DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application filed April 10, 2025. Claims 1-18 are presented for examination. Claim 1 is an independent claim.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), and based on application # 202421312245.3 filed in China on June 7, 2024 which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Oath/Declaration
The Office acknowledges receipt of a properly signed Oath/Declaration submitted October 28, 2024.
Drawings
The drawings filed April 10, 2025 are accepted by the examiner.
Abstract
The abstract filed April 10, 2025 is accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 6, 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merenda et al. (US 20250151210 A1) in view of Hughes et al. (US 20230228290 A1).
As to Claim 1:
Merenda et al. discloses a phone case with magnetic and display functions (Merenda, see Abstract, where Park discloses that a multi-functional module system for a mobile device includes a docketing station and housing attachable to the mobile device. The housing includes an integrated wireless charging coil, and a plug head integrally formed with or attached to the housing. The plug head establishes a direct electrical/data connection between the housing and a port of the mobile device. The charging coil aligns with and charges a wireless-enabled accessory placed adjacent to the housing. The docking station includes an electrical connection interface to transmit power and/or data between the housing, the mobile device and a removable electronic module (REM) connected to the docking station. At least one port of the housing transfers power/data between an external device plugged into the port and the housing and/or the mobile device and/or the connected REM. The docking station provides a docking interface between the REM and housing via a magnetic coupling), comprising: a case (Merenda, see paragraph [0055], where Merenda discloses that the custom devices can include but not limited to: a protective housing for a computing device and/or handheld electronic device (such as a case or cover), a surface mounted device (such as a docking station)), a magnetic ring (Merenda, see magnetic ring 1030 in figure 1 and paragraph [0114], where Merenda discloses that a user utilizes REM 1030 with AR software, the magnetic tracking system and the corresponding controller (in this example, an electronic ring), a display module (Merenda, see visual display 1340 in figure 3), and an antenna (Merenda, see wireless transmitter 1240 in figure 3), wherein a middle of a back side of the case is provided with a first groove for accommodating the magnetic ring (Merenda, see mechanical securing element 1120 and electrical contacts/plug 1100 in figure 2), the magnetic ring is disposed in the first groove (Merenda, see mechanical securing element 1120 and electrical contacts/plug 1100 in figure 2 and paragraph [0059], where Merenda discloses that the REM 1030 comprises one or more protective housing parts or components that can mechanically combine to form a REM housing 1230. The REM housing 1230 can be configured to protect internal components including but not limited to: a PCB/logic board 1310, data and/or power components and the like. These one or more housing parts or components can include but are not limited to snaps, screws, tongue and groove, peg and hole, girders, hooks and washers, perforated material, perforated strips, perforated girders, perforated supports, magnets, axel rods and shafting, adhesive, material with adhesive qualities, glue and the like), a middle of the first groove is also provided with an area for accommodating the display module (Merenda, see mechanical securing element 1120 and electrical contacts/plug 1100 in figure 2 and mechanical securing element 1300 and visual display 1340 in figure 3), and the display module is disposed in the area (Merenda, see mechanical securing element 1120 and electrical contacts/plug 1100 in figure 2 and mechanical securing element 1300 and visual display 1340 in figure 3); and the case is provided with the antenna (Merenda, see wireless transmitter 1240 in figure 3), and the antenna (Merenda, see wireless transmitter 1240 in figure 3) is electrically connected with the display module (Merenda, see visual display 1340 in figure 3).
Merenda differs from the claimed subject matter in that Merenda does not explicitly disclose receiving. However in an analogous art, Hughes discloses receiving (Hughes, see 15 in figure 4 and paragraph [0104], where Hughes discloses that the flap is created by the previously-mentioned U-shaped discontinuity 15 that may be formed as a slot (or slit) in the object carrier base 10. By virtue of its flexible flap construction, the vacuum release actuator 12 (and by extension the vacuum formation-and-release actuator 12/13) may be thought of as being formed by a flexible portion the device case main body base (object carrier base 10)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Merenda with Hughes. One would be motivated to modify Merenda by disclosing receiving as taught by Hughes, and thereby providing improvements in the design of anchoring apparatus by using seal stabilizers (Hughes, see paragraph [0006]).
