DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/10/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority based on German Patent Application No DE102024111963.2, filed on April 29, 2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
In particular, claims are directed to a judicial exception (abstract idea) without significantly more.
Re Claim 1:
Claim 1 recites:
A method for determining a dynamic pitch angle of a vehicle for automatic beam height adjustment of at least one headlamp of the vehicle, wherein the vehicle comprises a trailer coupling, at least one acceleration sensor and at least one operating state detector for detecting an operating state of the trailer coupling of the vehicle, wherein the method comprises the following steps:
detecting signals for determining the dynamic pitch angle by using the at least one acceleration sensor;
detecting the operating state of the trailer coupling; and if it is detected that a trailer is coupled to the vehicle, determining the dynamic pitch angle based on the detected signals for determining the dynamic pitch angle and at least one correction parameter that represents an influence of the trailer on the dynamic pitch angle of the vehicle.
Under Step 1 Claim 1 is a method claim same as claims 2-11.
Under Step 2A -Prong 1:
The identified claim limitations that recite an abstract idea fall within the enumerated groupings of abstract ideas in Section 1 of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance published in the Federal Register (84 FR 50) on January 7, 2019. These fall under mental/mathematical process.
Claim 1 recites “a method for determining a dynamic pitch angle of a vehicle for automatic beam height adjustment of at least one headlamp of the vehicle, wherein the vehicle comprises a trailer coupling, the limitation as mental/mathematical processes. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation as a concept performed in the human mind, then it falls within the “Mental/Mathematical Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. Claims 1-11 are also abstract for similar reasons.
Under Step 2A - Prong 2; the claims recite the additional elements of “at least one acceleration sensor and at least one operating state detector for detecting an operating state of the trailer coupling of the vehicle” steps is not more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f). Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea without a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea and are at a high level of generality. Therefore, claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea without a practical application.
Under Step 2B:
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception because, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, they do not add significantly more (also known as an “inventive concept”) to the exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a computer hardware amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Accordingly, these additional elements, do not change the outcome of the analysis, when considered separately and as an ordered combination. Thus, claims 1-11 are not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 2-11 Dependent claims further define the abstract idea that is present in their respective independent claim 1 and thus correspond to Mental/ mathematical Processes and hence are abstract for the reasons presented above. The dependent claims do not include any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception when considered both individually and as an ordered combination. Therefore, the dependent claims are directed to an abstract idea. Thus, the claims 1-11 are not patent-eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable in view of Gandhi et al (US 10,640,033 B1) in view of Mueller et al (US 2020/0198525 A1) in further view of Zhang et al (US 2017/0341583 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gandhi teaches a method for determining a dynamic pitch angle of a vehicle for automatic beam height adjustment of at least one headlamp of the vehicle (see Gandhi col 3, lines 50-67 and col 4, lines 61-67 “the pitch angle of one or more headlights 110 can be adjusted to maintain a substantially constant illumination distance” and “The headlights may be adjusted to change their illumination pattern for any useful purpose. For example, the headlights' angle may be adjusted to prevent blinding oncoming traffic, a pedestrian, or a bicyclist. The headlights may be adjusted to illuminate roadside features of interests, including but not limited to animals, pedestrians, bicyclists, stopped cars, emergency vehicles, felled trees and power lines, hazards, driveways, and exit lanes. The headlights may be adjusted in response to changing load conditions of the vehicle”),
wherein the vehicle comprises a trailer coupling (see Gandhi col 7, lines 17-25 “The sensor(s) 220 can include one or more vehicle sensors 221. The vehicle sensor(s) 221 can detect, determine, assess, monitor, measure, quantify, capture, and/or sense information about the vehicle 100 itself (e.g., position, orientation, yaw, pitch, speed, vehicle loading conditions, trailer connection, tire pressure, etc.). In one or more arrangements, the vehicle sensors 221 can include one or more vehicle orientation sensors 222 and one or more headlight orientation sensors 223”),
But Gandhi fails to explicitly teach at least one acceleration sensor and wherein the method comprises the following steps: detecting signals for determining the dynamic pitch angle by using the at least one acceleration sensor.
However, Mueller teaches at least one acceleration sensor and wherein the method comprises the following steps: detecting signals for determining the dynamic pitch angle by using the at least one acceleration sensor (see Mueller paras “0008-0011” and “0046” “The position and/or acceleration sensor is in particular designed as a gyro sensor. The position and/or acceleration sensor, in particular when designed as a gyro sensor, can in particular record movements and/or accelerations in parallel with the vehicle height axis, vehicle transverse axis and/or vehicle longitudinal axis, and/or pivot movements and/or pivoting accelerations, and/or rotational movements and/or rotational accelerations, about one or more of the mentioned vehicle axes, and/or a pitch angle”),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gandhi for adjusting vehicle headlights to “account for vehicle acceleration when determining vehicle operating conditions” as taught by Mueller (paras. [0011]- [0046]) in order to provide more accurate and responsive control of the vehicle system.
