DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 20 are presented for examination.
Claim Interpretation
The limitation “analyzer unit” recited in L4 of claim 1 invokes 35 U.S.C 112(f) means (unit) + function (for analyzer). A review of the specification reveals that the corresponding structure is a computer as recited in pg.12 L7-18. Therefore, the limitation is interpreted as requiring a computer or its equivalent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-9, 11-14, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scott et al. (US 2022/0091026 A1; pub. Mar. 24, 2022).
Regarding claim 1, Scott et al. disclose in a first embodiment: A system for measuring at least one analyte in air over an area (para. [0009], [0021]), the system comprising:
open-path sensing equipment; and an analyzer unit in operable communication with the open-path sensing equipment (para. [0009], [0021]), wherein the open-path sensing equipment comprises:
at least one mid-infrared (mid-IR) light source disposed thereon and configured to provide light at a predetermined wavelength for a particular analyte, wherein the predetermined wavelength is in a range of from 2 micrometers (µm) to 30 µm (para. [0151]).
In the first embodiment Scott et al. are silent about: a plurality of reflection mirrors configured to reflect light from each mid-IR light source; and
a detector configured to receive signals of light reflected from the plurality of reflection mirrors.
In a further embodiment Scott et al. disclose: a plurality of reflection mirrors (fig.6 items M1-M3) configured to reflect light from each mid-IR light source (fig.6 item S1); and
a detector (fig.6 items Sp1 & Sp2) configured to receive signals of light reflected from the plurality of reflection mirrors motivated by the benefits for increased and SNR (Scott et al. para. [0139]).
In light of the benefits for increased absorption and SNR as taught by Scott et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the two embodiments of Scott et al.
Regarding claim 2, Scott et al. disclose: an airborne vehicle having the open-path sensing equipment mounted thereon; and a meteorology station in operable communication with the analyzer unit, wherein the meteorological station is configured to obtain meteorological data of the air on the airborne vehicle (para. [0009], [0269]),
wherein the meteorological data comprises wind speed, wind direction, air pressure, air temperature, humidity, or a combination thereof (para. [0092], [0090], [0093]).
Regarding claim 6, Scott et al. disclose: the open-path sensing equipment further comprises an off-axis parabolic mirror configured to focus the light reflected from the plurality of reflection mirrors onto the detector (para. [0210]).
Regarding claim 7, Scott et al. disclose: the open-path sensing equipment is configured such that the light has a number of passes after it is provided by the at least one light source and before it is reaches the detector, wherein the number of passes is in a range of from 2 passes to 200 passes (fig.6).
Regarding claim 8, Scott et al. disclose: the analyzer unit comprises software stored thereon that is configured to receive the signals of light reflected from the plurality of reflection mirrors and convert them to data indicative of a concentration of the at least one analyte in the air, and
wherein the data indicative of the concentration of the at least one analyte in the air comprises spatial information of the concentration of the at least one analyte in the air (para. [0146]).
Regarding claim 9, Scott et al. disclose: the analyzer unit converts the signals via wavelength modulation spectroscopy, direct absorption spectroscopy, or both (para. [0146]).
Regarding claim 11, Scott et al. disclose: a global positioning satellite (GPS) receiver disposed on the airborne vehicle and in operable communication with the open-path sensing equipment (para. [0187]-[0188]); and an external battery disposed on the airborne vehicle and configured to provide power to the open-path sensing equipment (para. [0269] drones are equipped with batteries).
Regarding claim 12, Scott et al. disclose: the system is configured such that during operation the system uses a power of 10 watts (W) or less, wherein the system excluding the airborne vehicle has a total weight of about 3 kilograms (kg) or less, and wherein the open-path airborne vehicle is an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) (para. [0269] teaches a drone based system, therefore, one of ordinary skill could have derive the claimed limitation from the teaching of para. [0269]).
Regarding claim 13, Scott et al. disclose: A method for measuring at least one analyte in air over an area, the method comprising:
i) providing the system according to claim 2;
ii) operating the open-path sensing equipment (para. [0269]);
iii) operating the airborne vehicle such that it moves over at least a majority of the area while the open-path sensing equipment is being operated (para. [0269]); and
iv) using the analyzer unit to convert signals of reflected light in the open-path sensing equipment to data indicative of a concentration of the at least one analyte in the air (para. [0146], [0209]).
Regarding claim 14, Scott et al. disclose: a meteorology station in operable communication with the analyzer unit, wherein the meteorological station is configured to obtain meteorological data of the air over the area, air adjacent to the area, or both (para. [0092], fig.7A),
wherein the meteorological data comprises wind speed, wind direction, air pressure, air temperature, humidity, or a combination thereof (para. [0093]), and
wherein the meteorology station is disposed within or adjacent to the area (fig.1 & fig.7).
Regarding claim 17, Scott et al. disclose: at least one power source configured to provide power to the open-path sensing equipment,
wherein the system is configured such that during operation the system uses a power of 60 watts (W) or less (para. [0269] teaches the use of a drone, the limitation is obvious in light of para. [0269] since drones are optimized to consume less power).
Regarding claim 18, Scott et al. disclose: the open-path sensing equipment is mounted on a tower disposed in or adjacent to the area; or the open-path sensing equipment is mounted on a moving object (para. [0269]).
Regarding claim 19, Scott et al. disclose: the system is configured to operate without failure at all temperatures in a range of from -40 °C to 60 C (para. [0092] teaches meteorological measurements & air quality monitoring, obvious in view of the teaching of para. [0092] because outdoor temperature never has reached 600 Celsius).
