DETAILED ACTION
This Communication is a First Action on the Merits (FAOM). Claims 1-27, as originally filed, are pending and have been considered as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15, 17-22, 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Basavarajappa (2022/0132248 A1).
As per Claim 1, Basavarajappa teaches a computer-implemented method comprising: determining, at a first point in time, a first location of a user within an environment comprising one or more audio reproduction devices (Figures 1A and 1B – References 104, 1061-N, 110, 124 and 126; Figure 3 – Reference 306; Page 3, Paragraphs [0032] and [0035]; Page 4, Paragraphs [0037] and [0043]; Page 8, Paragraph [0071]).
(Note: In paragraph [0071], Basavarajappa describes determining the position of a user wearing a wearable device [e.g. smartwatch]. Figures 1A and 1B are an illustration of a user within an environment which is described in paragraph [0035] as a location and surrounding area where one or more users move over two or more distinct periods [i.e. living room, bedroom, dining area, kitchen, etc.]. In paragraph [0043], Basavarajappa describes adjusting one or more sound properties by instructing the source and/or one or more speakers accordingly [i.e. increase/decrease volume])
Basavarajappa also teaches determining a first set of audio processing parameters based on the first location of the user (Figure 3 – References 304 and 308; Page 3, Paragraph [0034]; Page 8, Paragraphs [0070] and [0072]); and applying the first set of audio processing parameters to at least a first audio reproduction device of the one or more audio reproduction devices while audio content is output from the first audio reproduction device (Figure 3 – References 308, 310, 316 and 318; Page 8, Paragraphs [0072], [0073], [0076] and [0077]).
(Note: In paragraph [0034], Basavarajappa describes sound properties as including among other things: volume, frequency, frequency mix, reverberation, amplitude, time-period, language spoken, translation, etc. In paragraphs [0070] and [0072], Basavarajappa describes obtaining user preference data and generating one or more sound properties based on user preference data and the current location or the wearable device. In paragraph [0073], Basavarajappa describes adjusting sounds output by one or more speakers based on the one or more sound properties)
As per Claim 2, Basavarajappa teaches wherein determining the first location of the user comprises determining a location of a computing device associated with the user within the environment, the location of the computing device being indicative of the first location of the user (Figure 2 – References 224 and 226; Page 3, Paragraph [0032]; Page 7, Paragraphs [0064]).
(Note: In paragraph [0064], Basavarajappa describes one or more location detectors that capture, monitor, detect and/or process a current location of a wearable device worn by a user. Basavarajappa indicates that location detectors utilize global positioning satellite [GPS] data, triangulation techniques, phase delays in radio frequencies, etc.)
As per Claim 3, Basavarajappa teaches wherein the location of the computing device is determined based on one or more sensors of the computing device (Motion Sensor: Figure 2 – References 226; Page 7, Paragraphs [0065]).
As per Claim 4, Basavarajappa teaches wherein the location of the computing device is determined based on an exchange of wireless communications with a wireless positioning system that operates according to a wireless communication protocol as described in Claim 1. (Note: In paragraph [0064], the location detectors use triangulation and timing principles from three or more radio frequency emitters. In paragraph [0059], Basavarajappa describes wireless communication protocols that include Wi-Fi, 3G, 4G, 5G, cellular, etc.)
As per Claim 5, Basavarajappa teaches wherein the location of the computing device is a geographical location of the computing device and comprises a geographical coordinate in a geographical coordinate system as described in Claim 2.
As per Claim 6, Basavarajappa teaches wherein the location of the computing device is relative to at least one of the location of the computing device or a location of another computing device within the environment as described in Claims 1 and 2.
As per Claim 7, Basavarajappa teaches wherein the computing device comprises the first audio reproduction device (Figure 1B – Reference 1061; Page 3, Paragraph [0032]; Page 4, Paragraph [0043]).
