DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
This Office Action is a response to Applicant’s communication (or preliminary’s amendment) filed on 04/09/2025. In virtue of this communication, claims 1-20 are currently presented in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 04/09/2025 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is considered by the examiner.
If applicant is aware of any prior art or any other co-pending application not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.97 to disclose the same.
Abstract Objection
The abstract is objected to because it contains more than 150 words in length.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 04/09/2025 accepted as part of the formal application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 9, 12 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lalezari et al (US 10535917), hereinafter Lalezari, in view of Ojantakanen et al (US 20030189523), hereinafter Ojantakanen.
Regarding claim 1,
Lalezari discloses an integrated radio frequency antenna component (a quarter-wave patch antenna 70B, Fig 3B) comprising:
an I/O port (a feed point 78B, Fig 3B) configured to transmit and receive radio frequency signals;
a first radiator structure (a radiator patch 74B, Fig 3B) including an elongated main antenna portion connected to the I/O port (an elongated portion PL in x-direction, Fig 3B) and having an antenna length of one-quarter wavelength of an electromagnetic wave under a resonance frequency (a λ/4, Fig 3B), at least one first antenna crossing portion (a shorting structure 76B, Fig 3B) that intersects the elongated main antenna portion at a first intersection node (a bend 80B, Fig 3B), and at least one second antenna crossing portion (a coupling section 82B, Fig 3B) that intersects the at least one first antenna crossing portion at a second intersection node (a bend 84B, Fig 3B); and
a ground plane (a ground plane 82B, Fig 3B) coupled to the first radiator structure (Fig 3B), the ground plane having attached thereto a mirror image of the first radiator structure, the first radiator structure and the mirror image forming a dipole antenna (Fig 2A).
Lalezari does not teach a substrate having a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface, the first radiator structure defined by a conductive material coupled to the first surface, and the ground plane coupled to the second surface and to the first radiator structure.
However, Ojantakanen discloses an antenna structure (Fig 4) comprising:
a substrate (dielectric support frame 470, Fig 4) having a first surface (a first surface S4701, Fig 4) and a second surface (a second surface S4702, Fig 4) opposite the first surface,
a first radiator structure (a radiating element proper 420, Fig 4) defined by a conductive material coupled to the first surface, and
a ground plane (a ground plane 415, Fig 4) coupled to the second surface and to the first radiator structure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an antenna structure comprising a substrate having a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface, a first radiator structure defined by a conductive material coupled to the first surface, and a ground plane coupled to the second surface and to the first radiator structure in Lalezari, as taught by Ojantakanen, in order to provide a directivity pattern of an antenna can be shaped separately in transmitting and receiving bands of a given radio system.
[AltContent: textbox (x)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (λ/4)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (PL)][AltContent: textbox (Lalezari (US 10535917))]
[AltContent: textbox (Lalezari (US 10535917))]
[AltContent: textbox (Antenna structure)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Pt1)][AltContent: textbox (x)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (PLG)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (RA)][AltContent: textbox (S4702)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (S4701)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Ojantakanen (US 20030189523))]
Regarding claim 7,
Lalezari in view of Ojantakanen discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Lalezari teaches the at least one first antenna crossing portion intersects the elongated main antenna portion in a perpendicular manner (Fig 3B).
Regarding claim 9,
Lalezari in view of Ojantakanen discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Lalezari teaches the at least one second antenna crossing portion intersects the at least one first antenna crossing portion in a perpendicular manner (Fig 3B).
Regarding claim 12,
Lalezari in view of Ojantakanen discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Ojantakanen teaches the substrate consists of an electrically isolating substrate material (dielectric material; paragraph [0019]).
