DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “a water condenser having…a fluid inlet, and a fluid outlet, wherein heat is transferred from air flowing into the air inlet to fluid flowing from the fluid inlet to the fluid outlet” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-16, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Giacomini (US 20170247862).
Regarding claim 1, Giacomini teaches a condenser apparatus (fig. 4) comprising: (a) a housing (22) for directing air flow within the housing (fig. 4), and having an air inlet (42) and an air outlet (70); (b) a cross flow heat exchanger (46) having a first air inlet (50), a first air outlet (52), a second air inlet (56), and a second air outlet (58); (c) an airflow driver (68) for driving airflow through at least a portion of the housing; (d) a water condenser (62) having an air inlet (52 into 62) for receiving air flowing from the first air outlet of the cross flow heat exchanger (fig. 4), an air outlet (62 into 56) for providing air to the second air inlet of the cross flow heat exchanger (fig. 4), a fluid inlet (water within 62, paragraph 0094), and a fluid outlet (out of 62 into 65), wherein heat is transferred from air flowing into the air inlet to fluid flowing from the fluid inlet to the fluid outlet (paragraph 0094); and (e) a condensate collector (65) for collecting water condensate from the air flowing into the air inlet of the water condenser.
Regarding claim 2, Giacomini teaches the airflow driver comprises a fan (air blower, paragraph 0098).
Regarding claim 3, Giacomini teaches the airflow driver comprises a plurality of fans (two blower units, paragraph 0098).
Regarding claim 4, Giacomini teaches the airflow driver drives air through the cross flow heat exchanger and through the water condenser (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 5, Giacomini teaches the cross flow heat exchanger provides for removal of sensible heat from the air flowing from the first air inlet to the first air outlet (paragraph 0089, 0091, 0095).
Regarding claims 6, 7, Giacomini teaches the cross flow heat exchanger provides a reduction in temperature of air of at least 2 degrees F (understood that 46 is capable of reducing the air flowing through 42 by at least 2 degrees F to about 14 degrees F since 46 precools the air before entering 62, paragraph 0091, 0095).
Regarding claims 9-16, 19, it is noted that although the preamble of claim 14 is directed towards a method, the structure of the combined teachings disclose all the structure being provided in the method steps, thus the method is also anticipated by the combined teachings. If a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated or rendered obvious by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently or obviously perform the claimed process. Thus, the method, as claimed, would necessarily result from the normal operation of the apparatus. See MPEP 2112.02.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 17-18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claims 8 and 17, the subject matter which is considered to distinguish from the closest prior art of record, Giacomini (US 20170247862). The prior art of record teaches allowing air from the air outlet of the water condenser to flow into the second air inlet of the cross flow heat exchanger in contrast to the claimed features of a bypass opening for allowing air from the air outlet of the water condenser to bypass flow into the second air inlet of the cross flow heat exchanger as recited in claim 8 or allowing the processed air to bypass the cross flow heat exchanger as recited in claim 17.
Conclusion
/ELIZABETH J MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763