DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, filed 09/09/2026, with respect to claims 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph rejection of claims 1-20 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 09/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1, 13, and 19, applicant argues that “Specifically, the Office states that "the control information [of Lee] is applicable to full duplex FDD operation". Office Action, p. 16 (emphasis added). However, even assuming that the control region of Lee "is applicable" to full duplex FDD operation as alleged by the Office, this is not the same as detecting that full duplex resource configurations satisfy a condition. Lee nowhere discloses or suggests that the UE detects that full duplex resource configurations satisfy a condition or that the UE performs a wireless communication in response to detecting that full duplex resource configurations satisfy a condition. For at least these reasons, Lee fails to disclose or suggest "in response to detecting, by the UE device, that both a first full duplex resource configuration associated with a first slot of a plurality of slots of a wireless communication and a second full duplex resource configuration associated with a second slot of the plurality of slots satisfy the condition, performing the wireless communication based on the DMRS grouping characteristic indicated by the control information," as in claim 1. Hence, Lee fails to disclose or suggest at least one element of claim 1. Claim 1 is therefore allowable. Claims 13 and 19 recite elements analogous to elements of claim 1 and are therefore also allowable” in pages 8-9.
In response to applicant’s argument, examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument above.
Lee discloses in response to detecting, by the UE device, that both a first full duplex resource configuration associated with a first slot of a plurality of slots of a wireless communication and a second full duplex resource configuration associated with a second slot of the plurality of slots satisfy the condition [see Fig. 19, steps S1902-S1904, para. 372-373, 387-388, 349, 351, 354-360, 365, 369; in response to receiving, by the UE device through the higher layer signal, the control information associated with a first slot and a second slot of a plurality of slots of a DMRS satisfy the condition (the control information is configured through a higher layer signal); Note that the control information is applicable to full duplex FDD operation (see para. 61-62, 348-349, Fig. 1(a) illustrates a radio frame consists of 10 subframes that is applicable to full duplex FDD). Table 10 illustrates a subframe i consists of two consecutive slots, slot 2i and slot 2i+1, each with uplink and downlink portions of a full duplex resource configuration; Para. 358 discloses if the number of symbols of a control region is configured through a higher layer signal, whether to allow, apply, configure and/or indicate the DMRS is determined by the number of symbols of a control region configured according to the method 1; Para. 369 discloses multiple full duplex resource configurations, uplink TTI length combination 1 {DL=subslot, UL=subslot}, uplink TTI length combination 2 {DL=subslot, UL=slot}, uplink TTI length combination 3 {DL=slot, UL=slot}, and uplink TTI length combination 4 {DL=subframe, UL=subframe}], performing the wireless communication based on the DMRS grouping characteristic indicated by the control information [see para. 351, 356, 358; see Fig. 19, step S1904, para. 374, 389; performing the DMRS with the first slot and the second slot in accordance with the DMRS sharing characteristic indicated by the control information].
In view of the above response, Lee discloses every element of the independent claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 and 12-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,279,290 B2, hereinafter “Patent’290”.
Note that the applicant filing of the continuing application is voluntary and not the direct, unmodified result of restriction requirement under 35 U.S.C. 121 (i.e. without a restriction requirement by the examiner) and the claims of the second application are drawn to the “same invention” as the first application or patent. Moreover, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims of the instant application are the same scope of the claims of Patent’290.
Regarding claim 1, Patent’290 discloses a method of wireless communication, comprising: [see claim 1, lines 1-2]
receiving, by a user equipment (UE) device, control information indicating a condition associated with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) grouping characteristic [see claim 1, lines 3-6; receiving, by a user equipment (UE) device, control information indicating a condition associated with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) grouping characteristic of a DMRS that is associated with one or more physical (PHY) channels]; and
in response to detecting, by the UE device, that both a first full duplex resource configuration associated with a first slot of a plurality of slots of a wireless communication and a second full duplex resource configuration associated with a second slot of the plurality of slots satisfy the condition [see claim 1, lines 8-16; in response to detecting, by the UE device, that a first bandwidth of a first full duplex resource configuration associated with a first slot of a plurality of slots of a wireless communication, a second bandwidth of a second full duplex resource configuration associated with a second slot of the plurality of slots, and a third bandwidth of a third downlink portion of a third full duplex resource configuration associated with a third slot of the plurality of slots satisfy the condition], performing the wireless communication based on the DMRS grouping characteristic indicated by the control information [see claim 1, lines 17-19; associating the DMRS with the first slot and the second slot in accordance with the DMRS grouping characteristic indicated by the control information].