But modified Gandhi fails to explicitly teach at least one operating state detector for detecting an operating state of the trailer coupling of the vehicle, detecting the operating state of the trailer coupling and if it is detected that a trailer is coupled to the vehicle, determining the dynamic pitch angle based on the detected signals for determining the dynamic pitch angle and at least one correction parameter that represents an influence of the trailer on the dynamic pitch angle of the vehicle.
However, Zhang teaches at least one operating state detector for detecting an operating state of the trailer coupling of the vehicle, detecting the operating state of the trailer coupling (see Zhang paras “0063” and “0090” “the method determines whether the trailer 8 is coupled to the vehicle 10”),
and if it is detected that a trailer is coupled to the vehicle, determining the dynamic pitch angle based on the detected signals for determining the dynamic pitch angle (see Zhang paras “0055-0060” and “0089-0090” “the calibration manager module 304 queries the tables datastore 302 and retrieves the pitch angle 322 associated with the horizon position change”, “to determine the pitch angle 322. Generally, the calibration manager module 304 processes the image acquired from the at least one camera 44 coupled to the front 45 of the vehicle 10 to determine the pitch angle 322. In various embodiments, the calibration manager module 304 may also process images acquired from multiple cameras 44 (e.g. from the cameras 44 at the front 45 and the rear 46, or from all surround view cameras 44 coupled to the trailer 8 and the forward looking and backward looking long-range cameras 44 coupled to the vehicle 10) to determine the pitch angle 322 of the vehicle 10”, “the calibration method 600 is performed by the processor 64 of the controller 40… the method 600 can be scheduled to run based on one or more predetermined events, and/or can run based on a coupling of the trailer 8 to the vehicle 10” and “determines whether the trailer 8 is coupled to the vehicle 10. In one example, the method processes the coupler data 324 to determine whether the signal has been received that indicates that the wiring harness of the trailer 8 is coupled to the wiring harness of the vehicle 10. If true, the method proceeds to 606”),
and at least one correction parameter that represents an influence of the trailer on the dynamic pitch angle of the vehicle (see Zhang paras “0055-0060” “The pitch angle threshold is a default or factory set maximum pitch angle for the vehicle 10 towing the trailer 8. In one example, the pitch angle threshold is determined based on a maximum raise of a front wheel well of the vehicle 10 after the trailer 8 is coupled to the vehicle 10” and “If the pitch angle 322 does not exceed the pitch angle threshold, the calibration manager module 304 updates the calibration data 320 stored in the calibration datastore 300 based on the pitch angle 322. In one example, the calibration manager module 304 updates the known position of the cameras 44 coupled to the vehicle 10 based on the pitch angle 322. In this regard, as the vehicle 10 is pitching due to the weight of the trailer 8, as each of the cameras 44 are fixedly coupled to the vehicle 10”),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified Gandhi for adjusting vehicle headlights to “determine the pitch angle between the towing vehicle and the trailer” as taught by Zhang (paras. [0055-0060]- [0089-0090]) in order to improve determination of the relative orientation between the towing vehicle and the trailer using image-based pitch-angle information.
Regarding claim 2, Gandhi fails to explicitly teach wherein the at least one correction parameter is determined by using at least one of a lookup table, a curve, and a mapping function.
However, Mueller teaches wherein the at least one correction parameter is determined by using at least one of a lookup table, a curve, and a mapping function (see Mueller paras “0028” and “0058” “The control unit then determines, based on the transmitted sensor information and/or on the basis of the information of the at least one surroundings recording means of the vehicle, which records the surroundings in front of the vehicle, and/or the information of the active chassis system of the vehicle, one or more corresponding parameters, in particular correction parameters, and/or items of calibration data, for example from a table or characteristic curve, for example from what is known as a lookup table, and actuates the adjustment device or the light sources accordingly”),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gandhi for adjusting vehicle headlights to determine a correction parameter using a lookup table or characteristics curve as taught by Mueller (paras. [0028]- [0058]) in order to provide a quick and efficient adjustment based on the detected vehicle condition.
Regarding claim 3, Gandhi fails to explicitly teach wherein based on the signals for determining the dynamic pitch angle detected by using the at least one acceleration sensor, an output value of the dynamic pitch angle is determined, which is adjusted based on the at least one correction parameter.