As per Claim 8, Basavarajappa teaches wherein the computing device comprises a second audio reproduction device of the one or more audio reproduction devices (Figure 1B – Reference 1063; Page 3, Paragraph [0032]; Page 4, Paragraph [0043]).
As per Claim 9, Basavarajappa teaches wherein determining the first location of the user comprises obtaining location data indicative of the first location of the user as described in Claim 1.
As per Claim 10, Basavarajappa teaches wherein the location data is obtained from one or more sensors within the environment as described in Claims 1 and 2.
As per Claim 11, Basavarajappa teaches wherein: the first location of the user is within a predefined location zone within the environment; and the first set of audio processing parameters is associated with the predefined location zone. (Note: As shown in Figure 1B, the user location is in the living room [i.e. predefined location zone within the environment]. In paragraph [0044], Basavarajappa describes the adjustment of sound properties based upon current location of a user [i.e. living room] relative to the one or more speakers - the first set of audio processing parameters is associated with the predefined location zone)
As per Claim 12, Basavarajappa teaches wherein at least one of an area or a contour of the predefined location zone is user-defined (Note: As shown in Figures 1A and 1B each of the rooms in the home are labeled and defined. The identity of the spaces within the home must be defined by a user as they are not uniformly standard across homes)
As per Claim 13, Basavarajappa teaches wherein: the first location of the user is outside a first predefined location zone within the environment; and the first set of audio processing parameters is associated with locations external to the first predefined location zone (Figure 1B – Reference 116).
(Note: As shown in Figure 1B, the user location is in the dining room [i.e. the first location of the user is outside a first predefined location zone within the environment {living room}]. In paragraph [0044], Basavarajappa describes the adjustment of sound properties based upon current location of a user [i.e. living room] relative to the one or more speakers)
As per Claim 14, Basavarajappa teaches wherein the first location of the user is between the first predefined location zone and a second predefined location zone within the environment (Figure 1B – Reference 114; Page 3, Paragraph [0035]). (Note: As shown in Figure 1B the Kitchen is between the living room and dining room)
As per Claim 15, Basavarajappa teaches wherein determining the first set of audio processing parameters comprises deriving the first set of audio processing parameters based on a set of audio processing parameters associated with the first predefined location zone, a set of audio processing parameters associated with the second predefined location zone, or a combination thereof (Page 5, Paragraphs [0048] and [0049]).
(Note: In paragraph [0049], Basavarajappa describes stopping output audio, increasing the sound volume, increasing the amplitudes of one or more frequencies which may have been attenuated by walls, or otherwise adjust some other sound property(ies). Basavarajappa also describes changing the content of the sound or adjusting sound properties such that the sound environment is conducive to sleeping or other activities)
As per Claim 17, Basavarajappa teaches determining, at a second point in time subsequent to the first point in time, a second location of the user within the environment; determining a second set of audio processing parameters based on the second location of the user; and applying the second set of audio processing parameters to the first audio reproduction device as described in Claims 1 and 2.
As per Claim 18, Basavarajappa teaches wherein a value of at least one audio processing parameter of the first set of audio processing parameters is different than a value of a corresponding audio processing parameter of the second set of audio processing parameters (Page 5, Paragraph [0048] and [0049]). (Note: As described in paragraphs [0048] and [0049], sound properties of the living room is described as being modified [i.e. increase volume]. Additionally, Basavarajappa indicates sound properties in the garage may also be modified [i.e. stop outputting sound, increase amplitudes of frequencies])
As per Claim 19, Basavarajappa teaches wherein the first audio reproduction device is a wearable device collocated with the user as described in Claim 1.
As per Claim 20, Basavarajappa teaches wherein the first audio reproduction device is a loudspeaker device deployed at a third location within the environment different from the first location of the user and the second location of the user (As shown in Figure 1B, the living room [i.e. first location], dining room [i.e. second location] and garage [i.e. third location] are three separate location with each having loudspeakers).
