DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment of 05/11/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-12 are presented.
Claims 3-4, 6, 9-10, and 12 remain withdrawn.
The present Office action treats claims 1-2, 5, 7-8, and 11 on the merits.
The present Office action is a final rejection.
Specification Amendment
A specification amendment of 05/11/2026 is acknowledged. This amendment is acceptable and is entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s REMARKS of 05/11/2026 (see p. 8-13 of the reply) are fully considered.
Regarding Claim Objections (p. 9): Applicant’s arguments are fully considered and are persuasive. Specifically: upon further review of the disclosure as filed and the claims presented for examination and upon review of Applicant’s remarks (see p. 9 lines 12-17 of the reply of 05/11/2026), the claim objection set forth in the previous Office action is overcome.
Regarding Double Patenting (p. 10): Applicant’s arguments are fully considered. The Terminal Disclaimer of 05/07/2026 is approved, as evidenced by the Approval Letter mailed 05/07/2026. Accordingly, the nonstatutory double patenting rejections applied in the previous Office action are overcome.
Regarding Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (p. 10-13): Applicant’s arguments are fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues:
In the independent claim 1 of the present application, a rotating component has a first ratchet facing portion, a braking component has a second ratchet facing portion, and the driving component and the host are connected to each other through the housing.
In the independent claim 7 of the present application, a rotating component has a first ratchet facing portion, a braking component has a second ratchet facing portion, and the driving component and the host are ("capable of being" in claim 7) connected to each other through the housing.
As described in the as-filed specification and shown in the as-filed figures of the instant application, when the first ratchet facing portion 134 and the second ratchet facing portion 144 are engaged with each other, the braking component 140 blocks the rotating component 130 through structural interference between the first stopper surfaces R12 and the second stopper surfaces R22, so as to limit the rotation of the rotating component 130 with respect to the bracket 110 in a second clockwise direction D14 around the rotation axis Al 0. When the first ratchet facing portion 134 and the second ratchet facing portion 144 are engaged with each other, since the first inclined surface R11 and the second inclined surface R21 may slide with respect to each other, the rotating component 130 may be allowed to rotate with respect to the housing 110 in a first clockwise direction D12 around the rotation axis A10.
Referring to FIG. 3 and FIG. 4, the driving component 160A is movably disposed in the housing 110. The driving component 160A is connected to the host 52 through the housing 110. That is, when the host 52 moves with respect to the housing 110, the driving component 160A is also driven synchronously to move with respect to the housing 110. The driving component 160A is configured to drive the braking component 140 to move in a direction away from the rotating component 130 so as to release the engagement between the first ratchet facing portion 134 and the second ratchet facing portion 144. Therefore, the operation merely requires to intuitively grab the host 52 and make it move away from the head 10, and the operation of removing the head mounted device 50A can be successfully done, which is very convenient.
The Office Action submits that Lin discloses a rotating component 140 has a first ratchet facing portion 144, a braking component has a second ratchet facing portion 134, and the driving component and the host are connected to each other through the housing (driving component is connected to housing via at least 150 abutting both the driving component and the housing (para 22).
However, as can be seen clearly in Fig. 4 of Lin, the ring gears 134 and 144 are not ratchet facing portions. The engagement between the ring gear 134 and the ring gear 144 cannot allow them to rotate in one clockwise direction to each other and limit them to rotate in one reversal clockwise to each other.
Examiner’s reply:
This argument is fully considered and is not persuasive. Elements 134 and 144 are ratchet facing portions as set forth in the Office action of 02/18/2026 (see p. 17-18 and 20-21 thereof). In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the argued “engagement” between ratchet facing portions can or cannot “allow them to rotate in one clockwise direction to each other and limit them to rotate in one reversal clockwise to each other”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
It is noted that what is claimed is “wherein in response to the second ratchet facing portion and the first ratchet facing portion being engaged, the rotating component is allowed to rotate with respect to the housing in a first clockwise direction around the rotation axis, and limits the rotating component to rotate with respect to the housing in a second clockwise direction around the rotation axis”, and Lin meets the limitation as set forth in the Office action of 02/18/2026 and again presented in the present Office action.