Regarding claim 2, Patent’290 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first full duplex resource configuration includes a first downlink portion that is associated with a first bandwidth, wherein the second full duplex resource configuration includes a second downlink portion that is associated with a second bandwidth [see claim 1; a first bandwidth of a first full duplex resource configuration associated with a first slot of a plurality of slots, a second bandwidth of a second full duplex resource configuration associated with a second slot of the plurality of slots; see claim 5; a first downlink portion of the first full duplex resource configuration and a second downlink portion of the second full duplex resource configuration], and wherein the condition specifies that the second bandwidth is greater than or equal to a third bandwidth [see claim 15; wherein the condition further specifies that the second bandwidth is greater than or equal to the third bandwidth] of a third downlink portion of a third slot of the wireless communication [see claim 1, lines 13-16; a third bandwidth of a third downlink portion of a third full duplex resource configuration associated with a third slot of the plurality of slots].
Regarding claim 3, Patent’290 discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising determining that the condition is satisfied in accordance with a first bandwidth of a first downlink portion of the first full duplex resource configuration, a second bandwidth of a second downlink portion of the second full duplex resource configuration, and a third bandwidth of a third downlink portion of a third full duplex resource configuration associated with a third slot of the plurality of slots [see claim 1, lines 8-16; a first bandwidth of a first full duplex resource configuration associated with a first slot of a plurality of slots of a wireless communication, a second bandwidth of a second full duplex resource configuration associated with a second slot of the plurality of slots, and a third bandwidth of a third downlink portion of a third full duplex resource configuration associated with a third slot of the plurality of slots satisfy the condition; see claim 5; the DMRS grouping characteristic is associated with a first downlink portion of the first full duplex resource configuration and is further associated with a second downlink portion of the second full duplex resource configuration].
Regarding claim 4, Patent’290 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the condition specifies that a first bandwidth of a first portion of the first full duplex resource configuration corresponds to a second bandwidth of a second portion of the second full duplex resource configuration [see claim 3; wherein the condition specifies that the first bandwidth corresponds to the second bandwidth; see claim 1; a first bandwidth of a first full duplex resource configuration, a second bandwidth of a second full duplex resource configuration; see claim 5; wherein the DMRS grouping characteristic is associated with a first uplink or downlink portion of the first full duplex resource configuration and is further associated with a second uplink or downlink portion of the second full duplex resource configuration].
Regarding claim 5, Patent’290 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the condition specifies that first frequency boundaries of uplink and downlink portions of the first full duplex resource configuration correspond to second frequency boundaries of uplink and downlink portions of the second full duplex resource configuration [see claim 4; wherein the condition specifies that first frequency boundaries of uplink and downlink portions of the first full duplex resource configuration correspond to second frequency boundaries of uplink and downlink portions of the second full duplex resource configuration].
Regarding claim 6, Patent’290 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the DMRS grouping characteristic is associated with a first uplink or downlink portion of the first full duplex resource configuration and is further associated with a second uplink or downlink portion of the second full duplex resource configuration, and wherein the condition specifies that first frequency boundaries of the first uplink or downlink portion correspond to second frequency boundaries of the second uplink or downlink portion [see claim 5; wherein the DMRS grouping characteristic is associated with a first uplink or downlink portion of the first full duplex resource configuration and is further associated with a second uplink or downlink portion of the second full duplex resource configuration, and wherein the condition specifies that first frequency boundaries of the first uplink or downlink portion correspond to second frequency boundaries of the second uplink or downlink portion].
Regarding claim 7, Patent’290 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the condition specifies that a first bandwidth of a first portion of the first full duplex resource configuration corresponds to a second bandwidth of a second portion of the second full duplex resource configuration, and wherein the condition further specifies that the first slot is adjacent in time to the second slot [see claim 6; wherein the condition specifies that the first bandwidth corresponds to the second bandwidth, and wherein the condition further specifies that the first slot is adjacent in time to the second slot; see claim 1; a first bandwidth of a first full duplex resource configuration, a second bandwidth of a second full duplex resource configuration].
Regarding claim 8, Patent’290 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the condition specifies that first frequency boundaries of uplink and downlink portions of the first full duplex resource configuration correspond to second frequency boundaries of uplink and downlink portions of the second full duplex resource configuration [see claim 4; wherein the condition specifies that first frequency boundaries of uplink and downlink portions of the first full duplex resource configuration correspond to second frequency boundaries of uplink and downlink portions of the second full duplex resource configuration], and wherein the condition further specifies that the first slot is adjacent in time to the second slot [see claim 6; wherein the condition further specifies that the first slot is adjacent in time to the second slot].
