Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 9/30/2025 has been received; Claims 1, 3-12 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 & 3-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bobbett (US 2010/0018078).
Regarding Claim 1, Bobbett discloses a sandal (Figures 1-4) comprising: a footbed (110); and a toe post (200) associated with the footbed, the toe post being configured to engage with a user's first toe and second toe (Figures 1-4 & Para. 30), the toe post comprising :a vertical central axis (CA, see annotated Figure 3B below); an asymmetrical configuration (Figure 3B), created by the toe post's lateral sides curving inwards towards the vertical central axis (Figure 3B), and a first distance from the vertical central axis to a center outer edge configured to be adjacent to the user's first toe being larger than a second distance from the vertical central axis to a center outer edge configured to be adjacent to the user's second toe (Figure 3B); a core made from a first material (Para. 24); and a cladding disposed over the core of the toe post (Para. 24), the cladding being made of a second material that is softer than the first material (Para. 24) and a twisted configuration (Para. 24 & 30 & Figure 3B, due to the curved and curving nature of and anatomical contours of the toepiece; it is a twisted configuration) wherein a top of the toe post is twisted about the vertical central axis relative to a bottom of the toe post (Para. 30-32) and the twisted configuration extends throughout the full length of the toe post (Figure 3B); wherein the top of the toe post for a right foot is twisted counterclockwise relative to the bottom of the toe post (Para. 30-32, “mimic contours of a foot”) and for a left foot is twisted clockwise relative to the bottom of the toe post (Para. 30-32, “mimic contours of a foot”). If there is any doubt Bobbett discloses a twisted configuration, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Bobbett by having a more twisted configuration to assist in performing the intended functions for each foot. Such modification would be considered a mere choice of a preferred optimum configuration for the toe post as a matter of “obvious to try” as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp.
Regarding Claims 3 & 4, Bobbett discloses the top of the toe post is twisted relative to the bottom of the toe post (Para. 30-32). Bobbett does not specifically discloses the toe post is twisted by 5-30 degrees. It, however, would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to experiment with different ranges of twisted rotation for the toe post in order to achieve an optimal configuration, since discovering the optimum or workable ranges of the angle involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding Claim 5, Bobbett discloses the core and the cladding form a monolithic toe post (Para. 24).
Regarding Claim 6, Bobbett discloses a toe post anchor (205) associated with the footbed and with the toe post (Figure 4), a pair of straps associated with the toe post (105), and, a pair of strap anchors associated with the footbed (Figure 4 the end of straps 105), each strap anchor of the pair of anchors being further associated with a corresponding strap of the pair of straps (Figures 1-4).
Regarding Claim 7, Bobbett discloses a sandal (Figures 1-4) comprising: a footbed (11); and a toe post (200) associated with the footbed, the toe post being configured to engage with a user's first toe and second toe (Figures 1-4 & Para. 30), the toe post comprising: a vertical central axis (CA, see annotated Figure 3B below); and an asymmetrical configuration (Figure 3B), created by the toe post's lateral sides curving inwards towards the vertical central axis (Figure 3B), and a first distance from the vertical central axis to a center outer edge configured to be adjacent to the user's first toe being larger than a second distance from the vertical central axis to a center outer edge configured to be adjacent to the user's second toe (Figure 3B); and a twisted configuration (Para. 24 & 30 & Figure 3B, due to the curved and curving nature of and anatomical contours of the toepiece; it is a twisted configuration) wherein a top of the toe post is twisted about the vertical central axis relative to a bottom of the toe post (Para. 30-32) and the twisted configuration extends throughout the full length of the toe post (Figure 3B). If there is any doubt Bobbett discloses a twisted configuration, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Bobbett by having a more twisted configuration to assist in performing the intended functions for each foot. Such modification would be considered a mere choice of a preferred optimum configuration for the toe post as a matter of “obvious to try” as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp.
Regarding Claim 8, Bobbett discloses the top of the toe post for a right foot is twisted counterclockwise relative to the bottom of the toe post (Para. 30-32, “mimic contours of a foot”) and for a left foot is twisted clockwise relative to the bottom of the toe post (Para. 30-32, “mimic contours of a foot”).
Regarding Claims 9 & 10, Bobbett discloses the top of the toe post is twisted relative to the bottom of the toe post (Para. 32). Bobbett does not specifically discloses the toe post is twisted by 5-30 degrees. It, however, would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to experiment with different ranges of twisted rotation for the toe post in order to achieve an optimal configuration, since discovering the optimum or workable ranges of the angle involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding Claim 11, Bobbett discloses a sandal (Figures 1-4) comprising: a footbed (110); and a toe post (200) associated with the footbed, the toe post being configured to engage with a user's first toe and second toe (Figures 1-4 & Para. 30), the toe post comprising: a core made from a first material (Para. 24); and a cladding disposed over the core of the toe post (Para. 24), the cladding being made of a second material that is softer than the first material (Para. 24) and a twisted configuration (Para. 24 & 30 & Figure 3B, due to the curved and curving nature of and anatomical contours of the toepiece; it is a twisted configuration) wherein a top of the toe post is twisted about the vertical central axis relative to a bottom of the toe post (Para. 30-32) and the twisted configuration extends throughout the full length of the toe post (Figure 3B); wherein the top of the toe post for a right foot is twisted counterclockwise relative to the bottom of the toe post (Para. 30-32, “mimic contours of a foot”) and for a left foot is twisted clockwise relative to the bottom of the toe post (Para. 30-32, “mimic contours of a foot”). If there is any doubt Bobbett discloses a twisted configuration, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Bobbett by having a more twisted configuration to assist in performing the intended functions for each foot. Such modification would be considered a mere choice of a preferred optimum configuration for the toe post as a matter of “obvious to try” as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp.
Regarding Claim 12, Bobbett discloses the core and the cladding form a monolithic toe post (Para. 24).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHARINE G KANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732