Regarding claim 20, Scott et al. disclose: A method for measuring at least one analyte in air over an area, the method comprising:
i) providing the system according to claim 14;
ii) operating the open-path sensing equipment (drone); and
iii) using the analyzer unit to convert signals of reflected light in the open-path sensing equipment to data indicative of a concentration of the at least one analyte in the air (para. [0146], [0209]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scott et al. (US 2022/0091026 A1; pub. Mar. 24, 2022) in view of Eichenlaub et al. (US 2023/0304982 A1; pub. Sep. 28, 2023).
Regarding claim 3, Scott et al. disclose: each analyte of the at least one analyte is a greenhouse gas or air pollutant (para. [0151]).
Scott et al. are silent about: the system is configured to measure the at least one analyte with a sensitivity of 100 parts per billion (ppb) or less.
In a similar field of endeavor Eichenlaub et al. disclose: the system is configured to measure the at least one analyte with a sensitivity of 100 parts per billion (ppb) or less (para. [0314]) motivated by the benefits for air quality monitor (Eichenlaub et al. para. [0314]).
In light of the benefits for air quality monitor as taught by Eichenlaub et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Scott et al. with the teachings of Eichenlaub et al.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scott et al. (US 2022/0091026 A1; pub. Mar. 24, 2022) in view of Sabry et al. (US 2023/0014558 A1; pub. Jan. 19, 2023) and further in view of Vodopyanov et al. (US 2011/0058248 A1; pub. Mar. 10, 2011).
Regarding claim 4, Scott et al. are silent about: each reflection mirror of the plurality of reflection mirrors is a spherical mirror, wherein each reflection mirror of the plurality of reflection mirrors is gold-coated, wherein the open-path sensing equipment further comprises a pair of alignment mirrors, wherein each alignment mirror of the pair of alignment mirrors is flat, and wherein each alignment mirror of the pair of alignment mirrors is gold-coated.
In a similar field of endeavor Sabry et al. disclose: each reflection mirror of the plurality of reflection mirrors is a spherical mirror (para. [0084], [0118]), the open-path sensing equipment further comprises a pair of alignment mirrors, wherein each alignment mirror of the pair of alignment mirrors is flat (para. [0084], [0120]) motivated by the benefits for increased absorption.
In light of the benefits for increased absorption, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Scott et al. with the teachings of Sabry et al.
Sabry et al. are silent about: each reflection mirror of the plurality of reflection mirrors is gold-coated, each alignment mirror of the pair of alignment mirrors is gold-coated.
In a similar field of endeavor Vodopyanov et al. disclose: gold coated mirror used for gas analyte detection (para. [0035]-[0036], [0081]) motivated by the benefits for long-lasting mirrors that are efficient in infrared spectrum.
In light of the benefits for long-lasting mirrors that are efficient in infrared spectrum, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Scott et al. and Sabry et al. with the teachings of Vodopyanov et al.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scott et al. (US 2022/0091026 A1; pub. Mar. 24, 2022) in view of Wang et al. (CN 117214097A; pub. Dec. 12, 2023).
Regarding claim 5, Scott et al. are silent about: the open-path sensing equipment further comprises adjustable rods between reflection mirrors of the plurality of reflection mirrors.
In a similar field of endeavor Wang et al. disclose: adjustable rods (fig.1 items 6) between reflection mirrors of the plurality of reflection mirrors (fig.1 items 5 & 12) motivated by the benefits for fine-tuning of the distance between mirrors (Wang et al. para. [0032]).
In light of the benefits for fine-tuning of the distance between mirrors as taught by Wang et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the mirror system of Wang et al. in the apparatus of Scott et al.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scott et al. (US 2022/0091026 A1; pub. Mar. 24, 2022) in view of Prasad et al. (US 2008/0259340 A1; pub. Oct. 23, 2008).
Regarding claim 10, Scott et al. are silent about: the open-path sensing equipment is configured to operate at a frequency in a range of from I Hertz (Hz) to 1000 Hz.
In a similar field of endeavor Prasad et al. disclose: the open-path sensing equipment is configured to operate at a frequency in a range of from I Hertz (Hz) to 1000 Hz (para. [0046], [0060]) motivated by the benefits for improved signal to noise ratio (para. [0060]).
In light of the benefits for improved signal to noise ratio as taught by Prasad et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the laser of Prasad et al. in the apparatus of Scott et al.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scott et al. (US 2022/0091026 A1; pub. Mar. 24, 2022) in view of Uno et al. (US 5,726,752; pub. Mar. 10, 1998).
Regarding claim 16, Scott et al. are silent about: each reflection mirror of the plurality of reflection mirrors comprises a transparent coating window that has an anti- reflective coating or wedged surface configured to minimize back reflections, and
wherein the transparent coating window is flat or recessed within the respective reflection mirror.
In a similar field of endeavor Uno et al. disclose: each reflection mirror of the plurality of reflection mirrors comprises a transparent coating window that has an anti- reflective coating or wedged surface configured to minimize back reflections, and
wherein the transparent coating window is flat or recessed within the respective reflection mirror (col.6 L6-20) motivated by the benefits for improved signal to noise ratio.
In light of the benefits for improved signal to noise ratio, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the mirror of Uno et al. in the apparatus of Scott et al.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 15, Scott et al. disclose: the open-path sensing equipment further comprises at least one alignment mirror (para. [0134]).
Muraview et al. disclose: each reflection mirror of the plurality of reflection mirrors is attached to a three-axis mirror mount (para. [0031]).
Yoshida discloses: each reflection mirror of the plurality of reflection mirrors is a molybdenum mirror (para. [0027]).
The prior arts alone or in combination fail to teach, disclose, suggest or render obvious: the open-path sensing equipment further comprises two chambers attached to each other by a plurality of rods,
wherein each chamber of the two chambers comprises a plurality of plates each covered with a cylindrical cowling, and
wherein each rod of the plurality of rods is adjustable.
Conclusion
/MAMADOU FAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884