Detailed Action
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 3/30/2026 has been entered and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Amitai et al (PGPUB 2020/0292818 A1).
As to claim 1, Amitai (Figs. 13A-15B, 29A-29C) teaches, a controller (eyeball tracking unit 272 and dynamic control unit 276, ¶ 81, 85) configured to selectively activate (i.e. electrically switchable transreflective mirror 280) a plurality of display regions (sub-areas 282, 283 and 286 as shown in Fig. 15B and different positions of viewer’s eye 24 as shown in Figs. 14A-D) of an image generator (optical system 255) to produce respective light beams (rays 260, 262) for entry into a light-guide optical element (i.e. major surfaces as shown in Figs. 14A-D) at respective angles (i.e. angles reflected by surfaces 256)(Figs. 14a-D), the controller comprising:
one or more processing devices (dynamic control unit 276)configured to:
selectively activate the display regions by, for an image frame (image)(¶ 85: i.e. adjust local reflections of the dynamic element optically):
at a first time (Fig. 14A, 17A-C 29B), activate a first display region (i.e. region corresponding to 256a and 256b in Figs. 17A-C) of the display regions to produce a first light beam (ray 320a, 320b) corresponding to a first portion of the image frame for entry (i.e. entry/ reflection on the right side as ray 320a) into the light-guide optical element at a first angle (i.e. angle of ray 320a and 320b shown on right side of Fig. 17A)(¶ 98: i.e. entry angle of two rays 320a and 320b in Fig. 17A is different than the angles of two rays in Figs. 17B and 17C, ¶ 141: i.e. only surfaces 79a, 79c and 79e are activated during the first period of time p); and
at a second time (Fig. 14B, 17A-C, 29C) that is after the first time, activate a second display region (i.e. region corresponding to surface 256a and 256b) of the display regions to produce a second light beam (ray 321a and 321b) corresponding to a second portion of the image frame for entry (i.e. entry/reflection angle of 321a and 321b on right side of Fig. 17B) into the light-guide optical element at a second angle (i.e. angle of ray 321a and 321b as shown on right side of Fig. 17B)(¶ 98: i.e. entry angle of two rays 321a and 3201 in Fig. 17B is different than the angles of two rays in Figs. 17A and 17C, ¶ 141: i.e. only surfaces 79b and 79d are activated during the second period of time p).
As to claim 2, Amitai (Figs. 13A-15B, Figs. 29A-C) teaches, wherein the processing devices are further configured to selectively activate the display regions by:
at the first time, deactivate the second display region (Fig. 14A, 29C: i.e. light ray reaches further distance, corresponding to 24L, by deactivating 79a, 79c, ¶ 141); and
at the second time, deactivate the first display region (Fig. 14B, 29B: i.e. light ray reaches intermediate distance, corresponding to 24R, by deactivating surfaces 79b, 79d).
As to claim 3, Amitai (Figs. 14A-15B) teaches,
the image frame is one of a plurality of images frame (i.e. images corresponding to user eye in Figs. 14A and 14B); and
a difference between the first time and the second time is based on a target framerate for the image frames (¶ 74: i.e. display is driven and updated relating to the frame-time at 50-60Hz).
As to claim 4, Amitai (Figs. 14A-15B) teaches, wherein the image frame is one of a plurality of image frames (i.e. image is updated and maintained in relation to frame-time).
As to claim 5, Amitai (Figs. 14A-15B) teaches,
the light-guide optical element comprises a plurality of activatable facets (¶ 66: i.e. switchable transreflective mirror); and
the processing devices are further configured to selectively activate each of the activatable facets to be fully transmissive (total transparent state) or fully reflective (pure reflection)(¶ 66).
