DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 4, line 1, the “opened, state” should read, for example, “in an open state”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the “table part side” in line 2. The relationship between this recitation and the “lower surface side of the table part” in claim 1 is unclear. For examination purposes, Examiner of record takes this to be the “lower surface side of the table part”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ninomiya et al (US 20140117635), hereinafter Ninomiya, in view of Tae et al (KR 20170075995), hereinafter Tae.
Regarding claim 1, Ninomiya teaches an ultrasound diagnostic apparatus (Figs. 9-10) comprising:
a cart (10); and
an apparatus main body (100) (“the portable ultrasonic diagnostic device 100 is mounted on the upper surface” [0036]; Figs. 9-10), wherein:
the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus is configured to be movable in a state where the apparatus main body is mounted on the cart (“The cart of the present invention allows the portable ultrasonic diagnostic device to be placed on the upper surface of the top board, and therefore, it is possible not only to move the cart with the portable ultrasonic diagnostic device being placed, but also to open and use the portable ultrasonic diagnostic device while it is kept placed.” [0010]; “and the wheels 4 respectively attached to the legs 3.” [0039]; Figs. 9-10),
the cart includes a support pillar part (2) (2a-b) (“the support column 2” [0047]) and a plate-shaped table part (1) (“the top board” [0028]; “the upper surface” [0036]; Figs. 3-7 and 9-10) that protrudes from the support pillar part in a substantially horizontal direction (“As shown in the figures from FIG. 1 to FIG. 13, as a configuration of the cart 10 of the present embodiment, it is provided with the top board 1 for mounting the portable ultrasonic diagnostic device 100 thereon, the support column 2 for supporting the top board 1” [0039]), and
on a lower surface side of the table part (a lower surface side of 1), a housing tray (5) is attached (“an accessory case” [0063]), the housing tray being capable of housing at least an extra-length cable of a peripheral device (“appliances” [0063]) (“the extension unit 5 is placed in the rear (on the back surface side) of the support column 2,” [0046]; “the aforementioned cart 10 has a configuration that the extension unit 5 for installing an additional probe is provided, it is further possible to provide a unit having a different function, instead of the extension unit 5. By way of example, instead of the extension unit 5, an accessory case may be provided for putting in documents such as medical records, or appliances.” [0063]; Figs. 3-4 and 9. Because, the accessory case is capable of housing a peripheral device, “appliances” [0063], it is capable of housing at least an extra-length cable of a peripheral device, e.g., its USB cable).
Ninomiya does not explicitly teach that a housing tray is attached so as to be freely opened and closed with respect to the table part.
However, in the ultrasound device and systems field of endeavor, Tae discloses a case for electronic device and ultrasound system including the same, which is analogous art. Tae teaches that a housing tray (120) is attached so as to be freely opened and closed (“rotatably coupled” DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS, p. 2, para. 4) with respect to the table part (a top part with a handle in figs. 12-13) (“The front side wall 111F of the plurality of side walls 111S has an opening 113. The opening 113 has a substantially rectangular shape. The substrate and the port 1 may be installed inside the case 100 through the opening 113. Further, the drive 10 can be connected to the substrate by a cable or the like (not shown) through the opening 113. The housing cover 120 is rotatably coupled to the front side wall 111F of the housing 110 to open and close the housing 110.”; DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS, p. 2, para. 4-6; “The housing 110 is opened by the downward rotation R1 of the housing cover 120 (see FIG. 2) and closed by the upward rotation R2 of the housing cover 120 (see FIG. 1).”; p. 3, 1st para.; Figs. 1-3, 9-10, and 12-13).).
Therefore, based on Tae’s teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Ninomiya to employ a housing tray that is attached so as to be freely opened and closed with respect to the table part, as taught by Tae, in order to facilitate access to a peripheral device. While the combined invention does not explicitly disclose that the housing tray is attached on a lower surface side of the table part, adding another attachment point on the lower surface side and attaching the housing tray as claimed is merely an improvement to a device ready for improvement with a predictable result of more reliably securing the housing tray in place, because in the invention of Ninomiya, the housing tray is directly underneath the lower surface side.
