DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 51 be found allowable, claim 52 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 48-59, 61, 62, 65-67 and 69-76 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reed et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2019/0091480 A1, hereinafter “Reed”).
Regarding claims 48, 61 and 69, Reed teaches an implantable neurostimulator configured to electrically stimulate one or more cranial nerves in a head or neck of a patient (e.g. Figs. 5-7, [0029]-[0031],[0230]), comprising:
a flexible housing (e.g. 10 Fig.3I, [0252]: the silicone coating in these embodiments allows the IPG 10 to be flexible and bendable, with the ASIC body 306 and the battery body 322 being able to flex with respect to each other);
a circuit disposed in the housing, the circuit (e.g. [0102] 13: Application Specific Integrated Circuit [0223], Fig. 3I) including:
one or more electrical conductors (e.g. [0118] 29 Lead Internal Wire, Fig.3I) disposed between a pulse generation device (i.e. IPG, [0009]) and at least one electrical lead (e.g. 20 Fig. 3I),
the lead comprising at least one stimulation electrode (e.g. [0112] 24: Surface Metal Electrode, Fig.1) and at least one conductor, the at least one conductor (e.g. [0118] 29 Lead Internal Wire Fig.2) connected to the pulse generation device (e.g. [0009], Fig. 3, [0026]); and
a power, energy or electrical charge receiving circuitry operably connected to the pulse generation circuitry and configured to receive power, energy or electrical charge signals transcutaneously from an external power source and external power transmitting circuitry associated therewith (e.g. [0010]: rechargeable battery may be inductively recharged through the skin, 12 Fig.2), [0224]) ),
wherein the circuitry includes a computer (i.e. application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), [0287]: the processor 13 can be any type of instruction based processing device or state machine and even an ASIC that is capable of executing a sequence of events that results in some pattern of stimulating signals to be transmitted to the electrodes and also facilitates charging/powering and communication);
wherein the lead (e.g. 20 Fig.1) comprises proximal ([0108] 22: Proximal End) and distal portions (e.g. [0107] 21 Distal End), the at least one stimulation electrode (e.g. 24 Fig.1) is disposed distally from the proximal portion of the lead,
the pulse generation circuitry, the power, energy or electrical charge receiving circuitry, and at least portions of the circuit are disposed within the housing (e.g. 10-13 Fig.1),
the implantable neurostimulator is sized, shaped and configured to be implanted 0028in the head or neck of the patient beneath a patient's skin and positioned adjacent to, in contact with, or in operative positional relationship to, one or more target cranial nerves (e.g. Abstract: electrodes activated to provide localized stimulation to the desired nerve regions and at least three of the nerves associated therewith, [0019]: selected frontal, parietal, or occipital nerve region, Figs. 5-7).
Regarding claim 49, Reed teaches the implantable neurostimulator and the lead thereof are sized, shaped, and configured to electrically stimulate at least one of a facial nerve or portion thereof, a trigeminal nerve or portion thereof, a hypoglossal nerve or portion thereof, a cranial portion of a vagus nerve, a glossopharyngeal nerve or portion thereof, an auricular branch of the vagus nerve or portion thereof, a tympanic branch of the vagus nerve or portion thereof, a superior ganglion branch of the vagus nerve or portion thereof, an olfactory nerve or portion thereof, an optic nerve or portion thereof, an oculomotor nerve or portion thereof, a spinal accessory nerve or portion thereof, a vestibulocochlear nerve or portion thereof, or a spinal accessory nerve or portion thereof (e.g. Fig. 7[0029]-[0031],[0247], Figs. 36,39, 41, Note: This is an intended use limitation. Since the claims are directed to an implantable neurostimulator and Reed teaches the structural limitations of claim 48 as recited, the device may be used to stimulate any of the nerves as listed in this claim).
Regarding claim 50, Reed teaches the implantable neurostimulator is configured to electrically stimulate the at least one of the nerves to treat a mood disorder or mood affective disorder of the patient (Note: Since the claims are directed to an implantable neurostimulator and Reed teaches the structural limitations of claim 48 as recited, the device may be used to treat any of the disorders as listed in this claim).
Regarding claims 51 and 52, Reed teaches the computer is configured to receive information from a clinician programmer (e.g. 40 Figs. 8A, B, [0032], [0230], [0234], [0235],[0242, [0259], [0260]).