As per Claim 21, Basavarajappa teaches at least one of: applying the second set of audio processing parameters to a second audio reproduction device of the one or more audio reproduction devices when the user is at the second location; or applying a third set of audio processing parameters to the first audio reproduction device when the user is at the second location (Page 5, Paragraph [0048]).
(Note: in paragraph [0048], Basavarajappa describes adjusting one or more sound properties output to one or more speakers in a given environment. Basavarajappa also describes increasing the sound volume of one or more speakers to a second set of audio processing parameters, third set of audio processing parameters or some other additional sets of audio processing parameters)
As per Claim 22, Basavarajappa teaches wherein: the first audio reproduction device is a first loudspeaker deployed at a third location within the environment different from the first location of the user and the second location of the user; and the second audio reproduction device is a second loudspeaker deployed at a fourth location within the environment different from the first location of the user, the second location of the user, and the third location as described above.
(Note: As shown in Figure 1B, a home environment containing a living room, bedroom, kitchen, dining room, garage, entry hall and bathroom is shown. Each of these locations are different. Assuming that audio reproduction devices are located in the bedroom, dining room, garage and kitchen and garage and the first user location is the living room and the second location is the dining room the recitations of the claimed language are met)
As per Claim 26, Basavarajappa teaches obtaining feedback from the user regarding the first set of audio processing parameters; modifying the first set of audio processing parameters based on feedback; and applying the modified set of audio processing parameters to the first audio reproduction device while audio content is output from the first audio reproduction device (Page 7, Paragraph [0061]).
(Note: In paragraph [0061], Basavarajappa describes data provided in the user preferences database, speaker database and/or sounds database may be provided and/or augmented using data stored in a wearable device. Based upon user inputs such as a user’s manual adjustment of a sound property or otherwise [i.e. feedback] the audio processing parameters are modified and the modified audio processing parameters are then applied)
As per Claim 27, Basavarajappa teaches a method as described in Claim 1. Basavarajappa also teaches one or more speaker components (Figures 1A and 1B – References 1061-N; Page 4, Paragraph [0043]); one or more memories collectively storing instructions (Figure 2 – Reference 212; Page 6, Paragraph [0057]); and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories (Figure 2 – Reference 204; Page 6, Paragraph [0057]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basavarajappa (2022/0132248 A1) in view of Price et al (2019/0163153 A1).
As per Claim 16, Basavarajappa teaches the computer-implemented method of Claim 1. Basavarajappa also teaches wherein: the first location of the user is within a plurality of predefined location zones within the environment (Living Room: Figures 1A and 1B – Reference 110; Page 3, Paragraph [0035]).
Basavarajappa does not teach determining the first set of audio processing parameters comprises: determining at least one of (i) a respective confidence level of the first location of the user being within each of the plurality of predefined location zones or (ii) a respective priority of each of the plurality of predefined location zones; determining, from the plurality of predefined location zones, a first predefined location zone having at least one of (i) a highest confidence level or (ii) a highest priority; and selecting, as the first set of audio processing parameters, a predefined set of audio processing parameters associated with the first predefined location zone.
However, Price teaches determining at least one of (i) a respective confidence level of the first location of the user being within each of the plurality of predefined location zones or (ii) a respective priority of each of the plurality of predefined location zones; determining, from the plurality of predefined location zones, a first predefined location zone having at least one of (i) a highest confidence level or (ii) a highest priority; and selecting, as the first set of audio processing parameters, a predefined set of audio processing parameters associated with the first predefined location zone (Page 6, Paragraphs [0053] and [0057]).
(Note: In paragraph [0053], Price describes an audio device imposing a volume threshold based on their priority in the environment; and determining the dynamic volume threshold by user proximity and the priority associated with a user. In paragraph [0057], Price describes a device accepting or rejecting volume adjustments based on user priority and user location. The combined teachings of Basavarajappa and Price are found to read on the recitations of the claimed language)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Basavarajappa with the method taught by Price to automatically mute all notifications, media and alarms the moment a user crosses a geofenced boundary into a prioritized workspace, meeting or library in an attempt to increase productivity and reduce user cognitive load.