Regarding claim 2, Ninomiya modified by Tae teaches the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus according to claim 1, wherein Ninomiya teaches that the housing tray forms a housing space (“an accessory case” [0063]) in which a space for housing the peripheral device is secured (“instead of the extension unit 5, an accessory case may be provided for putting in … appliances.” [0063]; Figs. 3-4 and 9).
Regarding claim 3, Ninomiya modified by Tae teaches the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus according to claim 1.
Ninomiya does not explicitly teach that in a housing space formed by the housing tray, a connector to which the peripheral device is connectable is provided.
However, in the ultrasound device and systems field of endeavor, Tae discloses a case for electronic device and ultrasound system including the same, which is analogous art. Tae teaches that in a housing space formed by the housing tray (Fig. 4), a connector (22, 23) to which the peripheral device (10) is connectable is provided (“The bottom plate 133 of the fixing plate 130 has a port opening 133H through which the ports (for example, the power supply port 11 and the data transfer port 12) of the drive 10 pass… the case 100 further includes a connector securing bracket 135 releasably engaging the inner surface 121 of the housing cover 120. A connector opening 135A is formed in the connector fixing bracket 135 and the connector opening 135A corresponds to the position of the port opening 133H of the bottom plate 133 of the fixing bracket 130. [ The connector securing bracket 135 includes drive connectors (e.g., power supply connector 22 and data transfer connector 12) that engage ports (e.g., power supply port 11 and data transfer port 12) (23). The power supply connector 22 and the data transfer connector 23 are disposed toward the port opening 133H. Thus, as the drive 10 is mounted in the receiving space S, the ports 11, 12 of the drive 10 can be easily connected to the drive connectors 22, 23”; pp. 3-4; Fig. 4).
Therefore, based on Tae’s teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Ninomiya to provide, in a housing space formed by the housing tray, a connector to which the peripheral device is connectable, as taught by Tae, in order to facilitate access to a peripheral device.
Regarding claim 4, Ninomiya modified by Tae teaches the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus according to claim 1.
Ninomiya does not explicitly teach that one end of the housing tray is rotatably attached to a table part side, and another end of the housing tray is swingable in a downward direction, and when the housing tray is in an open state, the housing tray swings to a position where the housing tray is substantially at 90 degrees to the table part.
However, in the ultrasound device and systems field of endeavor, Tae discloses a case for electronic device and ultrasound system including the same, which is analogous art. Tae teaches that one end of the housing tray is rotatably attached to a table part side (vertical side in Fig. 13), and another end of the housing tray is swingable in a downward direction (“the downward rotation” p. 3, 1st para), and when the housing tray is in an open state, the housing tray swings to a position where the housing tray is substantially at 90 degrees to the table part (“The housing 110 is opened by the downward rotation R1 of the housing cover 120 (see FIG. 2) and closed by the upward rotation R2 of the housing cover 120 (see FIG. 1).”; p. 3, 1st para.; Figs. 1 and 13).
Therefore, based on Tae’s teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Ninomiya to employ one end of the housing tray that is rotatably attached to a table part side, and another end of the housing tray that is swingable in a downward direction, and when the housing tray is in open state, the housing tray that swings to a position where the housing tray is substantially at 90 degrees to the table part when the housing tray is in an open state, as taught by Tae, in order to facilitate access to a peripheral device. While the combined invention does not explicitly disclose that the housing tray is rotatably attached to a table part side, adding attachment points to the table part underside, placing the housing tray horizontally, and attaching it as claimed is merely an improvement to a device ready for improvement with a predictable result of improving access to a peripheral device, because the range of motion of the housing tray is substantially 90 degrees, as claimed.
Regarding claim 5, Ninomiya modified by Tae teaches the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus according to claim 1, wherein Ninomiya teaches that the housing tray (5) is provided inside an outermost edge of the table part (“an accessory case” [0063]; figs. 3 and 9).