Applicant argues:
Meanwhile, the object 300 is alleged as the host of the present application, but as can be seen clearly in Fig. 2 of Lin, the adjustment structure of bridle 100 and the object 300 are located at two opposite sides of the belt body 200, and no elements of the adjustment structure of bridle 100 can be connected to the object 300 through the housing of the adjustment structure of bridle 100. That is, the operation cannot intuitively grab the object 300 to release the adjustment structure of bridle 100 and make the object 300 move away from the head.
In view of above, Applicant believes that Lin cannot arrive at the same technical features and cannot expect the same technical effects of the independent claims 1 and 7 of the present application. Furthermore, Wen and Lin '333 cannot remedy the deficiencies of Lin. Therefore, the cited arts either taken alone, or in combination, cannot attain the claimed features.
Examiner’s reply:
This argument is fully considered and is not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments appear to be directed to the limitation “wherein the driving component and the host are connected to each other through the housing” of claim 1 and, “wherein the driving component and the host are capable of being connected to each other through the housing”, and Lin meets the limitations as set forth in the previous Office action (see p. 18 lines 13-17 of the Office action of 02/18/2026; see p. 21 lines 2-7 of the Office action of 02/18/2026) and presented again in the present Office action; it is noted the driving component (identified in the Office action of 02/18/2026 and in the present Office action within annotated Figs. 4-7 – a; see below treatment of claim 1 and see p. 19 of the Office action of 02/18/2026) is connected to housing via at least 150 abutting both the driving component and the housing (para 22); and the host is connected to the housing via at least the host being connected to the band body (Figs. 1-2).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the argued “operation cannot intuitively grab the object 300 to release the adjustment structure of bridle 100 and make the object 300 move away from the head”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant argues:
In addition, "obviousness requires a suggestion of all limitations in a claim." (see CFMT, Inc. v. Yieldup Int'l. Corp., 349 F.3d 1333, 1342 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (citing In re Royka, 490 F.2d 981, 985 (CCPA 1974))." Based on the foregoing reasons, Applicant submits that the combination of Lin, Wen and Lin '333 fails to teach a head mounted device and a headband module of the claimed invention.
Accordingly, independent claims 1 and 7 patently defines over the cited references, and should be allowable. For at least the same reasons, dependent claims 2, 5, 8 and 11 also patently define over the prior arts as a matter of law (In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988).
Examiner’s reply:
Applicant’s arguments are fully considered but they are not persuasive. Lin discloses the argued features presented in Applicant’s remarks (see Examiner’s reply to each of these arguments above), and Applicant’s further arguments directed to prior art Wen and Lin ‘333 are therefore moot insofar as Wen and Lin ‘333 are not relied upon to address the argued limitations. Applicant’s further arguments directed to dependent claims 2, 5, 8, and 11 are similarly unpersuasive insofar as they are directed to the argued features of claim 1, which, as stated above, are addressed in the Examiner’s reply to each of these arguments above.
It is noted that Applicant did not specifically argue the propriety of the 35 USC 112 rejections applied in the previous Office action. However and upon review of the amended claims and upon further review of the disclosure as filed, the 35 USC 112 rejections applied in the previous Office action are overcome.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by [Lin, US 2018/0364490].
