DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: “as defined in any one of claims 1” should read “as defined in claim 1”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, Claim 1 recites the limitation "the bottom thread" in line 3 and line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim also recites “the central portion” and “the head” which do not have antecedent basis. Claims 2-6 are also rejected at least by their dependence upon claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Claim 3 recites the limitation "the middle segment" and “the rigid short tube” in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. As there are “several” rigid short tubes, it is not clear which is referred to by “the rigid short tube.”
Regarding claim 6, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). This also applies to the language “etc.” as in claim 6 as it would not be clear what is included with the term “etc.” – this creates a situation where the metes and bounds of the claim are not clear.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the so-called semi-flexible" in the 4th to last line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Also, Claim 6 is generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. It appears to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and is replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 112659551 A), hereinafter Li.
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a self-centering and self-mixing semi-flexible coaxial nozzle, comprising (see Fig. 1 and “contents of the invention” in the translation):
an upper cover (101), a semi-flexible inner needle (102), a three-way casing (“three-way” or “tee” 103), a three-way convex platform (“tee lug boss” 104), and an outer needle (105), characterized in that a bottom thread of the upper cover (101) (“screw thread”) is installed on casing (see “Contents of the Invention” in the translation), the central portion of the three-way casing houses the semi-flexible inner needle (Fig. 1),
and the bottom thread of the three-way casing (103) is installed with the outer needle (105) (“the lower end of the tee joint is also connected with the outer needle head through screw thread”); the semi-flexible inner needle (102) extends through the head of the three-way casing (Fig. 1), and the inner wall of the upper cover is provided with a cavity (as shown in Fig. 1).
Li does not explicitly disclose that there are 2 different “three-way convex platforms” on both the left and right side of the casing. However, it has been held that a duplication of parts supports a case of prima facie obviousness, where one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success from having duplicated the parts. In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have specified that there is a second attachment to the casing on either the right or left side, whichever is not present when viewing the prior art, as to have provided for another material to flow into the nozzle.
Regarding claims 2 and 5, Li discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses that the semi-flexible inner needle (102) (see Fig. 2 and corresponding description in the translation) comprises a needle rigid component (201), a flexible hose (203), several rigid short tubes (202), and a mixing component, and the middle segment of the flexible hose (203) is equipped with a short rigid tube (202) (Fig. 2).
Regarding claims 3-4, Li discloses the subject matter of claim 2, and further discloses that the bottom of the needle rigid component (201) is encased in the flexible hose (203), and the rigid short tube. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have specified that the “special device to mix” is included within the system as to mix the material together.
Regarding claim 6, Li discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses (“manufacturing method of the nozzle”) cutting wire to divide a rigid needle into a needle rigid component (201) and rigid short tubes (202) (Fig. 2); inserting thin copper wires (301) into the needle rigid component (201) and connecting the mixing component and the needle rigid component together by an adhesive (“glue”) and embedding them. Li further discloses cutting a piece of film material (“cutting a section of polyethylene material”), and winding 1-2 turns, and then slowly drawing out the copper wires one by one (see p. 2-3 of translation).
The subject matter included with the “on one hand” and “on the other hand” is considered descriptive and not limiting to the claim. The assembled device is shown/disclosed in Li, Fig. 1 meets the limitations of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/ANDREW D GRAHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742