DETAILED OFFICE ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 24, 2025, in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 has been considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Status
Claims 1-24 are pending in this application and are under examination in this Office Action. No claims have been allowed.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding paragraph [0008],
The paragraph recites, "The an optical data communication system includes an optical power supply...," "the plurality of optical outputs are delineated into plurality of subsets of optical outputs," and "at least two optical outputs within each subset of optical outputs respectively receives different wavelength subsets." The phrase "The an" is grammatically improper, the article "a" is omitted before "plurality of subsets," and the plural subject "at least two optical outputs" requires the verb "receive," not "receives." Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding paragraph [0025],
The paragraph recites that each optical fiber "receives conveys each of the multiple wavelengths of CW laser light." The intended phrase is reasonably understood as "receives and conveys each of the multiple wavelengths of CW laser light." Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding paragraph [0115],
The paragraph first identifies the optical input ports of electro-optical chip 101D1 as "1253-1 to 1253-N," but then states, "Each of the N optical input ports 1205-1 to 1205-N is optically connected to a corresponding optical input 1257-1 to 1257-N." Figure 12D likewise labels the relevant optical input ports as 1253-1 through 1253-N. The reference to "1205-1 to 1205-N" is therefore inconsistent with the surrounding description and Figure 12D and should be corrected to "1253-1 to 1253-N."
Regarding paragraph [0116],
The paragraph recites that "each wavelength of light ... are aggregated together" and later recites "1257-1 and/or1257-2." The subject "each wavelength" requires the singular verb "is aggregated," unless the sentence is rewritten to use a plural subject. Also, a space is omitted between "and/or" and "1257-2." Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding paragraph [0117],
The paragraph repeatedly identifies the 2x2 distribution networks as "1270-1 to 1207-Z." Figure 12E identifies the corresponding distribution networks as 1270-1 through 1270-Z. Accordingly, the repeated reference "1207-Z" is inconsistent with Figure 12E and the surrounding reference-numeral scheme and should be corrected to "1270-Z."
Regarding paragraph [0119],
The paragraph recites that each electro-optical chip "includes the optical distribution network 961 configured convey all wavelengths..." The infinitive marker "to" is omitted after "configured." The phrase should read "configured to convey all wavelengths..." Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding paragraph [0120],
The paragraph recites, "where the total number transmit/receive macros is greater than the number of optical input ports of the electro-optical chip." The word "of" is omitted after "total number." Appropriate correction is required.
No new matter should be entered in correcting the above informalities.
Claim Objections
Claims 15, 17 and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 15,
Claim 15 recites "the plurality of optical outputs delineated into plurality of subsets of optical outputs" and further recites that "at least two optical outputs within each subset of optical outputs respectively receives different wavelength subsets." The first phrase omits the article "a" before "plurality of subsets," and the second phrase uses the singular verb "receives" with the plural subject "at least two optical outputs." The intended scope remains reasonably ascertainable; therefore, these matters are treated as claim informalities rather than as a separate rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Regarding claim 17,
Claim 17 recites "a corresponding optical distribution network configured convey all wavelengths of continuous wave light..." The infinitive marker "to" is omitted after "configured." The intended construction "configured to convey" is reasonably clear. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 21,
Claim 21 likewise recites "a corresponding optical distribution network configured convey all wavelengths of continuous wave light..." The infinitive marker "to" is omitted after "configured." The intended construction "configured to convey" is reasonably clear. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 112(b)
Claims 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 17,
Claim 17 depends from claim 16. Claim 16 recites that "each of the first electro-optical chip and the second electro-optical chip includes a corresponding plurality of transmit macros." Claim 17 then recites that "each of the first electro-optical chip and the second electro-optical chip includes a corresponding optical distribution network" before referring in the singular to "the multiple optical inputs of said electro-optical chip," "the optical distribution network," and "said electro-optical chip includes an optical splitter."
There is an ambiguity in the antecedent basis and identity of the singular phrases used in claim 17. Two different electro-optical chips—the first electro-optical chip and the second electro-optical chip—have been expressly recited, and the claim states that each has a corresponding optical distribution network. The later phrases "said electro-optical chip" and "the optical distribution network" do not identify whether they refer to the first chip and its corresponding network, the second chip and its corresponding network, or each respective chip and network in the distributive construction. The distinction affects which multiple optical inputs, optical distribution network, splitter, and associated optical paths are required for a particular chip. Although the specification illustrates corresponding structures for different electro-optical chips, the claim itself does not resolve the antecedent of these singular phrases. Accordingly, the metes and bounds of claim 17 are not reasonably certain, and claim 17 is indefinite.
Regarding claim 18,
Claim 18 depends from claim 17 and therefore incorporates the indefiniteness discussed above. Claim 18 additionally recites that "said electro-optical chip is configured to convey light output from a given one of the multiple optical outputs of the optical splitter to a given optical waveguide of the plurality of transmit macros."
The phrase "said electro-optical chip" continues to have two possible previously recited chip antecedents. Claim 17 also introduces an optical splitter in association with the ambiguous singular chip reference, yet claim 18 refers to "the optical splitter." In addition, claim 16 recites a "corresponding plurality of transmit macros" for each of the first and second electro-optical chips, while claim 18 refers in the singular to "the plurality of transmit macros." As written, it is unclear which chip, which splitter, and which corresponding plurality of transmit macros define the claimed light path. Accordingly, claim 18 is indefinite.
Regarding claim 19,
Claim 19 depends from claim 18 and therefore incorporates the indefiniteness of claims 17 and 18. Claim 19 further recites that "each optical waveguide of the plurality of transmit macros is optically connected to a different one of the multiple optical outputs of the optical splitter."
Because the incorporated claims recite corresponding transmit-macro pluralities for two different electro-optical chips and corresponding chip-side optical structures, but subsequently use the singular phrases "said electro-optical chip," "the plurality of transmit macros," and "the optical splitter," it remains uncertain which chip, which plurality of transmit macros, and which splitter are being further limited by claim 19. Accordingly, the metes and bounds of claim 19 are not reasonably certain, and claim 19 is indefinite.
Regarding claim 20,
Claim 20 depends from claim 19 and therefore incorporates the indefiniteness of claims 17-19. Claim 20 recites "a total number of transmit macros within the plurality of transmit macros of said electro-optical chip is greater than the number of optical outputs of the optical distribution network."
The singular phrase "said electro-optical chip" remains ambiguous between the previously recited first and second electro-optical chips. Likewise, "the plurality of transmit macros" and "the optical distribution network" are ambiguous because claim 16 recites a corresponding plurality of transmit macros for each chip and claim 17 recites a corresponding optical distribution network for each chip. Consequently, it is unclear which chip-specific transmit-macro count and which chip-specific distribution-network output count must satisfy the claimed numerical relationship. Accordingly, claim 20 is indefinite.
Regarding claim 21,
Claim 21 depends from claim 16 and separately recites that "each of the first electro-optical chip and the second electro-optical chip includes a corresponding optical distribution network" before reciting that the wavelengths are "collectively received through the multiple optical inputs of said electro-optical chip through each of a number of optical outputs of the optical distribution network" and that the number of outputs equals a number of "the plurality of transmit macros within said electro-optical chip."
As in claim 17, two different electro-optical chips and two corresponding chip-specific optical distribution networks are expressly recited before the claim shifts to the singular phrases "said electro-optical chip," "the optical distribution network," and "the plurality of transmit macros." Claim 21 does not state whether those singular phrases refer to the first chip and its structures, the second chip and its structures, or each respective chip and its corresponding structures. The ambiguity is material because the claimed numerical relationship compares the outputs of a particular optical distribution network with the transmit macros of a particular chip. Accordingly, the metes and bounds of claim 21 are not reasonably certain, and claim 21 is indefinite.
Accordingly, claims 17-21 are indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Double Patenting
Copending Application No. 19/174,761 (published as US 2025/0323748 A1) is currently pending. The claims of that application are directed to method implementations of the same common remote optical-power-supply / multi-chip architecture recited in the instant application. The following provisional rejections are therefore made in accordance with MPEP § 804 and Form Paragraph 8.37.