Regarding claim 9, Patent’290 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the DMRS grouping characteristic is associated with a first uplink or downlink portion of the first full duplex resource configuration and is further associated with a second uplink or downlink portion of the second full duplex resource configuration, wherein the condition specifies that first frequency boundaries of the first uplink or downlink portion correspond to second frequency boundaries of the second uplink or downlink portion [see claim 5; wherein the DMRS grouping characteristic is associated with a first uplink or downlink portion of the first full duplex resource configuration and is further associated with a second uplink or downlink portion of the second full duplex resource configuration, and wherein the condition specifies that first frequency boundaries of the first uplink or downlink portion correspond to second frequency boundaries of the second uplink or downlink portion], and wherein the condition further specifies that the first slot is adjacent in time to the second slot [see claim 6; wherein the condition further specifies that the first slot is adjacent in time to the second slot].
Regarding claim 10, Patent’290 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the condition specifies that a first bandwidth of a first downlink portion of the first full duplex resource configuration is greater than or equal to a second bandwidth of a second downlink portion of the second full duplex resource configuration, and wherein the condition further specifies that the second bandwidth is greater than or equal to a third bandwidth [see claim 5; wherein the DMRS grouping characteristic is associated with a first uplink or downlink portion of the first full duplex resource configuration and is further associated with a second uplink or downlink portion of the second full duplex resource configuration; see claim 15; wherein the condition specifies that the first bandwidth is greater than or equal to the second bandwidth, and wherein the condition further specifies that the second bandwidth is greater than or equal to the third bandwidth] of a third downlink portion of a third slot of the wireless communication [see claim 1, lines 13-16; a third bandwidth of a third downlink portion of a third full duplex resource configuration associated with a third slot of the plurality of slots].
Regarding claim 11, Patent’290 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the condition specifies that a first bandwidth of a first downlink portion of the first full duplex resource configuration is greater than or equal to a second bandwidth of a second downlink portion of the second full duplex resource configuration, and wherein the condition further specifies that the first bandwidth is greater than or equal to a third bandwidth [see claim 5; wherein the DMRS grouping characteristic is associated with a first uplink or downlink portion of the first full duplex resource configuration and is further associated with a second uplink or downlink portion of the second full duplex resource configuration; see claim 16; wherein the condition specifies that the first bandwidth is greater than or equal to the second bandwidth, and wherein the condition further specifies that the first bandwidth is greater than or equal to the third bandwidth] of a third downlink portion of a third full duplex resource configuration associated with a third slot of the wireless communication [see claim 1, lines 13-16; a third bandwidth of a third downlink portion of a third full duplex resource configuration associated with a third slot of the plurality of slots].
Regarding claim 12, Patent’290 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the condition specifies that a first bandwidth of a first downlink portion of the first full duplex resource configuration corresponds to a second bandwidth of a second downlink portion of the second full duplex resource configuration, and wherein the condition further specifies that the first bandwidth corresponds to a third bandwidth [see claim 5; wherein the DMRS grouping characteristic is associated with a first uplink or downlink portion of the first full duplex resource configuration and is further associated with a second uplink or downlink portion of the second full duplex resource configuration; see claim 17; wherein the condition specifies that the first bandwidth corresponds to the second bandwidth, and wherein the condition further specifies that the first bandwidth corresponds to the third bandwidth] of a third downlink portion of a third full duplex resource configuration associated with a third slot of the wireless communication [see claim 1, lines 13-16; a third bandwidth of a third downlink portion of a third full duplex resource configuration associated with a third slot of the plurality of slots].
Regarding claims 13 and 19, Patent’290 discloses An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: [see claims 1, 12]
a memory; and [see claim 12, line 3]
one or more processors coupled to the memory and configured to: [see claim 12, line 4]
receive, at a user equipment (UE) device, control information indicating a condition associated with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) grouping characteristic of a DMRS; and [see claim 12, lines 6-9; receive control information indicating a condition associated with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) grouping characteristic of a DMRS that is associated with one or more physical (PHY) channels]
in response to detecting, by the UE device, that both a first full duplex resource configuration associated with a first slot of a plurality of slots of a wireless communication and a second full duplex resource configuration associated with a second slot of the plurality of slots satisfy the condition, perform the wireless communication based on the DMRS grouping characteristic indicated by the control information [see claim 12, lines 10-21; in response to detecting that a first bandwidth of a first full duplex resource configuration associated with a first slot of a plurality of slots of a wireless communication, a second bandwidth of a second full duplex resource configuration associated with a second slot of the plurality of slots, and a third bandwidth of a third downlink portion of a third full duplex resource configuration associated with a third slot of the plurality of slots satisfy the condition, associate the DMRS with the first slot and the second slot in accordance with the DMRS grouping characteristic indicated by the control information].