As to claim 6, Amitai (Figs. 13A-15B) teaches, a method of selectively activating a plurality of display regions (sub-areas 282, 283, 282 as shown in Fig. 15B and different position of viewer’s eye 24 as shown in Figs. 14A-D) of an image generator (optical system 255) to produce respective light beams (rays 260, 262) for entry into a light-guide optical element (i.e. major surfaces as shown in Figs. 14A-D) at respective angles (i.e. angles reflected by surfaces 256)(Figs. 14a-D), the method comprising:
selectively activate the display regions by, for an image frame (image)(¶ 85: i.e. adjust local reflections of the dynamic element optically):
at a first time (Fig. 14A, 17A-C 29B), activating a first display region (i.e. region corresponding to 256a and 256b in Figs. 17A-C) of the display regions to produce a first light beam (ray 320a, 320b) corresponding to a first portion of the image frame for entry (i.e. entry/ reflection on the right side as ray 320a) into the light-guide optical element at a first angle (i.e. angle of ray 320a and 320b shown on right side of Fig. 17A)(¶ 98: i.e. entry angle of two rays 320a and 320b in Fig. 17A is different than the angles of two rays in Figs. 17B and 17C, ¶ 141: i.e. only surfaces 79a, 79c and 79e are activated during the first period of time p); and
at a second time (Fig. 14B, 17A-C, 29C) that is after the first time, activating a second display region (i.e. region corresponding to surface 256a and 256b) of the display regions to produce a second light beam (ray 321a and 321b) corresponding to a second portion of the image frame for entry (i.e. entry/reflection angle of 321a and 321b on right side of Fig. 17B) into the light-guide optical element at a second angle (i.e. angle of ray 321a and 321b as shown on right side of Fig. 17B)(¶ 98: i.e. entry angle of two rays 321a and 3201 in Fig. 17B is different than the angles of two rays in Figs. 17A and 17C, ¶ 141: i.e. only surfaces 79b and 79d are activated during the second period of time p).
As to claim 7, Amitai (Figs. 13A-15B, Figs. 29A-C) teaches,
at the first time, deactivate the second display region (Fig. 14A, 29C: i.e. light ray reaches further distance, corresponding to 24L, by deactivating 79a, 79c, ¶ 141); and
at the second time, deactivate the first display region (Fig. 14B, 29B: i.e. light ray reaches intermediate distance, corresponding to 24R, by deactivating surfaces 79b, 79d).
As to claim 8, Amitai (Figs. 14A-15B) teaches, the image frame is one of a plurality of images frames (i.e. images corresponding to user eye in Figs. 14A and 14B); and
a difference between the first time and the second time is based on a target framerate for the images frames (¶ 74: i.e. display is driven and updated relating to the frame-time at 50-60Hz).
As to claim 9, Amitai (Figs. 14A-15B) teaches, wherein the image frame is one of a plurality of image frames (i.e. image is updated and maintained in relation to frame-time).
As to claim 10, Amitai (Figs. 14A-15B) teaches,
the light-guide optical element comprises a plurality of activatable facets (¶ 66: i.e. switchable transreflective mirror); and
the method further comprises selectively activating each of the activatable facets to be fully transmissive (total transparent state) or fully reflective (pure reflection)(¶ 66).
As to claim 11, Amitai (Figs. 14A-15B) teaches, an optical system (optical system 255) configured to project light beams (rays 260, 262) to an eye of a user (viewer 24)(Figs. 14A-D), the optical system comprising:
a light-guide optical element (i.e. major surfaces as shown in Figs. 14A-D);
an image generator (optical system 255) coupled to the light-guide optical element and comprising a plurality of display regions (sub-areas 282, 283 and 286 as shown in Fig. 15B and different positions of viewer’s eye 24 as shown in Figs. 14A-D) that are configured to produce respective light beams which enter the light-guide optical element at respective angles (i.e. entry angles of rays 260 and 262 as shown on right side of Figs. 14A-14D); and
a controller (eyeball tracking unit 272 and dynamic control unit 276) configured to, for an image frame (Figs. 14A-14D, ¶ 81, 85);
at a first time (Fig. 14A, 17A-C 29B), activate a first display region (i.e. region corresponding to 256a and 256b in Figs. 17A-C) of the display regions to produce a first light beam (ray 320a, 320b) corresponding to a first portion of the image frame for entry (i.e. entry/ reflection on the right side as ray 320a) into the light-guide optical element at a first angle (i.e. angle of ray 320a and 320b shown on right side of Fig. 17A)(¶ 98: i.e. entry angle of two rays 320a and 320b in Fig. 17A is different than the angles of two rays in Figs. 17B and 17C, ¶ 141: i.e. only surfaces 79a, 79c and 79e are activated during the first period of time p); and
at a second time (Fig. 14B, 17A-C, 29C) that is after the first time, activate a second display region (i.e. region corresponding to surface 256a and 256b) of the display regions to produce a second light beam (ray 321a and 321b) corresponding to a second portion of the image frame for entry (i.e. entry/reflection angle of 321a and 321b on right side of Fig. 17B) into the light-guide optical element at a second angle (i.e. angle of ray 321a and 321b as shown on right side of Fig. 17B)(¶ 98: i.e. entry angle of two rays 321a and 3201 in Fig. 17B is different than the angles of two rays in Figs. 17A and 17C, ¶ 141: i.e. only surfaces 79b and 79d are activated during the second period of time p).