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 19/174,761 in view of Krishnamoorthy et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,539,418 B1) and further in view of Koch et al. (US 2022/0320832 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following:
This is a provisional nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
With respect to claim 1, claim 1 of Co-Pending Application No. 19/174,761 has the similar limitations as underlined below:
Instant application
Co Pending Application No.19/174,761
As per claim 1, An optical data communication system, comprising: an optical power supply including a plurality of lasers, each of the plurality of lasers configured to generate and output a beam of continuous wave light of a different one of a plurality of wavelengths, the optical power supply having a plurality of optical outputs, the optical power supply configured to convey all of the plurality of wavelengths of continuous wave light through each of the plurality of optical outputs; and a plurality of electro-optical chips that exists separate and remote from the optical power supply, each electro-optical chip of the plurality of electro-optical chips having multiple optical inputs respectively optically connected to optical outputs within a corresponding portion of the plurality of optical outputs of the optical power supply, wherein each electro-optical chip of the plurality of electro-optical chips is optically connected to a different portion of the plurality of optical outputs of the optical power supply.
As per claim 1, A method for optical data communication, comprising: respectively optically connecting a first plurality of optical outputs of an optical power supply to a first plurality of optical inputs of a first electro-optical chip, wherein the first electro-optical chip exists separate and remote from the optical power supply; respectively optically connecting a second plurality of optical outputs of the optical power supply to a second plurality of optical inputs of a second electro-optical chip, wherein the second electro-optical chip exists separate and remote from the optical power supply; operating the optical power supply to generate a plurality of beams of continuous wave light respectively having a plurality of wavelengths; and conveying all of the plurality of wavelengths of continuous wave light through each of the first plurality of optical outputs of the optical power supply and through each of the second plurality of optical outputs of the optical power supply.
The principal features of claim 1 of the current application that are not expressly recited in claim 1 of Co-Pending Application No. 19/174,761 are the apparatus-form recitation and the more specific requirement that the optical power supply include a plurality of lasers, each configured to generate a different wavelength of continuous wave light.
However, in analogous WDM optical interconnect art, Krishnamoorthy teaches the same concrete source architecture, including “an external light source which generates a plurality of wavelengths of light,” wherein the external light source comprises a bank of distributed feedback lasers, together with an optical multiplexer and an optical splitter that produces separate beams containing all wavelengths of the external light source [U.S. Patent 7,539,418 B1, col. 2].
Accordingly, claim 1 merely places the concrete, well-known multi-laser WDM source hardware of Krishnamoorthy into the common remote optical power supply that is already required by claim 1 of the copending application.
The first and second electro-optical chips, their respective plural optical inputs, the common remote optical power supply, and the conveyance of all wavelengths through the corresponding output groups are already required by the reference claim.
The structural implementation would perform the same function and yield the same predictable result.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the optical power supply recited in claim 1 of Co-Pending Application No. 19/174,761 using the known plurality-of-lasers WDM source architecture of Krishnamoorthy, as no more than the predictable use of prior-art elements according to their established functions.
With respect to claims 2-8, claims 2-8 of Co-Pending Application No. 19/174,761 recite the same transmit-macro, ring-resonator, splitter, and numerical relationships, as shown below:
Instant application
Co Pending Application No. 19/174,761
As per claim 2, The optical data communication system of claim 1, wherein each electro-optical chip includes a plurality of transmit macros, each transmit macro including a respective optical waveguide and a respective plurality of ring resonators positioned within an evanescent optical coupling distance of the respective optical waveguide.
As per claim 2, The method of claim 1, further comprising operating first and second pluralities of transmit macros within the first and second electro-optical chips, each transmit macro including a respective optical waveguide and a respective plurality of ring resonators positioned within an evanescent optical coupling distance of the respective optical waveguide.
As per claim 3, The system of claim 2, wherein a total number of transmit macros of a given electro-optical chip is greater than a total number of the multiple optical inputs of the given electro-optical chip.
As per claim 3, The method of claim 2, wherein the total number of transmit macros in each of the first and second electro-optical chips is greater than the total number of optical inputs of the corresponding electro-optical chip.
As per claim 4, The system of claim 2, wherein a total number of wavelengths is equal to a total number of ring resonators of the respective plurality of ring resonators.
As per claim 4, The method of claim 2, wherein the total number of wavelengths is equal to the total number of ring resonators within a given transmit macro of each of the first and second electro-optical chips.
As per claim 5, The system of claim 4, wherein each ring resonator is tuned to optically couple a different wavelength of the plurality of wavelengths of continuous wave light.
As per claim 5, The method of claim 4, further comprising tuning resonant wavelengths of the ring resonators within the transmit macros to respectively optically couple the plurality of wavelengths of continuous wave light.
As per claim 6, The system of claim 3, wherein each electro-optical chip includes at least one optical splitter having at least one optical input and multiple optical outputs, configured to distribute all wavelengths received through the input to each output, with the splitter input connected to a corresponding one of the chip optical inputs.
As per claim 6, The method of claim 3, further comprising using one or more optical splitters within each electro-optical chip to convey all wavelengths received through the chip optical inputs to each of the transmit macros.
As per claim 7, The system of claim 6, wherein the at least one optical splitter is a plurality of optical splitters within at least one electro-optical chip.
As per claim 7, The method of claim 6, wherein each of the first electro-optical chip and the second electro-optical chip uses multiple optical splitters.
As per claim 8, The system of claim 6, wherein the number of optical splitters equals the number of chip optical inputs and the total number of splitter outputs equals the total number of transmit macros.
As per claim 8, The method of claim 6, wherein the total number of optical splitters equals the total number of optical inputs of the corresponding electro-optical chip.
Claim 8 additionally states expressly that the total number of splitter outputs equals the total number of transmit macros.
Koch teaches an optical-power splitting network that distributes one input optical signal into N output light signals and supplies those N light signals to N respective modulator arrays [US 2022/0320832 A1, ¶¶ [0016], [0047], [0077]]. Koch further teaches that the ratio of the number of output/amplified light signals to the number of input laser signals is greater than 1:1 [¶ [0094]].
Accordingly, claims 2-8 do not define a patentably distinct invention from claims 2-8 of the copending application.
The differences are no more than expressing in apparatus form the same chip structures and predictable splitter-to-transmit-macro implementation used to perform the already-claimed method.
Claims 9-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 7-12 of copending Application No. 19/174,761 in view of Arol et al. (US 2003/0058505 A1) and further in view of Koch et al.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following:
This is a provisional nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting rejection.
With respect to claim 9, claim 9 of Co-Pending Application No. 19/174,761 has the similar limitations as underlined below:
Instant application
Co Pending Application No.19/174,761
As per claim 9, An optical data communication system comprising an optical power supply with a plurality of lasers and a plurality of optical outputs, the optical power supply configured to convey a particular subset of wavelengths through each output within a particular subset of outputs, such that each output within a given output subset receives the same wavelength subset and different output subsets receive different wavelength subsets; and a plurality of remote electro-optical chips, each chip having multiple optical inputs connected to outputs within a corresponding output subset, each chip being connected to a different output subset such that each chip receives a different wavelength subset.
As per claim 9, A method for optical data communication comprising connecting a first plurality of optical outputs of an optical power supply to a first plurality of optical inputs of a first remote electro-optical chip; connecting a second plurality of optical outputs to a second plurality of optical inputs of a second remote electro-optical chip; operating the optical power supply to generate a first plurality of beams having a first plurality of wavelengths and conveying all first wavelengths through each first optical output; and operating the optical power supply to generate a second plurality of beams having a second plurality of wavelengths and conveying all second wavelengths through each second optical output.
The feature stated more expressly in instant claim 9 is that the wavelength groupings and output groupings are delineated as different subsets, with a given output subset receiving the same wavelength subset and different output subsets receiving different wavelength subsets.
Arol teaches this exact wavelength-dependent separation principle: an optical coupler is adapted to filter the conveyed wavelengths so as to convey “a first subset of the wavelengths only to a first group of the transceivers, and ... a second subset of the wavelengths only to a second group of the transceivers, which is different from the first group” [US 2003/0058505 A1, Abstract and ¶ [0016]].