Regarding claims 14 and 20, Patent’290 discloses wherein the first full duplex resource configuration includes a first downlink portion that is associated with a first bandwidth, wherein the second full duplex resource configuration includes a second downlink portion that is associated with a second bandwidth [see claim 12; a first bandwidth of a first full duplex resource configuration associated with a first slot of a plurality of slots, a second bandwidth of a second full duplex resource configuration associated with a second slot of the plurality of slots; see claim 14; a first downlink portion of the first full duplex resource configuration and a second downlink portion of the second full duplex resource configuration], and wherein the condition specifies that the second bandwidth is greater than or equal to a third bandwidth [see claim 15; wherein the condition further specifies that the second bandwidth is greater than or equal to the third bandwidth] of a third downlink portion of a third slot of the wireless communication [see claim 12; a third bandwidth of a third downlink portion of a third full duplex resource configuration associated with a third slot of the plurality of slots].
Regarding claim 15, Patent’290 discloses the apparatus of claim 13, further comprising determining that the condition is satisfied in accordance with a first bandwidth of a first downlink portion of the first full duplex resource configuration, a second bandwidth of a second downlink portion of the second full duplex resource configuration, and a third bandwidth of a third downlink portion of a third full duplex resource configuration associated with a third slot of the plurality of slots [see claim 12; a first bandwidth of a first full duplex resource configuration associated with a first slot of a plurality of slots of a wireless communication, a second bandwidth of a second full duplex resource configuration associated with a second slot of the plurality of slots, and a third bandwidth of a third downlink portion of a third full duplex resource configuration associated with a third slot of the plurality of slots satisfy the condition; see claim 14; the DMRS grouping characteristic is associated with a first downlink portion of the first full duplex resource configuration and is further associated with a second downlink portion of the second full duplex resource configuration].
Regarding claim 16, Patent’290 discloses the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the condition specifies that a first bandwidth of a first downlink portion of the first full duplex resource configuration is greater than or equal to a second bandwidth of a second downlink portion of the second full duplex resource configuration, and wherein the condition further specifies that the second bandwidth is greater than or equal to a third bandwidth [see claim 14; wherein the DMRS grouping characteristic is associated with a first uplink or downlink portion of the first full duplex resource configuration and is further associated with a second uplink or downlink portion of the second full duplex resource configuration; see claim 15; wherein the condition specifies that the first bandwidth is greater than or equal to the second bandwidth, and wherein the condition further specifies that the second bandwidth is greater than or equal to the third bandwidth] of a third downlink portion of a third slot of the wireless communication [see claim 12; a third bandwidth of a third downlink portion of a third full duplex resource configuration associated with a third slot of the plurality of slots].
Regarding claim 17, Patent’290 discloses the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the condition specifies that a first bandwidth of a first downlink portion of the first full duplex resource configuration is greater than or equal to a second bandwidth of a second downlink portion of the second full duplex resource configuration, and wherein the condition further specifies that the first bandwidth is greater than or equal to a third bandwidth [see claim 14; wherein the DMRS grouping characteristic is associated with a first uplink or downlink portion of the first full duplex resource configuration and is further associated with a second uplink or downlink portion of the second full duplex resource configuration; see claim 16; wherein the condition specifies that the first bandwidth is greater than or equal to the second bandwidth, and wherein the condition further specifies that the first bandwidth is greater than or equal to the third bandwidth] of a third downlink portion of a third full duplex resource configuration associated with a third slot of the wireless communication [see claim 12; a third bandwidth of a third downlink portion of a third full duplex resource configuration associated with a third slot of the plurality of slots].
