FINAL ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 12/19/2025 has been received and claims 1-4 and 6-27 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 15-27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/04/2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-4 and 6-14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
in line 6 of Claim 1, delete “of” between “cleaning” and “the septum”;
in line 17 of Claim 1, insert --automated-- before “vial”;
in line 4 of Claim 6, delete “by” and insert --with--;
in line 5 of Claim 6, insert --automated-- before “vial”;
in line 6 of Claim 7, insert --at least one-- before “swab”;
in line 9 of Claim 7, insert --at least one-- before “swab”;
in line 10 of Claim 7, insert --at least one-- before “swab”;
in line 11 of Claim 7, insert --at least one-- before “swab”;
in line 12 of Claim 7, insert --at least one-- before “swab”;
in line 13 of Claim 7, insert --at least one-- before “swab”;
in line 14 of Claim 7, insert --at least one-- before “swab”;
in line 4 of Claim 8, delete “vial” and insert --vials--;
in line 3 of Claim 9, delete “vial” and insert --vials--;
in line 4 of Claim 9, delete “constitutes” and insert --is--;
in line 10 of Claim 12, insert --the-- before “UV radiation”;
in line 4 of Claim 13, delete “vial” and insert --vials--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “imaging apparatus” in claim 1; “vial transferring means” in claim 8.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. In particular, the corresponding structure for the “imaging apparatus” is one or more cameras, sensors, or other image capture devices (see p. 54 [0423]) and the corresponding structure for the “vial transferring means” is a robotic arm with a gripper at an end or a robotic arm (see p. 49 [0397], p. 60 [0450] of Specification).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Claim 11, it is not clear whether the limitation “to an ultraviolet (UV) radiation” is attempting to set forth a type of electromagnetic radiation/wave or a UV light source/”source of UV radiation”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 6-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mlodzinski (20080199353).
As to Claim 1, Mlodzinski (‘353) discloses an automated vial preparation module (100) that, when in use, prepares vials for being used in pharmaceutical compounding, said preparation of vials capable of comprising at least cleaning a septum of a vial (see entire document, particularly p. 5 [0043] and [0045]-[0048], pp. 10-11 [0087], p. 12 [0105] and [0108]-[0109]), said automated vial preparation module (100) comprising:
a vial preparation zone (i.e. area/region where component(s) such as 300/500/600/1100/1200, 1212 is/are located) in which the automated vial preparation module performs the preparation of the vial (330; 560; 812; 1208) capable of including the cleaning the septum of the vial;
at least one imaging apparatus for imaging a field of view including the vial preparation zone (see entire document, particularly p. 4 [0038]); and
a controller or control circuitry (1000) (see entire document, particularly Figure 10, p. 5 [0044], p. [0066], pp. 9- 10 [0080], p. 10 [0081]-[0085], pp. 10-11 [0087], p. 12 [0102] and [0104]) for:
receive (via 1010 and/or 1025), from the at least one imaging apparatus (see entire document, particularly p. 4 [0038]), images capable of including the septum of the vial (see entire document, particularly Figures 3A-3C and 10, p. 12 [0102]);
process (via 1005) the received images (see entire document, particularly Figure 10, p. 4 [0038], pp. 9- 10 [0080], p. 10 [0081]-[0085], pp. 10-11 [0087], p. 12 [0105]); and
monitor (via 1005, 1010, 1015; 1025), based on said processing, at least the cleaning of the septum of the vial (see entire document, particularly Figures 3A-3C and 10, pp. 4-5 [0041], p. 5 [0044], pp. 9- 10 [0080], p. 10 [0081]-[0085], pp. 10-11 [0087], p. 12 [0105]); and
operate the automated vial preparation module (100) based on feedback generated according to the monitoring (see entire document, particularly Figure 10, pp. 4-5 [0041], p. 5 [0044], pp. 9- 10 [0080], p. 10 [0081]-[0085], pp. 10-11 [0087]).
As to Claim 6, Mlodzinski (‘353) discloses that the automated vial preparation module (100) being configured to perform the cleaning the septum of the vial is capable to wipe the septum of the vial with at least one swab greppable via a manipulator (i.e. robotic arm such as 335) of the automated vial preparation module (100) (see entire document, particularly p. 9 [0076], p. 10 [0087], p. 12 [0102]).
As to Claim 7, the controller or control circuitry (1000) of Mlodzinski (‘353) is capable to/operable to monitor one or more swab related indications based on the images, wherein the one or more swab related indications capable of being at least one of: a pattern of movement of the at least one swab on the septum, a duration of wiping, an accuracy of wiping, a contact between the at least one swab and the septum, a pressure applied by the at least one swab on the septum, a position of the at least one swab, a relative position of the at least one swab and the septum during the wiping, a determination whether the swab is wet or dry, an orientation of the at least one swab with respect to the septum, and a time of initiation of the wiping; and wherein the feedback is capable of being generated according to the one or more swab related indications.