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to use Arol’s wavelength-dependent subset routing with the first and second wavelength/output groups already required by claim 9 of the copending application in order to preserve wavelength-group separation at the respective remote chips and avoid unnecessary transmission of wavelengths to a chip that does not use them. The result is the same predictable WDM grouping recited by instant claim 9.
With respect to claims 10-14, the corresponding limitations are recited in claims 10-12 and 7-8 of Co-Pending Application No. 19/174,761:
Instant application
Co Pending Application No. 19/174,761
As per claim 10, The system of claim 9, wherein each electro-optical chip includes a plurality of transmit macros, each having a respective optical waveguide and a respective plurality of ring resonators within an evanescent optical coupling distance.
As per claim 10, The method of claim 9, further comprising operating first and second pluralities of transmit macros in the first and second electro-optical chips, each transmit macro including a respective optical waveguide and plurality of ring resonators within an evanescent optical coupling distance.
As per claim 11, The system of claim 10, wherein the number of transmit macros of a given chip is greater than the number of chip optical inputs.
As per claim 11, The method of claim 10, wherein the number of transmit macros in each chip is greater than the number of optical inputs of that chip.
As per claim 12, The system of claim 11, wherein each chip includes at least one optical splitter having at least one input and multiple outputs, configured to distribute all wavelengths received at the input to each output, with each splitter input connected to a chip optical input.
As per claim 12, The method of claim 11, using one or more optical splitters in each chip to convey all wavelengths received through the chip optical inputs to each plurality of transmit macros.
As per claim 13, The system of claim 12, wherein the at least one optical splitter is a plurality of optical splitters within at least one electro-optical chip.
As per claim 7, The method of claim 6, wherein each electro-optical chip uses multiple optical splitters.
As per claim 14, The system of claim 12, wherein the number of optical splitters equals the number of chip optical inputs and the total number of splitter outputs equals the total number of transmit macros.
As per claim 8, The method of claim 6, wherein the total number of optical splitters equals the total number of optical inputs of the corresponding electro-optical chip.
Koch supplies the only additional express numerical implementation in claim 14 by teaching a splitting network whose N output light signals are respectively supplied to N modulator arrays and by teaching an output-to-input light-signal ratio greater than 1:1 [US 2022/0320832 A1, ¶¶ [0047], [0077], [0094]].
Applying the same splitter implementation to the second wavelength-group embodiment would merely repeat the established splitter function and yield a predictable result.
Claims 15-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13-17 of copending Application No. 19/174,761 in view of Dragone et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,263,127 B1) and further in view of Koch et al.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following:
This is a provisional nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting rejection.
With respect to claim 15, claim 13 of Co-Pending Application No. 19/174,761 has the similar limitations as underlined below:
Instant application
Co Pending Application No.19/174,761
As per claim 15, An optical data communication system comprising an optical power supply having wavelength subsets and output subsets, each wavelength subset being different and exclusive from the others and each output subset being different and exclusive from the others, wherein at least two optical outputs within each output subset respectively receive different wavelength subsets; a first remote electro-optical chip having multiple optical inputs connected to outputs within a first output subset; and a second remote electro-optical chip having multiple optical inputs connected to outputs within a second output subset.
As per claim 13, A method for optical data communication comprising connecting first and second pluralities of optical outputs of an optical power supply to first and second remote electro-optical chips; operating the optical power supply to generate first and second pluralities of continuous-wave wavelengths; conveying all first wavelengths through at least one of the first optical outputs; conveying all second wavelengths through at least one of the first optical outputs; conveying all first wavelengths through at least one of the second optical outputs; and conveying all second wavelengths through at least one of the second optical outputs.
The principal distinction is that instant claim 15 expressly requires at least two different optical outputs within each output subset to respectively carry different wavelength subsets, and expressly characterizes the wavelength/output subsets as mutually exclusive.
Dragone teaches the conventional WDM routing relationship in which different output ports carry different wavelength subsets. For example, Dragone states that “output port 1 includes wavelengths 1, 5, 9, and 13; output port 2 includes wavelengths 2, 6, 10, and 14,” with the other ports likewise carrying different channel subsets [U.S. Patent 6,263,127 B1, col. 3].
The copending reference claim already requires both the first and second wavelength groups to be delivered within each of the first and second output groups. Using separate output ports for the respective wavelength groups, as taught by Dragone, is the predictable WDM routing implementation of that method. It also inherently provides different/exclusive wavelength groupings at different output ports.
Thus, the claimed output-subset organization does not render claim 15 patentably distinct.
With respect to claims 16-21, claims 14-17 of Co-Pending Application No. 19/174,761 recite the same transmit-macro, splitter, and on-chip distribution functions. The correspondence is summarized below:
Instant application
Co Pending Application No. 19/174,761
As per claim 16, The system of claim 15, wherein each first and second electro-optical chip includes a corresponding plurality of transmit macros, each macro including a respective optical waveguide and a respective plurality of ring resonators positioned within an evanescent optical coupling distance.
As per claim 14, The method of claim 13, operating first and second pluralities of transmit macros in the first and second electro-optical chips, each macro including a respective optical waveguide and a respective plurality of ring resonators positioned within an evanescent optical coupling distance.
As per claim 17, The system of claim 16, wherein each chip includes an optical distribution network configured to convey all wavelengths collectively received through the chip inputs through each of a number of network outputs, and an optical splitter whose input is connected to a network output and whose multiple outputs distribute all received wavelengths.
As per claim 17, The method of claim 16, using a first optical distribution network in the first chip and a second optical distribution network in the second chip to convey all wavelengths received through the chip optical inputs to the one or more optical splitters within the corresponding chip.
As per claim 18, The system of claim 17, wherein the chip conveys light from a given splitter output to a given optical waveguide of the plurality of transmit macros.
As per claim 16, The method of claim 15, using one or more optical splitters within each chip to convey all wavelengths received through the chip optical inputs to each of the corresponding plurality of transmit macros.
As per claim 19, The system of claim 18, wherein each optical waveguide of the plurality of transmit macros is optically connected to a different one of the multiple optical outputs of the splitter.
As per claim 16, The method of claim 15, using the splitter(s) to convey the received wavelengths to each respective transmit macro of the electro-optical chip.
As per claim 20, The system of claim 19, wherein the total number of transmit macros is greater than the number of optical outputs of the optical distribution network.
As per claim 15, The method of claim 14, wherein the total number of transmit macros in each electro-optical chip is greater than the total number of chip optical inputs.
As per claim 21, The system of claim 16, wherein each chip includes an optical distribution network that conveys all collectively received wavelengths through each network output, and the number of network outputs equals the number of transmit macros.
As per claim 17, The method of claim 16, using an optical distribution network in each chip to convey all wavelengths received through the chip optical inputs to the optical splitter(s), which convey the wavelengths to the plurality of transmit macros.
Koch further teaches the ordinary structural implementation of these functions: an optical-power splitting network distributes an input optical signal into a plurality of different output ports [¶ [0016]]; the splitting network provides N output light signals [¶ [0047]]; those signals are supplied to N respective modulator arrays [¶ [0077]]; and the number of output/amplified light signals can exceed the number of input laser signals [¶ [0094]].
These teachings render predictable the one-output-to-one-macro connections of claims 18-19, the fan-out relationship of claim 20, and the network-output / macro-count relationship of claim 21.
Accordingly, the known elements would continue to perform their established optical distribution and modulation functions.
The result would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art, and claims 15-21 are not patentably distinct from the cited claims of the copending application.
Claims 22-24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2, 3, and 6 of copending Application No. 19/174,761 in view of Bovington et al. (US 2020/0088940 A1) and further in view of Koch et al.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following:
This is a provisional nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting rejection.