As to Claim 2:
Merenda in view of Hughes discloses that the phone case of claim 1, wherein the receiving area is a second receiving groove (Hughes, see 15 and 28 in figure 3), and the display module (Hughes, see 4A in figure 3) is disposed within the second receiving groove (Hughes, see 15 and 28 in figure 3).
As to Claim 3:
Merenda in view of Hughes discloses that the phone case of claim 2, wherein the display module includes a display (Merenda, see visual display 1110 in figure 2) and a circuit board (Merenda, see PCB/Logic Board 1140 in figure 2), the circuit board is located below the display (Merenda, see PCB/Logic Board 1140 in figure 2 which extends below visual display 1110 in figure 2); and the display (Merenda, see visual display 1110 in figure 2) is electrically connected with the circuit board (Merenda, see PCB/Logic Board 1140 in figure 2), and the antenna is electrically connected with the circuit board (Merenda, see PCB/Logic Board 1310 and wireless transmitter 1240 in figure 3 paragraphs [0173], [0174] and [0175], where Merenda discloses that the circuit board comprises electrical contacts to electrically connect the protective housing to interchangeable electronic modules. At least one plug head is mounted to the circuit board to electrically or electronically connect the protective housing to the electronic device. At least one port is mounted to the circuit board to electrically or electronically connect an external device to the protective housing).
As to Claim 6:
Merenda in view of Hughes discloses that the phone case of claim 1, wherein a top of the display module is provided with a protective layer, and a surface of the protective layer is level with a surface of the magnetic ring (Merenda, see paragraph [0022], where Merenda discloses that the accessory
item comprises a protective membrane housing at least one logic board, at least one power component, at least one image sensor, at least one transmitter configured to transfer
a signal or data to the electronic device or the housing member and at least one software program stored in the logic board).
As to Claim 7:
Merenda in view of Hughes discloses that the phone case of claim 1, wherein the case includes a back plate and a side plate provided around a circumference of the back plate, an edge of the back plate is connected with the side plate (Merenda, see housing 1010 and magnetic ring 1020 in figure 2), and the antenna is provided within the back plate (Merenda, see wireless transmitter 1060 and housing 1010 in figure 2).
As to Claim 10:
Merenda in view of Hughes discloses that the phone case of claim 1, wherein: a material of the case includes polycarbonate (PC) or acrylic (Merenda, see paragraph [0333], where Merenda discloses that the housing is manufactured from robust materials such as polycarbonate, aluminum alloy, or thermoplastic elastomers to provide impact resistance, heat dissipation, and environmental protection).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 8, 9, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Referring to claim 4 and dependent claim 5, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein the second receiving groove is an annular groove, and a shape and a size of the display match a shape and a size of the second receiving groove, respectively”.
Referring to claim 8, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein the edge of the back plate is provided with a protrusion, an inner side of the side plate is provided with a groove matching the protrusion, and the back plate is interlocked and cooperated with the side plate through the protrusion and the groove”.
Referring to claim 9, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein the back plate includes an upper back plate and a lower back plate, the antenna is provided between the upper back plate and the lower back plate, and a connecting hole connecting the receiving area is provided in the upper back plate”.
Referring to claim 11 and dependent claims 12-14, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “a micro memory chip and a microprocessor chip, wherein the micro memory chip is configured to receive and store display data transmitted by a phone via the antenna; and the microprocessor chip is configured to: obtain monitoring data; determine display parameters based on the monitoring data; and generate a parameter regulation instruction based on the display parameters and send the parameter regulation instruction to the display module to control the display module to display content based on the display parameters”.
Referring to claim 15 and dependent claims 16-18, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “a microprocessor chip; and the e-ink screen being configured to display a target pattern, wherein the microprocessor chip is further configured to: obtain a user preference level and time information; and determine the display data based on the user preference level and the time information”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure. Coverstone (US 20190341957 A1) discloses a mobile device cover for use with a host mobile device includes a front frame, a middle frame, and a back frame. The back frame includes a plate or portion that can be removed and interchanged with a second plate or portion. The second plate or portion can be designed to look different and to provide different functionality. For example, the plate or portion of the back frame can be replaced with the second interchangeable plate or portion to provide a screen that can be used by one or both of the mobile device cover and the
host mobile device.
Contact Information
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NELSON ROSARIO whose telephone number is (571)270-1866. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday, 7:30am- 5:00pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Eason can be reached on (571) 270-7230. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/NELSON M ROSARIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624