Regarding claims 53 and 54, Reed teaches the computer is configured to receive information from a patient programmer and wherein the patient programmer is configured to provide instructions to the implantable neurostimulator (e.g. 40 Figs. 8A, B, [0032], [0230], [0234]: radiofrequency , [0235]: system is capable of handling a program from the portable programmer 40 that includes such parameters as pulse amplitude, frequency and pulse width,[0242]: Upon recovery from anesthesia the system is turned on for the patient with a portable programmer and the multiple parameters for the system programmed to an optimal therapeutic endpoint for the patient., [0259], [0260], [0286]: The processor 2224 also interfaces with a communication interface 2234 that is operable to wirelessly communicate with the handheld device 2222).
Regarding claim 55, Reed teaches the implantable neurostimulator further includes a coil (i.e. antenna coil e.g. [0009], [0288]: There is coupling of both charging power and communication, this communication being bidirectional) disposed within the implantable neurostimulator, the coil configured to facilitate communication between the computer and a clinician programmer.
Regarding claim 56, Reed further teaches a coil disposed within the implantable neurostimulator, the coil configured to facilitate remote communication between the computer and a clinician programmer (i.e. antenna coil e.g. [0009], [0288]: There is coupling of both charging power and communication, this communication being bidirectional);
wherein the clinician programmer is configured to communicate with the computer when the implantable neurostimulator is positioned subcutaneously to establish a plurality of signal parameters to treat the target nerves (e.g. 40 Figs. 8A, B, [0032], [0230], [0234]: radiofrequency , [0235]: system is capable of handling a program from the portable programmer 40 that includes such parameters as pulse amplitude, frequency and pulse width,[0242]: Upon recovery from anesthesia the system is turned on for the patient with a portable programmer and the multiple parameters for the system programmed to an optimal therapeutic endpoint for the patient., [0259], [0260], [0286]: The processor 2224 also interfaces with a communication interface 2234 that is operable to wirelessly communicate with the handheld device 2222).
Regarding claim 57, Reed further teaches a coil disposed within the implantable neurostimulator, the coil configured to facilitate communication between the computer and a clinician programmer (i.e. antenna coil e.g. [0009], [0288]: There is coupling of both charging power and communication, this communication being bidirectional);
wherein the clinician programmer is configured to communicate with the computer when the implantable neurostimulator is positioned subcutaneously to establish a plurality of signal parameters to treat the target nerves (e.g. 40 Figs. 8A, B, [0032], [0230], [0234]: radiofrequency , [0235]: system is capable of handling a program from the portable programmer 40 that includes such parameters as pulse amplitude, frequency and pulse width,[0242]: Upon recovery from anesthesia the system is turned on for the patient with a portable programmer and the multiple parameters for the system programmed to an optimal therapeutic endpoint for the patient., [0259], [0260], [0286]: The processor 2224 also interfaces with a communication interface 2234 that is operable to wirelessly communicate with the handheld device 2222);
wherein the plurality of signal parameters is a first signal parameter; and wherein the clinician is permitted to adjust a treatment of the target nerves from the first signal parameter to a second signal parameter; wherein the second signal parameter is different from the first signal parameter (e.g. [0240],[0242], [0292]: different programs would be implemented in order to adjust distribution of the driving signals across the electrodes associated with the various implanted leads).
Regarding claim 58, Reed teaches the power receiving circuitry further comprises one or more wireless, RF, acoustic, piezoelectric, thin film bulk wave acoustic resonators (FBAR), or microwave energy receiving circuits (e.g. [0009],[0010], [0234], [0290]).
Regarding claim 59, Reed teaches encapsulating the electronics in a can and then enveloping the electronics in an epoxy or silicone coating (e.g. Figs 50-59) so that they are hermetically sealed (e.g. [0247]-[0252]).
Regarding claim 62, Reed teaches the at least one stimulation electrode includes: a first stimulation electrode disposed along the longitudinal axis; and a second stimulation electrode separated from the first stimulation electrode by a space, the second stimulation electrode disposed along the longitudinal axis (e.g. [0113],[0114], [0125]-[0127], Fig.1 shows electrode arrays 25, 26 and 35 comprising multiple metal electrodes 24 and 34 having an interelectrode distance 36).
