DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 9, 18 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 9 and 18 end with “the user”, which appears to be incomplete. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Innocenzi et al. (US 2021/0261090) (“Innocenzi”).
With respect to claim 1, Innocenzi discloses a system comprising: one or more processors; and non-transitory computer readable media storing processor-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations (abstract and figure 10 discloses processors and computer readable media for remote vehicle immobilizer) comprising: receiving, at a remote computing resource and from a network device, data associated with an instruction to monitor ignition circuits of multiple individual vehicles in a collection of vehicles (figure 3, paragraphs 0022, 0051 discloses providing to the network ignition data of the vehicle); determining, by the remote computing resource and based at least in part on the data, criterion indicative of which individual vehicles to monitor (paragraphs 0037-0039, discloses data and conditions to either immobilize or mobilize the vehicle); determining, by the remote computing resource, that a vehicle attribute associated with a vehicle satisfies the criterion; determining, by the remote computing resource and based at least in part on determining that the vehicle attribute satisfies the criterion, that the vehicle belongs to the collection of vehicles; and transmitting, based at least in part on determining that the vehicle belongs to the collection of vehicles, the instruction to a device disposed inline with an ignition circuit of the vehicle, the device configured to monitor the ignition circuit of the vehicle (paragraph 022 discloses monitoring the starter). Paragraphs 0037-0039, 0059-0065, discloses that the remote vehicle immobilization system immobilizing a vehicle that belongs to the collection of vehicles via an electronic switch 404 inline with starter 406, figure 4.
With respect to claims 2, 7, 16, Innocenzi discloses the system of one of the claims, wherein the instruction comprises a signal to control a switch inline with the ignition circuit of the vehicle to disconnect power supplied to a powertrain of the vehicle. See electronic switch 404, figure 4.
With respect to claims 3, 8, 17, Innocenzi discloses the system of one of the claims, wherein the instruction comprises: a first signal to maintain a current state of power supplied to a powertrain of the vehicle until a change in power supplied to the ignition circuit of the vehicle is detected; and a second signal to control a switch inline with the ignition circuit to disconnect power supplied to the powertrain if the change in power meets or exceeds a threshold change. Paragraphs 0020-0022 discloses an administrator for allowing the vehicle to be mobilize or immobilize based on starter data.
With respect to claim 4, Innocenzi discloses the system of claim 1, the operations further comprising: determining, by the remote computing resource, that a second vehicle attribute associated with a second vehicle satisfies the criterion; determining, by the remote computing resource and based at least in part on determining that the second vehicle attribute satisfies the criterion, that the second vehicle belongs to the collection of vehicles; and transmitting, based at least in part on determining that the second vehicle belongs to the collection of vehicles, the instruction to a second device disposed inline with a second ignition circuit of the second vehicle, the second device configured to monitor the second ignition circuit of the second vehicle. Figure 3 and Paragraphs 0037-0039, 0059-0065, discloses that the remote vehicle immobilization system immobilizing a vehicle/plurality/second of vehicles that belongs to the collection of vehicles via an electronic switch 404 inline with starter 406, figure 4.
With respect to claim 5, Innocenzi discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the criterion comprises at least one of: a geographical radius, a time of day, a manufacturer, a model, a model year or range of years, a vehicle identifier, a selection or indication of the collection of vehicles, a timeframe, a geolocation, or a price or range of prices. Paragraphs 0020, 0054-0057 discloses that the set of rules or policies include geographical location, vehicle identifier, condition of vehicle, time of day, for example.
With respect to claim 6, Innocenzi discloses non-transitory computer readable media storing processor-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations (abstract and figure 10 discloses processors and computer readable media for remote vehicle immobilizer) comprising: receiving criteria data associated with an instruction to monitor an ignition circuit of a vehicle (figure 3, paragraphs 0022, 0051 discloses providing to the network ignition data of the vehicle); determining, based at least in part on the criteria data and a vehicle attribute associated with a vehicle, that the vehicle satisfies the criteria data (paragraphs 0037-0039, discloses data and conditions to either immobilize or mobilize the vehicle); and transmitting, based at least in part on determining that the vehicle satisfies the criteria data, the instruction to a device disposed inline with an ignition circuit of the vehicle, the device configured to monitor the ignition circuit of the vehicle (paragraph 022 discloses monitoring the starter). Paragraphs 0037-0039, 0059-0065, discloses that the remote vehicle immobilization system immobilizing a vehicle that belongs to the collection of vehicles via an electronic switch 404 inline with starter 406, figure 4.
With respect to claims 9, 18, Innocenzi discloses the non-transitory computer readable media of one of the claims, the operations further comprising: receiving authentication data associated with a user, and wherein transmitting the instruction to the device is further based at least in part on authenticating, based at least in part on the authentication data, the user. Paragraphs 0057 0060, 0063 discloses receiving data associated with a user to authorizer or not authorize the user to use the vehicle.
With respect to claim 10, Innocenzi discloses the non-transitory computer readable media of claim 6, the operations further comprising determining a communication protocol, and wherein the instruction is transmitted to the device via the communication protocol. Paragraphs 0093, 0099 discloses utilizing a well-known transfer protocols for communicating via the network.
With respect to claim 11, Innocenzi discloses the non-transitory computer readable media of claim 10, wherein determining a communication protocol is based at least in part at least one of: a distance between the vehicle and a network device from which the instruction was received; a communication latency; a network connectivity status of the vehicle and the network device; a user subscription status; or a preference setting. Paragraph 0025 discloses implementing any number of nodes or communication links, figure 10 discloses communication 1040 implementing near field or cellular communication, for example.
With respect to claim 12, Innocenzi discloses the non-transitory computer readable media of claim 11, wherein the communication protocol comprises at least one of: Bluetooth; cellular; wireless fidelity (Wi-Fi); a radio frequency protocol; or an ultrasonic communication frequency. Paragraphs 0091-0093 discloses utilizing Bluetooth, cellular, Wi-Fi, and/or near filed communication.
With respect to claims 13, 19, Innocenzi discloses the non-transitory computer readable media of one of the claims, the operations further comprising receiving a notification, the notification indicating: that the device disposed inline with the ignition circuit of the vehicle was tampered with, or that a switch associated with the device configured to disconnect power supplied to a powertrain of the vehicle was activated. Paragraphs 0022, 0051 discloses sending notifications indicating attempting engine ignition of the vehicle.
With respect to claims 14, 20, Innocenzi discloses the non-transitory computer readable media of one of the claims, wherein transmitting the instruction to the device is further based at least in part on receiving an indication that a manual override switch associated with the device was activated. Paragraphs 0036, 0042 discloses that transmitting the commands are executed manually.
With respect to claim 15, Innocenzi discloses the apparatus necessary to complete the recited method steps, as discussed above in the rejection of claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Schwartz (US 9,688,245) discloses a system and method for remotely disabling or enabling a vehicle.
/CARLOS AMAYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836