Regarding claim 19,
Lalezari discloses a wireless mobile device (an antenna structure 600, Fig 9A; “antenna structures for generating an omnidirectional, horizontally polarized beam are used in a number of applications, including on aircraft” col 1, lines 12-15) comprising:
a housing (a radome 610, Fig 9A); and
a radio frequency module (an antenna module AM, Fig 10A) arranged in the housing, the radio frequency module including a radio frequency antenna component (two pairs of back-to-back, quarter-wave patch antennas 604, Fig 10A) including: a first radiator structure (a radiator patch 74B, Fig 3B; col 9, lines 10-14 “With reference to FIG. 3B, another embodiment of a quarter-wave patch antenna 70B suitable for use in an antenna structure comprising two, quarter-wave patch antennas for processing an omnidirectional, horizontally polarized signal is described”) including an elongated main antenna portion (an elongated portion PL in x-direction, Fig 3B) and having an antenna length of one-quarter wavelength of an electromagnetic wave under a resonance frequency (a λ/4, Fig 3B), at least one first antenna crossing portion (a shorting structure 76B, Fig 3B) that intersects the elongated main antenna portion at a first intersection node (a bend 80B, Fig 3B), and at least one second antenna crossing portion (a coupling section 82B, Fig 3B) that intersects the at least one first antenna crossing portion at a second intersection node (a bend 84B, Fig 3B); and a ground plane (a ground plane 82B, Fig 3B) coupled to the first radiator structure (Fig 3B), the ground plane having attached thereto a mirror image of the first radiator structure, the first radiator structure and the mirror image forming a dipole antenna (Fig 2A).
Lalezari does not explicitly teach the antenna structure 600 is a wireless mobile device comprises a processing device.
However, Lalezari teaches antenna structures for generating an omnidirectional, horizontally polarized beam are used in a number of applications (col 1, lines 12-15), and yet another embodiment of an antenna structure that employs to two pairs of antennas is capable of processing an omnidirectional beam pattern, a port side beam pattern, a starboard side beam pattern, and a “combined” forward-aftward beam pattern by appropriate control of each of the four feed points associated with the antenna structure (col 4, lines 52-57).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a wireless mobile device comprising a processing device in Lalezari, in order to provide an antenna structure which is capable of processing an omnidirectional, horizontally polarized signal that has significantly less ripple and significantly less cross-pol.
Lalezari as modified does not teach a substrate having a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface, the first radiator structure defined by a conductive material coupled to the first surface, and the ground plane coupled to the second surface.
However, Ojantakanen discloses an antenna structure (Fig 4) comprising: a substrate (dielectric support frame 470, Fig 4) having a first surface (a first surface S4701, Fig 4) and a second surface (a second surface S4702, Fig 4) opposite the first surface, a first radiator structure (a radiating element proper 420, Fig 4) defined by a conductive material coupled to the first surface, and a ground plane (a ground plane 415, Fig 4) coupled to the second surface and to the first radiator structure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an antenna structure comprising a substrate having a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface, a first radiator structure defined by a conductive material coupled to the first surface, and a ground plane coupled to the second surface and to the first radiator structure in Lalezari as modified, as taught by Ojantakanen, in order to provide a directivity pattern of an antenna can be shaped separately in transmitting and receiving bands of a given radio system.
[AltContent: textbox (Lalezari (US 10535917))]
[AltContent: textbox (AM)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Lalezari (US 10535917))]
Regarding claim 20,
Lalezari in view of Ojantakanen discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 19.
Lalezari as modified does not explicitly teach at least one screen arranged in the housing and wherein the processing device includes at least one of a central processing unit (CPU), a memory, and a motherboard.
However, it is well known in the art that a wireless mobile device includes a screen arranged in the housing and the processing device includes a central processing unit (CPU), a memory, and a motherboard.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use at least one screen arranged in a housing and wherein a processing device including at least one of a central processing unit (CPU), a memory, and a motherboard in Lalezari as modified, in order to provide an antenna structure which is capable of processing an omnidirectional, horizontally polarized signal that has significantly less ripple and significantly less cross-pol.
Claims 2-3, 5 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lalezari et al (US 10535917), hereinafter Lalezari, in view of Ojantakanen et al (US 20030189523), hereinafter Ojantakanen, and Goodman (US 4161736), hereinafter Goodman.
