DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-25 are pending in this application. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/09/2025, 01/28/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-20 and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nichols (US 2016/0147622).
Re Claim 7, Nichols discloses a diagnostic device, for analyzing a communication behavior of a wireless device, comprising:
a data receiving module, configured to receive at least one log data from the wireless device ([0023], [0079]m processing system receives log data reported by a device. Data processing system communicates using wireless transceivers over wireless links.);
a pattern identification module, configured to receive and identify whether the log data includes at least one key pattern of data ([0023], [0027]-[0029], receives log data reported by a device and incorporate a portion of the log data into an event database. Identify one or more patterns of the event.);
an event detection module, configured to match at least one event corresponding to the key pattern of data, wherein the event represents a communication behavior of the wireless device ([0025]-[0028]. Process the listing of events to identify patterns among the events); and
a processing module, configured to perform at least one specific operation corresponding to the event ([0034], responsive to identifying a pattern, data processing system communications an indication of an error condition. Problem can be communicated to the operator system or to the device.)
Re Claim 8, Nichols discloses wherein the log data comprises a sequence consisting of a plurality of log terms, and the pattern identification module is configured to detect whether each of the log terms has the key pattern of data according to a pattern table ([0023], [0030]-[0033], log data reported by a device is received. During pattern matching process, a sequence pattern is detected to match the event).
Re Claim 9, Nichols discloses wherein the pattern table comprises first key pattern of data corresponding to a first log term, and when the pattern identification module identifies that a value of the first log term in the log data is same as a first key pattern, the log data has the first key pattern of data ([0023], [0030]-[0033], log data reported by a device is received and incorporates a portion of the log data into an event database indicating interleaved events. During pattern matching process, a sequence pattern is detected to match the event, i.e., sequence of A, B, C is detected).
Re Claim 10, Nichols discloses wherein the event detection module is configured to receive the first key pattern of data, and obtain a first event corresponding to the first key pattern of data according to an event table ([0023], [0030]-[0033], log data reported by a device is received and incorporates a portion of the log data into an event database indicating interleaved events. During pattern matching process, a sequence pattern is detected to match the event, i.e., sequence of A, B, C is detected).
Re Claim 11, Nichols discloses wherein the processing module is configured to determine that a specific communication behavior is present in the wireless device according to the first event, and notify the wireless device to perform the specific operation ([0034], responsive to identifying a pattern, data processing system communications an indication of an error condition. Problem can be communicated to the operator system or to the device among other information including proposed solutions, root cause indications, or instructions to a user.).
Re Claim 13, Nichols discloses wherein when the log data does not have the first key pattern of data, the event detection module is configured to determine that the specific communication behavior is absent in the wireless device ([0032], if the event encountered does not match the sequence, the state counter is reset to 1).
Re Claim 14, Nichols discloses wherein the pattern table comprises second key pattern of data corresponding to a second log term, and when the pattern identification module identifies that a value of the first log term in the log data is same as a first key pattern and a value of the second log term in a specific log data after a predetermined time has elapsed is same as a second key pattern, the log data and the specific log data have the second key pattern of data ([0032], during the matching process, state counter is used to track if a match is found. When the A, B, C (different key patterns identified) events are encountered, a value is incremented to 3 in which the problem is then identified).
Re Claim 15, Nichols discloses wherein the pattern table comprises first key pattern of data corresponding to a first log term and a second log term, and when the pattern identification module identifies that values of the first log term and the second log term in the log data are respectively same as a first key pattern and a second key pattern, the log data has the first key pattern of data ([0032]-[0033], during the matching process, state counter is used to track if a match is found. When the A, B, C (different key patterns identified) events are encountered, a value is incremented to 3 in which the problem is then identified. Vice versa, the sequence can be A, !B (Not B), and C where the problem identified is different than another recognized pattern).
Re Claim 16, Nichols discloses wherein the data receiving module comprises a Universal Serial Bus (USB) module, an Ethernet module or a Bluetooth module, configured to receive the log data from the wireless device ([0036], data links for the equipment and systems to route packets use packet-based communication protocols including ethernet which would mean there is an ethernet module).
With respect to claims 1-4, 6, 17-20 and 23-25, they are similar to claims 7-11 and 13-16 and therefore are rejected for the same reasons above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 12, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nichols and in view of Haapanen (US 2019/0268219).
Re claims 5 and 12, while Nichols does not disclose ending the communication after providing instructions to the device, Nichols does not disclose, however Haapanen discloses wherein after the specific operation is performed, the wireless device is configured to keep communicating with a wireless network ([0175], the mediator finishes sending instructions to the network devices. The mediator may keep the communications connection with the device management system open).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the teachings of Nichols’s device management with Haapanen’s device management to keep the communication connection open after sending instructions to the network devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings with one another in order to allow the device management system to transmit new instructions to the network devices when it becomes available.
Re Claim 21, Nichols discloses determining that a specific communication behavior is present in the wireless device according to the first event ([0034], responsive to identifying a pattern, data processing system communications an indication of an error condition. Problem can be communicated to the operator system or to the device among other information including proposed solutions, root cause indications, or instructions to a user.).
Nichols does not disclose, however Haapanen discloses wherein after the specific operation is performed, the wireless device is configured to keep communicating with a wireless network ([0175], the mediator finishes sending instructions to the network devices. The mediator may keep the communications connection with the device management system open).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the teachings of Nichols’s device management with Haapanen’s device management to keep the communication connection open after sending instructions to the network devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings with one another in order to allow the device management system to transmit new instructions to the network devices when it becomes available.
Re Claim 22, Nichols discloses determining that the specific communication behavior is absent in the wireless device when the log data does not have the first key pattern of data ([0032], if the event encountered does not match the sequence, the state counter is reset to 1).
Conclusion
/HO T SHIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2443
HO T. SHIU
Examiner
Art Unit 2443
/NICHOLAS R TAYLOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2443