With respect to claim 22, claims 2, 3, and 6 of Co-Pending Application No. 19/174,761 have the similar limitations as underlined below:
Instant application
Co Pending Application No.19/174,761
As per claim 22, An electro-optical chip comprising a plurality of transmit macros, each including a respective optical waveguide and a respective plurality of ring resonators positioned within an evanescent optical coupling distance; and an optical distribution network having initially active optical inputs and spare optical inputs, each connected to a respective optical fiber conveying continuous-wave laser light, each spare optical input activatable upon failure of a corresponding active input, the network having optical outputs each connected to the optical waveguide of a corresponding transmit macro, wherein the total number of transmit macros exceeds the number of initially active optical inputs.
As per claim 2, 3 and 6, Claims 2 and 3 recite operating pluralities of transmit macros within the electro-optical chips, each transmit macro including a respective optical waveguide and a respective plurality of ring resonators within an evanescent optical coupling distance, and require the total number of transmit macros to be greater than the total number of optical inputs of the corresponding electro-optical chip. Claim 6 further recites using one or more optical splitters within the electro-optical chips to convey received wavelengths to the transmit macros.
The feature not expressly present in the cited copending claims is the recitation of initially active and spare optical inputs with failure-responsive activation of the spare input.
Bovington expressly teaches this redundancy structure on a photonic chip: each optical distributor includes “a first input” configured for a respective primary laser source and “a second input” configured for a respective secondary laser source, with control circuitry responsive to a failed primary laser source to cause the secondary source to selectively provide optical energy to the affected distributor [US 2020/0088940 A1, Abstract; ¶¶ [0010]-[0013]].
Koch independently teaches that “a power splitter includes multiple input ports such that at least one additional laser can be used to provide redundancy,” and teaches a splitting network that converts one optical input into multiple output light signals, with an output-to-input signal ratio greater than 1:1 [US 2022/0320832 A1, ¶¶ [0021], [0047], [0094]].
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to provide the splitter/distribution architecture already required by the cited copending claims with a redundant secondary optical input so that loss of a primary remote laser or optical path does not disable the associated transmit macros. Bovington identifies laser reliability as the reason for the sparing architecture, and Koch confirms that multi-input splitter redundancy was a known PIC implementation. The modification preserves the same optical-distribution function and predictably improves availability.
With respect to claims 23 and 24, the remaining limitations are the known splitter and failure-control details supplied by the same references:
Instant application
Co Pending Application No. 19/174,761
As per claim 23, The chip of claim 22, wherein the optical distribution network includes optical splitting elements, each having a first input connected to an initially active input, a second input connected to a spare input, and multiple outputs corresponding to network outputs.
As per claim 6, The method of claim 3, using one or more optical splitters within the electro-optical chips to distribute received wavelengths to the transmit macros; Bovington supplies the first/second primary/spare input relationship, and Koch supplies the multiple-output splitting element.
As per claim 24, The chip of claim 23, wherein each optical splitting element is controllable to activate one or more of the first input and the second input at a given time.
As per claim 6, The method uses the splitter architecture; Bovington further requires control circuitry that, responsive to failure of the primary source, selectively activates/provides optical energy from the secondary source to the affected optical distributor.
Accordingly, all claimed elements of claims 22-24 are found in the cited reference claims and the established redundancy/splitting teachings of Bovington and Koch. The combination merely provides a known redundant input to a known multi-output optical distribution element and uses known failure-responsive control.
All elements continue to operate according to their established functions, and the result would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Based on the above findings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the transmit-macro / optical-distribution architecture of claims 2, 3, and 6 of Co-Pending Application No. 19/174,761 with the primary/secondary laser sparing structure taught by Bovington and the multiple-output / redundant-input splitter implementation taught by Koch, as no more than the predictable use of prior-art elements according to their established functions.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102
In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
(a)(1) The claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wright et al. (US 2020/0355880 A1).
Claim 1,
Wright teaches the claimed optical data communication architecture including a remote optical power supply serving multiple electro-optical/optical-I/O chips, a plurality of lasers producing different continuous-wave wavelengths, a plurality of power-supply optical outputs, and distribution of all wavelengths to the outputs.
Wright teaches the physically separate common optical power supply and multiple optical I/O chiplets as follows: “The optical power supply module 117 is configured to generate one or more wavelengths of continuous wave laser light and output the generated continuous wave laser light through the supply optical fibers 111-1-1 to 111-1-N through 111-X-1 to 111-X-N, which route the continuous wave laser light to the various optical I/O chiplets 105 across the multi-chip packages 100-1 to 100-X. Again, it should be understood that the optical power supply module 117 includes one or more chips on the second package substrate 115 that is separate from the package substrates 101-1 to 101-X of the multi-chip packages 100-1 to 100-X that includes the optical I/O chiplets 105 and the host SOCs 103.” [Wright, ¶[0019], FIG. 1A]
Wright further teaches the plurality of lasers and the all-wavelengths-to-each-output relationship as follows: “The laser source 302 is configured to generate and output a plurality of laser beams, i.e., (N) laser beams. The plurality of laser beams have different wavelengths relative to each other... In some embodiments, the laser source 302 includes a plurality of lasers 303-1 to 303-N for respectively generating the plurality (N) of laser beams, where each laser 303-1 to 303-N generates and outputs a laser beam at a respective one of the different wavelengths... The optical marshalling module 307 operates to distribute the plurality of laser beams such that all of the different wavelengths of the plurality of laser beams are provided to each of the plurality of optical output ports 309-1 to 309-M.” [Wright, ¶¶[0023]–[0025], FIG. 3]
Wright also teaches the optical connection from the supply outputs to the chip optical inputs:
“The optical data communication system 10 also includes a set of optical fibers 111-1-1 optically connecting the one or more output optical ports 309-1 to 309-M of the optical power supply module 117 to the one or more supply optical ports 110 of the optical input/output chiplet 105-1-1.” [Wright, ¶[0034], FIG. 1A].
Wright further teaches multiple chip-side optical supply inputs and corresponding supply fibers: “Each transmit macro 209-1 to 209-Z includes a corresponding transmit optical waveguide 215-1 to 215-Z that is optically coupled to a corresponding one of the supply optical ports 110-1-1-1 to 110-1-1-Z, which is optically coupled to a corresponding one of the supply optical fibers 111-1-1-1 to 111-1-1-Z.” [Wright, ¶[0021], FIG. 2].
Thus, Wright expressly discloses every limitation of claim 1. The common optical power supply has multiple lasers generating different CW wavelengths; the marshalling module has multiple optical outputs and supplies all wavelengths to each output; the power supply is physically separate from the chip packages; each representative optical I/O chiplet has multiple optical supply inputs; and the indexed supply-fiber groups route the common optical power to different optical I/O chiplets. In particular, FIG. 1A together with ¶[0019] shows distinct indexed groups of supply fibers 111-1-1 to 111-1-N through 111-X-1 to 111-X-N extending from the common optical power supply module 117 to the various chiplets across multi-chip packages 100-1 to 100-X. Those distinct indexed groups are the claimed different portions of the plurality of optical outputs. No modification of Wright and no obviousness inference is required for claim 1.
Accordingly, claim 1 is anticipated by Wright under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1). Fini is relied upon below only for the additional microring/transmit-macro limitations of the dependent claims.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 103
As reiterated by the Supreme Court in KSR, and as set forth in MPEP § 2141 (R-01.2024), subsection II, the factual inquiries of Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. § 103, are summarized as follows:
Determining the scope and content of the prior art;
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue;
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art; and
Considering objective evidence indicative of obviousness or non-obviousness, if present.
The relevant art concerns remote multi-wavelength continuous-wave optical power supplies, WDM optical distribution, photonic integrated circuits and optical I/O chiplets, microring-resonator transmit macros, optical splitting/fan-out, wavelength-selective routing, and redundant or backup laser delivery. The cited disclosures address the same technological problems presented by the pending claims: supplying CW optical power from a physically remote source to multiple electro-optical chips; distributing all or selected wavelength sets among multiple optical outputs; reducing package fiber and optical-input count by on-chip splitting and fan-out; modulating selected WDM channels with microring structures; assigning wavelength resources to different chip endpoints; and maintaining optical service when a primary laser or optical path fails. The cited references therefore are in the same field of endeavor and/or are reasonably pertinent to the optical-power-distribution, wavelength-routing, photonic-integration, and redundancy problems addressed by the application. The reasons for the specific modifications and the expected operation of each combination are explained for the individual claims below. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417-418 (2007); MPEP §§ 2141, 2141.01(a), and 2143.