Regarding claim 18, Patent’290 discloses the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the condition specifies that a first bandwidth of a first downlink portion of the first full duplex resource configuration corresponds to a second bandwidth of a second downlink portion of the second full duplex resource configuration, and wherein the condition further specifies that the first bandwidth corresponds to a third bandwidth [see claim 14; wherein the DMRS grouping characteristic is associated with a first uplink or downlink portion of the first full duplex resource configuration and is further associated with a second uplink or downlink portion of the second full duplex resource configuration; see claim 17; wherein the condition specifies that the first bandwidth corresponds to the second bandwidth, and wherein the condition further specifies that the first bandwidth corresponds to the third bandwidth] of a third downlink portion of a third full duplex resource configuration associated with a third slot of the wireless communication [see claim 12; a third bandwidth of a third downlink portion of a third full duplex resource configuration associated with a third slot of the plurality of slots].
It has been held that the omission an element and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA). Also note Ex parte Rainu, 168 USPQ 375 (Bd.App.1969); omission of a reference element whose function is not needed would be obvious to one skilled in the art. Moreover, the doctrine of double patenting seeks to prevent the unjustified extension of patent exclusivity beyond the term of a patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2020/0187177 A1, hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a method of wireless communication [see Fig. 21, para. 350, 376; a method of determining and/or configuring whether to allow Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) sharing with respect to a TTI over a plurality of contiguous subframes], comprising:
receiving, by a user equipment (UE) device, control information indicating a condition associated with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) grouping characteristic [see Fig. 19, steps S1902-S1903, para. 372-373, 387-388; receiving, by a UE through a higher layer signal, control information indicating a condition associated with DMRS sharing characteristic of a DMRS that is associated with PDSCH; also see para. 351, 356, 358, 369; a rule is defined, agreed on and/or configured so that whether the DMRS sharing operation is allowed, applied, configured, and/or indicated with respect to a TTI over a plurality of contiguous subframes is determined according to whether the number of symbols of a control region with respect to the length of the corresponding TTI is configured through a higher layer signal or indicated by a physical layer signal]; and
in response to detecting, by the UE device, that both a first full duplex resource configuration associated with a first slot of a plurality of slots of a wireless communication and a second full duplex resource configuration associated with a second slot of the plurality of slots satisfy the condition [see Fig. 19, steps S1902-S1904, para. 372-373, 387-388, 349, 351, 354-360, 365, 369; in response to receiving, by the UE device through the higher layer signal, the control information associated with a first slot and a second slot of a plurality of slots of a DMRS satisfy the condition (the control information is configured through a higher layer signal); Note that the control information is applicable to full duplex FDD operation (see para. 61-62, 348-349, Fig. 1(a) illustrates a radio frame consists of 10 subframes that is applicable to full duplex FDD). Table 10 illustrates a subframe i consists of two consecutive slots, slot 2i and slot 2i+1, each with uplink and downlink portions of a full duplex resource configuration; Para. 358 discloses if the number of symbols of a control region is configured through a higher layer signal, whether to allow, apply, configure and/or indicate the DMRS is determined by the number of symbols of a control region configured according to the method 1; Para. 369 discloses multiple full duplex resource configurations, uplink TTI length combination 1 {DL=subslot, UL=subslot}, uplink TTI length combination 2 {DL=subslot, UL=slot}, uplink TTI length combination 3 {DL=slot, UL=slot}, and uplink TTI length combination 4 {DL=subframe, UL=subframe}], performing the wireless communication based on the DMRS grouping characteristic indicated by the control information [see para. 351, 356, 358; see Fig. 19, step S1904, para. 374, 389; performing the DMRS with the first slot and the second slot in accordance with the DMRS sharing characteristic indicated by the control information].