However, Mueller teaches wherein based on the signals for determining the dynamic pitch angle detected by using the at least one acceleration sensor, an output value of the dynamic pitch angle is determined, which is adjusted based on the at least one correction parameter (see Mueller paras “0008-0011” and “0046” “The position and/or acceleration sensor is in particular designed as a gyro sensor. The position and/or acceleration sensor, in particular when designed as a gyro sensor, can in particular record movements and/or accelerations in parallel with the vehicle height axis, vehicle transverse axis and/or vehicle longitudinal axis, and/or pivot movements and/or pivoting accelerations, and/or rotational movements and/or rotational accelerations, about one or more of the mentioned vehicle axes, and/or a pitch angle”),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gandhi for adjusting vehicle headlights to “account for vehicle acceleration when determining vehicle operating conditions” as taught by Mueller (paras. [0011]- [0046]) in order to provide more accurate and responsive control of the vehicle system.
Regarding claim 6, Gandhi teaches further comprising a trailer loading state device for determining the loading state of a trailer coupled to the vehicle, by use of which the loading state of the trailer is determined, the correction parameter being determined based on the determined loading state of the trailer (see Gandhi col 4, lines 61-67, col 8, lines 39-60 and col 10, lines 9-18 “the one or more data stores 230 can include a loading conditions correlation table that correlates loading conditions to headlight leveling settings. The correlation table may include, for example, relationships between different vehicle loading conditions and a headlight leveling setting. The level settings may include discrete values that may correspond to different orientations of headlight assembly 300” and “loading conditions of the vehicle. The headlight control system 260 can determine a target headlight setting (e.g., position and/or orientation) based on these input factors. The headlight control system 260 can then send a control signal or communication signal via control circuit(s) 261 in order to adjust actuated headlight 110. In this manner, the processor(s) 210 and the headlight control system(s) 260 may control some or all of the actuated headlight(s) 110 and may adjust them”).
Regarding claim 7, Gandhi teaches wherein the trailer loading state device for determining the loading status of a trailer coupled to the vehicle comprises a human-machine interface and/or a camera (see Gandhi col 4, lines 61-67, col 8, lines 39-67 thru col 9 and col 10, lines 9-18 “the one or more data stores 230 can include a loading conditions correlation table that correlates loading conditions to headlight leveling settings. The correlation table may include, for example, relationships between different vehicle loading conditions and a headlight leveling setting. The level settings may include discrete values that may correspond to different orientations of headlight assembly 300” and “loading conditions of the vehicle. The headlight control system 260 can determine a target headlight setting (e.g., position and/or orientation) based on these input factors. The headlight control system 260 can then send a control signal or communication signal via control circuit(s) 261 in order to adjust actuated headlight 110. In this manner, the processor(s) 210 and the headlight control system(s) 260 may control some or all of the actuated headlight(s) 110 and may adjust them”).
Regarding claim 8, modified Gandhi fails to explicitly teach a device for determining the motion state of a trailer coupled to the vehicle, by use of which the motion state of the trailer is determined, the correction parameter being determined based on the determined motion state of the trailer.
However, Zhang teaches a device for determining the motion state of a trailer coupled to the vehicle, by use of which the motion state of the trailer is determined, the correction parameter being determined based on the determined motion state of the trailer (see Zhang paras “0061-0062” “The conditions determination module 308 determines dynamics between the vehicle 10 and the trailer 8 based on the image data from the cameras 44. In one example, the dynamics include the articulation or pivot angle of the trailer 8 relative to the vehicle 10 and the roll angle of the trailer 8 relative to the vehicle 10. The determined dynamics also include the pitch angle between the vehicle 10 and trailer 8”),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified Gandhi for adjusting vehicle headlights to “determine the pitch angle between the towing vehicle and the trailer” as taught by Zhang (paras. [0061-0062]) in order to improve determination of the relative orientation between the towing vehicle and the trailer using image-based pitch-angle information.
Regarding claim 9, Gandhi teaches wherein the steps are executed by a computer program comprising commands which, during the execution of the program by a computer, cause the computer to implement the method (see Gandhi at least col 3, lines 5-21, col 11, lines 21-44).
Regarding claim 10, Gandhi teaches wherein the computer program is stored on a computer-readable data carrier (see Gandhi at least col 3, lines 5-21, col 11, lines 21-44).
Regarding claim 11, Gandhi teaches wherein a data carrier signal transmits the computer program (see Gandhi at least col 3, lines 5-21, col 11, lines 21-44).