The rejections below apply the cited references for what they expressly teach and for what their disclosures would reasonably have suggested to a person having ordinary skill in optical data communication, WDM optical power distribution, photonic integrated circuits, microring modulation, and optical switching. The references are combined only where the claimed subject matter requires the combined teachings, and the stated rationales identify the technical reason the combination would have been made before the effective filing date.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Wright et al. in view of Fini et al. (US 2021/0286129 A1).
Claim 2,
With respect to claim 2, all the claim limitations of claim 1 are taught by Wright as set forth above, except that claim 2 additionally requires each electro-optical chip to include a plurality of transmit macros, each transmit macro having a respective optical waveguide and a respective plurality of ring resonators positioned within an evanescent optical coupling distance of the waveguide. However, within analogous art, Fini teaches the new additional limitations, as follows:
Fini teaches optical macros, optical waveguides, and microring resonators as follows: “The example layout of FIG. 7 shows the routing of an optical waveguide 705 and the placement of optical microring resonators 707-1 to 707-M within the transmit (Tx) portion of the optical macro 705-x. The microring resonators 707-1 to 707-M function as modulators... Each corresponding pair of the transmit (Tx) slices 701-1 to 701-M and the receive (Rx) slices 703-1 to 703-M forms a Tx/Rx slice of the optical macro 305-x.” [Fini, ¶¶[0056]–[0057],FIG. 7]
Fini further teaches: “The electro-optical chip also includes a plurality of optical microring resonators positioned along the optical waveguide. Each microring resonator of the plurality of optical microring resonators is optically coupled to a different location along the optical waveguide.” [Fini, Abstract and ¶[0003]]
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to implement the transmit macros of Wright using the explicit microring-on-waveguide macro structure of Fini because both references address high-density chip-level WDM optical I/O supplied by remote CW laser light. Fini identifies microring resonators positioned along a waveguide as the wavelength-selective modulators of the transmit portion of an optical macro. Substituting that known photonic macro implementation for the modulation circuitry of Wright would preserve Wright’s remote laser distribution architecture while providing a compact, wavelength-selective transmitter. The modification does not change the remote-source or optical-distribution function; it merely uses a known chip-level WDM modulator structure for its established purpose. The result—a remote optical supply feeding chip-local wavelength-selective microring transmit macros—would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Wright et al. in view of Fini et al., and further in view of Koch et al.
Claim 3,
With respect to claim 3, all the claim limitations of claim 2 are taught by Wright and Fini, except wherein claim 3 additionally requires the total number of transmit macros of a given electro-optical chip to be greater than the total number of optical inputs of that chip. However, within analogous art, Koch teaches the new limitation, as follows:
Koch teaches fan-out in which the number of downstream optical signals/modulator paths exceeds the number of input laser signals:
“Some systems in accordance with the present disclosure include multiple lasers, each of which is fiber coupled with a single PIC containing a like number of splitting/amplification stages and their corresponding modulators. However, regardless of the number of input laser signals to a PIC, it is an aspect of the present disclosure that the ratio of the number of amplified light signals to the number of input laser signals is greater than 1:1, thereby significantly reducing system cost and complexity as compared to prior-art light-distribution systems.” [Koch, ¶[0094]]
It would have been obvious to apply Koch’s fan-out teaching to the Wright/Fini chip so that fewer optical supply inputs feed a larger number of transmit macros. Koch expressly identifies reduced system cost and complexity as the benefit of using more distributed optical signal paths than input laser signals. In the Wright/Fini architecture, each downstream distributed optical path can supply a transmit macro; therefore configuring the number of macros to exceed the number of external optical inputs is the direct and predictable implementation of Koch’s greater-than-1:1 fan-out ratio. This modification reduces package fiber/input count while retaining parallel WDM transmit capacity.
Claim 4,
With respect to claim 4, all the claim limitations of claim 2 are taught by Wright and Fini except wherein claim 4 additionally requires the total number of wavelengths to be equal to the total number of ring resonators of the respective plurality. However, Fini teaches a one-resonator-per-selected-wavelength arrangement and expressly permits the number of wavelength channels and transmitter slices to be defined as needed, as follows:
Fini teaches: “In various embodiments, the number (M) of optical transmitter slices 701-1 to 701-M and optical receiver slices 703-1 to 703-M and the number (W) of different optical wavelengths can be defined as needed, considering that any number of optical transmitter slices 701-1 to 701-M and/or optical receiver slices 703-1 to 703-M is tunable to a given one of the number (W) of optical wavelengths.” [Fini, ¶[0062]].
Fini further teaches: “Each of the microring resonators 707-1 to 707-M within the transmit (Tx) slices 701-1 to 701-M is tunable to operate at a specified wavelength of light. Also, in some embodiments, the specified wavelength of light at which a given microring resonator 707-x is tuned to operate is different than the specified wavelengths at which the other microring resonators 707-1 to 707-M, excluding 707-x, are tuned to operate.” [Fini, ¶[0058], p. 28]
A person of ordinary skill implementing a WDM macro with W wavelength channels would have had an express design reason to select M=W when a complete one-to-one wavelength-selective modulator bank is desired: one independently tuned microring resonator is assigned to each wavelength. Fini expressly permits the channel and slice counts to be selected as needed and teaches different resonant wavelengths for the rings. Choosing equal counts therefore merely selects the known one-resonator-per-channel configuration, with the predictable result that every supplied wavelength has a corresponding wavelength-selective ring modulator.
Claim 5,
With respect to claim 5, all the claim limitations of claim 4 are taught by Wright and Fini, except wherein claim 5 additionally requires each ring resonator to be tuned to optically couple a different wavelength. Fini expressly teaches the new limitation, as follows:
Fini expressly teaches different resonant wavelengths for different rings:
“The specified wavelength of light at which a given microring resonator 707-x is tuned to operate is different than the specified wavelengths at which the other microring resonators 707-1 to 707-M, excluding 707-x, are tuned to operate.” [Fini, ¶[0058]].
The motivation is intrinsic to WDM modulation: tuning respective rings to different channel wavelengths allows the common waveguide to carry multiple CW wavelengths while each ring selectively couples/modulates its assigned channel. This is the established wavelength-selective function of microring modulators and yields the predictable result of independent modulation of the plurality of WDM wavelengths.
Claim 6,
With respect to claim 6, all the claim limitations of claim 3 are taught by Wright, Fini, and Koch as set forth above except wherein the new additional limitation is at least one optical splitter having at least one optical input and multiple outputs, distributing all received wavelengths to each output and coupled to a chip optical input. However, within analogous art, Koch teaches the new limitation, as follows:
Koch teaches “Like light-distribution systems known in the prior art, systems in accordance with the present disclosure include an optical-power splitting network that splits the power of an input optical signal into a plurality of light signals, each of which is conveyed to a different output port... It is another aspect of the present invention that advantages accrue from first power splitting a WDM laser signal to create separate spatial WDM channels that preserve all wavelength components on each channel.” [Koch, ¶¶[0016], [0097]]
Applying Koch’s WDM-preserving splitter to each Wright/Fini chip predictably reduces the number of package optical inputs while delivering the same complete wavelength set to multiple transmit paths. The references address the same problem efficient delivery of remote CW optical power to integrated photonic modulators and Koch expressly teaches that splitting before modulation preserves the WDM components on each spatial channel.
Claim 7,
With respect to claim 7, all the claim limitations of claim 6 are taught by Wright, Fini, and Koch as set forth above except wherein the new additional limitation is the at least one optical splitter being a plurality of optical splitters within at least one chip. However, within analogous art, Koch teaches the new limitation, as follows:
Koch teaches “Splitting network 302 is an optical-power splitting network that comprises an arrangement of surface waveguides 118 and power splitters 402 that collectively distribute the optical energy received at input port 110 into N substantially equal-intensity light signals... network 302 comprises a binary tree of 3 stages of power splitters 402, each of which is a 1x2 y-junction splitter.” [Koch, ¶¶[0047]–[0048], FIG. 4]
Once one splitter is used to fan out a WDM supply, using a plurality of cascaded splitters is the expressly taught scalable topology of Koch. A skilled artisan would use the disclosed binary-tree arrangement when more than two downstream macro paths are required, because repeated splitting is a standard, predictable way to scale fan-out while preserving the WDM content.