Regarding claim 13, Lee discloses an apparatus for wireless communication [see Fig. 21, para. 350, 376; UE device 2120 for determining and/or configuring whether to allow Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) sharing with respect to a TTI over a plurality of contiguous subframes], comprising:
a memory [see Fig. 21; memory 2122]; and
one or more processors coupled to the memory [see Fig. 21; processor 2121 coupled to the memory 2122] and configured to:
receive, at a user equipment (UE) device, control information indicating a condition associated with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) grouping characteristic of a DMRS [see Fig. 19, steps S1902-S1903, para. 372-373, 387-388; receiving control information indicating a condition associated with DMRS sharing characteristic of a DMRS that is associated with PDSCH; also see para. 351, 356, 358, 369; a rule is defined, agreed on and/or configured so that whether the DMRS sharing operation is allowed, applied, configured, and/or indicated with respect to a TTI over a plurality of contiguous subframes is determined according to whether the number of symbols of a control region with respect to the length of the corresponding TTI is configured through a higher layer signal or indicated by a physical layer signal]; and
in response to detecting, by the UE device, that both a first full duplex resource configuration associated with a first slot of a plurality of slots of a wireless communication and a second full duplex resource configuration associated with a second slot of the plurality of slots satisfy the condition [see Fig. 19, steps S1902-S1904, para. 372-373, 387-388, 349, 351, 354-360, 365, 369; in response to receiving the control information associated with a first slot and a second slot of a plurality of slots of a DMRS satisfy the condition (the control information is configured through a higher layer signal); Note that the control information is applicable to full duplex FDD operation (see para. 61-62, 348-349, Fig. 1(a) illustrates a radio frame consists of 10 subframes that is applicable to full duplex FDD). Table 10 illustrates a subframe i consists of two consecutive slots, slot 2i and slot 2i+1, each with uplink and downlink portions of a full duplex resource configuration; Para. 358 discloses if the number of symbols of a control region is configured through a higher layer signal, whether to allow, apply, configure and/or indicate the DMRS is determined by the number of symbols of a control region configured according to the method 1; Para. 369 discloses multiple full duplex resource configurations, uplink TTI length combination 1 {DL=subslot, UL=subslot}, uplink TTI length combination 2 {DL=subslot, UL=slot}, uplink TTI length combination 3 {DL=slot, UL=slot}, and uplink TTI length combination 4 {DL=subframe, UL=subframe}], perform the wireless communication based on the DMRS grouping characteristic indicated by the control information [see para. 351, 356, 358; see Fig. 19, step S1904, para. 374, 389; performing the DMRS with the first slot and the second slot in accordance with the DMRS sharing characteristic indicated by the control information].
Regarding claim 19, Lee discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions executable by one or more processors to initiate, perform, or control operations [see para. 453; a memory storing software code executable by a processor], the operations comprising:
receiving, by a user equipment (UE) device, control information indicating a condition associated with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) grouping characteristic [see Fig. 19, steps S1902-S1903, para. 372-373, 387-388; receiving, by a UE through a higher layer signal, control information indicating a condition associated with DMRS sharing characteristic of a DMRS that is associated with PDSCH; also see para. 351, 356, 358, 369; a rule is defined, agreed on and/or configured so that whether the DMRS sharing operation is allowed, applied, configured, and/or indicated with respect to a TTI over a plurality of contiguous subframes is determined according to whether the number of symbols of a control region with respect to the length of the corresponding TTI is configured through a higher layer signal or indicated by a physical layer signal]; and
in response to detecting, by the UE device, that both a first full duplex resource configuration associated with a first slot of a plurality of slots of a wireless communication and a second full duplex resource configuration associated with a second slot of the plurality of slots satisfy the condition [see Fig. 19, steps S1902-S1904, para. 372-373, 387-388, 349, 351, 354-360, 365, 369; in response to receiving, by the UE device through the higher layer signal, the control information associated with a first slot and a second slot of a plurality of slots of a DMRS satisfy the condition (the control information is configured through a higher layer signal); Note that the control information is applicable to full duplex FDD operation (see para. 61-62, 348-349, Fig. 1(a) illustrates a radio frame consists of 10 subframes that is applicable to full duplex FDD). Table 10 illustrates a subframe i consists of two consecutive slots, slot 2i and slot 2i+1, each with uplink and downlink portions of a full duplex resource configuration; Para. 358 discloses if the number of symbols of a control region is configured through a higher layer signal, whether to allow, apply, configure and/or indicate the DMRS is determined by the number of symbols of a control region configured according to the method 1; Para. 369 discloses multiple full duplex resource configurations, uplink TTI length combination 1 {DL=subslot, UL=subslot}, uplink TTI length combination 2 {DL=subslot, UL=slot}, uplink TTI length combination 3 {DL=slot, UL=slot}, and uplink TTI length combination 4 {DL=subframe, UL=subframe}], performing the wireless communication based on the DMRS grouping characteristic indicated by the control information [see para. 351, 356, 358; see Fig. 19, step S1904, para. 374, 389; performing the DMRS with the first slot and the second slot in accordance with the DMRS sharing characteristic indicated by the control information].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Manolakos et al. (US 2018/0092002 A1, hereinafter “Manolakos”).
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses wherein the condition specifies that a first portion of the first full duplex resource configuration corresponds to a second portion of the second full duplex resource configuration [see para. 369; the control information includes information about support for each of uplink TTI length combination 1 {DL=subslot, UL=subslot}, uplink TTI length combination 2 {DL=subslot, UL=slot}, uplink TTI length combination 3 {DL=slot, UL=slot}, and uplink TTI length combination 4 {DL=subframe, UL=subframe}; see para. 371, 386; control information indicating support for repetition for each band and/or each band combination or indicating support for repetition of one or more specific bands and/or band combination; also see para. 61, 349].