Regarding claim 6, Ninomiya modified by Tae teaches the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus according to claim 1, wherein Ninomiya teaches that a handle (9) for moving the apparatus is provided outside an outermost edge of the table part (“The top board 1 is provided with the palm rest 9 that is slidable forwardly. The front of the palm rest 9 is formed in the shape of a handle. A lock part 9a is provided inside the handle of the palm rest 9.” [0057] “Since the palm rest 9 is provided with the shape of a handle, this shape allows the operator to grasp the handle and turn the cart 10 around, or take an action to put the cart closer to the operator or the test object, while keeping the state that the palm rest is pulled out as shown in FIG. 9 and FIG. 10.” [0059]; “with the palm rest 9 having the shape of a handle, this handle is usable not only as a palm rest originally intended for putting a hand thereon, but also as a handle for turning the cart 10 around and as a handle for walking with pushing the cart like a dolly. Therefore, this enhances the convenience as the cart for the ultrasonic diagnostic device.” [0060]; Figs. 3-4, 7, and 9-10).
Regarding claim 8, Ninomiya modified by Tae teaches the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus according to claim 1.
Ninomiya does not explicitly teach that the housing tray includes a tray-side locking means, the table part includes a table part-side locking means at a position corresponding to the tray-side locking means of the housing tray in a closed state, and the closed state of the housing tray is maintained by the tray-side locking means and the table part-side locking means engaging with each other.
However, in the ultrasound device and systems field of endeavor, Tae discloses a case for electronic device and ultrasound system including the same, which is analogous art. Tae teaches that the housing tray includes a tray-side locking means (a raised edge of 120), the table part includes a table part-side locking means (115) at a position corresponding to the tray-side locking means of the housing tray in a closed state (“The metal gasket 115 is resiliently deformed by the pressing of the housing cover 120” p. 3, 2nd para., Figs. 1-2), and
the closed state of the housing tray is maintained by the tray-side locking means and the table part-side locking means engaging with each other (“the case 100 further includes a metal gasket 115 disposed in the front sidewall 111F of the housing 110. The housing cover 120 can be firmly fixed to the housing 110 by the metal gasket 115. The metal gasket 115 is resiliently deformed by the pressing of the housing cover 120 and is restored to its original shape by releasing the depression of the housing 120. The metal gasket 115 is disposed on the upper and both side edges of the opening 113.”; p. 3, 2nd para., Figs. 1-2).
Therefore, based on Tae’s teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Ninomiya to employ the housing tray that includes a tray-side locking means, the table part that includes a table part-side locking means at a position corresponding to the tray-side locking means of the housing tray in a closed state, and the closed state of the housing tray that is maintained by the tray-side locking means and the table part-side locking means engaging with each other, as taught by Tae, in order to facilitate access to a peripheral device. While part 110 in Tae is not shown as a table part, a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it can be attached to or integrated into the underside of the table part to improve access to the peripheral device.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ninomiya and Tae as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Murphy et al (US 20010035702), hereinafter Murphy.
Regarding claim 7, Ninomiya modified by Tae teaches the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus according to claim 1.
Ninomiya as modified by Tae does not teach that, in the housing tray, a projection part on which the extra-length cable can be wound is provided.
However, in the medical cart systems field of endeavor, Murphy discloses a cart for surgical console, which is analogous art. Murphy teaches that a projection part (93) on which the extra-length cable can be wound is provided (“Cleats 93 preferably provide support for winding and storing cables … from consoles 20 and 30 and their ancillary apparatus.” [0028]; Fig. 2).
Therefore, based on Murphy’ teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the combined invention of Ninomiya and Tae to provide, in the housing tray, a projection part on which the extra-length cable can be wound, as taught by Murphy, in order to provide a more compact cable storage. Providing a projection part in the housing tray as claimed is merely a device improvement with a predictable result of improved cable management and more compact cable storage.
Conclusion
/ALEXEI BYKHOVSKI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798