Claim 8,
With respect to claim 8, all the claim limitations of claim 6 are taught by Wright, Fini, and Koch as set forth above except wherein the new additional limitation is the numerical relationship in which the number of optical splitters equals the number of chip optical inputs and the combined splitter outputs equal the number of transmit macros. However, within analogous art, Koch teaches the new limitation, as follows:
Koch teaches: “Some systems in accordance with the present disclosure include multiple lasers, each of which is fiber coupled with a single PIC containing a like number of splitting/amplification stages and their corresponding modulators... In S/A stage 800, modulator arrays 116-1 through 116-N receive light signals 306-1 through 306-N, respectively.” [Koch, ¶¶[0094], [0101]].
Koch expressly teaches like-number correspondence between input laser channels, splitting/amplification stages, and their corresponding modulator paths. In implementing the Wright/Fini chip, one of ordinary skill would have selected one splitter stage per chip optical input and sized the aggregate splitter outputs to the number of downstream transmit macros so that every macro receives a supply path without unused splitter outputs. This is a finite, predictable port-count matching choice that minimizes unused couplers and package connections.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Wright et al. in view of Arol et al.
Claim 9,
Wright teaches the common remote optical power supply, plurality of lasers, remote multiple electro-optical/optical-I/O chips, and optical connections between supply outputs and chip inputs as discussed for claim 1. Wright does not expressly require different wavelength subsets to be delivered only to different corresponding groups/subsets of outputs/chips. However, within analogous WDM distribution art, Arol teaches that exact wavelength-subset partitioning principle, as follows:
Arol teaches “At least one optical coupler... is adapted to filter the wavelengths conveyed over the medium so as to convey the optical signals in a first subset of the wavelengths only to a first group of the transceivers, and to convey the optical signals in a second subset of the wavelengths only to a second group of the transceivers, which is different from the first group.” [Arol, ¶[0016]; see also Abstract and ¶[0033]]
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to apply Arol’s wavelength-dependent filtering to the output fan-out of Wright when different remote electro-optical chips require different WDM channel groups. Arol expressly teaches that wavelength-dependent couplers divide a WDM network into regions and reduce power waste while increasing bandwidth. Incorporating that filtering into Wright’s optical marshalling/distribution network would cause a first output group feeding a first chip to carry a first wavelength subset and a second output group feeding a second chip to carry a different subset. The modification does not alter the established functions of the source, fibers, or chips; it merely selects which of the already generated wavelengths are delivered to each output group, producing the predictable result recited in claim 9.
Claims 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Wright et al. in view of Arol et al., and further in view of Fini et al. and Koch et al.
Claim 10,
With respect to claim 10, all the claim limitations of claim 9 are taught by Wright and Arol, as set forth above, except that claim 10 additionally requires each electro-optical chip to include a plurality of transmit macros, each transmit macro including a respective optical waveguide and a respective plurality of ring resonators positioned within an evanescent optical coupling distance of the respective optical waveguide. However, within analogous art, Fini teaches these additional limitations, as follows:
Fini teaches “The example layout of FIG. 7 shows the routing of an optical waveguide 705 and the placement of optical microring resonators 707-1 to 707-M within the transmit (Tx) portion of the optical macro 705-x. The microring resonators 707-1 to 707-M function as modulators.” [Fini, ¶[0056], FIG. 7]
It would have been obvious to implement each Wright/Arol WDM endpoint chip with the compact microring transmit-macro architecture of Fini. The routed wavelength subset arriving at a remote chip must be modulated onto data-bearing optical signals, and Fini provides a known integrated implementation in which microring resonators are positioned along a transmit waveguide and function as modulators. Using that known macro on each endpoint chip would keep the remote optical-power and wavelength-routing functions of Wright and Arol unchanged while performing the required local modulation in a compact WDM structure. The combination therefore uses the microring macro for its established function and predictably yields the claimed chip endpoint.
Claim 11,
With respect to claim 11, all the claim limitations of claim 10 are taught by Wright, Arol and Fini, except that claim 11 additionally requires the total number of transmit macros within the plurality of transmit macros of a given electro-optical chip to be greater than the total number of multiple optical inputs of that chip. However, within analogous art, Koch teaches this greater-than-input fan-out relationship, as follows:
Koch teaches “Regardless of the number of input laser signals to a PIC, it is an aspect of the present disclosure that the ratio of the number of amplified light signals to the number of input laser signals is greater than 1:1.” [Koch, ¶[0094]]
The greater-than-1:1 fan-out taught by Koch provides a specific technical reason to use fewer external optical inputs than downstream transmitter paths. In the Wright/Arol/Fini architecture, each downstream split optical path can supply a separate transmit macro. Configuring more transmit macros than chip optical inputs therefore reduces the number of package fibers and optical input couplers while retaining parallel WDM transmit capacity. The modification merely repeats the known optical-power fan-out function inside the chip and would predictably produce the numerical relationship recited in claim 11.
Claim 12,
With respect to claim 12, all the claim limitations of claim 11 are taught by Wright, Arol, Fini and Koch, except that claim 12 additionally requires each electro-optical chip to include at least one optical splitter having at least one optical input and multiple optical outputs, the splitter being configured to distribute all wavelengths received through the at least one optical input to each of the multiple optical outputs, with each splitter input optically connected to a corresponding one of the multiple optical inputs of the chip. However, within analogous art, Koch teaches these splitter and all-wavelength distribution limitations, as follows:
Koch teaches “Systems in accordance with the present disclosure include an optical-power splitting network that splits the power of an input optical signal into a plurality of light signals, each of which is conveyed to a different output port.” [Koch, ¶[0016]]
The splitter taught by Koch is the known component for converting one supplied WDM optical input into multiple downstream spatial channels while preserving the wavelength content on each channel. Applying that splitter to a chip optical input in the combined architecture allows one external WDM feed to supply several transmit-macro paths, which directly complements claim 11’s more-macros-than-inputs relationship. The modification reduces package fiber count and avoids duplicating remote laser feeds, while each downstream macro continues to receive the same WDM wavelengths required for wavelength-selective microring modulation. The source, routing, splitter, and macro elements therefore continue to perform their established functions and the result would have been predictable.
Claim 13,
With respect to claim 13, all the claim limitations of claim 12 are taught by Wright, Arol, Fini and Koch, except that claim 13 additionally requires the at least one optical splitter to be a plurality of optical splitters within at least one of the electro-optical chips. However, within analogous art, Koch expressly teaches a multi-splitter network, as follows:
Koch teaches “Splitting network 302 comprises a binary tree of 3 stages of power splitters 402, each of which is a 1x2 y-junction splitter.” [Koch, ¶[0047]; FIG. 4]
A plurality of splitters is the expressly disclosed scalable fan-out architecture of Koch. A skilled artisan would employ multiple splitter elements when multiple chip optical inputs each require fan-out, or when the required number of downstream macro paths exceeds the fan-out of a single splitter. Repeating the same 1x2 splitting element in a binary-tree or multi-stage arrangement is a standard modular way to increase fan-out without changing the function of any element. In the combined WDM chip, the plurality of splitters would simply replicate the received wavelength sets onto additional spatial paths for the transmit macros, yielding the claimed plurality-of-splitters arrangement predictably.
