three elongate linear guides abut each other (Fig. 1; [0021]).
Regarding claim 5, Wilkens further discloses wherein the actuators are linear actuators, selected from, for example, linear motors, rack and pinion-based actuators, belt-driven actuators, or cable-driven actuators (Figs. 1 & 4; [0024]).
Regarding claim 6, Wilkens further discloses wherein the linear actuators are arranged in one or both of a triangular array and a planar array (Figs. 1-4; [0021]).
Regarding claim 7, Wilkens further discloses where the linear actuators move the primary frame or platform by applying propulsive forces to carriages that connect the actuators to the elongate linear guides and are movable along the elongate linear guides, the propulsive forces thereby being transmitted from the actuators to the primary frame or platform via the carriages and elongate linear guides by applying forces which include a component that is normal/perpendicular to the axis of movement of the elongate linear guide, in such a way that forces applied at one elongate linear guide are transmitted through the primary frame or platform and cause other elongate linear guides to travel along their axis of movement (Figs. 3-4; [0022-0024]).
Regarding claim 8, Wilkens further discloses where a linear actuator is connected to a corresponding linear guide’s carriage by a joint, bearing, revolute joint, spherical joint or thrust bearing ([0010]; [0023], i.e., bearing).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilkens and F1 Regulations, as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Hwang (U.S. Pub. 2005/0277092 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Wilkens does not further disclose where the linear actuators are mounted on the surface. However, Hwang, directed to a motion platform device for flight simulation ([0002]), teaches this limitation (Figs. 2-3; [0009-0010]; [0019], three linear servomotors 40 disposed on base platform (surface) 20). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to mount the linear actuators on the surface with the linear guides (track) mounted above the linear actuators in the invention of Wilkens, as taught by Hwang, as an alternative configuration for the moving platform to achieve the same result of a platform movable in multiple degrees of freedom (Hwang, [0010]; [0021]; [0029], where each of the linear servomotors has a track to serve as a drive member and a forcer to be movable relative to the base platform among the sliding paths of the tracks).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilkens and F1 Regulations, as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Hodgetts et al. (U.S. Pub. 2002/0055086 A1) (hereinafter “Hodgetts”).
Regarding claim 10, Wilkens does not further disclose at least one safety end stop to limit travel of the frame or platform comprising one of: one or more elongate straps between the platform or frame and the surface which limits movement of the primary frame or platform; three or more straps for limiting movement of the primary frame or platform, wherein at least one of the three elongate straps is rigidly fixed at one end and at the other end connected in series with a shock absorber, spring, or damper. However, Hodgetts, directed to a motion simulator ([0003]), teaches this limitation (Fig. 2; [0022], support rod 30 positioned between base plate 12 (surface) and motion platform 24 (primary frame or platform) which dampens motion of the motion platform).
Claims 11-12, 14-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilkens and F1 Regulations, as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Lee et al. (U.S. Pub. 2015/0030999 A1) (hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 11, Wilkens in view of F1 Regulations teaches where the payload is at least 80kg or more, as discussed above with respect to claim 1. However, neither Wilkens nor F1 Regulations teach a secondary motion generator connected to the primary motion generator as the primary motion generator’s payload, in which, in use, the secondary motion generator is controllable to move a secondary payload of at least 80kg in one or more degrees of freedom relative to the primary frame or platform and therefore the surface. However, Lee, directed to a motion simulator ([0002]), teaches this limitation (Figs. 2-3; [0038-0041]; [0048-0050]; [0081], secondary motion generator (40, 50, 60) connected to primary motion generator (20, 21) as the primary motion generator’s payload, where the motion simulator comprising the primary and secondary motion generators is capable of movement in five degrees of freedom). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wilkens in view of F1 Regulations to include a secondary motion generator, as taught by Lee, to provide a better vehicle simulation, for example, by providing additional degrees of freedom for movement of the driver’s cab (Lee, [0005-0007]).
Regarding claim 12, Lee further teaches where the secondary motion generator is controllable to move the secondary payload in at least three degrees of freedom relative to the primary frame or platform; the secondary motion generator is controllable to move the secondary payload in six degrees of freedom relative to the primary frame or platform; and/or the secondary motion generator provides movement of the secondary payload in at least on vertical degree of freedom (Figs. 2-3; [0038-0041]; [0048-0050]; [0081], the secondary motion generator (40, 50, 60) connected to primary motion generator provides movement of the secondary payload in at least one vertical degree of freedom (up/down) and/or capable of movement in five degrees of freedom). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wilkens to include a secondary motion generator, as taught by Lee, to provide a better vehicle simulation, for example, by providing additional degrees of freedom for movement of the driver’s cab (Lee, [0005-0007]).
Regarding claim 14, Lee further teaches one or both of: the secondary motion generator is in series with the primary motion generator ([0038-0041]; [0048-0050]); linear actuators and or linear guides of the secondary motion generator are mounted on the primary frame or platform of the primary motion generator. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wilkens to include a secondary motion generator, as taught by Lee, to provide a better vehicle simulation, for example, by providing additional degrees of freedom for movement of the driver’s cab (Lee, [0005-0007]).