Regarding claim 1:
Lin discloses (Figs. 1-7):
A head mounted device 100, 200, 300 (i.e. the combined 100, 200, and 300), comprising:
a host 300; and
a headband module 100, 200 (i.e. the combined 100 and 200), comprising:
a housing 110;
a band body 200, 120A, 120B (i.e. the combined 120A, 120B, and 200) having a first adjustment section 122A and a second adjustment section 120B located at opposite ends (122A is on a left end of 120A, and 122B is on a right end of 120B as drawn in Figs. 3-5 such that the two sections are located at opposite ends as claimed), and configured to surround a head of a user (para 17; Figs. 1-2), wherein the first adjustment section and the second adjustment section at least partially overlap (para 17; Figs. 4-6) and are movably disposed in the housing (para 17);
a rotating component 140 rotatably arranged on the housing around a rotation axis and having a coupled portion 142 and a first ratchet facing portion 144, wherein the coupled portion couples the first adjustment section and the second adjustment section (para 20; Fig. 6), so that the first adjustment section and the second adjustment section move synchronously with respect to the housing (para 20);
a braking component (see annotated Figs. 4-7 – a below) disposed on the housing (via at least the restoring component abutting both the housing and also the and driving component (para 22) wherein said driving component and restoring component are identified hereinbelow) and translatable along the rotation axis (para 23), and having a second ratchet facing portion 134, wherein in response to the second ratchet facing portion 134 and the first ratchet facing portion 144 being engaged, the rotating component is allowed to rotate with respect to the housing in a first clockwise direction around the rotation axis (para 23; para 26), and limits the rotating component to rotate with respect to the housing in a second clockwise direction around the rotation axis (“unidirectional...can only rotate about the axis L1 along a single direction...rotate only in a clockwise direction”; para 26), wherein the second clockwise direction is opposite to the first clockwise direction (para 26);
a restoring component 150 arranged between the housing and the braking component (para 22; Fig. 3) and providing elastic restoring force (“elastic element 150...drives...130 to move toward...140...and makes...134 and...144 to be engaged with other”; paras 22-23) to maintain engagement between the second ratchet facing portion and the first ratchet facing portion (paras 22-23); and
a driving component (see annotated Figs. 4-7 – a below) movably disposed (para 22) on the housing (via at least 150 abutting both housing and the driving component; para 22), wherein the driving component and the host are connected to each other through the housing (driving component is connected to housing via at least 150 abutting both the driving component and the housing (para 22); and the host is connected to the housing via at least the host being connected to the band body (Figs. 1-2) and the band body being further connected to the coupled portion of the rotating component, the rotating component being further connected to the breaking and driving components; the driving component being connected to the housing via at least 150; para 22), the driving component is configured to drive the braking component to move in a direction away from the rotating component (paras 23-24; Fig. 7B) so as to release the engagement between the first ratchet facing portion and the second ratchet facing portion (paras 23-24; Fig. 7B).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by [Lin, US 2018/0364490].
Regarding claim 7:
Lin discloses (Figs. 1-7):
A headband module 100, 200 (i.e. the combined 100 and 200) adapted for a head mounted device 100, 200, 300 (i.e. the combined 100, 200, and 300), wherein the head mounted device comprises a host 300, and the headband modules comprises:
a housing 110;
a band body 200, 120A, 120B (i.e. the combined 120A, 120B, and 200) having a first adjustment section 122A and a second adjustment section 120B located at opposite ends (122A is on a left end of 120A, and 122B is on a right end of 120B as drawn in Figs. 3-5 such that the two sections are located at opposite ends as claimed), and configured to surround a head of a user (para 17; Figs. 1-2), wherein the first adjustment section and the second adjustment section at least partially overlap (para 17; Figs. 4-6) and are movably disposed in the housing (para 17);
a rotating component 140 rotatably arranged on the housing around a rotation axis and having a coupled portion 142 and a first ratchet facing portion 144, wherein the coupled portion couples the first adjustment section and the second adjustment section (para 20; Fig. 6), so that the first adjustment section and the second adjustment section move synchronously with respect to the housing (para 20);
a braking component (see annotated Figs. 4-7 – a presented in above addressing of claim 1) disposed on the housing (via at least the restoring component abutting both the housing and also the and driving component (para 22) wherein said driving component and restoring component are identified hereinbelow) and translatable along the rotation axis (para 23), and having a second ratchet facing portion 134, wherein in response to the second ratchet facing portion 134 and the first ratchet facing portion 144 being engaged, the rotating component is allowed to rotate with respect to the housing in a first clockwise direction around the rotation axis (para 23; para 26), and limits the rotating component to rotate with respect to the housing in a second clockwise direction around the rotation axis (“unidirectional...can only rotate about the axis L1 along a single direction...rotate only in a clockwise direction”; para 26), wherein the second clockwise direction is opposite to the first clockwise direction (para 26);
a restoring component 150 arranged between the housing and the braking component (para 22; Fig. 3) and providing elastic restoring force (“elastic element 150...drives...130 to move toward...140...and makes...134 and...144 to be engaged with other”; paras 22-23) to maintain engagement between the second ratchet facing portion and the first ratchet facing portion (paras 22-23); and
a driving component (see annotated Figs. 4-7 – a presented in above addressing of claim 1) movably disposed (para 22) on the housing (via at least 150 abutting both housing and the driving component; para 22), wherein the driving component and the host are capable of being connected to each other through the housing (driving component is connected to housing via at least 150 abutting both the driving component and the housing (para 22); and the host is connected to the housing via at least the host being connected to the band body (Figs. 1-2) and the band body being further connected to the coupled portion of the rotating component, the rotating component being further connected to the breaking and driving components; the driving component being connected to the housing via at least 150 (para 22) such that the driving component and the host are capable of being connected to each other through the housing), and the driving component is configured to drive the braking component to move in a direction away from the rotating component (paras 23-24; Fig. 7B) so as to release the engagement between the first ratchet facing portion and the second ratchet facing portion (paras 23-24; Fig. 7B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Lin, US 2018/0364490] in view of [Wen, US 2018/0295733].