Claim 14,
With respect to claim 14, all the claim limitations of claim 12 are taught by Wright, Arol, Fini and Koch, except that claim 14 additionally requires (i) the total number of optical splitters within the given electro-optical chip to equal the total number of multiple optical inputs of the chip, and (ii) the total number of the multiple optical outputs of all splitters to equal the total number of transmit macros. However, within analogous art, Koch teaches the corresponding like-number input/stage and output/modulator relationships, as follows:
Koch teaches “Some systems... include multiple lasers, each of which is fiber coupled with a single PIC containing a like number of splitting/amplification stages and their corresponding modulators.” [Koch, ¶[0094])]
The like-number architecture taught by Koch gives a straightforward port-count design rule. Providing one splitter stage for each chip optical input allows each external WDM feed to be fanned out independently, while sizing the aggregate splitter outputs to the number of transmit macros gives each macro a dedicated optical supply path. A skilled artisan would select those matching counts to avoid unused splitter stages, unused output ports, and unnecessary package connections, while still supplying every macro. This is a finite and predictable dimensioning of the disclosed splitter/modulator architecture, not a change in operating principle, and it yields both numerical relationships recited in claim 14.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Wright et al. in view of Arol et al. and Dragone et al.
Claim 15,
For purposes of the prior-art rejection only, and without withdrawing the Objection of claim 15 under Claim Objection.
Wright teaches the common remote multi-wavelength power supply and remote plurality of electro-optical/optical-I/O chips. Arol teaches dividing WDM wavelengths into different subsets and conveying the different subsets only to different recipient groups. Claim 15 further requires output subsets in which at least two outputs can respectively carry different wavelength subsets. Dragone supplies the explicit multi-output wavelength-group routing teaching.
Dragone teaches a WDM router in which respective outputs carry different wavelength groups:
“With a broad spectrum WDM input signal including 16 wavelength channels... each of the 4 output ports would output 4 wavelengths... Thus as shown in FIG. 2, output port 1 includes wavelengths 1, 5, 9, and 13; output port 2 includes wavelengths 2, 6, 10, and 14 and so on. More generally... each output n... would include channels n, n+N, n+2N, ...” [Dragone, col. 3; FIG. 2]
Arol teaches the separate wavelength-subset groups “Convey the optical signals in a first subset of the wavelengths only to a first group of the transceivers, and... convey the optical signals in a second subset of the wavelengths only to a second group of the transceivers, which is different from the first group.” [Arol, ¶[0016]]
It would have been obvious to use Dragone’s known wavelength-group-per-output routing inside the wavelength-partitioned supply network suggested by Arol and Wright. Arol provides the reason to separate wavelength groups by recipient region; Dragone provides a concrete optical-router implementation in which different output ports carry different subsets of a larger WDM set. Grouping two or more such outputs into a physical output subset feeding a respective electro-optical chip is a predictable aggregation of known output ports for parallel delivery. The result is exactly the claim-15 architecture: exclusive wavelength subsets, exclusive output subsets, and at least two outputs in a subset respectively carrying different wavelength subsets, with different output subsets connected to different remote electro-optical chips. The combination improves channel allocation flexibility and permits different WDM resources to be directed to different chips without changing the common source.
Claims 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Wright et al. in view of Arol et al. and Dragone et al., and further in view of Fini et al. and Koch et al.
Claim 16,
With respect to claim 16, all the claim limitations of claim 15 are taught by Wright, Arol and Dragone, except that claim 16 additionally requires each of the first electro-optical chip and the second electro-optical chip to include a corresponding plurality of transmit macros, each transmit macro including a respective optical waveguide and a respective plurality of ring resonators positioned within an evanescent optical coupling distance of the respective optical waveguide. However, within analogous art, Fini teaches these additional chip-level transmit-macro limitations, as follows:
Fini teaches “The example layout of FIG. 7 shows the routing of an optical waveguide 705 and the placement of optical microring resonators 707-1 to 707-M within the transmit (Tx) portion of the optical macro 705-x.” [Fini, ¶[0056]]
The microring optical macro of Fini is a known local transmitter implementation for a chip receiving routed WDM optical power. Applying the same macro structure to both remote electro-optical chips allows each chip to modulate the wavelength subsets delivered by the Wright/Arol/Dragone distribution architecture without altering how those wavelengths are generated or routed. The ring resonators remain wavelength-selective modulators coupled to their respective waveguides, and the remote power supply remains the source of the CW carriers. The result is the predictable use of a known compact WDM transmit macro at each endpoint chip.
Claim 17,
For purposes of the prior-art rejection only, and without withdrawing the rejection of claim 17 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b).
With respect to claim 17, all the claim limitations of claim 16 are taught by Wright, Arol, Dragone and Fini, except that claim 17 additionally requires each first/second electro-optical chip to include a corresponding optical distribution network configured to convey all wavelengths collectively received through the chip’s multiple optical inputs through each of a number of optical-distribution-network outputs, together with an optical splitter whose input is optically connected to a corresponding distribution-network output and whose multiple outputs each receive all wavelengths supplied to that splitter input. However, within analogous art, Koch teaches this on-chip all-wavelength splitting/fan-out function, as follows:
Koch teaches “It is another aspect of the present invention that advantages accrue from first power splitting a WDM laser signal to create separate spatial WDM channels that preserve all wavelength components on each channel.” [Koch, ¶[0097]]
Using the WDM-preserving splitter of Koch downstream of an on-chip distribution-network output is a direct way to fan the wavelengths already received by the chip into multiple macro supply paths. This arrangement reduces the number of external fibers and distribution-network outputs needed for a given number of transmit macros, while preserving all wavelength components on every split branch. The modification is particularly natural in the combined architecture because Wright supplies remote CW optical power, Arol and Dragone route wavelength resources, and Fini provides the chip-local macros that consume those resources. The splitter and distribution network continue to perform their established optical-routing functions, and the claimed arrangement would have yielded a predictable result.
Claim 18,
For purposes of the prior-art rejection only, and without withdrawing the rejection of claim 18 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b).
With respect to claim 18, all the claim limitations of claim 17 are taught by Wright, Arol, Dragone, Fini and Koch, except that claim 18 additionally requires the electro-optical chip to convey light output from a given one of the multiple optical outputs of the splitter to a given optical waveguide of the plurality of transmit macros. However, within analogous art, Koch teaches the corresponding downstream splitter-output paths, as follows:
Koch teaches “Splitting network 302 is an optical-power splitting network that comprises an arrangement of surface waveguides 118 and power splitters 402 that collectively distribute the optical energy received at input port 110 into N substantially equal-intensity light signals.” [Koch, ¶[0047], FIG. 4]
Each output of the splitting network of Koch is an established downstream optical path carrying a portion of the received WDM light. In the combined chip, the purpose of creating those paths is to deliver optical power to the transmit structures; therefore coupling a given splitter output to the waveguide of a given transmit macro is the ordinary endpoint connection that makes the fan-out useful. That connection does not alter the optical content or operating principle of either element and predictably supplies the selected macro waveguide with the split WDM light. The modification is therefore no more than connecting known optical elements according to their established functions.
Claim 19,
For purposes of the prior-art rejection only, and without withdrawing the rejection of claim 19 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b).
With respect to claim 19, all the claim limitations of claim 18 are taught by Wright, Arol, Dragone, Fini and Koch, except that claim 19 additionally requires each optical waveguide of the plurality of transmit macros to be optically connected to a different one of the multiple optical outputs of the splitter. However, within analogous art, Koch teaches the one-to-one respective mapping of split optical signals to different modulator paths, as follows:
Koch teaches:
“In S/A stage 800, modulator arrays 116-1 through 116-N receive light signals 306-1 through 306-N, respectively.” [Koch, ¶[0101]].
The “respectively” relationship in Koch teaches a one-to-one mapping: different split optical signals are delivered to different modulator arrays. Applying that same mapping to the transmit macros of Fini gives each macro waveguide a different splitter output, which avoids combining independent downstream branches and preserves deterministic optical routing. A skilled artisan would use this direct one-output-to-one-macro assignment because it is the simplest way to distribute the N fan-out branches to N parallel transmit paths. The result is exactly the distinct splitter-output-to-waveguide relationship recited in claim 19.
Claim 20,
For purposes of the prior-art rejection only, and without withdrawing the rejection of claim 20 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b).