Regarding claim 2,
Lalezari in view of Ojantakanen discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Lalezari as modified does not teach the first radiator structure has a #-like shape.
However, Goodman teaches an antenna structure (an antenna 12, Fig 1) comprises a radiator structure that has a #-like shape (Fig 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a radiator structure having a #-like shape in Lalezari as modified, as taught by Goodman, in order to provide antenna impedances matching the characteristic impedance of a receiver or processing circuit.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (P26)][AltContent: textbox (P24)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (P34)][AltContent: textbox (OE14)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Fig. 1, Goodman (US 4161736))]
[AltContent: textbox (OE14)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Goodman (US 4161736))]
Regarding claim 3,
Lalezari in view of Ojantakanen and Goodman discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 2.
Goodman teaches the first radiator structure comprises a feed line portion connected to an I/O port (an output end 34, Fig 1) and an antenna portion connected to the feed line portion wherein the antenna portion comprises the #-like shape (Fig 1).
Regarding claim 5,
Lalezari in view of Ojantakanen discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Lalezari as modified does not teach the elongated main antenna portion includes at least one inflection point between the I/O port and an open end of the elongated main antenna portion.
However, Goodman teaches an antenna structure (an antenna 12, Fig 1), wherein an elongated main antenna portion (a portion 14, Fig 1) includes at least one inflection point (a point P34, Fig 1) between an I/O port (an output end 34, Fig 1) and an open end (an open end OE14, Fig 3) of the elongated main antenna portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an elongated main antenna portion including at least one inflection point between an I/O port and an open end of the elongated main antenna portion in Lalezari as modified, as taught by Goodman, in order to provide antenna impedances matching the characteristic impedance of a receiver or processing circuit.
Regarding claim 10,
Lalezari in view of Ojantakanen discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Lalezari as modified does not teach the first radiator structure has a #-like shape, and an angle between the at least one first antenna crossing portion and the elongated main antenna portion at the first intersection node is the same as an angle between the at least one second antenna crossing portion and the at least one first antenna crossing portion at the second intersection node.
However, Goodman teaches an antenna structure (an antenna 12, Fig 1) comprises a radiator structure has a #-like shape (Fig 1), and an angle between a first antenna crossing portion (a coaxial transmission line 18, Fig 1) and an elongated main antenna portion (a portion 14, Fig 1) at a first intersection node (a point P24, Fig 1) is the same as an angle between a second antenna crossing portion (a portion 16, Fig 1) and the first antenna crossing portion at a second intersection node (a point P26, Fig 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a first radiator structure having a #-like shape, and an angle between at least one first antenna crossing portion and an elongated main antenna portion at a first intersection node being the same as an angle between at least one second antenna crossing portion and the at least one first antenna crossing portion at a second intersection node in Lalezari as modified, as taught by Goodman, in order to provide antenna impedances matching the characteristic impedance of a receiver or processing circuit.
Regarding claim 11,
Lalezari in view of Ojantakanen discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Lalezari as modified does not teach a matching network which is connected to the I/O port and which is configured to conduct impedance transformation to maximize power transfer at an operating frequency range.
However, Goodman teaches an antenna structure (an antenna 12, Fig 1) comprises a matching network (“the coaxial transmission lines of the antennas provide antenna impedances matching the characteristic impedance of a receiver or processing circuit, and the distance from the ground plane of the horizontal transmission line is no longer a critical factor” col 2, lines 65-68; col 3, lines 1-2) which is connected to the I/O port and which is configured to conduct impedance transformation to maximize power transfer at an operating frequency range.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lalezari et al (US 10535917), hereinafter Lalezari, in view of Ojantakanen et al (US 20030189523), hereinafter Ojantakanen, and Wang et al (US 20130082893), hereinafter Wang.
Regarding claim 4,
Lalezari in view of Ojantakanen discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Lalezari as modified does not teach the first radiator structure is at least partially embedded in the substrate.