Regarding claim 2:
Lin discloses The head mounted device as claimed in claim 1, as set forth above.
Lin does not expressly disclose wherein the headband module further comprises a first elastic member and a second elastic member, the first elastic member is disposed between the housing and the first adjustment section, the second elastic member is disposed between the housing and the second adjustment section, and the first elastic member and the second elastic member respectively drive the first adjustment section and the second adjustment section to move with respect to the housing, so as to increase a degree of overlap between the first adjustment section and the second adjustment section.
However, Wen teaches a headband module wherein a first elastic member 136 (i.e. one of 136) is disposed between a housing (defined by 132 and 120) and an adjustment section 133 and a second elastic member 136 (i.e. the other of 136) is disposed between the housing and a second adjustment section 121, and the first elastic member and the second elastic member respectively drive the first adjustment section and the second adjustment section to move with respect to the housing (para 52), so as to increase a degree of overlap between the first adjustment section and the second adjustment section (para 52).
Wen further teaches that providing such elastic members in relation to such adjustment sections is such that when the degree of overlap is decreased, “a pull force of the restoring members 136” is provided (para 52) and such that the headband modules is configured to “closely fit around the user’s head” (para 52)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the headband module of Lin such that it is provided with a first elastic member and a second elastic member, the first elastic member is disposed between the housing and the first adjustment section, the second elastic member is disposed between the housing and the second adjustment section, and the first elastic member and the second elastic member respectively drive the first adjustment section and the second adjustment section to move with respect to the housing, so as to increase a degree of overlap between the first adjustment section and the second adjustment section in order to make the headband module capable of providing a pull force drawing the adjustment sections towards each other, as suggested by Wen (para 52) so as to permit the gradual loosening of one adjustment section away from the other as described by Lin para 24 and/or to bias the circumference of the headband module such that the headband module fits close to a user’s head, as suggested by Wen (para 52) and prior to the tightening described by Lin para 27.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Lin, US 2018/0364490] in view of [Lin, US 11,163,333, cited by Applicant on the IDS of 04/10/2025; hereinafter Lin ‘333].
Regarding claim 5:
Lin discloses The head mounted device as claimed in claim 1, as set forth above.
Lin does not expressly disclose wherein the headband module further comprises a spring piece disposed in the housing and configured to provide the elastic restoring force to maintain a position of the driving component so that the second ratchet facing portion and the first ratchet facing portion are engaged.
However, Lin ‘333 teaches (Figs. 1-2) a headband module comprising both a restoring component 156 arranged between a housing 150, 160 and a component 153 and providing elastic restoring force to maintain engagement between a second ratchet facing portion (of 153) and a first ratchet facing portion (of 151) (col. 4 line 66 – col. 5 line 2) and also a spring piece 164 disposed in the housing and configured to provide the elastic restoring force to maintain a position of a driving component so that the second ratchet facing portion (of 153) and the first ratchet facing portion (of 151) are engaged (col. 5 lines 29-33).
