DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 8 and 9 recite the limitation "the enclosure" in Line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 1926686 to Newton (hereinafter “Newton”).
-From Claim 1: Newton discloses an enclosure system comprising:
a first component 11 that includes a first cutout 3, the first cutout including a first internal perimeter that defines a first cutout interface 5, 15;
a second component 12 that includes a second cutout 3, the second cutout including a second internal perimeter that defines a second cutout interface 5, 15; and
a self-threading screw 6 that includes a screw thread 16,
the first cutout interface being non-circular and including a first plurality of interface sides 5, 15, and
the self-threading screw being threadedly engaged with the first cutout interface and the second cutout interface to secure the first component to the second component on or within an enclosure, with a first plurality of discrete engagement portions of the screw thread (i.e., the portions of the thread than engage with 5, 15) threadedly engaging the first plurality of interface sides of the first cutout interface to secure the screw to the first component. (Fig. 10)
-From Claim 2: Newton discloses wherein the first plurality of interface sides includes at least three discrete interface sides (Figs. 1, 6).
-From Claim 3: Newton discloses wherein the first plurality of discrete engagement portions includes at least three discrete engagement portions that are spaced apart from each other along the screw thread so that each of the at least three discrete engagement portions engages a discrete portion of a corresponding interface side of the at least three discrete interface sides. (P.2, ll. 7-44)
-From Claim 4: Newton discloses wherein the first cutout 3 is a rectangular cutout and the first plurality of interface sides includes four interface sides 5 connected by four vertices, including a first interface side, a second interface side, a third interface side, and a fourth interface side, the first interface side being parallel to the third interface side, and the second interface side being parallel to the fourth interface side; and
wherein the first plurality of discrete engagement portions of the screw thread includes four discrete engagement portions spaced apart from each other along the screw thread, including a first discrete engagement portion that engages the first interface side, a second engagement portion that engages the second interface side, a third engagement portion that engages the third interface side, and a fourth engagement portion that engages the fourth interface side. (P.2, ll. 5-19)
-From Claim 5: Newton wherein the second cutout interface includes a second plurality of interface sides; and wherein the self-threading screw threadedly engages the second cutout interface, with a second plurality of discrete engagement portions of the screw thread threadedly engaging the second plurality of interface sides of the second cutout interface to secure the screw to the second component. (P. 2, ll. 20-27)
-From Claim 6: Newton discloses wherein the first plurality of discrete engagement portions of the screw thread 16 engage a first interface side of the first plurality of interface sides and a second interface side of the first plurality interface sides and wherein the first interface side is non-parallel to the second interface side (the surface of the threads being round, the portions that engage successive tabs 5, 15 would be non-parallel).
-From Claim 7: Newton discloses wherein the first plurality of discrete engagement portions of the self-threading screw extend radially into the first plurality of interface sides of the first cutout interface (threads extend radially outward from the stem/base portion of the shaft of the screw).
-From Claim 8: Newton discloses wherein the first component 11 is a support profile and the second component 12 is a frame member of the enclosure.
-From Claim 9: Newton discloses wherein the first component 11 and second component 12, secured together by the self-threading screw, define a support structure of the enclosure.
-From Claim 10: Newton discloses an enclosure system comprising:
a first component 11 that includes a first cutout 3, the first cutout defining a first cutout interface 5, 15;
a second component 12 that includes a second cutout 3; and
a self-threading screw 6 that includes a screw thread 16 and extends through the first and second cutouts to secure the first component to the second component, the first cutout interface defining a first polygonal shape (Figs. 1, 6) that includes at least three interface sides, with a first interface side of the at least three interface sides being adjacent to a second interface side of the at least three interface sides, and
the self-threading screw being threadedly engaged with the first cutout of the first component, with at least three engagement portions of the screw thread engaging the at least three interface sides of the first cutout interface, (i.e., the portions of the thread than engage with 5, 15) so that the screw thread extends radially into the first component at discrete, spaced apart locations on the at least three interface sides of the first cutout interface.
-From Claim 11: Newton discloses wherein a first interface side of the first cutout 3 interface is adjacent to a second interface side and a third interface side of the first cutout interface (Figs. 1, 6), and
wherein a first engagement portion of the at least three engagement portions engages the first interface side, a second engagement portion of the at least three engagement portions engages the second interface side, spaced apart from the engagement of the first engagement portion and first interface side, and a third engagement portion of the at least three engagement portions engages the third interface side, spaced apart from the engagement of the first engagement portion and first interface side and the engagement of the second engagement portion and the second interface side. (Figs. 6-10)
-From Claim 12: Newton discloses wherein the screw thread does not engage the first cutout interface between the engagement of the first engagement portion with first interface side and the engagement of the second engagement portion with the second interface side. (the gaps between the tongues 5, 15 do not touch the threads 16)
-From Claim 13: Newton discloses wherein the second cutout defines a second cutout interface that defines a second polygonal shape (square or triangular, as determined by the shape of the punch 4, 13 that goes through both components), and the self-threading screw is threadedly engaged with a second cutout interface, with second at least three engagement portions of the screw thread separately engaging second at least three interface sides of the second cutout interface, so that the screw thread extends radially into the second component at discrete, spaced apart locations on the second at least three interface sides of the second cutout interface.
-From Claim 14: Newton discloses wherein the first component 11 is a support profile and the second component 12 is a frame member of an enclosure.
-From Claim 15: Newton discloses wherein the first component 11 is a panel of an enclosure.
-From Claim 16: Newton discloses an enclosure system comprising:
a first component 1;
a second component 2; and
a self-threading screw 16 threadedly engaging a cutout in one of the first component or the second component, the cutout having a polygonal shape (Fig. 3) with a plurality of side walls that are separately engaged by a screw thread of the self-threading screw at a plurality of discrete engagement portions of the screw thread that are spaced apart from each other along the screw thread.
-From Claim 17: Newton discloses wherein the plurality of side walls includes at least three side walls 5.
-From Claim 18: Newton discloses wherein the polygonal shape is either of a rectangle, a pentagon, a hexagon, or a triangle. (Figs. 1, 3, 6, 8)
-From Claim 19: Newton discloses wherein the plurality of discrete engagement portions of the screw thread 16 extend radially into the plurality of side walls 5 (Figs. 4, 5).
-From Claim 20: Newton discloses wherein the screw thread does not engage the plurality of side walls in between the plurality of discrete engagement portions (screw only engages the innermost faces of the bent-in portions).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, as the cited references include structure similar to that of the presently claimed invention.
/DANIEL J WILEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678 8/25/2026