DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims U.S. Patent Nos. 11,986,286 and 12,295,727. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other:
Regarding claim 1, 12,295,727 discloses a method for gait-based testing for a neurodegenerative condition in a patient, the method comprising: (claim 1)
acquiring gait kinematic data for the patient, the gait kinematic data comprising one or more time-dependent signals each representing a kinematic parameter of a joint or body segment; (claim 1)
processing the gait kinematic data with one or more computer processors to derive, from the one or more time-dependents signals, one or more respective gait metrics each indicative of a degree of variability, between curve segments for multiple strides within the respective time-dependent signal, in characteristic shapes of the curve segments; and (claim 1)
operating a machine-learning model on input comprising the one or more gait metrics, using the one or more computer processors, to determine at least one predictive score associated with the neurodegenerative condition and the patient. (claim 1).
The claims are similarly rejected by U.S. Patent No. 11,986,286.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 requires, “processing the gait kinematic data with one or more computer processors to derive, from the one or more time-dependents signals, one or more respective gait metrics each indicative of a degree of variability, between curve segments for multiple strides within the respective time-dependent signal, in characteristic shapes of the curve segments”
Examiner notes that Applicant has not required comparing successive strides to one another in any way. There is also no requirement for measuring inter-stride variance or variability. Rather, the requirement is simply for deriving metrics indicative of a degree of variability, between strides.
Examiner finds that there is not any real disclosure of how this works in the Specification. The closest disclosure appears at ¶ 41-44 and 25. It is clear that the stride curves are obtained, but there is no real explanation anywhere on how this might work after the stride curves are obtained. These paragraphs along with Figs. 8 and 9 simply show that the stride curves are overlaid on top of one another. This is not a comparison between strides and there are no details on whether or how the strides are compared or how any analysis takes place that could produce ‘metrics indicative of a degree of variability.’
Without any explanation whatsoever, it would not be at all clear to ordinary skill in the art whether the inventor has been able to use this analysis in this way, or how this would be done. As such, Examiner finds that the disclosure is not adequate to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. Nowhere does the disclosure explain how these “metrics indicative of a degree of variability” are determined. As such, the disclosure has not clearly conveyed that the Applicant has invented the required claimed subject matter. In re Barker, 559 F.2d 588, 592 n.4, 194 USPQ 470, 473 n.4 (CCPA 1977).
To satisfy the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. See, e.g., Moba, B.V. v. Diamond Automation, Inc., 325 F.3d 1306, 1319, 66 USPQ2d 1429, 1438 (Fed. Cir. 2003); MPEP 2163 (I)(A) states that “issues of adequate written description may arise even for original claims, for example, when an aspect of the claimed invention has not been described with sufficient particularity such that one skilled in the art would recognize that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing. The claimed invention as a whole may not be adequately described if the claims require an essential or critical feature which is not adequately described in the specification and which is not conventional or known in the art.”
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Examiner notes that the language above, “processing the gait kinematic data with one or more computer processors to derive, from the one or more time-dependents signals, one or more respective gait metrics each indicative of a degree of variability, between curve segments for multiple strides within the respective time-dependent signal, in characteristic shapes of the curve segments” was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to make and/or use the invention. The enablement requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, is separate and distinct from the written description requirement. Vas-Cath,Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1563, 19 USPQ2d 1111, 1116-17 (Fed. Cir. 1991)
Without repeating the entire analysis and claim construction above, Examiner notes that nowhere does the disclosure explain how “metrics indicative of a degree of variability” are determined. As such, the only conclusion is that language was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to make and/or use the invention. Nowhere does the disclosure explain or suggest how or what the process would be to perform the claimed function.
Examiner notes that as per In re Wands, 858 F.2d at 737, 8 USPQ2d at 1404. the determination that “undue experimentation” would have been needed to make and use the claimed invention is not a single, simple factual determination. Rather, it is a conclusion reached by weighing the following noted factual considerations. (A) The breadth of the claims; (B) The nature of the invention; (C) The state of the prior art; (D) The level of one of ordinary skill; (E) The level of predictability in the art; (F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor; (G) The existence of working examples; (H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure. As per MPEP 2164.04 it is not necessary to discuss each factor in the enablement rejection. Here in particular, the nature of the claimed invention was found to be something that the prior art does not disclose or suggest (factor B). The state of the art was carefully examined, as evidenced by citation of multiple references related to the claim requirements below (factor C), and level of one of ordinary skill and predictability of the art was noted as someone familiar with gait analysis (factors D and E). The quantity of experimentation (factor H) was assessed and noted that experimentation would be very high as the claim requirement describes something which the description contains no genuine explanation for.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim language “processing the gait kinematic data with one or more computer processors to derive, from the one or more time-dependents signals, one or more respective gait metrics each indicative of a degree of variability, between curve segments for multiple strides within the respective time-dependent signal, in characteristic shapes of the curve segments.” It is unclear from the claim language what in particular the claim is requiring. It appears that the claim requires deriving metric(s) indicating degree of variability in characteristic shapes of the curve segments. However, what in fact the object of the variability analysis is, is not clear. For example, one interpretation would be that the claim is referring to inter-stride variability, in the stride shapes. That is, the shape variability from one curve segment, to another respective curve segment. However, the language, “degree of variability, between curve segments for multiple strides” seems to suggest that the variability in the claims is some variability existing between/in the middle of adjacent curve segments for multiple strides.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Devanne (“Learning shape variations of motion trajectories for gait analysis”) in view of Rocha (“Parkinson’s Disease Assessment Based on Gait Analysis Using an Innovative RGB-D Camera System”)
Regarding claim 1, a method for gait-based testing for a condition in a patient, the method comprising: (Devanne teaches a system for gait analysis by observing a patient’s gait and learning variations in the shape of skeletal motion trajectories during walking. Metrics are computed to evaluate a subject’s gait anomaly, see abstract and Fig. 1.)