As to Claim 8, Mlodzinski (‘353) discloses that the automated vial preparation module (100) being configured to perform the preparation of the vials is capable/configured to mount a vial adaptor (1202) on the vial (1208), the vial adaptor (1202) greppable by a vial transferring means (i.e. robotic arm such as 335) of the automated vial preparation module (100) (see entire document, particularly p. 9 [0076], p. 10 [0087], p. 12 [0102]); and wherein the controller or control circuitry (1000) is capable to/operable to monitor one or more vial adaptor related indications based on the images, where the one or more vial adaptor related indications is capable of being at least one of: an alignment of the vial adaptor with respect to the vial, an angle of the vial adaptor with respect to the vial, a final position of the vial adaptor on the vial, an expiry date of the vial adaptor, and a determination whether the vial adaptor is genuine; and wherein the feedback is capable of being generated according to the one or more vial adaptor related indications.
As to Claim 9, Mlodzinski (‘353) discloses that the automated vial preparation module being configured to perform the preparation of the vials is configured to place the vial (760; 812) on a vial mount (i.e. holder/gripper/clip 790; 805; 1212) which is a component of the automated vial preparation module (100) (see entire document, particularly p. 5 [0043] – lines 3-4, p. 6 [0054], pp. 6-7 [0055]).
As to Claim 10, the controller or control circuitry (1000) of Mlodzinski (‘353) is capable to/operable to monitor one or more vial related indications based on the images; wherein the one or more vial related indications capable of being at least one of: an alignment of the vial with respect to the vial mount, an orientation of the vial on the vial mount, a position of the septum of the vial, a position of the vial with respect to the vial mount, a position of the vial on the vial mount, an identification of a label of the vial, a height of the vial, a geometry of the vial, a content of the vial, movement of the vial and/or the vial mount, and disinfection of the septum of the vial; and wherein the feedback is capable of being generated according to the one or more vial related indications.
As to Claim 11, Mlodzinski (‘353) discloses that the automated vial preparation module (100) being configured to perform the cleaning of the septum of the vial (see Figures 3A-3C) is configured to expose the septum to an ultraviolet (UV) radiation (305; 510; 820) (see entire document, particularly p. 5 [0043] – lines 1-3 and [0044]-[0048], p. 6 [0051]-[0053], pp. 10-11 [0087], p. 12 [0108]-[0109]).
As to Claim 12, the controller or control circuitry (1000) of Mlodzinski (‘353) is capable to/operable to monitor one or more UV related indications capable of being at least one of: a wavelength of the UV radiation, an intensity of the UV radiation, a duration of exposure, an angle of the exposure, and a distance between the septum and source of the UV radiation; and wherein the feedback is capable of being generated according to the one or more UV related indications.
As to Claim 13, Mlodzinski (‘353) discloses that the automated vial preparation module (100) being configured to perform the preparation of vials is configured to deliver and direct an airflow on the vial (see entire document, particularly pp. 5-6 [0049], p. 9 [0079], p. 11 [0097]).
As to Claim 14, the controller or control circuitry (1000) of Mlodzinski (‘353) is capable to/operable to monitor one or more airflow related indications capable of being at least one of: a laminarity of the airflow, a first contact of the airflow with the vial and/or with a vial adaptor associated with the vial, a velocity of the airflow, a direction of the airflow, a presence of the airflow, and an airflow path; and wherein the feedback is capable of being generated according to the one or more airflow related indications.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mlodzinski (20080199353) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tribble (20190307643).
Mlodzinski (‘353) is relied upon for disclosure described in the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1).
As to Claim 2, while Mlodzinski (‘353) discloses that the automated vial preparation module (100) being configured to perform the cleaning the septum of the vial (see Figures 3A-3C), Mlodzinski (‘353) does not appear to specifically teach that the automated vial preparation module is configured to apply a disinfecting solution on the septum of the vial.
It was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a disinfecting solution on a surface of a vial. Tribble (‘643) discloses an automated vial preparation module that is configured to apply a disinfecting solution to a vial which intrinsically comprises a septum in order to disinfect an exposed surface of the vial (see entire document, particularly p.6 [0064]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a disinfecting solution applying means in the module of Mlodzinski as a known additional component in order to sterilize the vial as shown by Tribble.
As to Claim 3, the control circuitry (1000) of Mlodzinski (‘353) is capable to/operable to monitor one or more disinfecting solution related indications based on the images.
As to Claim 4, in the automated vial preparation module (100) of Mlodzinski (‘353), the one or more disinfecting solution related indications is capable of being at least one of: a volume of the disinfecting solution on the septum of the vial, whether the septum of the vial is wet or dry, and whether the volume of the disinfecting solution on the septum is sufficient or not; and wherein the feedback is capable to be generated according to the one or more disinfecting solution related indications.
Thus, Claims 2-4 would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 103 over the combined teachings of Mlodzinski (‘353) and Tribble (‘643).
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 12/19/2025 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of any patent granted on Application Number 19/174,365 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4 and 6-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the new combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REGINA M YOO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758