Claim(s) 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basavarajappa (2022/0132248 A1) in view of PARK et al (2021/0026592 A1).
As per Claim 23, Basavarajappa teaches the computer-implemented method of Claim 1; but does not teach wherein determining the first set of audio processing parameters comprises selecting, as the first set of audio processing parameters, a predefined set of audio processing parameters associated with the first location of the user. However, Park teaches teach wherein determining the first set of audio processing parameters comprises selecting, as the first set of audio processing parameters, a predefined set of audio processing parameters associated with the first location of the user (Figures 4, 6 and 7; Page 4, Paragraph [0070], [0087] and [0088]; Page 5, Paragraph [0098] – [0101]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Basavarajappa with the method taught by Park to help maintain clear communication and media playback without the need for manual intervention.
Claim(s) 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basavarajappa (2022/0132248 A1) in view of Rau et al (2024/0361975 A1).
As per Claim 24, Basavarajappa teaches the computer-implemented method of Claim 1; but does not teach determining one or more metadata tags associated with the first location of the user; evaluating the one or more metadata tags with at least one of a machine learning model or a rules-based engine; generating a set of audio processing parameters, based on evaluating the one or more metadata tags with at least one of a machine learning model or a rules-based engine; and selecting, as the first set of audio processing parameters, the generated set of audio processing parameters.
However, Rau teaches determining one or more metadata tags associated with the first location of the user; evaluating the one or more metadata tags with at least one of a machine learning model or a rules-based engine; generating a set of audio processing parameters, based on evaluating the one or more metadata tags with at least one of a machine learning model or a rules-based engine; and selecting, as the first set of audio processing parameters, the generated set of audio processing parameters (Figure 3 – References 30 and 31; Page 12, Paragraphs [0103] and [0105]; Page 13, Paragraph [0108]; Page 16, Paragraph [0129]).
(Note: In paragraph [0103], Rau describes an estimator receiving metadata that provides metadata regarding the audio content and/or the environment in which the output device is located. The metadata includes audio content type, content level of audio, or any other metadata. In paragraph [0108], Rau indicates audio metadata may include descriptive information, title information, audio genre, etc.)
(Note: In paragraph [0129], Rau describes the use of a machine learning model. Applying the metadata to the environment as supported by the teachings of Rau allows for the descriptive tags to be applied to the individual rooms described by Basavarajappa. Incorporating the teachings of Basavarajappa with Rau is found to read on the claimed language)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Basavarajappa with the method as taught by Rau to automatically boost dialog or vocal frequencies when ambient background noise increases ensuring that the listener never misses a word thereby eliminating the need to make volume adjustments when moving between quiet indoor spaces and noisy outdoor environments.
As per Claim 25, the combination of Basavarajappa and Rau teaches determining one or more metadata tags associated with the first location of the user; generating and transmitting a request for the first set of audio processing parameters to a computing system, the request comprising the one or more metadata tags; and receiving, from the computing system, a response comprising the first set of audio processing parameters.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Basavarajappa with the method as taught by Rau to automatically boost dialog or vocal frequencies when ambient background noise increases ensuring that the listener never misses a word thereby eliminating the need to make volume adjustments when moving between quiet indoor spaces and noisy outdoor environments.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Williams et al (2024/0281202 A1), Kalathur et al (2020/0329311 A1), Lee et al (2021/0392451 A1), Anders et al (2019/0349683 A1), Silva et al (2017/0134872 A1), Walker et al (2024/0328307 A1) and Wilberding (2024/0311078 A1). Each of these describes system and methods to control audio within an environment.
KHARYE POPE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2693
/KHARYE POPE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693