Lee does not explicitly disclose a first bandwidth and a second bandwidth.
However, Manolakos teaches a first bandwidth of a first portion of a first full duplex resource configuration corresponds to a second bandwidth of a second portion of a second full duplex resource configuration [see para. 48, 110, 113, 120, Fig. 10A, 10B, 10C, para. 136-138; the first BWG includes RBs with an SCS equal to f0 (e.g., RB1, RB2, RB3, RB4) and the second BWG includes RBs with an SCS equal to 2*f0 (e.g., RB5, RB6)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “a first bandwidth of a first portion of a first full duplex resource configuration corresponds to a second bandwidth of a second portion of a second full duplex resource configuration”, as taught by Manolakos, into the system of Lee so that it would prevent or reduce interference between the RBs using different numerology [see Manolakos, para. 128].
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses wherein the condition specifies that first uplink and downlink portions of the first full duplex resource configuration correspond to second uplink and downlink portions of the second full duplex resource configuration [see para. 369; the control information includes information about support for each of uplink TTI length combination 1 {DL=subslot, UL=subslot}, uplink TTI length combination 2 {DL=subslot, UL=slot}, uplink TTI length combination 3 {DL=slot, UL=slot}, and uplink TTI length combination 4 {DL=subframe, UL=subframe}].
Lee does not explicitly disclose frequency boundaries.
However, Manolakos teaches first frequency boundaries of uplink and downlink portions of a first full duplex resource configuration correspond to second frequency boundaries of uplink and downlink portions of a second full duplex resource configuration [see para. 48, 110, 113, 120, Fig. 10A, 10B, 10C, para. 136-138; the first BWG includes RBs with an SCS equal to f0 (e.g., RB1, RB2, RB3, RB4) and the second BWG includes RBs with an SCS equal to 2*f0 (e.g., RB5, RB6)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “first frequency boundaries of uplink and downlink portions of a first full duplex resource configuration correspond to second frequency boundaries of uplink and downlink portions of a second full duplex resource configuration”, as taught by Manolakos, into the system of Lee so that it would prevent or reduce interference between the RBs using different numerology [see Manolakos, para. 128].
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses wherein the DMRS grouping characteristic is associated with a first uplink or downlink portion of the first full duplex resource configuration and is further associated with a second uplink or downlink portion of the second full duplex resource configuration, and wherein the condition specifies that the first uplink or downlink portion correspond to the second uplink or downlink portion [see para. 349, 351, 358, 369; the DMRS sharing characteristic is associated with a first UL/DL portion and a second UL/DL portion, and the control information includes information about support for each of uplink TTI length combination 1 {DL=subslot, UL=subslot}, uplink TTI length combination 2 {DL=subslot, UL=slot}, uplink TTI length combination 3 {DL=slot, UL=slot}, and uplink TTI length combination 4 {DL=subframe, UL=subframe}].
Lee does not explicitly disclose frequency boundaries.
However, Manolakos teaches first frequency boundaries of uplink and downlink portions of a first full duplex resource configuration correspond to second frequency boundaries of uplink and downlink portions of a second full duplex resource configuration [see para. 48, 110, 113, 120, Fig. 10A, 10B, 10C, para. 136-138; the first BWG includes RBs with an SCS equal to f0 (e.g., RB1, RB2, RB3, RB4) and the second BWG includes RBs with an SCS equal to 2*f0 (e.g., RB5, RB6)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “first frequency boundaries of uplink and downlink portions of a first full duplex resource configuration correspond to second frequency boundaries of uplink and downlink portions of a second full duplex resource configuration”, as taught by Manolakos, into the system of Lee so that it would prevent or reduce interference between the RBs using different numerology [see Manolakos, para. 128].
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses wherein the condition specifies that a first portion of the first full duplex resource configuration corresponds to a second portion of the second full duplex resource configuration [see para. 369; the control information includes information about support for each of uplink TTI length combination 1 {DL=subslot, UL=subslot}, uplink TTI length combination 2 {DL=subslot, UL=slot}, uplink TTI length combination 3 {DL=slot, UL=slot}, and uplink TTI length combination 4 {DL=subframe, UL=subframe}; see para. 371, 386; control information indicating support for repetition for each band and/or each band combination or indicating support for repetition of one or more specific bands and/or band combination; also see para. 61, 349], and wherein the condition further specifies that the first slot is adjacent in time to the second slot [see Fig. 1(a), para. 61-62, Table 10, para. 351, 364-365, 369; the control information specifies that the first slot is adjacent to the second slot].