acquiring gait kinematic data for the patient, the gait kinematic data comprising one or more time-dependent signals each representing a kinematic parameter of a joint or body segment; (Depth video is acquired of a patient walking via a Kinect 2 camera, pg. 898, left column, last paragraph. Skeletal data is extracted and 3D curves are built from the moving joint positions, pg. 869, right column, second paragraph from bottom.)
processing the gait kinematic data with one or more computer processors to derive, from the one or more time-dependents signals, one or more respective gait metrics each indicative of a degree of variability, between curve segments for multiple strides within the respective time-dependent signal, in characteristic shapes of the curve segments; and (As above, skeletal data is extracted and 3D curves are built from the moving joint positions, pg. 869, right column, second paragraph from bottom. Also see Figs. 2, and 3 on pg. 897. The curves are segmented by stride, see Fig. 4 on pg. 897. For each stride, 3D shapes are mapped into a shape space as per pg. 897, left column, ¶ 2 and Fig. 5 on pg. 898. Variability in the shapes of the curves, between strides, is analyzed and represented in the shape space. The mean stride shape of a normal step µ is computed from the training data from subjects with a normal gait. Then, each sample shape (each stride step) qi is projected in the shape space tangent to the mean stride shape µ. This sets up each individual stride step to be compared to the mean stride step. Then, using principal component analysis, normal distribution probability density function f(v) is learned. This can characterize the likelihood that any given sample stride step is a “normal” step vs an “abnormal” step. After this, a log-likelihood that each stride step segment corresponds to a normal step is computed as L(s) (see Eq. 7 and pg. 898, left column, ¶ 1-3.) The test sequence, which is a sequence of left or right steps, is represented “as a set of log-likelihoods {L(1), . . . L(s), . . . , L(S)}, being S the number of segments in the test sequence.” Then the test sequence of all the stride step segments S is averaged by similarity measure represented by the D distance which is just a mean of all the log-likelihoods of the sequence (Eq. 8).Kinect depth sensor processors, pg. 1, right column, ¶ 1. Examiner notes that the representation of the stride segments as a set of log-likelihoods {L(1), . . . L(s), . . . , L(S)} is “one or more gait metrics indicative of a degree of variability, between strides, in characteristic shapes of the time-dependent signals.” See further detailed analysis in the response to arguments section.)
operating a machine-learning model on input comprising the one or more gait metrics, using the one or more computer processors, to determine at least one predictive score associated with the neurodegenerative condition and the patient. (The machine-learning model is trained at pg. 897, paragraph spanning both columns and pg. 898, paragraph spanning both columns and strides are evaluated using the model. Based on the model, a log-likelihood that a stride is associated with an abnormal gait condition is computed, pg. 898, right column, ¶ 1. A similarity score is then computed as a predictive score of a stride being associated with the gait condition.)
In field of gait analysis Rocha teaches predicting that said condition is a neurodegenerative condition. (Rocha is a system for identifying Parkinson’s disease based on gait analysis using an RGB-D sensor capturing gait metrics, see abstract. Additionally, a primary focus of the Rocha paper is feature reduction based upon the set of extracted gait parameters. The discriminative power of a number of features are test and the features which do the best are kept. See pg. 3128, right column, ¶ 1 and 3.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined Devanne’s machine learning-based gait analysis with Rocha’s machine learning-based gait analysis. Devanne teaches a system for gait analysis using a depth camera to extract a skeletal image and classify a gait as abnormal. Rocha likewise uses a depth camera to extract a skeletal image and classify a gait as abnormal, and further teaches classifying the gait as that of a neurodegenerative condition. The combination simply constitutes the repeatable and predictable result of applying Rocha’s gait analysis technique here. Extending Devanne’s technique to classify the abnormal gait as belonging to a neurodegenerative condition cannot be considered a non-obvious improvement in view of the relevant prior art here. Using known engineering design, no “fundamental” operating principle of the teachings are changed; they continue to perform the same functions as originally taught prior to being combined.
Conclusion
/RAPHAEL SCHWARTZ/ Examiner, Art Unit 2671