However, Wang teaches an antenna structure (a radiating element assembly 350, Fig 4B), wherein a radiator structure (a dipole antenna 362, Fig 4B) is at least partially embedded in a substrate (an insulating substrate 372, Fig 4B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a first radiator structure being at least partially embedded in a substrate in Lalezari as modified, as taught by Wang, in order to provide a lightweight and low loss antenna.
[AltContent: textbox (Wang (US 20130082893))]
Claims 1-3, 7-8, 11-12 and 14-21, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lalezari et al (US 10535917), hereinafter Lalezari, in view of Ojantakanen et al (US 20030189523), hereinafter Ojantakanen, and Cheng et al (US 20080198087), hereinafter Cheng.
Regarding claim 6,
Lalezari in view of Ojantakanen discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Lalezari as modified does not teach the at least one first antenna crossing portion intersects the elongated main antenna portion in an oblique manner.
However, Cheng teaches an antenna structure (a dual-band antenna 400, Fig 5) comprises a radiator structure includes a first antenna crossing portion (a connection unit 161’, Fig 5) intersects an elongated main antenna portion (a resonance unit 111, Fig 5) in an oblique manner (Fig 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use at least one first antenna crossing portion intersecting an elongated main antenna portion in an oblique manner in Lalezari as modified, as taught by Cheng, in order to provides a dual-band antenna which has a simple fabrication process improving impedance matching to achieve maximum performance of the antenna radiation.
[AltContent: textbox (Cheng (US 20080198087))]
Regarding claim 8,
Lalezari in view of Ojantakanen discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Lalezari as modified does not teach the at least one second antenna crossing portion intersects the at least one first antenna crossing portion in an oblique manner.
However, Cheng teaches an antenna structure (a dual-band antenna 400, Fig 5) comprises a radiator structure includes a second antenna crossing portion (a connection element 162, Fig 5) intersects a first antenna crossing portion (a connection unit 161’, Fig 5) in an oblique manner (Fig 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use at least one second antenna crossing portion intersecting at least one first antenna crossing portion in an oblique manner in Lalezari as modified, as taught by Cheng, in order to provides a dual-band antenna which has a simple fabrication process improving impedance matching to achieve maximum performance of the antenna radiation.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ojantakanen et al (US 20030189523), hereinafter Ojantakanen, in view of Lalezari et al (US 10535917), hereinafter Lalezari.
Regarding claim 13,
Ojantakanen discloses a radio frequency module (a radio apparatus RA, Fig 4) comprising:
a printed circuit board (a circuit board 410. Fig 4);
a radio frequency antenna component (an antenna structure, Fig 4) arranged on the printed circuit board (Fig 4) and including: a substrate (a dielectric support frame 470, Fig 4) having a first surface (a first surface S4701, Fig 4) and a second surface (a second surface S4702, Fig 4) opposite the first surface; and a first radiator structure (a radiating element proper 420, Fig 4) defined by a conductive material coupled to the first surface and including an elongated main antenna portion (an elongated main antenna portion PLG in x-direction, Fig 4), at least one first antenna crossing portion (a short-circuit conductor 422, Fig 4) that intersects the elongated main antenna portion at a first intersection node (a point Pt1, Fig 4); and a ground plane (a ground plane 415, Fig 4) coupled to the second surface and to the first radiator structure (Fig 4).
Ojantakanen does not teach the elongated main antenna portion having an antenna length of one-quarter wavelength of an electromagnetic wave under a resonance frequency; at least one second antenna crossing portion that intersects the at least one first antenna crossing portion at a second intersection node; and the ground plane having attached thereto a mirror image of the first radiator structure, the first radiator structure and the mirror image forming a dipole antenna.