As to claim 12, Amitai (Figs. 13A-15B, Figs. 29A-C) teaches, wherein the controller further configured to:
at the first time, deactivate the second display region (Fig. 14A, 29C: i.e. light ray reaches further distance, corresponding to 24L, by deactivating 79a, 79c, ¶ 141); and
at the second time, deactivate the first display region (Fig. 14B, 29B: i.e. light ray reaches intermediate distance, corresponding to 24R, by deactivating surfaces 79b, 79d).
As to claim 13, Amitai (Figs. 14A-15B) teaches,
the image is one of a plurality of images frames (i.e. images corresponding to user eye in Figs. 14A and 14B); and
a difference between the first time and the second time is based on a target framerate for the images frames (¶ 74: i.e. display is driven and updated relating to the frame-time at 50-60Hz).
As to claim 14, Amitai (Figs. 14A-15B) teaches, wherein the image frame is one of a plurality of images frames (i.e. image is updated and maintained in relation to frame-time).
As to claim 15, Amitai (Figs. 14A-15B) teaches,
the light-guide optical element comprises a plurality of activatable facets (¶ 66: i.e. switchable transreflective mirror) that are parallel to one another (Figs. 14A-D: i.e. reflecting surfaces 256a and b are parallel to each other); and
the controller is further configured to control each of the activatable facets to be fully transmissive (total transparent state) or fully reflective (pure reflection)(¶ 66).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has amended claims 1, 6 and 11 to recite the limitations, “at a first time, activate a first display region of the display regions to produce a first light beam corresponding to a first portion of the image frame for entry into the light-guide optical element at a first angle; and at a second time that is after the first time, activate a second display region of the display regions to produce a second light beam corresponding to a second portion of the image frame for entry into the light-guide optical element at a second angle”. Applicant argues that Amitai prior art does not specifically teach a first portion of the image frame … at a first angle, and second image portion of the image frame … at a second angle. Further, Applicant argues that the claim limitations distinguish from Amitai prior art, which teaches the first time and a second time for two different eye positions and for two different image frames. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Amitai teaches different entry angles of optical rays 320a, 320b, 321a, 321b, 322a, and 322b for entering the optical element as shown in Figs. 17A-17C. Further, the figures teach that the output angle and position of the optical rays are different based on the entry angles. Further, Amitai teaches a driving method that partially drives different portions during a frame period. The reflecting surfaces 79a, 79c and 79d reflect the optical ray to 322ba to the user’s eyes. The reflecting surfaces 79b and 79d reflect optical rays as shown in Fig. 79C to output light via reflecting surface 79d. On ¶ 141, Amitai teaches that different rays reach the viewer’s eyes at different times slots within the same frame-time. In other words, Amitai teaches the aspect and results of different entry angles of the optical rays being input as shown in figs. 17A-17C and the aspect of temporally divided driving, which generates image at different portions of the final image, in a single frame as shown in Figs. 29A-29C. These different aspects of Amitai prior art teaches all of the limitations in the amended independent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiry
/SANGHYUK PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623