Regarding claim 12, Gandhi teaches a method for adjusting a beam height of at least one headlamp of a vehicle having a trailer coupling, the method comprising the following steps: determining a setting position of the at least one headlamp (see Gandhi col 3, lines 50-67 and col 4, lines 61-67 “the pitch angle of one or more headlights 110 can be adjusted to maintain a substantially constant illumination distance” and “The headlights may be adjusted to change their illumination pattern for any useful purpose. For example, the headlights' angle may be adjusted to prevent blinding oncoming traffic, a pedestrian, or a bicyclist. The headlights may be adjusted to illuminate roadside features of interests, including but not limited to animals, pedestrians, bicyclists, stopped cars, emergency vehicles, felled trees and power lines, hazards, driveways, and exit lanes. The headlights may be adjusted in response to changing load conditions of the vehicle”),
determining a setting position of the at least one headlamp; determining a load pitch angle of the vehicle (see Gandhi col 3, lines 50-67, col 4, lines 61-67 and col 5, lines 1-5 “the pitch angle of one or more headlights 110 can be adjusted to maintain a substantially constant illumination distance” and “The headlights may be adjusted to change their illumination pattern for any useful purpose. For example, the headlights' angle may be adjusted to prevent blinding oncoming traffic, a pedestrian, or a bicyclist. The headlights may be adjusted to illuminate roadside features of interests, including but not limited to animals, pedestrians, bicyclists, stopped cars, emergency vehicles, felled trees and power lines, hazards, driveways, and exit lanes. The headlights may be adjusted in response to changing load conditions of the vehicle” and “The headlights may be adjusted in response to changing load conditions of the vehicle, such as when carrying heavy objects and/or pulling a trailer. In some embodiments, it may be beneficial to control headlights independent from one another”),
determining a deviation of the dynamic pitch angle of the vehicle from the setting position and thus a resulting deviation of the at least one headlamp from the setting position; and adjusting the setting of the at least one headlamp (see Gandhi col 3, lines 50-67, col 4, lines 61-67 and col 5, lines 1-5 “the pitch angle of one or more headlights 110 can be adjusted to maintain a substantially constant illumination distance” and “The headlights may be adjusted to change their illumination pattern for any useful purpose. For example, the headlights' angle may be adjusted to prevent blinding oncoming traffic, a pedestrian, or a bicyclist. The headlights may be adjusted to illuminate roadside features of interests, including but not limited to animals, pedestrians, bicyclists, stopped cars, emergency vehicles, felled trees and power lines, hazards, driveways, and exit lanes. The headlights may be adjusted in response to changing load conditions of the vehicle” and “The headlights may be adjusted in response to changing load conditions of the vehicle, such as when carrying heavy objects and/or pulling a trailer. In some embodiments, it may be beneficial to control headlights independent from one another”),
But Gandhi fails to explicitly teach determining a dynamic pitch angle of the vehicle by: detecting signals for determining the dynamic pitch angle by using at least one acceleration sensor.
However, Mueller teaches determining a dynamic pitch angle of the vehicle by: detecting signals for determining the dynamic pitch angle by using at least one acceleration sensor (see Mueller paras “0008-0011” and “0046” “The position and/or acceleration sensor is in particular designed as a gyro sensor. The position and/or acceleration sensor, in particular when designed as a gyro sensor, can in particular record movements and/or accelerations in parallel with the vehicle height axis, vehicle transverse axis and/or vehicle longitudinal axis, and/or pivot movements and/or pivoting accelerations, and/or rotational movements and/or rotational accelerations, about one or more of the mentioned vehicle axes, and/or a pitch angle”),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gandhi for adjusting vehicle headlights to “account for vehicle acceleration when determining vehicle operating conditions” as taught by Mueller (paras. [0011]- [0046]) in order to provide more accurate and responsive control of the vehicle system.
But modified Gandhi fails to explicitly teach detecting an operating state of the trailer coupling; and if it is detected that a trailer is coupled to the vehicle, determining the dynamic pitch angle based on the detected signals for determining the dynamic pitch angle and at least one correction parameter that represents an influence of the trailer on the dynamic pitch angle of the vehicle.