However, Lalezari teaches an antenna structure (a quarter-wave patch antenna 70B, Fig 3B) comprising a first radiator structure (a radiator patch 74B, Fig 3B) including an elongated main antenna portion (an elongated portion PL in x-direction, Fig 3B) having an antenna length of one-quarter wavelength of an electromagnetic wave under a resonance frequency (Fig 3B); at least one second antenna crossing portion (a coupling section 82B, Fig 3B) that intersects at least one first antenna crossing portion (a shorting structure 76B, Fig 3B) at a second intersection node (a bend 84B, Fig 3B); and a ground plane (a ground plane 82B, Fig 3B) coupled to the first radiator structure (Fig 3B), the ground plane having attached thereto a mirror image of the first radiator structure, the first radiator structure and the mirror image forming a dipole antenna (Fig 2A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an elongated main antenna portion having an antenna length of one-quarter wavelength of an electromagnetic wave under a resonance frequency, at least one second antenna crossing portion intersecting at least one first antenna crossing portion at a second intersection node, and a ground plane having attached thereto a mirror image of a first radiator structure, the first radiator structure and the mirror image forming a dipole antenna in Ojantakanen, as taught by Lalezari, in order to provide an antenna structure that is capable of processing an omni-directional, horizontally polarized beam.
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ojantakanen et al (US 20030189523), hereinafter Ojantakanen, in view of Lalezari et al (US 10535917), hereinafter Lalezari, and Goodman (US 4161736), hereinafter Goodman.
Regarding claim 14,
Ojantakanen in view of Lalezari discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 13.
Ojantakanen as modified does not teach the first radiator structure has a #-like shape.
However, Goodman teaches an antenna structure (an antenna 12, Fig 1) comprises a radiator structure that has a #-like shape (Fig 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a radiator structure having a #-like shape in Lalezari as modified, as taught by Goodman, in order to provide antenna impedances matching the characteristic impedance of a receiver or processing circuit.
Regarding claim 15,
Ojantakanen in view of Lalezari and Goodman discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 14.
Goodman teaches the first radiator structure comprises a feed line portion connected to an I/O port (an output end 34, Fig 1) of the radio frequency antenna component, and an antenna portion connected to the feed line portion wherein the a
ntenna portion comprises the #-like shape (Fig 1).
Regarding claim 16,
Ojantakanen in view of Lalezari and Goodman discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 15.
Goodman teaches an elongated main antenna portion (a portion 14, Fig 1) includes at least one inflection point (a point P34, Fig 1) between the I/O port and an open end (an open end OE14, Fig 3) of the elongated main antenna portion.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ojantakanen et al (US 20030189523), hereinafter Ojantakanen, in view of Lalezari et al (US 10535917), hereinafter Lalezari, and Wang et al (US 20130082893), hereinafter Wang.
Regarding claim 17,
Ojantakanen in view of Lalezari discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 13.
Ojantakanen as modified does not teach the first radiator structure is at least partially embedded in the substrate.
However, Wang teaches an antenna structure (a radiating element assembly 350, Fig 4B), wherein a radiator structure (a dipole antenna 362, Fig 4B) is at least partially embedded in a substrate (an insulating substrate 372, Fig 4B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a first radiator structure being at least partially embedded in a substrate in Ojantakanen as modified, as taught by Wang, in order to provide a lightweight and low loss antenna.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ojantakanen et al (US 20030189523), hereinafter Ojantakanen, in view of Lalezari et al (US 10535917), hereinafter Lalezari, and Cheng et al (US 20080198087), hereinafter Cheng.
Regarding claim 18,
Ojantakanen in view of Lalezari discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 13.
Ojantakanen as modified does not teach the at least one first antenna crossing portion intersects the elongated main antenna portion in an oblique manner.
However, Cheng teaches an antenna structure (a dual-band antenna 400, Fig 5) comprises a radiator structure includes a first antenna crossing portion (a connection unit 161’, Fig 5) intersects an elongated main antenna portion (a resonance unit 111, Fig 5) in an oblique manner (Fig 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use at least one first antenna crossing portion intersecting an elongated main antenna portion in an oblique manner in Ojantakanen as modified, as taught by Cheng, in order to provides a dual-band antenna which has a simple fabrication process improving impedance matching to achieve maximum performance of the antenna radiation.
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference aspotentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of thepassage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/HAI V TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845