Lee does not explicitly disclose a first bandwidth and a second bandwidth.
However, Manolakos teaches a first bandwidth of a first portion of a first full duplex resource configuration corresponds to a second bandwidth of a second portion of a second full duplex resource configuration [see para. 48, 110, 113, 120, Fig. 10A, 10B, 10C, para. 136-138; the first BWG includes RBs with an SCS equal to f0 (e.g., RB1, RB2, RB3, RB4) and the second BWG includes RBs with an SCS equal to 2*f0 (e.g., RB5, RB6)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “a first bandwidth of a first portion of a first full duplex resource configuration corresponds to a second bandwidth of a second portion of a second full duplex resource configuration”, as taught by Manolakos, into the system of Lee so that it would prevent or reduce interference between the RBs using different numerology [see Manolakos, para. 128].
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses wherein the condition specifies that first uplink and downlink portions of the first full duplex resource configuration correspond to second uplink and downlink portions of the second full duplex resource configuration [see para. 369; the control information includes information about support for each of uplink TTI length combination 1 {DL=subslot, UL=subslot}, uplink TTI length combination 2 {DL=subslot, UL=slot}, uplink TTI length combination 3 {DL=slot, UL=slot}, and uplink TTI length combination 4 {DL=subframe, UL=subframe}], and wherein the condition further specifies that the first slot is adjacent in time to the second slot [see Fig. 1(a), para. 61-62, Table 10, para. 351, 364-365, 369; the control information specifies that the first slot is adjacent to the second slot].
Lee does not explicitly disclose frequency boundaries.
However, Manolakos teaches first frequency boundaries of uplink and downlink portions of a first full duplex resource configuration correspond to second frequency boundaries of uplink and downlink portions of a second full duplex resource configuration [see para. 48, 110, 113, 120, Fig. 10A, 10B, 10C, para. 136-138; the first BWG includes RBs with an SCS equal to f0 (e.g., RB1, RB2, RB3, RB4) and the second BWG includes RBs with an SCS equal to 2*f0 (e.g., RB5, RB6)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “first frequency boundaries of uplink and downlink portions of a first full duplex resource configuration correspond to second frequency boundaries of uplink and downlink portions of a second full duplex resource configuration”, as taught by Manolakos, into the system of Lee so that it would prevent or reduce interference between the RBs using different numerology [see Manolakos, para. 128].
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses wherein the DMRS grouping characteristic is associated with a first uplink or downlink portion of the first full duplex resource configuration and is further associated with a second uplink or downlink portion of the second full duplex resource configuration, wherein the condition specifies that the first uplink or downlink portion correspond to the second uplink or downlink portion [see para. 349, 351, 358, 369; the DMRS sharing characteristic is associated with a first UL/DL portion and a second UL/DL portion, and the control information includes information about support for each of uplink TTI length combination 1 {DL=subslot, UL=subslot}, uplink TTI length combination 2 {DL=subslot, UL=slot}, uplink TTI length combination 3 {DL=slot, UL=slot}, and uplink TTI length combination 4 {DL=subframe, UL=subframe}], and wherein the condition further specifies that the first slot is adjacent in time to the second slot [see Fig. 1(a), para. 61-62, Table 10, para. 351, 364-365, 369; the control information specifies that the first slot is adjacent to the second slot].
Lee does not explicitly disclose frequency boundaries.
However, Manolakos teaches first frequency boundaries of uplink and downlink portions of a first full duplex resource configuration correspond to second frequency boundaries of uplink and downlink portions of a second full duplex resource configuration [see para. 48, 110, 113, 120, Fig. 10A, 10B, 10C, para. 136-138; the first BWG includes RBs with an SCS equal to f0 (e.g., RB1, RB2, RB3, RB4) and the second BWG includes RBs with an SCS equal to 2*f0 (e.g., RB5, RB6)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “first frequency boundaries of uplink and downlink portions of a first full duplex resource configuration correspond to second frequency boundaries of uplink and downlink portions of a second full duplex resource configuration”, as taught by Manolakos, into the system of Lee so that it would prevent or reduce interference between the RBs using different numerology [see Manolakos, para. 128].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN T LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469