However, Zhang teaches detecting an operating state of the trailer coupling (see Zhang paras “0063” and “0090” “the method determines whether the trailer 8 is coupled to the vehicle 10”),
and if it is detected that a trailer is coupled to the vehicle, determining the dynamic pitch angle based on the detected signals for determining the dynamic pitch angle (see Zhang paras “0055-0060” and “0089-0090” “the calibration manager module 304 queries the tables datastore 302 and retrieves the pitch angle 322 associated with the horizon position change”, “to determine the pitch angle 322. Generally, the calibration manager module 304 processes the image acquired from the at least one camera 44 coupled to the front 45 of the vehicle 10 to determine the pitch angle 322. In various embodiments, the calibration manager module 304 may also process images acquired from multiple cameras 44 (e.g. from the cameras 44 at the front 45 and the rear 46, or from all surround view cameras 44 coupled to the trailer 8 and the forward looking and backward looking long-range cameras 44 coupled to the vehicle 10) to determine the pitch angle 322 of the vehicle 10”, “the calibration method 600 is performed by the processor 64 of the controller 40… the method 600 can be scheduled to run based on one or more predetermined events, and/or can run based on a coupling of the trailer 8 to the vehicle 10” and “determines whether the trailer 8 is coupled to the vehicle 10. In one example, the method processes the coupler data 324 to determine whether the signal has been received that indicates that the wiring harness of the trailer 8 is coupled to the wiring harness of the vehicle 10. If true, the method proceeds to 606”),
and at least one correction parameter that represents an influence of the trailer on the dynamic pitch angle of the vehicle (see Zhang paras “0055-0060” “The pitch angle threshold is a default or factory set maximum pitch angle for the vehicle 10 towing the trailer 8. In one example, the pitch angle threshold is determined based on a maximum raise of a front wheel well of the vehicle 10 after the trailer 8 is coupled to the vehicle 10” and “If the pitch angle 322 does not exceed the pitch angle threshold, the calibration manager module 304 updates the calibration data 320 stored in the calibration datastore 300 based on the pitch angle 322. In one example, the calibration manager module 304 updates the known position of the cameras 44 coupled to the vehicle 10 based on the pitch angle 322. In this regard, as the vehicle 10 is pitching due to the weight of the trailer 8, as each of the cameras 44 are fixedly coupled to the vehicle 10”),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified Gandhi for adjusting vehicle headlights to “determine the pitch angle between the towing vehicle and the trailer” as taught by Zhang (paras. [0055-0060]- [0089-0090]) in order to improve determination of the relative orientation between the towing vehicle and the trailer using image-based pitch-angle information.
Regarding claim 13, Gandhi fails to explicitly teach wherein the at least one correction parameter is determined by using at least one of a lookup table, a curve, and a mapping function.
However, Mueller teaches wherein the at least one correction parameter is determined by using at least one of a lookup table, a curve, and a mapping function (see Mueller paras “0028” and “0058” “The control unit then determines, based on the transmitted sensor information and/or on the basis of the information of the at least one surroundings recording means of the vehicle, which records the surroundings in front of the vehicle, and/or the information of the active chassis system of the vehicle, one or more corresponding parameters, in particular correction parameters, and/or items of calibration data, for example from a table or characteristic curve, for example from what is known as a lookup table, and actuates the adjustment device or the light sources accordingly”),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gandhi for adjusting vehicle headlights to determine a correction parameter using a lookup table or characteristics curve as taught by Mueller (paras. [0028]- [0058]) in order to provide a quick and efficient adjustment based on the detected vehicle condition.
Regarding claim 14, Gandhi fails to explicitly teach wherein based on the signals for determining the dynamic pitch angle detected by using the at least one acceleration sensor, an output value of the dynamic pitch angle is determined, which is adjusted based on the at least one correction parameter.
However, Mueller teaches wherein based on the signals for determining the dynamic pitch angle detected by using the at least one acceleration sensor, an output value of the dynamic pitch angle is determined, which is adjusted based on the at least one correction parameter (see Mueller paras “0008-0011” and “0046” “The position and/or acceleration sensor is in particular designed as a gyro sensor. The position and/or acceleration sensor, in particular when designed as a gyro sensor, can in particular record movements and/or accelerations in parallel with the vehicle height axis, vehicle transverse axis and/or vehicle longitudinal axis, and/or pivot movements and/or pivoting accelerations, and/or rotational movements and/or rotational accelerations, about one or more of the mentioned vehicle axes, and/or a pitch angle”),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gandhi for adjusting vehicle headlights to “account for vehicle acceleration when determining vehicle operating conditions” as taught by Mueller (paras. [0011]- [0046]) in order to provide more accurate and responsive control of the vehicle system.
Regarding claim 15, Gandhi teaches further comprising a trailer loading state device for determining the loading state of a trailer coupled to the vehicle, by use of which the loading state of the trailer is determined, the correction parameter being determined based on the determined loading state of the trailer (see Gandhi col 4, lines 61-67, col 8, lines 39-60 and col 10, lines 9-18 “the one or more data stores 230 can include a loading conditions correlation table that correlates loading conditions to headlight leveling settings. The correlation table may include, for example, relationships between different vehicle loading conditions and a headlight leveling setting. The level settings may include discrete values that may correspond to different orientations of headlight assembly 300” and “loading conditions of the vehicle. The headlight control system 260 can determine a target headlight setting (e.g., position and/or orientation) based on these input factors. The headlight control system 260 can then send a control signal or communication signal via control circuit(s) 261 in order to adjust actuated headlight 110. In this manner, the processor(s) 210 and the headlight control system(s) 260 may control some or all of the actuated headlight(s) 110 and may adjust them”).