Regarding claim 62, Reed teaches a plurality of electrodes and that that each of the electrodes can be designated as a cathode and an anode and therefore they teach a first stimulation electrode and a second stimulation electrode; wherein the first stimulation electrode is configured to deliver a charge to a patient; and wherein the second stimulation electrode is configured to receive the charge from the first stimulation electrode (e.g. [0217]: each of these electrodes can be designated as an anode or a cathode, [0218], [0222], [0225], [0282]).
Regarding claim 66, Reed teaches wherein the power receiving circuitry further comprises one or more wireless, RF, acoustic, piezoelectric, thin film bulk wave acoustic resonators (FBAR), or microwave energy receiving circuits (e.g. [0009],[0010], [0234], [0290]).
Regarding claim 67, Reed teaches encapsulating the electronics in a can and then enveloping the electronics in an epoxy or silicone coating (e.g. Figs 50-59) so that they are hermetically sealed (e.g. [0247]-[0252]).
Regarding claim 70, Reed teaches the flexible housing is comprised of a polymer that is configured to permanently deform to the shape of the head or neck of a patient (Reed teaches encapsulating the electronics in a can and then enveloping the electronics in an epoxy or silicone coating (e.g. Figs 50-59) so that it conforms to the shape of the human cranium when implanted (e.g. [0207], [0211], Fig. 49).
Regarding claim 71, Reed further teaches a coil disposed within the implantable neurostimulator, the coil configured to facilitate communication between the computer and a clinician programmer (i.e. antenna coil e.g. [0009], [0288]: There is coupling of both charging power and communication, this communication being bidirectional);
wherein the clinician programmer is configured to communicate with the computer when the implantable neurostimulator is positioned subcutaneously to establish a plurality of signal parameters to treat the target nerves (e.g. 40 Figs. 8A, B, [0032], [0230], [0234]: radiofrequency, [0235]: system is capable of handling a program from the portable programmer 40 that includes such parameters as pulse amplitude, frequency and pulse width,[0242]: Upon recovery from anesthesia the system is turned on for the patient with a portable programmer and the multiple parameters for the system programmed to an optimal therapeutic endpoint for the patient, [0259], [0260], [0286]: The processor 2224 also interfaces with a communication interface 2234 that is operable to wirelessly communicate with the handheld device 2222);
wherein the plurality of signal parameters is a first signal parameter; and wherein the clinician is permitted to adjust a treatment of the target nerves from the first signal parameter to a second signal parameter; wherein the second signal parameter is different from the first signal parameter (e.g. [0240],[0242], [0292]: different programs would be implemented in order to adjust distribution of the driving signals across the electrodes associated with the various implanted leads).
Regarding claim 72, Reed further teaches a coil disposed within the implantable neurostimulator, the coil configured to facilitate remote communication between the computer and a clinician programmer (i.e. antenna coil e.g. [0009], [0288]: There is coupling of both charging power and communication, this communication being bidirectional);
wherein the clinician programmer is configured to communicate with the computer when the implantable neurostimulator is positioned subcutaneously to establish a plurality of signal parameters to treat the target nerves (e.g. 40 Figs. 8A, B, [0032], [0230], [0234]: radiofrequency , [0235]: system is capable of handling a program from the portable programmer 40 that includes such parameters as pulse amplitude, frequency and pulse width,[0242]: Upon recovery from anesthesia the system is turned on for the patient with a portable programmer and the multiple parameters for the system programmed to an optimal therapeutic endpoint for the patient., [0259], [0260], [0286]: The processor 2224 also interfaces with a communication interface 2234 that is operable to wirelessly communicate with the handheld device 2222).
Regarding claim 73, Reed teaches the housing may further include a protective covering (e.g. 326, 304 Fig. 3E, [0244]) configured to protect a transition point at which the at least one conductor (e.g. [0118] 29 Lead Internal Wire) enters the housing.
Regarding claim 74, Reed teaches the lead may be comprised of a flexible material at the distal portion to permit a clinician to implant the implantable neurostimulator along a different plane than the lead (e.g. [0214]-[0215] Fig.1, 5-7, 10,11, 16-18).
Regarding claim 75, Reed teaches the power receiving circuitry further comprises one or more wireless, RF, acoustic, piezoelectric, thin film bulk wave acoustic resonators (FBAR), or microwave energy receiving circuits (e.g. [0009],[0010], [0234], [0290]).