Regarding claim 15, Lee further teaches where the secondary motion generator comprises a hexapod-based, linear motor-based, ball screw-based, linear actuator-based, cable-operated, or lever-operated motion generator, or a combination of any such motion generators (Figs. 3-5; [0051-0052]; [0058]; [0061], e.g., linear actuator-based motion generator). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wilkens to include a secondary motion generator, as taught by Lee, to provide a better vehicle simulation, for example, by providing additional degrees of freedom for movement of the driver’s cab (Lee, [0005-0007]).
Regarding claim 16, Wilkens discloses where the payload is one of a vehicle chassis, vehicle cockpit and/or other vehicle simulation element ([0007]), and further, controlling the geared motors to move the platform ([0027]). However, Wilkens does not further explicitly disclose a control means for control of the primary motion generator, or a means for simulating an environment comprising at least one of display apparatus, virtual reality apparatus, projection apparatus, and software means for modelling a virtual environment and a vehicle model, optionally in which the movements of the or each motion generator are controlled to simulate or reproduce the movements of a vehicle being simulated in a virtual environment or computer simulation. Nevertheless, Lee teaches these limitations (Figs. 3-4; [0038]; [0043], the motion simulator comprising a controller (control means) and monitor 2 providing a virtual environment with an image according to manipulation by the user in which the user feels like they are actually driving the vehicle). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wilkens to include a controller which receives input data (i.e., manipulation of the handle and vehicle velocity data) and controls operation of the motion generator accordingly, as well as a display apparatus and software means for simulating a virtual environment and vehicle model, as taught by Lee, in order to achieve the result of a movement system for simulating vehicle movements and to provide a better user experience, for example, by displaying a scene that corresponds to the simulated vehicle movement and model.
Regarding claim 17, Wilkens does not further disclose, however, Lee teaches where the control means receives inputs describing the demanded position, velocity and/or acceleration of the primary frame or platform relative to an origin fixed relative to one of: the surface; the secondary motion generator payload ([0043], wherein vehicle moving direction data (position) and/or vehicle velocity data is input into the controller). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wilkens to include a controller which receives input data (i.e., manipulation of the handle and vehicle velocity data) and controls operation of the motion generator accordingly, as taught by Lee, in order to achieve the result of a movement system for simulating vehicle movements.
Regarding claim 18, Wilkens does not further disclose, however, Lee teaches where the control means controls one or both of: the operation of at least one actuator or of all actuators (Figs. 5-12; [0042-0043]; [0052]; [0058]; [0061]); the position, velocity, and/or acceleration of at least one carriage or all carriages. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wilkens to include a controller which receives input data (i.e., manipulation of the handle and vehicle velocity data) and controls operation of at least one actuator or of all actuators of the motion generator accordingly, as taught by Lee, in order to achieve the result of a movement system for simulating vehicle movements.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is a method of claim 16 and is therefore rejected for similar reasoning.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilkens, F1 Regulations, and Lee, as applied to claim 11, and in further view of Warne (U.S. Pub. 2017/0053548 A1).
Regarding claim 13, neither Wilkens nor Lee further teach where the primary motion generate operates a lower bandwidth, operated from about 5Hz to about 20Hz, than that of the secondary motion generator, operated from about 30Hz to 100Hz. However, Warne, directed to a vehicle simulator ([0001]), teaches where a smaller load leads to increased bandwidth ([0053]). Accordingly, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have known that the primary motion generator operates at a lower bandwidth than that of the secondary motion generator of Lee, as a heavier payload (the secondary motion generator and its payload (primary motion generator) versus the payload (second motion generator)) reduces the bandwidth, as taught by Warne.
Further, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the primary motion generator to be operated at from about 5Hz to 20Hz, and the secondary motion generator to be operated at from about 30Hz to 100Hz, since it has been held that discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Examiner notes that in the instant application, Specification, [0027], Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilkens, F1 Regulations, and Lee, as applied to claim 16, and in further view of Vatcher et al. (U.S. Pub. 2014/0302462 A1) (hereinafter “Vatcher”).
Regarding claim 19, neither Wilkens nor Lee teach where the control means uses feedback from measurement devices to control the position, velocity or acceleration of the primary frame or platform or the at least one carriage or carriages. However, Vatcher, directed to motion simulation and in particular to motion system platforms and controls thereof ([0002]), teaches this limitation (Figs. 1 & 19A-19B; [0014]; [0016-0017]; [0072]; [0122], where the motion controller receives data from the Motion PC via user datagram protocol and correspondingly controls position, velocity, or acceleration of the motion platform). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wilkens to include a controller which receives input data, as taught by Lee, wherein the input data may include feedback from measurement devices, as taught by Vatcher, in order to control the primary frame or platform position, velocity, or acceleration to achieve the result of a movement system for simulating vehicle movements.
Conclusion
/ALYSSA N BIANCAMANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3715