Regarding claim 16, Gandhi teaches wherein the trailer loading state device for determining the loading status of a trailer coupled to the vehicle comprises a human-machine interface and/or a camera (see Gandhi col 4, lines 61-67, col 8, lines 39-67 thru col 9 and col 10, lines 9-18 “the one or more data stores 230 can include a loading conditions correlation table that correlates loading conditions to headlight leveling settings. The correlation table may include, for example, relationships between different vehicle loading conditions and a headlight leveling setting. The level settings may include discrete values that may correspond to different orientations of headlight assembly 300” and “loading conditions of the vehicle. The headlight control system 260 can determine a target headlight setting (e.g., position and/or orientation) based on these input factors. The headlight control system 260 can then send a control signal or communication signal via control circuit(s) 261 in order to adjust actuated headlight 110. In this manner, the processor(s) 210 and the headlight control system(s) 260 may control some or all of the actuated headlight(s) 110 and may adjust them”).
Regarding claim 17, modified Gandhi fails to explicitly teach a device for determining the motion state of a trailer coupled to the vehicle, by use of which the motion state of the trailer is determined, the correction parameter being determined based on the determined motion state of the trailer.
However, Zhang teaches a device for determining the motion state of a trailer coupled to the vehicle, by use of which the motion state of the trailer is determined, the correction parameter being determined based on the determined motion state of the trailer (see Zhang paras “0061-0062” “The conditions determination module 308 determines dynamics between the vehicle 10 and the trailer 8 based on the image data from the cameras 44. In one example, the dynamics include the articulation or pivot angle of the trailer 8 relative to the vehicle 10 and the roll angle of the trailer 8 relative to the vehicle 10. The determined dynamics also include the pitch angle between the vehicle 10 and trailer 8”),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified Gandhi for adjusting vehicle headlights to “determine the pitch angle between the towing vehicle and the trailer” as taught by Zhang (paras. [0061-0062]) in order to improve determination of the relative orientation between the towing vehicle and the trailer using image-based pitch-angle information.
Regarding claim 18, Gandhi teaches a device for beam height adjustment of at least one headlamp of a vehicle with a trailer coupling, wherein the vehicle or the device for beam height adjustment comprises at least one acceleration sensor and an operating state detector for detecting the operating state of the trailer coupling of the vehicle, wherein the device for beam height adjustment is designed to receive data from the at least one acceleration sensor, to receive data from the operating state detector for detecting the operating state of the trailer coupling of the vehicle, the device including a method comprising the steps of: (see Gandhi col 3, lines 50-67 and col 4, lines 61-67 “the pitch angle of one or more headlights 110 can be adjusted to maintain a substantially constant illumination distance” and “The headlights may be adjusted to change their illumination pattern for any useful purpose. For example, the headlights' angle may be adjusted to prevent blinding oncoming traffic, a pedestrian, or a bicyclist. The headlights may be adjusted to illuminate roadside features of interests, including but not limited to animals, pedestrians, bicyclists, stopped cars, emergency vehicles, felled trees and power lines, hazards, driveways, and exit lanes. The headlights may be adjusted in response to changing load conditions of the vehicle”),
determining a setting position of the at least one headlamp; determining a load pitch angle of the vehicle (see Gandhi col 3, lines 50-67, col 4, lines 61-67 and col 5, lines 1-5 “the pitch angle of one or more headlights 110 can be adjusted to maintain a substantially constant illumination distance” and “The headlights may be adjusted to change their illumination pattern for any useful purpose. For example, the headlights' angle may be adjusted to prevent blinding oncoming traffic, a pedestrian, or a bicyclist. The headlights may be adjusted to illuminate roadside features of interests, including but not limited to animals, pedestrians, bicyclists, stopped cars, emergency vehicles, felled trees and power lines, hazards, driveways, and exit lanes. The headlights may be adjusted in response to changing load conditions of the vehicle” and “The headlights may be adjusted in response to changing load conditions of the vehicle, such as when carrying heavy objects and/or pulling a trailer. In some embodiments, it may be beneficial to control headlights independent from one another”),
determining a deviation of the dynamic pitch angle of the vehicle from the setting position and thus a resulting deviation of the at least one headlamp from the setting position; and adjusting the setting of the at least one headlamp (see Gandhi col 3, lines 50-67, col 4, lines 61-67 and col 5, lines 1-5 “the pitch angle of one or more headlights 110 can be adjusted to maintain a substantially constant illumination distance” and “The headlights may be adjusted to change their illumination pattern for any useful purpose. For example, the headlights' angle may be adjusted to prevent blinding oncoming traffic, a pedestrian, or a bicyclist. The headlights may be adjusted to illuminate roadside features of interests, including but not limited to animals, pedestrians, bicyclists, stopped cars, emergency vehicles, felled trees and power lines, hazards, driveways, and exit lanes. The headlights may be adjusted in response to changing load conditions of the vehicle” and “The headlights may be adjusted in response to changing load conditions of the vehicle, such as when carrying heavy objects and/or pulling a trailer. In some embodiments, it may be beneficial to control headlights independent from one another”),
But Gandhi fails to explicitly teach determining a dynamic pitch angle of the vehicle by detecting signals for determining the dynamic pitch angle by using the at least one acceleration sensor.