Regarding claim 76, Reed teaches encapsulating the electronics in a can and then enveloping the electronics in an epoxy or silicone coating (e.g. Figs 50-59) so that they are hermetically sealed (e.g. [0247]-[0252]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 60, 68 and 77 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reed et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2017/0252568 A1, hereinafter “Reed”).
Regarding claims 60, 68 and 77, Reed teaches the claimed invention as discussed above and Reed teaches the lead has a length that extends beyond the housing and sufficient to allow for therapeutic neurostimulation unilaterally over the frontal, parietal and occipital regions (e.g. [0009], [0024],[0193]) and they teach that the lengths of the leads extending from the housing can be varied (e.g. [0231]: The FPL 20 is approximately 26 cm in length from its proximal end 22 to its distal end 21.,[0274]), they do not specifically teach that the lead has a length extending beyond the housing ranging between about 0.1 inches and about 4 inches. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system as taught by Reed to have a lead that lead has a length extending beyond the housing ranging between about 0.1 inches and about 4 inches, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art [In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233] and/or since it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ (Please see MPEP 2144.05).
Alternately, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Reed with the lead having a length extending beyond the housing ranging between about 0.1 inches and about 4 inches, because Applicant has not disclosed that the range claimed provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with varying length leads as taught by Reed or Reed in view of Eckhardt, because it provides coverage of all the target areas desired and since it appears to be an arbitrary design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over Reed. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify Reed to obtain the invention as specified in the claims.
Claim 63 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reed et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2017/0252568 A1, hereinafter “Reed”) in view of Tadlock (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2004/0186532 A1, hereinafter “Tadlock”).
Regarding claim 63, Reed teaches the claimed invention as discussed above and also describes the at least one stimulation electrode includes: a first stimulation electrode disposed along the longitudinal axis of the lead; and a second stimulation electrode separated from the first stimulation electrode by a space, the second stimulation electrode (e.g. [0113],[0114], [0125]-[0127], Fig.1 shows electrode arrays 25, 26 and 35 comprising multiple metal electrodes 24 (in arrays 25 and 26) and 34 (in array 35) and an interelectrode distance 36 between the multiple electrodes in each array). They do not specifically teach that the second electrode is disposed along a lateral axis of the lead, the lateral axis perpendicular to the longitudinal axis.
In a similar field of endeavor, Tadlock teaches a brain stimulation lead comprising a paddle shaped electrode array with a first electrode disposed along the longitudinal axis of the lead and the second electrode disposed along a lateral axis of the lead, the lateral axis perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (e.g. Figs 2G,2H). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the electrode array in the teachings of Reed to have a paddle shaped electrode array with a first electrode disposed along the longitudinal axis of the lead and the second electrode disposed along a lateral axis of the lead, the lateral axis perpendicular to the longitudinal axis as taught By Tadlock in order to provide the predictable results of providing a more effective stimulation to the target tissue region.
Claim 64 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reed et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2017/0252568 A1, hereinafter “Reed”) in view of Gerber et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2011/0190786 A1, hereinafter “Gerber”).
Regarding claim 64, Reed teaches the claimed invention as discussed above except for the distal portion of the stimulation electrode further comprising at least one deformable tine configured to fix the electrode in the patient.
In a similar field of endeavor, Gerber teaches a lead for brain stimulation (e.g. [0061]) comprising deformable tines 310, 311 configured to fix the distal portion of the stimulation electrode in the patient (e.g. Figs 1,2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the distal portion of the lead in the teachings of Reed to have deformable tines as taught by Gerber in order to provide the predictable results of ensuring that the lead stays secured at the target tissue location.
Double Patenting
Claims 48-77 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2 of U.S. Patent Number: US 11883666. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application is broader and overlaps the subject matter of U.S. Patent Number: US 11883666.
Independent claims 48, 61 and 69 are all directed to an implantable neurostimulator configured to electrically stimulate one or more cranial nerves in a head or neck of a patient, comprising: a flexible housing; a circuit disposed in the housing, the circuit including: one or more electrical conductors disposed between a pulse generation device and at least one electrical lead, the lead comprising at least one stimulation electrode and at least one conductor, the at least one conductor connected to the pulse generation device; and a power, energy or electrical charge receiving circuitry operably connected to the pulse generation circuitry and configured to receive power, energy or electrical charge signals transcutaneously from an external power source and external power transmitting circuitry associated therewith, wherein the circuitry includes a computer; wherein the lead comprises proximal and distal portions, the at least one stimulation electrode is disposed distally from the proximal portion of the lead, the pulse generation circuitry, the power, energy or electrical charge receiving circuitry, and at least portions of the circuit are disposed within the housing, the implantable neurostimulator is sized, shaped and configured to be implanted in the head or neck of the patient beneath a patient's skin and positioned adjacent to, in contact with, or in operative positional relationship to, one or more target cranial nerves which is broader and overlaps the claims of U.S. Patent Number: US 11883666. Further the dependent claims of the current application recite similar subject matter as the dependent claims of U.S. Patent Number: US 11883666.