With respect to claim 20, all the claim limitations of claim 19 are taught by Wright, Arol, Dragone, Fini and Koch, except that claim 20 additionally requires the total number of transmit macros within the plurality of transmit macros of the electro-optical chip to be greater than the number of optical outputs of the optical distribution network. However, within analogous art, Koch teaches the fan-out relationship that produces this numerical result, as follows:
Koch teaches “Regardless of the number of input laser signals to a PIC... the ratio of the number of amplified light signals to the number of input laser signals is greater than 1:1.” [Koch, ¶[0094]]
Claim 17 already places an optical splitter downstream of a distribution-network output. Koch teaches that one optical input can be split into multiple downstream light signals and that the number of downstream optical signals can exceed the number of upstream input signals. Thus, one distribution-network output can feed a splitter that supplies multiple transmit-macro waveguides, causing the number of macros to exceed the number of distribution-network outputs. A skilled artisan would use that fan-out to reduce the number of distribution-network output ports and associated routing while retaining a larger number of parallel transmit macros. The claimed count relationship is therefore the predictable numerical consequence of the known one-to-many splitter topology.
Claim 21,
For purposes of the prior-art rejection only, and without withdrawing the rejection of claim 21 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b).
With respect to claim 21, all the claim limitations of claim 16 are taught by Wright, Arol, Dragone and Fini, except that claim 21 additionally requires each first/second electro-optical chip to include a corresponding optical distribution network configured to convey all wavelengths collectively received through the chip’s multiple optical inputs through each of a number of optical outputs, with the number of optical-distribution-network outputs equal to the number of transmit macros in that chip. However, within analogous art, Koch teaches a corresponding N-output-to-N-modulator relationship, as follows:
Koch teaches: “In S/A stage 800, modulator arrays 116-1 through 116-N receive light signals 306-1 through 306-N, respectively.” [Koch, ¶[0101]]
The N-to-N relationship taught by Koch provides a direct design reason to match the number of distribution outputs to the number of downstream transmit structures when no additional fan-out is desired. Configuring the on-chip distribution network with one optical output for each transmit macro gives every macro a dedicated supply path, avoids unused distribution ports, and simplifies waveguide routing. Because Koch already shows N optical signals feeding N respective modulator arrays, applying the same one-to-one count to the distribution outputs and the Fini transmit macros is a predictable port-matching choice that preserves the established optical-distribution and modulation functions.
Claims 22–23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Fini et al. in view of Bovington et al. and Koch et al.
Claim 22,
Fini teaches the electro-optical chip having optical macros with respective waveguides and plural microring resonators. Fini does not teach the claimed active/spare optical-input failover arrangement. However, within analogous photonic-chip laser-sparing art, Bovington expressly teaches primary/secondary inputs and failure-responsive activation, and Koch teaches the greater-than-1:1 fan-out relationship needed for the macro/input count.
Bovington teaches “Each of the optical distributors comprises a first input configured to optically couple with a respective primary laser source of a plurality of primary laser sources, a second input configured to optically couple with a respective secondary laser source of one or more secondary laser sources, and an output configured to optically couple with a respective one of the optical transceiver modules... control circuitry... responsive to detecting a failed primary laser source... control[s] the common secondary laser source to selectively provide optical energy to the optical distributor whose first input is optically coupled with the failed primary laser source.” [Bovington, ¶[0011], FIG. 1]
Koch teaches the count/fan-out relationship “Regardless of the number of input laser signals to a PIC... the ratio of the number of amplified light signals to the number of input laser signals is greater than 1:1.” [Koch, ¶[0094]]
Fini teaches the microring macro structure “The example layout of FIG. 7 shows the routing of an optical waveguide 705 and the placement of optical microring resonators 707-1 to 707-M within the transmit (Tx) portion of the optical macro 705-x. The microring resonators 707-1 to 707-M function as modulators.” [Fini, ¶[0056], FIG. 7]
A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to incorporate Bovington’s sparing inputs into the Fini microring chip because laser-source reliability is a known concern in high-density photonic systems and Bovington specifically solves that concern by placing primary and secondary optical inputs on chip-side optical distributors and activating the secondary source when the primary fails. Koch further teaches using fan-out so downstream optical signal/modulator paths outnumber upstream inputs, reducing input count. Combining these teachings gives the predictable claimed result: a microring transmit-macro chip with initially active optical inputs, spare optical inputs activatable upon failure, distribution outputs coupled to corresponding macro waveguides, and more transmit macros than active optical inputs.
Claim 23,
With respect to claim 23, all the claim limitations of claim 22 are taught by Fini, Bovington and Koch, except wherein the new additional limitation requires each splitting element to have a first input connected to an active input, a second input connected to a spare input, and multiple outputs corresponding to distribution-network outputs. Bovington supplies the two-input primary/secondary structure, while Koch supplies the multiple-output splitting structure, as follows:
Bovington teaches the two optical inputs “Each of the optical distributors comprises a first input configured to optically couple with a respective primary laser source... [and] a second input configured to optically couple with a respective secondary laser source...” [Bovington, ¶[0011]]
Koch teaches a splitter with multiple outputs and also teaches redundant multi-input splitters “A power splitter includes multiple input ports such that at least one additional laser can be used to provide redundancy... [and] an optical-power splitting network... splits the power of an input optical signal into a plurality of light signals, each of which is conveyed to a different output port.” [Koch, ¶¶[0021], [0016]]
Combining Bovington’s first/second primary/spare input arrangement with Koch’s multi-output power splitter is a direct substitution of one known optical distributor implementation for another. The resulting element has the claimed first active input, second spare input, and multiple downstream outputs.
A skilled artisan would make this combination to allow either the active or spare optical source to feed the same group of downstream transmit-macro paths without duplicating the downstream fan-out network, thereby reducing component count while maintaining redundancy.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Fini et al. in view of Bovington et al. and Koch et al., and further in view of Pezeshki et al. (US 2017/0272845 A1).
Claim 24,
With respect to claim 24, all the claim limitations of claim 23 are taught by Fini, Bovington and Koch, except wherein the new additional limitation requires each splitting element to be controllable to activate one or more of the first optical input and the second optical input at a given time. Bovington already teaches selective failover control, and Pezeshki provides an explicit actively controlled optical-switch implementation for primary/backup lasers, as follows:
Bovington teaches selective control of the spare source “Control circuitry [is] configured to, responsive to detecting a failed primary laser source... control the... secondary laser source to selectively provide optical energy to the optical distributor whose first input is optically coupled with the failed primary laser source.” [Bovington, ¶[0011]]
Pezeshki teaches active optical switching of backup lasers “The simplest option is using an optical switch 833 in the PLC that would be much lower loss, but would use active control... These monitor diodes would report if a laser has failed and would direct the electronics control to switch on a backup laser. Implementing the routing for such on the PLC is straightforward.” [Pezeshki, ¶[0051], FIG. 8]
It would have been obvious to place the actively controlled switch of Pezeshki at the two-input splitting element of the Bovington/Koch network. Both references address the same redundancy problem: choosing a primary optical source during normal operation and a backup optical source upon failure. Active control of the optical path is the known mechanism for selecting which input is energized/routed at a given time. The combination therefore predictably provides a controllable splitting element capable of activating the first input, the second input, or, where desired by the control state, more than one input, while preserving the downstream splitter outputs. The modification improves reliability without changing the established optical-splitting or modulation functions.
Accordingly, the cited references, when considered in the combinations specifically set forth above, teach or would have suggested every limitation of claims 1-24. The modifications are directed to known WDM optical-power distribution, microring transmitter, wavelength-routing, splitter fan-out, and laser-sparing techniques used for their established functions. The reasons for combination arise from the references themselves: reducing optical-input/fiber count and system complexity, distributing complete or selected WDM wavelength sets to multiple endpoints, providing scalable fan-out to multiple modulators/macros, dynamically assigning wavelength resources, and maintaining operation after laser-source failure. The claimed combinations therefore would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
It is noted that citations to specific paragraphs, pages, figures, columns, and reference numerals identify particularly relevant portions of the references and should not be considered limiting. A reference is relevant for all that it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would reasonably have suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2123.
Conclusion
for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx
for information about filing in DOCX format.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (in USA or Canada) or 571-272-1000.
/MOHAMMED ABDELRAHEEM/Examiner, Art Unit 2635
/DAVID C PAYNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2635