However, Mueller teaches determining a dynamic pitch angle of the vehicle by detecting signals for determining the dynamic pitch angle by using the at least one acceleration sensor (see Mueller paras “0008-0011” and “0046” “The position and/or acceleration sensor is in particular designed as a gyro sensor. The position and/or acceleration sensor, in particular when designed as a gyro sensor, can in particular record movements and/or accelerations in parallel with the vehicle height axis, vehicle transverse axis and/or vehicle longitudinal axis, and/or pivot movements and/or pivoting accelerations, and/or rotational movements and/or rotational accelerations, about one or more of the mentioned vehicle axes, and/or a pitch angle”),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gandhi for adjusting vehicle headlights to “account for vehicle acceleration when determining vehicle operating conditions” as taught by Mueller (paras. [0011]- [0046]) in order to provide more accurate and responsive control of the vehicle system.
But modified Gandhi fails to explicitly teach detecting the operating state of the trailer coupling and, if it is detected that a trailer is coupled to the vehicle, determining the dynamic pitch angle based on the detected signals for determining the dynamic pitch angle and at least one correction parameter that represents an influence of the trailer on the dynamic pitch angle of the vehicle.
However, Zhang teaches detecting the operating state of the trailer coupling (see Zhang paras “0063” and “0090” “the method determines whether the trailer 8 is coupled to the vehicle 10”),
and, if it is detected that a trailer is coupled to the vehicle, determining the dynamic pitch angle based on the detected signals for determining the dynamic pitch angle (see Zhang paras “0055-0060” and “0089-0090” “the calibration manager module 304 queries the tables datastore 302 and retrieves the pitch angle 322 associated with the horizon position change”, “to determine the pitch angle 322. Generally, the calibration manager module 304 processes the image acquired from the at least one camera 44 coupled to the front 45 of the vehicle 10 to determine the pitch angle 322. In various embodiments, the calibration manager module 304 may also process images acquired from multiple cameras 44 (e.g. from the cameras 44 at the front 45 and the rear 46, or from all surround view cameras 44 coupled to the trailer 8 and the forward looking and backward looking long-range cameras 44 coupled to the vehicle 10) to determine the pitch angle 322 of the vehicle 10”, “the calibration method 600 is performed by the processor 64 of the controller 40… the method 600 can be scheduled to run based on one or more predetermined events, and/or can run based on a coupling of the trailer 8 to the vehicle 10” and “determines whether the trailer 8 is coupled to the vehicle 10. In one example, the method processes the coupler data 324 to determine whether the signal has been received that indicates that the wiring harness of the trailer 8 is coupled to the wiring harness of the vehicle 10. If true, the method proceeds to 606”),
and at least one correction parameter that represents an influence of the trailer on the dynamic pitch angle of the vehicle (see Zhang paras “0055-0060” “The pitch angle threshold is a default or factory set maximum pitch angle for the vehicle 10 towing the trailer 8. In one example, the pitch angle threshold is determined based on a maximum raise of a front wheel well of the vehicle 10 after the trailer 8 is coupled to the vehicle 10” and “If the pitch angle 322 does not exceed the pitch angle threshold, the calibration manager module 304 updates the calibration data 320 stored in the calibration datastore 300 based on the pitch angle 322. In one example, the calibration manager module 304 updates the known position of the cameras 44 coupled to the vehicle 10 based on the pitch angle 322. In this regard, as the vehicle 10 is pitching due to the weight of the trailer 8, as each of the cameras 44 are fixedly coupled to the vehicle 10”),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified Gandhi for adjusting vehicle headlights to “determine the pitch angle between the towing vehicle and the trailer” as taught by Zhang (paras. [0055-0060]- [0089-0090]) in order to improve determination of the relative orientation between the towing vehicle and the trailer using image-based pitch-angle information.