Lin ‘333 further teaches each the spring piece is “configured to engage” the first and second ratchet facing portions (col. 5 line 32) and the restoring component is “configure to keep” the first and second ratchet facing portions “engaged” (col. 4 line 67 – col. 5 line 1).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the headband module of Lin such that it further comprises a spring piece disposed in the housing and configured to provide the elastic restoring force to maintain a position of the driving component so that the second ratchet facing portion and the first ratchet facing portion are engaged in order to assure engagement of first and second ratchet facing portions via both the restoring component and also the spring piece, as suggested by Lin ‘333 (col. 5 line 32; col. 4 line 67 – col. 5 line 1).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Lin, US 2018/0364490] in view of [Wen, US 2018/0295733].
Regarding claim 8:
Lin discloses The headband module as claimed in claim 7, as set forth above.
Lin does not expressly disclose further comprising a first elastic member and a second elastic member, wherein the first elastic member is disposed between the housing and the first adjustment section, the second elastic member is disposed between the housing and the second adjustment section, and the first elastic member and the second elastic member respectively drive the first adjustment section and the second adjustment section to move with respect to the housing, so as to increase a degree of overlap between the first adjustment section and the second adjustment section.
However, Wen teaches a headband module wherein a first elastic member 136 (i.e. one of 136) is disposed between a housing (defined by 132 and 120) and an adjustment section 133 and a second elastic member 136 (i.e. the other of 136) is disposed between the housing and a second adjustment section 121, and the first elastic member and the second elastic member respectively drive the first adjustment section and the second adjustment section to move with respect to the housing (para 52), so as to increase a degree of overlap between the first adjustment section and the second adjustment section (para 52).
Wen further teaches that providing such elastic members in relation to such adjustment sections is such that when the degree of overlap is decreased, “a pull force of the restoring members 136” is provided (para 52) and such that the headband modules is configured to “closely fit around the user’s head” (para 52)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the headband module of Lin such that it is provided with a first elastic member and a second elastic member, wherein the first elastic member is disposed between the housing and the first adjustment section, the second elastic member is disposed between the housing and the second adjustment section, and the first elastic member and the second elastic member respectively drive the first adjustment section and the second adjustment section to move with respect to the housing, so as to increase a degree of overlap between the first adjustment section and the second adjustment section in order to make the headband module capable of providing a pull force drawing the adjustment sections towards each other, as suggested by Wen (para 52) so as to permit the gradual loosening of one adjustment section away from the other as described by Lin para 24 and/or to bias the circumference of the headband module such that the headband module fits close to a user’s head, as suggested by Wen (para 52) and prior to the tightening described by Lin para 27.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Lin, US 2018/0364490] in view of [Lin, US 11,163,333, cited by Applicant on the IDS of 04/10/2025, hereinafter Lin ‘333].
Regarding claim 11:
Lin discloses The headband module as claimed in claim 7, as set forth above.
Lin does not expressly disclose further comprising a spring piece disposed in the housing and configured to provide the elastic restoring force to maintain a position of the driving component so that the second ratchet facing portion and the first ratchet facing portion are engaged.
However, Lin ‘333 teaches (Figs. 1-2) a headband module comprising both a restoring component 156 arranged between a housing 150, 160 and a component 153 and providing elastic restoring force to maintain engagement between a second ratchet facing portion (of 153) and a first ratchet facing portion (of 151) (col. 4 line 66 – col. 5 line 2) and also a spring piece 164 disposed in the housing and configured to provide the elastic restoring force to maintain a position of a driving component so that the second ratchet facing portion (of 153) and the first ratchet facing portion (of 151) are engaged (col. 5 lines 29-33).
Lin ‘333 further teaches each the spring piece is “configured to engage” the first and second ratchet facing portions (col. 5 line 32) and the restoring component is “configure to keep” the first and second ratchet facing portions “engaged” (col. 4 line 67 – col. 5 line 1).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the headband module of Lin such that it is further comprising a spring piece disposed in the housing and configured to provide the elastic restoring force to maintain a position of the driving component so that the second ratchet facing portion and the first ratchet facing portion are engaged in order to assure engagement of first and second ratchet facing portions via both the restoring component and also the spring piece, as suggested by Lin ‘333 (col. 5 line 32; col. 4 line 67 – col. 5 line 1).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GRADY ALEXANDER NUNNERY/Examiner, Art Unit 3732