Following the rationale in In re Goodman, cited above, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific or narrower invention, applicant may not then obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer.
Claims 48-77 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-35 of U.S. Patent Number: US 11559686. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application is broader and overlaps the subject matter of U.S. Patent Number: US 11559686.
Independent claims 48, 61 and 69 are all directed to an implantable neurostimulator configured to electrically stimulate one or more cranial nerves in a head or neck of a patient, comprising: a flexible housing; a circuit disposed in the housing, the circuit including: one or more electrical conductors disposed between a pulse generation device and at least one electrical lead, the lead comprising at least one stimulation electrode and at least one conductor, the at least one conductor connected to the pulse generation device; and a power, energy or electrical charge receiving circuitry operably connected to the pulse generation circuitry and configured to receive power, energy or electrical charge signals transcutaneously from an external power source and external power transmitting circuitry associated therewith, wherein the circuitry includes a computer; wherein the lead comprises proximal and distal portions, the at least one stimulation electrode is disposed distally from the proximal portion of the lead, the pulse generation circuitry, the power, energy or electrical charge receiving circuitry, and at least portions of the circuit are disposed within the housing, the implantable neurostimulator is sized, shaped and configured to be implanted in the head or neck of the patient beneath a patient's skin and positioned adjacent to, in contact with, or in operative positional relationship to, one or more target cranial nerves which is broader and overlaps the claims of U.S. Patent Number: US 11559686. Further the dependent claims of the current application recite similar subject matter as the dependent claims of U.S. Patent Number: US 11559686.
Following the rationale in In re Goodman, cited above, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific or narrower invention, applicant may not then obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer.
Claims 48-77 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-35 of U.S. Patent Number: US 12285614. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application is broader and overlaps the subject matter of U.S. Patent Number: US 12285614.
Independent claims 48, 61 and 69 are all directed to an implantable neurostimulator configured to electrically stimulate one or more cranial nerves in a head or neck of a patient, comprising: a flexible housing; a circuit disposed in the housing, the circuit including: one or more electrical conductors disposed between a pulse generation device and at least one electrical lead, the lead comprising at least one stimulation electrode and at least one conductor, the at least one conductor connected to the pulse generation device; and a power, energy or electrical charge receiving circuitry operably connected to the pulse generation circuitry and configured to receive power, energy or electrical charge signals transcutaneously from an external power source and external power transmitting circuitry associated therewith, wherein the circuitry includes a computer; wherein the lead comprises proximal and distal portions, the at least one stimulation electrode is disposed distally from the proximal portion of the lead, the pulse generation circuitry, the power, energy or electrical charge receiving circuitry, and at least portions of the circuit are disposed within the housing, the implantable neurostimulator is sized, shaped and configured to be implanted in the head or neck of the patient beneath a patient's skin and positioned adjacent to, in contact with, or in operative positional relationship to, one or more target cranial nerves which is broader and overlaps the claims of U.S. Patent Number: US 12285614. Further the dependent claims of the current application recite similar subject matter as the dependent claims of U.S. Patent Number: US 12285614.
Following the rationale in In re Goodman, cited above, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific or narrower invention, applicant may not then obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gerber et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2008/0132979 A1, hereinafter “Gerber’979”) teaches a DBS system that comprises a patient programmer and a clinician programmer and tined leads (e.g. Figs. 1,2).
Kast et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2009/0112282 A1, hereinafter “Kast”) teaches a DBS system that comprises a implantable medical device implanted beneath the skin and inferior to the inion of a patient to deliver stimulation therapy to at least one of an occipital nerve and a branch of the occipital nerve and comprises a patient programmer and a clinician programmer and tined leads (e.g. Fig. 1A, Abstract, [0032]).
/MALLIKA D FAIRCHILD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792