Regarding claim 19, Gandhi teaches wherein the device comprises a trailer loading state device for determining the loading status of a trailer coupled to the vehicle, and is designed to receive data from the device for determining the loading state of a trailer coupled to the vehicle and to carry out a method (see Gandhi col 4, lines 61-67, col 8, lines 39-60 and col 10, lines 9-18 “the one or more data stores 230 can include a loading conditions correlation table that correlates loading conditions to headlight leveling settings. The correlation table may include, for example, relationships between different vehicle loading conditions and a headlight leveling setting. The level settings may include discrete values that may correspond to different orientations of headlight assembly 300” and “loading conditions of the vehicle. The headlight control system 260 can determine a target headlight setting (e.g., position and/or orientation) based on these input factors. The headlight control system 260 can then send a control signal or communication signal via control circuit(s) 261 in order to adjust actuated headlight 110. In this manner, the processor(s) 210 and the headlight control system(s) 260 may control some or all of the actuated headlight(s) 110 and may adjust them” and “the one or more data stores 230 can include a loading conditions correlation table that correlates loading conditions to headlight leveling settings. The correlation table may include, for example, relationships between different vehicle loading conditions and a headlight leveling setting. The level settings may include discrete values that may correspond to different orientations of headlight assembly 300”).
Regarding claim 20, modified Gandhi fails to explicitly teach wherein the device comprises a device for determining the motion state of a trailer coupled to the vehicle, and is designed to receive data from the device for determining the motion state of a trailer coupled to the vehicle and to carry out a method.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the device comprises a device for determining the motion state of a trailer coupled to the vehicle, and is designed to receive data from the device for determining the motion state of a trailer coupled to the vehicle and to carry out a method (see Zhang paras “0061-0062” “The conditions determination module 308 determines dynamics between the vehicle 10 and the trailer 8 based on the image data from the cameras 44. In one example, the dynamics include the articulation or pivot angle of the trailer 8 relative to the vehicle 10 and the roll angle of the trailer 8 relative to the vehicle 10. The determined dynamics also include the pitch angle between the vehicle 10 and trailer 8”),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified Gandhi for adjusting vehicle headlights to “determine the pitch angle between the towing vehicle and the trailer” as taught by Zhang (paras. [0061-0062]) in order to improve determination of the relative orientation between the towing vehicle and the trailer using image-based pitch-angle information.
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable in view of Gandhi et al (US 10,640,033 B1) in view of Mueller et al (US 2020/0198525 A1) in further view of Zhang et al (US 2017/0341583 A1) as applied to claim 3 above, in further view of Plaehn et al (US 2021/0261104 A1).
Regarding claim 4, modified Gandhi fails to explicitly teach wherein the correction parameter is formed as a variable which is multiplied by the output value.
However, Plaehn teaches wherein the correction parameter is formed as a variable which is multiplied by the output value (see Plaehn paras “0057-0059” “A modelled value 54 of an articulation angle 28 and a variance 56 of the modelled value 54 are determined as input variables. These are fed to a correction step 52” and “a corrected modelled value 58 is output as an output value 58, and a variance 60 of the corrected modelled value 58 is output as a variance 60 of the output value 58. The output value 58 is calculated by firstly multiplying the modelled value 54 by the variance 78 of the correction value 76 and also multiplying the correction value 76 by the variance 56 of the modelled value 54”),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified Gandhi for adjusting vehicle headlights to “apply a correction to the determined vehicle parameter” as taught by Plaehn (paras. [0057-0064]) in order to improve the accuracy of the determined value.
Regarding claim 5, modified Gandhi fails to explicitly teach wherein the correction parameter is formed as a variable which is added to the output value.
However, Plaehn teaches wherein the correction parameter is formed as a variable which is added to the output value (see Plaehn paras “0061-0064” “The expected value 68 corresponds to a sum of the output value 58 and of the measured value 64, while the variance 70 of the expected value 68 corresponds to the sum of the variance 60 of the output value 58 as well as to the variance 66 of the measured value 64… the expected value 68 is fed as a correction value 76 to the correction step 52, and the variance 70 of the expected value 68 is fed as a variance 78 of the correction value 76 to the correction step 52.”),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified Gandhi for adjusting vehicle headlights to “apply a correction to the determined vehicle parameter” as taught by Plaehn (paras. [0057-0064]) in order to improve the accuracy of the determined value.
Conclusion
/HOSSAM M ABD EL LATIF/Examiner, Art Unit 3664